Gardening

hutazi
post Nov 17 2016, 02:11 PM

496 posts

seems my tomato plant on my balcony started flowering. i ketuk ketuk and hopefully can get some fruit out of them... my cucumber growing damn slow...
hutazi
post Nov 18 2016, 11:27 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Nov 18 2016, 11:22 AM)
This morning this chili's leaf look active pointing straight like usual.

I use the remaining water to water the chili this early morning. Then went to check just now the leaf pointing downward show sign of dying. I shift away from getting the sunlight.

What went wrong?

[attachmentid=8060787]
the roots are probably choking each other. you should only have 1 plant in that pot, not like a bush. you need to cut the weak ones and kill them off.
hutazi
post Nov 24 2016, 10:28 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Nov 24 2016, 10:15 AM)
hehe i havent menanam anything yet, but thinking of planting something at my house.. actually for me i think the best pokok to have at my house is pandan, serai & limau. will definitely be useful. but these trees i think is more suitable to plant if got yard / live in bungalow. i can only grow in pots..

now browsing the net to get some ideas of what plants to grow & how laugh.gif
grow a tomato plant. get a medium sized pot and next time you makan tomato, just scoop some seeds and straight throw them onto the soil and then cover with a bit more soil. dont need to basuh or anything and they will grow nicely. then chop the ones which arent growing well till only 1 king left. and it will grow up nicely.
hutazi
post Nov 24 2016, 10:45 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Nov 24 2016, 10:39 AM)
great suggestion  thumbup.gif will keep in mind
now wanna look see what kind of pot/soil/setup im gonna use for my house lol. betul2 baru nak start ni. no idea whatsoever
can just head to the nursery, and beli one of those medium sized baba pots. i think like RM6-8. and then tell them nak grow veggies. normally they will recommend the organic soils or a compost mixture. their own mixture costs around RM2-4 (normally need at least 2 bags. or get the organic which is like RM8 but 1 bag normally enough. i think no need fertilizer at the beginning. so far i just water the plant using water when i basuh beras. that is enough for the first month or so.

later on can get some organic fert like tahi kambing or something. RM6/packet or so. but other pellet is also ok i guess. i dont really care organic or not. but as almost the same price i normally will get the organic stuff... but maybe the chemical stuff more power? i dunno. hahah.

but most important... ada matahari or not? i got one pot on my AC ledge at my condo hahahah. best sun and space for my plant.

the issue with apartment planting like tomato is no insects to help pollinate. kena self pollinate... blehhh.

hutazi
post Nov 24 2016, 11:24 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(mustmust009 @ Nov 24 2016, 10:38 PM)
mind to ask ur tomato how big already ??

i grow already 1month+ still like lidi kayu
I forgot how many months. But after it was about 30cm tall I finally bought the plant a big pot. Then within a month it shoot up. Now about 45 cm tall and fruiting.

Make sure only one plant per pot. They have lots of roots.when you replant to big pot. Plant it deep some of the stalk can be buried.
hutazi
post Dec 2 2016, 02:23 PM

496 posts

yay. my tomatoes are coming along rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

hutazi
post Dec 7 2016, 05:35 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Dec 7 2016, 05:21 PM)
Now i use different approach to grow spring onion.
Last time i just plant the onion in the soil.
But now, i let it roots in the water then transfer to the soil. Grow in the water very fast.

Problem i'm facing is when transfer to soil, it grows very slow and u see the tip dry. What went wrong here.
Everytime the spring onion grow certain height then show dying.
Better let it continue to grow in the water?
[attachmentid=8225803][attachmentid=8225806]
i never grown it. but people said around half the bulb should be out of the soil and make sure the bulb is nicely cleaned when transferring to protect from rotting. but yeah. never tried. so just theory hahah.
hutazi
post Dec 12 2016, 05:11 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Dec 9 2016, 09:26 PM)
Hi, Guys. I need urgent help about gardening. I have been watering my plant everyday. But the leaves seem to be unable to get enough water/ dehydrated.

May I know why does this happened?

