126 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

sangtupperware
post Sep 28 2012, 12:24 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Sep 28 2012, 12:17 PM)
Hehehe...an opinion is a qualified statement.

Anyways, lets digress its not an English class ....back to this disscusion.

Perhaps you missed my point. What I am trying to put through is this. STI nerf progressively gets worst as you move up the MP chain. Assuming a monk with 2000 dex, with the nerf, stands to lose 1000 Armor. Now a loss of 1000 Armour is at MP 1 is bearable since 25% reduction to Monster damage. However, when you reach MP3-4, the nerf starts to bite, as the loss of 1k Armour means your effective HP is reduced as the 25% reduction on MOnster damage is virtually gone by then. As you scale up, it gets worst..as the monster damage scales up the EHP continues to diminish unless one is to replace the loss of armor.

I dont get why you say with STI nerf you dont have to regear. Most monks that I know (perhaps all) ...rely on STI to buff the Armour. Hence when looking for an item, I rather pick an item with low armour but high Dex + AR+ Stacking resisit. The loss of armour is compensated from the high Dex by way of STI. With the nerf, most monks cant rely on STI to get the Armour buff, hence have to regear and get + Armour on some gears and lose some Dex in exchange. I agree with you that its all about gears for this game, hence most people will re-gear to compensate the loss of Armour.
On the point of LoH, ok its oranges and apples analogy but I dont see how I am contradicting myself. What I wanted to put accross is for the eg of the nerf on proc of nandos. Its constant..irrespective which MP level you are playing whereas the STI diminishes as you progress further in MP. Say after nerf in 1.05 a barb gets 100 life per tick from its LoH. Irrespective MP1 or MP10, the Barb WILL get 100 life per tick, period unlike STI which the effectiveness diminishes as you progress higher MP. Also, if you look at the PTR at the moment, monks are really struggling...they are stuck in the middle. Not high enough DPS to kill stuff faster and cant tank efficiently. Heck, seen any monks trying to do MP10? As it stands I think barbs are able to do it smile.gif the youtube post on the Hellfire Ring was a barb. 

On MF/GF did you see the part where I mentioned 550%?=300% +250% from MP bonus
wow ....u guys are so analytical in this matter...which is good not bad..

but my simple brain just think like this....cuz mp3-mp4 is like current inferno...mp5 above will definitely got harder in terms of monster dmg and HP/def....

so simple thinking is.....u have to have higher dmg and just enough def....its maybe 50:50 upgrade or whatever...u can not have too high DPS but low def...cuz the monster got more hp more def thus more dmg....or vice versa..

so simple solution is....go balanced ur char in terms of dmg and def...so that on higher MP ...u can kill it efficiently...but not get killed horribly... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sangtupperware: Sep 28 2012, 12:27 PM
yuhhaur
post Sep 28 2012, 12:24 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

I think every monk will suffer from the STI nerf. How many of us are getting 1k STR + 2k armor from equipment? I tried this way but it sacrificing my DEX so much that it affect the effect of the DEX on attacking side.

NOTE: +2k armor means on average your 10pieces gear had to have +200 on average. Not an easy choice as to compensate others losses.

I think we'll be seeing more MoE+HT in higher MP levels.
gladfly
post Sep 28 2012, 12:35 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Sep 28 2012, 12:24 PM)
I think every monk will suffer from the STI nerf. How many of us are getting 1k STR + 2k armor from equipment? I tried this way but it sacrificing my DEX so much that it affect the effect of the DEX on attacking side.

NOTE: +2k armor means on average your 10pieces gear had to have +200 on average. Not an easy choice as to compensate others losses.

Thats my point exactly. The Nerf on STI actually effects monk much more than what was initially thought. Monks now considered pariah class liao.

Want to survive? lower your dex get Armor. But then...you take forever to kill the monster. Catch 22....
clautee
post Sep 28 2012, 01:00 PM

48 posts

Tested PTR. My monk gt raped badly by white scorpions in MP10. Nid higher armor, higher dps, higher hp, higher LS,..., basically regear everything.

However my monk can still perform well in MP5 in term of effectiveness. 1.0.5 will make u kip grinding for better gear then u can proceed to nx lvl. Or just AH for short cut
LifeX
post Sep 28 2012, 01:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(clautee @ Sep 28 2012, 01:00 PM)
Tested PTR. My monk gt raped badly by white scorpions in MP10. Nid higher armor, higher dps, higher hp, higher LS,..., basically regear everything.

However my monk can still perform well in MP5 in term of effectiveness. 1.0.5 will make u kip grinding for better gear then u can proceed to nx lvl. Or just AH for short cut
If thats the case, mind to share your build and stats?

So we have a bigger picture on the MP and we would have a benchmark.
yuhhaur
post Sep 28 2012, 01:36 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

one more issue:
Bug Fixes

Damage caused by the Reflects Damage affix can no longer be dodged

Don't know how it will affect us that dodge so much.
clautee
post Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Sep 28 2012, 01:10 PM)
If thats the case, mind to share your build and stats?

