Gardening

Ginta0516
post Nov 14 2016, 01:38 PM

67 posts

Hello fellow gardeners! Never think of LYN has gardening thread before but somehow today I casually search for "Gardening" and found out this thread!

Still new to gardening myself.. so far I have snake plant.. hawthornia.. okra.. guava.. lemon.. gonna start on mulberry..

Decide to grow some herbs as me myself love to use herbs in cooking.. but I have no idea where to get seeds of herbs..
Ginta0516
post Nov 14 2016, 02:18 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 14 2016, 01:44 PM)
for herbs, maybe just ask someone for cuttings. or just go to the nursery. they normally have rosemary, and mint for <RM15 for a healthy medium sized plant.

for mint cuttings just put it in water and it will root and can just plant it. but mint is a weed so make sure to plant it in a pot to avoid it from overrunning your garden.
Too bad most of the people I know are not into gardening.. and the elder one only growing veggies and fruits.. I went to some nursery in my city (Kuching) but sadly can't find any.. few supermarkets did sells herbs in pot but I don't dare to buy as I afraid they might experience temperature shock.. now I am just looking to buy from online stores..
Ginta0516
post Jan 25 2017, 01:42 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jan 25 2017, 12:39 PM)
Has anyone here grow avocado fr seed ? Wonder if those methods on Internet is real.
You mean the method of sticking toothpick into the seed and soak it half in the water? I have been using this method and it worked..
Ginta0516
post Jun 26 2017, 09:22 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Jun 25 2017, 03:35 PM)
Hi.. I am helping my dad looking for guava seeds. I am staying in shah alam, any good plant nursery recommended to get guava seeds?

Thanks..
Hi, I am sorry to tell you that I am unable to help you since I am from East Malaysia.. maybe you can google search? Anyway hope you can find what you want.. cheers!
Ginta0516
post Jun 29 2017, 09:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Jun 29 2017, 12:24 AM)
i managed to get one small guava tree from one of the sungai buloh nursery yesterday  rclxms.gif
Good for you! It's white one or pink one? The one I planted is pink one as I prefer it over white one..
Ginta0516
post Aug 17 2017, 11:25 AM

67 posts

My first harvest of chili! The plant has been growing well and healthy, lots of leaves and flowers, but so far only one fruit. Maybe I should do self pollination?
Ginta0516
post Aug 18 2017, 08:12 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Aug 17 2017, 09:40 PM)
any plans to transfer to bigger pot or plant on ground?
Yes.. plan to transfer it to ground in near future..
Ginta0516
post Aug 18 2017, 08:14 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 17 2017, 10:08 PM)
healthy leaves. U use pesticide?
I use home make pesticide which is soap water.. does this count? tongue.gif
Ginta0516
post Aug 18 2017, 08:39 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 18 2017, 08:32 AM)
yes it does. share the recipe please. mine not working lah.
Actually mine barely working too.. It's more like repellent.. After few days the bugs just coming back.. Most of the time I manually remove the bugs or trim out the leaves which is infected..
Ginta0516
post Sep 12 2017, 09:26 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 9 2017, 03:02 PM)
to promote growth
http://www.kebunbandar.com/msg-ajinomoto-subur-tanaman/

i poured some for my passion fruit plant as well, apart from using fertilizer for flower/fruit. now it's fruiting like crazy.
First time heard of this.. very interesting indeed.. gonna try it soon..
Ginta0516
post Sep 20 2017, 04:26 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Sep 20 2017, 12:44 PM)
bout avocado

this is mine

[attachmentid=9154507]

right now it is about 5 feet tall

I tried about 5-6 seeds, only managed get 2 success and one dead due to excessive water (rain) when i was away for trip  bangwall.gif

It really took very very long time to sprout (more than 2 months for my case) . Don't use tap water (bcos of the chlorine)
Looking good! Try pinch off excess growth at first so it can grows bushier and stronger instead just taller..
Currently mine was about 6 - 7 inch tall and still submerges in the water..
Are you going to continue growing the avo in the pot or transplant it into ground in the future?
Because I was thinking to grow the avo in the pot without transplant it into ground hmm.gif
Ginta0516
post Nov 8 2017, 06:40 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 8 2017, 05:07 PM)
[attachmentid=9315014]
Looks real good!
Ginta0516
post Apr 13 2018, 08:10 AM

67 posts

Just visit any Starbucks outlet and ask for used coffee ground.. they are more than happy to give you for free.. I get my used coffee ground this way..

0.0339sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:10 AM