29 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Gardening

audy
post Oct 31 2016, 09:05 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Oct 30 2016, 05:23 PM)
Yes...
[attachmentid=7906726]
From left to right, 1st and 2nd is chili. 3rd is lime

I  want to grow those easy and fast like spring onion, herbs for cooking use. 
Next i want to try is spring onion which is look easy but the green stop at 1cm and never grow taller anymore. confused.gif
Wow your pots are really deep smile.gif . Good idea to use that for planting tomatoes. I tried planting spring onion too before too since it is said to be easy but like yours, the growth was super slow so I threw it away.

My current project is planting veggies on a planter box biggrin.gif . I started a "sawi" seedling pot over the weekend. Will see how that turns out.
panda-man
post Oct 31 2016, 09:36 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Oct 31 2016, 09:05 AM)
Wow your pots are really deep  smile.gif .  Good idea to use that for planting tomatoes.  I tried planting spring onion too before too since it is said to be easy but like yours, the growth was super slow so I threw it away.

My current project is planting veggies on a planter box  biggrin.gif . I started a "sawi" seedling pot over the weekend.  Will see how that turns out.
yeah i need to get a hold of more planter boxes. right now growing things in those hanging pots as they are way cheaper. medium sized pot only RM2-3 planter is RM20+ (baba) but planters do look better. hehe. i growing my kangkung in daiso planter box though. only RM5, but its small, but i think its ok. going to try to harvest in 1-2 weeks. if i keep cutting the kangkung instead of replanting new seeds, will it still have a nice taste? or will the taste change? anyone know?

just sowed some japanese cucumber (green world) last night. they say in 40 days can harvest. quite excited hahah. hope they grow. first time planting from bought seeds. planted in organic soil i picked up yesterday from the nursery. currently using old kiwi box to see if they sprout. *pray* hahah
audy
post Oct 31 2016, 12:16 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 31 2016, 09:36 AM)
yeah i need to get a hold of more planter boxes. right now growing things in those hanging pots as they are way cheaper. medium sized pot only RM2-3 planter is RM20+ (baba) but planters do look better. hehe. i growing my kangkung in daiso planter box though. only RM5, but its small, but i think its ok. going to try to harvest in 1-2 weeks. if i keep cutting the kangkung instead of replanting new seeds, will it still have a nice taste? or will the taste change? anyone know?

just sowed some japanese cucumber (green world) last night. they say in 40 days can harvest. quite excited hahah. hope they grow. first time planting from bought seeds. planted in organic soil i picked up yesterday from the nursery. currently using old kiwi box to see if they sprout. *pray* hahah
You will need to put stake for your cucumber plant to climb so a deep container will be good. I made a mistake with my tomato using those rectangle small planter box...they grew to about 5 ft and my planter box wasn't deep enough to support the stick so I had to tie the stick to my balcony railing...but the stem is still falling here and there...looking very messy.

panda-man
post Nov 3 2016, 05:54 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Oct 31 2016, 12:16 PM)
You will need to put stake for your cucumber plant to climb so a deep container will be good. I made a  mistake with my tomato using those rectangle small planter box...they grew to about 5 ft and my planter box wasn't deep enough to support the stick so I had to tie the stick to my balcony railing...but the stem is still falling here and there...looking very messy.
thanks. yeah i gotta go get a big pot as i just used my container for my tomato plant. i got a few smaller stakes, but 5ft! hmm. need to consider getting longer ones then heheh.

my cucumbers have all sprouted, planted 12 seeds.... now got 12 seedlings... dunno what to do with them, maybe go plant them at my parents house hahah.
TaqiyAbdullah
post Nov 4 2016, 09:34 AM

Hello everyone wave.gif

Im just starting my small organic garden on my yard area, and there is few of flowers and green plants.
I ve googled that good organic source of nitrogen is alfafa meal and blood meal, and bone meal can supply good amount of phosphorus. Ive tried alfafa meal before but my plants got burnt cause its fast composing process. shocking.gif
I tried googling around for blood meal and bone meal near klang valley but canot find lor.. sad.gif

Anybody got any idea where can i find em? rclxub.gif

panda-man
post Nov 4 2016, 09:37 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(TaqiyAbdullah @ Nov 4 2016, 09:34 AM)
Hello everyone wave.gif

Im just starting my small organic garden on my yard area, and there is few of flowers and green plants.
I ve googled that good organic source of nitrogen is alfafa meal and blood meal, and bone meal can supply good amount of phosphorus. Ive tried alfafa meal before but my plants got burnt cause its fast composing process.  shocking.gif
I tried googling around for blood meal and bone meal near klang valley but canot find lor..  sad.gif

i dunno, but is that really necessary? i think just use the water from when you rinse your rice grains is enough. as long as not hydroponic system.
TaqiyAbdullah
post Nov 4 2016, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 4 2016, 09:37 AM)
i dunno, but is that really necessary? i think just use the water from when you rinse your rice grains is enough. as long as not hydroponic system.
its not that necessary, but i believe the result would be awesome for green plant and flowers, since it has highest amount of N and P in organic fertilizer.. worth to try nod.gif
ryouga9
post Nov 5 2016, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(TaqiyAbdullah @ Nov 4 2016, 09:34 AM)
Hello everyone wave.gif

I ve googled that good organic source of nitrogen is alfafa meal and blood meal, and bone meal can supply good amount of phosphorus. Ive tried alfafa meal before but my plants got burnt cause its fast composing process.  shocking.gif
I tried googling around for blood meal and bone meal near klang valley but canot find lor..  sad.gif

Maybe you can try to search for food processing or manufacturing company? Because they are the waste product from livestock, but you will most likely need to do some research on how to prepare the fertilizer using those raw materials.
owenwong84
post Nov 8 2016, 11:31 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Fingercross... the chili grow so much crowded. Hope it won't die easily.
My diy pot enough big? no need to transfer?
izzit 2 months time expect to see chili ?