So we have a bigger picture on the MP and we would have a benchmark.
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/EAN-6902/hero/5919438

My weapon is in rmah bt the btm stat still retained. Basically I hav 100k dps, 31k hp, 4.5k armor, 500 resist, 0 LS/LOH in 1.0.5.

U may tin the prob lies on LS/LOH but I rather point it to the nerfed defence and subsequently DMG reduction. I've nt start to hit mobs already kiss floor at encounter of large group mobs.

LS/LOH will help but at the stage of nt reducing ur dps. 100k dps unbuff in mp10 is way too low unless u're enjoying killing mobs in minutes.

U should try ptr with ur monk as urs have 100k dps with LS & LOH. Then u will know what u r lacking of in MP10.

ALeUNe
post Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Sep 28 2012, 12:24 PM)

I already upgraded few gears.
I still can keep my armor at 6K+ (without shield) after patch 105.

Added on September 28, 2012, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(clautee @ Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM)
... I've nt start to hit mobs already kiss floor at encounter of large group mobs.
May I know which Act? A3?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Sep 28 2012, 01:56 PM
LifeX
post Sep 28 2012, 02:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(clautee @ Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/EAN-6902/hero/5919438

My weapon is in rmah bt the btm stat still retained. Basically I hav 100k dps, 31k hp, 4.5k armor, 500 resist, 0 LS/LOH in 1.0.5.

U may tin the prob lies on LS/LOH but I rather point it to the nerfed defence and subsequently DMG reduction. I've nt start to hit mobs already kiss floor at encounter of large group mobs.

LS/LOH will help but at the stage of nt reducing ur dps. 100k dps unbuff in mp10 is way too low unless u're enjoying killing mobs in minutes.

U should try ptr with ur monk as urs have 100k dps with LS & LOH. Then u will know what u r lacking of in MP10.
malas wanna try PTR. Wait till its officially up only see how.

I unbuff almost similar like you but higher HP and higher Armor ( without enchant ).

If possible just farm MP6-8 kua.
sexbomb
post Sep 28 2012, 02:10 PM

93 posts

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Sn00bz-6959/hero/10785073

struggling to hit 100k dps while maintaining 800AR, 6k armor, 1.3k LoH, 35k HP and above
profile are without enchantress buff

unsure.gif

This post has been edited by sexbomb: Sep 28 2012, 02:10 PM
clautee
post Sep 28 2012, 02:16 PM

48 posts

@ Aleune, A3 lor. Scorpion that we used to 1h but nw the other way round.

@ lifex, ya urs Monk may have better survivability. 1.0.5 may still nid 2 wks to come on9. Just my hunch.
LifeX
post Sep 28 2012, 02:17 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Sep 28 2012, 02:10 PM)

struggling to hit 100k dps while maintaining 800AR, 6k armor, 1.3k LoH, 35k HP and above

unsure.gif
Wahh..your item keng d wor. LOL. With that DPS and that amount of AR , LOH and HP and armor.

What else you want? Hahaha

This post has been edited by LifeX: Sep 28 2012, 02:19 PM
sexbomb
post Sep 28 2012, 02:22 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Sep 28 2012, 02:17 PM)
Wahh..your item keng d wor. LOL. With that DPS and that amount of AR , LOH and HP and armor.

What else you want? Hahaha
i know bro dont worry. its just a personal challenge.
if i wanna hit 100k dps i can just sell off both my weapon and get something without LoH
but i insist on retaining those stats

This post has been edited by sexbomb: Sep 28 2012, 02:22 PM
present me
post Sep 28 2012, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Sep 28 2012, 03:10 PM)

unsure.gif
Bro yesterday v co-op aleune u have good performance dps they, but in mp level they u need survive gear longer, ur hp, armor n AR need higher abit will enough.... cos u using MoC if u use MoE....
LifeX
post Sep 28 2012, 02:26 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(present me @ Sep 28 2012, 02:23 PM)
Bro yesterday v co-op aleune u have good performance dps they, but in mp level they u need survive gear longer, ur hp, armor n AR need higher abit will enough.... cos u using MoC if u use MoE....
Trying very hard to understand. blink.gif
present me
post Sep 28 2012, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(LifeX @ Sep 28 2012, 03:26 PM)
Trying very hard to understand.  blink.gif
Means snoobz had very well DPS performance they but my point is need stand tough for longer when u killing elite MP level
K5WHITE
post Sep 28 2012, 04:01 PM

