Gardening

TSMarcus
post Oct 19 2005, 03:33 PM, updated 20y ago

286 posts

Hi there,
A friend of mine just recently gave me a little cactus as a gift. As my fren told me, i just need to water it 2 or 3 times a week, place it where there's sunlight, and that's it.

I just wanna know if anyone has a cactus, and the ways to take care of it. Coz my cactus has a beautiful flower on it. Share with me about it!

Andy0625
post Oct 19 2005, 04:11 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Oct 19 2005, 04:06 PM)
Wha-?

Er....does gardening fall under the section of Hobbies and Modelling?
There's no Flower Sub-forums , so i think it's under Hobbies 1. sweat.gif sweat.gif
andymillenium
post Oct 19 2005, 04:34 PM

776 posts

QUOTE(Marcus @ Oct 19 2005, 03:33 PM)
Hi there,
   A friend of mine just recently gave me a little cactus as a gift.  As my fren told me, i just need to water it 2 or 3 times a week, place it where there's sunlight, and that's it. 

I just wanna know if anyone has a cactus, and the ways to take care of it.  Coz my cactus has a beautiful flower on it.  Share with me about it!

Actually taking care of cactus is quite easy........juz remember not too much water when u water them...else it'll go bad..... sweat.gif

when it grows big remember to change to a more comfortable pot, so that the growth wont terbantut... laugh.gif

Last time my house got a small cactus valley or a cactus corner more like it... whistling.gif

but because dont hav much time to keep it tidy, it grown into a jungle.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by andymillenium: Oct 19 2005, 04:47 PM
TSMarcus
post Oct 19 2005, 04:38 PM

286 posts

So if i want to put into a bigger pot, what kind of soil i need use for it? I heard that the soil has to be a mixture of certain soils.

TSMarcus
post Oct 19 2005, 04:39 PM

286 posts

How do i know if a cactus is dying? What does it look like when its dying?

Really curious. wink.gif
andymillenium
post Oct 19 2005, 04:52 PM

776 posts

QUOTE(Marcus @ Oct 19 2005, 04:38 PM)
So if i want to put into a bigger pot, what kind of soil i need use for it?  I heard that the soil has to be a mixture of certain soils.
QUOTE(Marcus @ Oct 19 2005, 04:39 PM)
How do i know if a cactus is dying?  What does it look like when its dying?

Really curious.    wink.gif
About the soil, it depends, if u dun mind fork out abit then those soil can actually be bought in package, i forgot wats the name of the soil......for me i only use backyard soil, coz my backyard's soil are quite hard and yellowish...

It easy to notice if the cactus is dying, it start to turn yellowish.....or even brown.... sweat.gif

or abit like dried vege if not enuf water is given..... laugh.gif
TSMarcus
post Oct 19 2005, 05:39 PM

286 posts

Well, since i got this cactus, i've been always going to my garden and have a look at it everyday. I feel like i have a responsibility for this cactus.

Weird, huh? wink.gif

Hmm....looks like not many are interested in this thread. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Marcus: Oct 19 2005, 05:41 PM
-MansoN-
post Oct 19 2005, 06:57 PM

78 posts

cactus will ROT to death if too much water!

and cactus with flower = susah nak jaga!!!!
many times the flower will die out and leaving a hole on the top, which will be prone to insect and parasite attacks!!!!!

state of abyssmal
post Oct 19 2005, 07:51 PM

addicted to you
4,689 posts

QUOTE(Marcus @ Oct 19 2005, 05:39 PM)
Well, since i got this cactus, i've been always going to my garden and have a look at it everyday.  I feel like i have a responsibility for this cactus.

Weird, huh?  wink.gif

Hmm....looks like not many are interested in this thread.  sweat.gif
i think because not many have cactus.... sweat.gif
lordsapt
post Oct 20 2005, 01:57 AM

LIfe Is nEver HaRd3r
888 posts

Cactus................alwayz put it under sunlight

buy a sprinkler and use it to water it once every 1 and half week

u can also breed them
wanna know????

SUSceo684
post Oct 20 2005, 02:00 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

cactus needs watering.. if not will die also. as long as the soil is moist is ok lah, not dusty/dry.

the cactuses frm cameron are WET cactuses.. too dry and they dieded on me vmad.gif
while the sahara ones are real DRY cactuses. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 20 2005, 03:46 AM
lordsapt
post Oct 20 2005, 03:42 AM

LIfe Is nEver HaRd3r
888 posts

always look at the weather too.....it plays an important role

TSMarcus
post Oct 20 2005, 10:18 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 20 2005, 02:00 AM)
cactus needs watering.. if not will die also. as long as the soil is moist is ok lah, not dusty/dry.

the cactuses frm cameron are WET cactuses.. too dry and they dieded on me vmad.gif
while the sahara ones are real DRY cactuses. tongue.gif
Well, my cactus is probably from camerons coz my fren bought it from there.
What's the difference between WET and DRY cactuses?

kuman
post Oct 20 2005, 10:19 AM

1,654 posts

firstly.... thumbup.gif for the LYN coz having this forum.. notworthy.gif

my mom love cactus very much....
what she did with it most of you guys already mention it above... most important..do not give a lot of water the roots will rot and died away..

i remember for the soil she uses this mixture of those crushed red-brick (can be bought from gardening store) and the normal "tanah gambut"...
she told me .. he reason being to not letting the extra water or moisture to be in the pot after we "siram" the cactus.... smile.gif

and a lot of patience.... smile.gif

also for those big type cactus... do not tanam in pot... they need better area for the roots to grow... so find yourself a land and plant it on the land so that you'll have a healthy and flowery cactus.. as below.... smile.gif and the below cactus got flower regularly as well. smile.gif

thank you smile.gif

This post has been edited by kuman: Oct 20 2005, 10:45 AM
TSMarcus
post Oct 20 2005, 10:19 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(lordsapt @ Oct 20 2005, 01:57 AM)
Cactus................alwayz put it under sunlight

buy a sprinkler and use it to water it once every 1 and half week

u can also breed them
wanna know????
Hey, yeah. How do i breed them?....Curious. biggrin.gif
Intrigue
post Oct 20 2005, 10:53 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(Marcus @ Oct 19 2005, 04:39 PM)
How do i know if a cactus is dying?  What does it look like when its dying?

Really curious.    wink.gif
beware of grasshopper... they are killer to cactus.
lordsapt
post Oct 20 2005, 05:02 PM

LIfe Is nEver HaRd3r
888 posts

To breed cactus is rather simple cause cactus can breed through their leaves. for exp, if ur having rose cactus (is a cactus that shapes like a rose entirely green) u can pluck a layer of it and stuff half of it to the soil. It will still grow but of course if u wan it in a rose shape. Then u will need to use a pen-knife. This scenario is much harder
yuckfou
post Oct 20 2005, 06:52 PM

L.O.V.E R.I.P
2,249 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Oct 20 2005, 10:53 AM)
beware of grasshopper... they are killer to cactus.
ive seen some pretty nasty things happen to cactus thks to these things!
lordsapt
post Oct 21 2005, 04:02 AM

LIfe Is nEver HaRd3r
888 posts

hmmmm....didnt know about grasshoppers....is a new info for me biggrin.gif
Dark Steno
post Oct 21 2005, 04:58 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

At kampung, kambing eats cactus you know. sweat.gif