This post has been edited by owenwong84: Nov 8 2016, 11:33 PM
panda-man
post Nov 9 2016, 12:03 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Nov 8 2016, 11:31 PM)
Fingercross... the chili grow so much crowded. Hope it won't die easily.
My diy pot enough big? no need to transfer?
izzit 2 months time expect to see chili ?

Chili seems to be growing well. But you will need to get rid of most of them. Chili plant is quite big so just keep cutting them till only like few stalks. Then keep cutting till 1 left.
mustmust009
post Nov 13 2016, 07:31 PM

93 posts

Hi all ,
it is normal for a 1month cherry tomato plant to look skinny ??
Ginta0516
post Nov 14 2016, 01:38 PM

67 posts

Hello fellow gardeners! Never think of LYN has gardening thread before but somehow today I casually search for "Gardening" and found out this thread!

Still new to gardening myself.. so far I have snake plant.. hawthornia.. okra.. guava.. lemon.. gonna start on mulberry..

Decide to grow some herbs as me myself love to use herbs in cooking.. but I have no idea where to get seeds of herbs..
panda-man
post Nov 14 2016, 01:44 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Ginta0516 @ Nov 14 2016, 01:38 PM)
Hello fellow gardeners! Never think of LYN has gardening thread before but somehow today I casually search for "Gardening" and found out this thread!

Still new to gardening myself.. so far I have snake plant.. hawthornia.. okra.. guava.. lemon.. gonna start on mulberry..

Decide to grow some herbs as me myself love to use herbs in cooking.. but I have no idea where to get seeds of herbs..
for herbs, maybe just ask someone for cuttings. or just go to the nursery. they normally have rosemary, and mint for <RM15 for a healthy medium sized plant.

for mint cuttings just put it in water and it will root and can just plant it. but mint is a weed so make sure to plant it in a pot to avoid it from overrunning your garden.

Ginta0516
post Nov 14 2016, 02:18 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 14 2016, 01:44 PM)
for herbs, maybe just ask someone for cuttings. or just go to the nursery. they normally have rosemary, and mint for <RM15 for a healthy medium sized plant.

for mint cuttings just put it in water and it will root and can just plant it. but mint is a weed so make sure to plant it in a pot to avoid it from overrunning your garden.
Too bad most of the people I know are not into gardening.. and the elder one only growing veggies and fruits.. I went to some nursery in my city (Kuching) but sadly can't find any.. few supermarkets did sells herbs in pot but I don't dare to buy as I afraid they might experience temperature shock.. now I am just looking to buy from online stores..
hutazi
post Nov 17 2016, 02:11 PM

496 posts

seems my tomato plant on my balcony started flowering. i ketuk ketuk and hopefully can get some fruit out of them... my cucumber growing damn slow...
owenwong84
post Nov 18 2016, 11:22 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

This morning this chili's leaf look active pointing straight like usual.

I use the remaining water to water the chili this early morning. Then went to check just now the leaf pointing downward show sign of dying. I shift away from getting the sunlight.

What went wrong?

hutazi
post Nov 18 2016, 11:27 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Nov 18 2016, 11:22 AM)
This morning this chili's leaf look active pointing straight like usual.

I use the remaining water to water the chili this early morning. Then went to check just now the leaf pointing downward show sign of dying. I shift away from getting the sunlight.

What went wrong?

the roots are probably choking each other. you should only have 1 plant in that pot, not like a bush. you need to cut the weak ones and kill them off.
Perbaman
post Nov 24 2016, 10:15 AM

63 posts

hehe i havent menanam anything yet, but thinking of planting something at my house.. actually for me i think the best pokok to have at my house is pandan, serai & limau. will definitely be useful. but these trees i think is more suitable to plant if got yard / live in bungalow. i can only grow in pots..

now browsing the net to get some ideas of what plants to grow & how laugh.gif

hutazi
post Nov 24 2016, 10:28 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Nov 24 2016, 10:15 AM)
hehe i havent menanam anything yet, but thinking of planting something at my house.. actually for me i think the best pokok to have at my house is pandan, serai & limau. will definitely be useful. but these trees i think is more suitable to plant if got yard / live in bungalow. i can only grow in pots..

now browsing the net to get some ideas of what plants to grow & how laugh.gif
grow a tomato plant. get a medium sized pot and next time you makan tomato, just scoop some seeds and straight throw them onto the soil and then cover with a bit more soil. dont need to basuh or anything and they will grow nicely. then chop the ones which arent growing well till only 1 king left. and it will grow up nicely.
Perbaman
post Nov 24 2016, 10:39 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Nov 24 2016, 10:28 AM)
grow a tomato plant. get a medium sized pot and next time you makan tomato, just scoop some seeds and straight throw them onto the soil and then cover with a bit more soil. dont need to basuh or anything and they will grow nicely. then chop the ones which arent growing well till only 1 king left. and it will grow up nicely.
great suggestion thumbup.gif will keep in mind
now wanna look see what kind of pot/soil/setup im gonna use for my house lol. betul2 baru nak start ni. no idea whatsoever

29 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:06 PM