Why should I do to save my beloved plant?

Many thanks.
maybe over watering? check the soil prior to watering.

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Dec 12 2016, 04:14 PM)
I need help, does anybody know whether my plant is growing those white dots, or are they bugs eating my plant?
What should I do about this?

[attachmentid=8245473]
[attachmentid=8245475]
[attachmentid=8245476]
these may be mealy bugs. Can spray some pesticide.
hutazi
post Mar 30 2017, 11:36 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Mar 30 2017, 11:11 AM)
Just started to try my luck in gardening and bought a pack of Dwarf Drummondii seeds. Read the instructions and planted a handful of them and so far, only one has has managed to grew but not sure if it's normal but the stem feels a bit weak/soft, a light touch on it would tilt the plant =/ is there anything that i'm doing wrong?

Was it that i planted it in the wrong soil or something?

By the way, what is the proper way of sowing these seeds? Straight on the soil?

I read the instructions printed on the back of the pack, no words just diagrams which states sow them underneath the soil about 1mm - 3mm deep and then keep the soil moist. That's all o_O?
should just be that it hadnt rooted properly yet.

normally for seeds i just poke my finger around 1cm into the soil put the seed and place soil on top. but dont press it down. then just water a bit. i have no issues starting seeds... but keeping the plant alive hahahah.
hutazi
post Mar 30 2017, 01:27 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Mar 30 2017, 01:21 PM)
Sorry to ask noob question. Why does over watering will lead to the leaves not enough water? How do we gauge how much water does a plant need?

Thank you.
im also noob. but basically for me, i have issues with overwatering for indoor plants.

overwatering leads to the roots soggy and will rot. so damaged roots leads to no water to the leaves and plant. so plant KO. normally for my plants i always touch the soil before watering. but yeah. im noob. i dont have the best track record hahahaha.

i also dont understand roots... i can somehow overwater a plant in soil. so i take plant out and put it into an entire bucket of water. then its fine.... so i dont understand why....
hutazi
post Mar 30 2017, 04:02 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Mar 30 2017, 03:41 PM)
how often do you actually water during the sowing, i'm afraid that i may over water them causing them to drown =(

keeping plants alive is also one of my nightmares, i had a few onions left in the fridge and they just grew spring onions on them naturally but when I put them into the soil then all die slowly -.-
they died probably because rotten after it got contact with water. i think supposed to peel away some layers. but i never tried.

ive sown cucumbers, tomatoes and chilis from seed. i will water a little bit every day and get the required amount of sun. just make sure the soil got drainage, then you should be ok.
hutazi
post Apr 10 2017, 02:26 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Apr 9 2017, 11:13 PM)
Anyone know what is this white cotton alike?
How to remove this?

[attachmentid=8712070]
I think mealy bugs. Gotta buy pesticide. Most garden shop got. Even tesco
hutazi
post Jun 28 2017, 09:41 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(badigol @ Jun 27 2017, 12:30 PM)
Hi guys, I would like to share my humble flat's balcony garden. I only get part sunlight depending on the month of the year.
I have minimal choices on what I can plant. So far these are the plants that I managed to grow and still experimenting.
Now I'm feeding them with fish fertilizer. Tried chicken manure, seems it's to heaty for the plants.