92 posts

FYI, i beaten Ghom with much of u guys help, and special thanks to Quaza for the vid posted at the first page...haha..so easy

now, i noticed many of u uses FoT Thunderclap...any particular reason?
LifeX
post Sep 28 2012, 04:02 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Sep 28 2012, 04:01 PM)
FYI, i beaten Ghom with much of u guys help, and special thanks to Quaza for the vid posted at the first page...haha..so easy

now, i noticed many of u uses FoT Thunderclap...any particular reason?
Because of the LOH %, and the spirit generator. :-)
yuhhaur
post Sep 28 2012, 04:24 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

and thunderclap can chase enemy / avoid from other enemy
TSQuazacolt
post Sep 28 2012, 06:10 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Sep 28 2012, 12:17 PM)
Perhaps you missed my point. What I am trying to put through is this. STI nerf progressively gets worst as you move up the MP chain. Assuming a monk with 2000 dex, with the nerf, stands to lose 1000 Armor. Now a loss of 1000 Armour is at MP 1 is bearable since 25% reduction to Monster damage. However, when you reach MP3-4, the nerf starts to bite, as the loss of 1k Armour means your effective HP is reduced as the 25% reduction on MOnster damage is virtually gone by then. As you scale up, it gets worst..as the monster damage scales up the EHP continues to diminish unless one is to replace the loss of armor.

I dont get why you say with STI nerf you dont have to regear. Most monks that I know (perhaps all) ...rely on STI to buff the Armour. Hence when looking for an item, I rather pick an item with low armour but high Dex + AR+ Stacking resisit. The loss of armour is compensated from the high Dex by way of STI. With the nerf, most monks cant rely on STI to get the Armour buff, hence have to regear and get + Armour on some gears and lose some Dex in exchange. I agree with you that its all about gears for this game, hence most people will re-gear to compensate the loss of Armour.
On the point of LoH, ok its oranges and apples analogy but I dont see how I am contradicting myself. What I wanted to put accross is for the eg of the nerf on proc of nandos. Its constant..irrespective which MP level you are playing whereas the STI diminishes as you progress further in MP. Say after nerf in 1.05 a barb gets 100 life per tick from its LoH. Irrespective MP1 or MP10, the Barb WILL get 100 life per tick, period unlike STI which the effectiveness diminishes as you progress higher MP. Also, if you look at the PTR at the moment, monks are really struggling...they are stuck in the middle. Not high enough DPS to kill stuff faster and cant tank efficiently. Heck, seen any monks trying to do MP10? As it stands I think barbs are able to do it smile.gif the youtube post on the Hellfire Ring was a barb. 

On MF/GF did you see the part where I mentioned 550%?=300% +250% from MP bonus
i would beg to differ that you were missing my point instead.
my point is mainly simple:
- it is not so bad to monks as you may think
- other classes faces the nerf too
- you will have worse things to worry about other than survival

ill pick WD/wiz as examples:
Energy Armor: Armor increase reduced from 65% to 35%.
Energy Armor - Prismatic Armor: Resistance increase reduced from 40% to 25%.
Jungle Fortitude is being reduced from 20% to 15% damage reduction.

the change to energy armor means that wizards are getting shafted higher in overall damage reduction compared to monk. do take note on the 1:10 ratio, and having both armor/resistance reduction (better geared wiz all uses prismatic, not force armor) will reduce your overall dmg reduction greatly.

now for WD it is a bit tricky, (do correct me if i am wrong on the dmg reduction being multiplicative or additive, since WD are like so friggin rare and i dont even play one myself) if you are actually decently geared in armor and resistance, you will be getting a huge defensive nerf. however if you're a pure glass cannon that dies from basically anything in a hit, then not so much effect to you anyways.

now comparing to our fellow melee brother the barbarian:
i'll put it to you that barbarians have absolutely NO PROBLEM in gaining armor, they however may have some difficulty in gaining resistance considering that they do not have OwE and balancing a secondary resistance throughout all your gear pieces can be a difficult task (however rewarding if you can pull it off anyways)
and guess what:
War Cry
Cooldown reduced from 30 seconds to 20 seconds
Fury generated reduced from 30 to 20
Skill Rune – Charge!
Fury generated reduced from 60 to 40
Skill Rune – Impunity
Bonus resistance reduced from 50% to 20%

welp! too bad, they now have even worse problems in gaining resistance now!

but you see, i firmly believe no one that's prepared to play in higher MP levels are gonna cry about defensive skills/passive change. because they are going to have worse problems in dispatching mobs. i don't know about you, unless your idea of wailing at a WHITE MOB for 5-10mins is your idea of fun, i am pretty certain that the huge majority of the community would want nothing of that sort.

if you get my whole point in the first place, you would immediately understand why most monk would not bother to re-gear and continue their pursuit in getting higher dps. (or overall higher quality gear)

on LS/LoH/healing, you're simply mixing things up. by your logic, even barbs/wiz are hit as bad as monks considering their nerf "scales" as MP goes up (again, by your logic)
the only class that are probably not affected by this are DH, however even blizz acknowledges that their class are very binary and are being look at (either you are godlike or you die even if someone as much as sneezes at a DH) and if you've seen the video of that 150k dmg DH (without SS) wailing at a white mob in mp10, i think the DH would have better concerns on how to buff dps over trying how to survive

on GF/MF bonus, it is only assuming if you are paragon 100 which im sure majority of us are still a long way to go in that. which comes down to stacking mf/gf gear, and doing that in mp levels is... kinda suicidal i would think.

126 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.6804sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:03 PM