wow. the habanero is growing well. my plants all didnt really make it. i think the pot too small. my timun jepun dieded when i went overseas T_T but maybe i should try again. they seem to grow relatively well. will be shifting my pants around. i dont have a proper balcony so its a bit hard. but we shall see. so far my other plants been doing will with goat manure.
hutazi
post Jun 28 2017, 10:20 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(badigol @ Jun 28 2017, 10:12 AM)
Cucumber needs to be watered regularly. It's a problem for for when I'm away. I tried self watering using bottle but I'm not able to make it work. Maybe have to invest in the proper auto watering system.
yeah thats the problem. if we had a normal garden which gets rainfall i think will be much easier. but like this a bit susah. also the pollination a bit hard cause no bees or other insects flying around on my balcony hahaha. will need to self pollinate. i have some other flowers but half died and the other half doing so well dunno why... this weekend gonna remove the dead ones and shift the alive ones together. i guess can begin planting some other stuff in the leftover pots.
hutazi
post Jun 29 2017, 09:03 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Jun 29 2017, 12:24 AM)
i managed to get one small guava tree from one of the sungai buloh nursery yesterday  rclxms.gif
oh havent been to sg buloh nursery in ages. did they say how long till fruit?
hutazi
post Jul 2 2017, 10:56 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 1 2017, 01:36 AM)
Anyone has any idea what type of plants to grow around the fences? I kinda like my fence to be covered with leafy plants; takes away the dull looking metal fences, heheh
a nice one to have if you like nasi kerabu is bunga telang. relatively easy to grow and will have some nice purple/pink/blue flowers.
hutazi
post Jul 3 2017, 11:14 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Jul 3 2017, 10:09 AM)
I started the year with lots of greens and now slowly one by one are either dead or dying. I've been travelling a fair bit each month and although I set up my own watering system for certain plants, most of them eventually died. It's been a challenge.

My simple watering system is that I just insert one end of those tali guni into a bottle and the other into the soil and let the plant's root suck up the water whenever it is needed. It works fine initially but I realise that nowadays, the string tends to dry up quicker and the root doesn't suck up the water like it should. Anyone has a better option on self watering system? smile.gif

Even my air plants have slowly died.  I had about 10 and now I only had one left....bummer.  I sprayed water every few days and soak them in water for abt half hour every 2 weeks but even then no luck.  All my succulents are dead as well.  Counting by the tiny containers, I had bought about 20 over the span of 12 months and none survived  cry.gif  My herbs - thyme, basil...dead as well (this was partially due to mealy bugs too).

The only good news is that my sickly aloe vera plant had turned its life around and is looking decent, plus there's a little baby sprouted up too..haha. 

Would love to hear from others how to care for plants when going away on travels.
adu kesian. seems you have same green thumb like me hahaha.

the watering thing is an issue. ive seen people put water bottle into the soil and cucuk small holes so it leaks out slowly. maybe that will be better solution that then string. for the string i use, but i put plants into toilet so that the rope doesnt dry up on long trips.
hutazi
post Jul 3 2017, 04:06 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Jul 3 2017, 03:43 PM)
dunno if this right place to ask but anyway...
behind my house the tree is planted by mbpj. is like got disease. on the bark there are white patches and on the leaves got some mites thingy.

is it illegal if i get someone to chop it off and replace ? i was thinking of a nice longan tree or jambu air.
technically i'm not removing the tree.....just replacing it at my own expense a better tree. is illegal or not ah ?
If its a big tree, better call MBPJ, tell them its dangerous or something. maybe they will chop down by themself.
hutazi
post Jul 17 2017, 08:55 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 15 2017, 08:17 PM)
As for carpet grass, which would you guys suggest? I am looking for one that's minimal maintenance, and doesn't grow so fast!
my old place i just use those carpet type from the nursury. just flatten the land with some soil + sand and then plop those grass rectangles down.
hutazi
post Aug 2 2017, 09:16 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 2 2017, 07:44 AM)
hi, didn't know there's a gardening club in lowyat forum. great! gonna follow this tered.
i suck at raising roses, many failed attempts. so i raise the kind i can use for cooking or can bear fruits. i have a few in my yard:
stevia, lemongrass, aloe vera, chinese chives, betel, turmeric, harbanero chili, chinese violet, pandan, lemon basil, cili padi, limau kasturi, bunga raya, belimbing buluh, mint, rambutan jarum emas, kedondong, semambu, mulberry, kari, henna, asian pigeonwings, passion fruit.

planning to add mango and bergamot.

hope to learn from sifus here.

first question wanna ask, how much water does chili plant need? a lot? frequent watering? once a day only?
i also dunno how to raise it well. but seems like need to water it everyday. and the nursury said to use goat manuere to feed it.

0.0416sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:12 PM