126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V25, Drive Saga Like a Boss!

lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:27 PM)
Sluggishness?

Of course, new oil in the engine today, feels so revvy and responsive. Dunno how it's gonna be once past 5k km  hmm.gif
Actually what happened to you this morning happened to me every time I go for servicing. Go there, ask for something like 10w40 but they only have 15w50 doh.gif So I've never used anything lower before, but I expect a lighter oil will be less sluggish.

Though I asked them at my 40,000 km service and they said I can bring my own oil next time rclxm9.gif Hmmm it's gonna be quite a few more months before I hit 50,000 km hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 13 2012, 11:35 PM
dares
post Jul 13 2012, 11:42 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 13 2012, 11:31 PM)
i though 10w40 is gud enuff for saga

and of cource API SL  nod.gif
10w30 also can ady. nod.gif

QUOTE(lhwj @ Jul 13 2012, 11:32 PM)
Actually what happened to you this morning happened to me every time I go for servicing. Go there, ask for something like 10w40 but they only have 15w50 doh.gif So I've never used anything lower before, but I expect a lighter oil will be less sluggish.

Though I asked them at my 40,000 km service and they said I can bring my own oil next time rclxm9.gif Hmmm it's gonna be quite a few more months before I hit 50,000 km hmm.gif
Hahaha, not by choice also. Where you do your service? COE lets you bring your own lube hmm.gif
lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:42 PM)
10w30 also can ady.  nod.gif
Hahaha, not by choice also. Where you do your service? COE lets you bring your own lube  hmm.gif
EON at Sungai Pinang, Penang. I thought of doing my 40k service at Mutiara Damansara since I live nearby but I happened to be back in Penang then.
davidke20
post Jul 14 2012, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(nickzkuso @ Jul 13 2012, 07:33 PM)
haha...sounds like can put the RSB and ignore the FSB for a period tongue.gif

but if install FSB first then the rear side will feel tak ngam right? den slowly will add RSB...
before add the RSB, will it affect the handling?
I have never tested a GaGa with ONLY FSB. But most of my cars has a 2 point FSB, my GaGa RSB is my 1st experience. According to my previous experiences is those FSB doesn't really do much magic, taking corner will be sharper/steeper. Worst is if your engine mounting already koyak, the FSB will become like a guitar string vibrate the whole car shakehead.gif

With only FSB, your car characteristic will not change, basically felt exactly the same. You need to find a road you're super familiar with, often attacked corner to test after installed FSB. You'll find you need less steering action to finish the corner. For example normally without FSB, when you take a hard corner before reaching your house, you pusing your steering in, and whilst the car turning you'll be hesitating release a little bit/increase a little bit to make sure the corner can be cut in correctly. With FSB, you "feel" your tyre got more grib. You know exactly where your car will end up. Once you get used to the feeling, you take the same corner again and you'll find some of the small "habitual" steering adjustment will be automatically eliminated. According to Cusco's video, because upper part of the engine bay has been "braced", pulling each front absorber together, the outter wheel will need more radial force to push the car back down and therefore the inner wheel's absorber will have to play more to keep the car on the ground. In short, the front wheel will increase grip because of mutual pushing characteristic of front strut bar.

If interested, please click spoiler to see pictar and do some reading on 6th July 2012 post back in V24.

Comes to think of it, Marhaihai only got FSB, may be that's why he can do 90' right turn and sharp² cut into that parking space laugh.gif

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 13 2012, 09:26 PM)
pak toh with wife lo... lol  laugh.gif
Yes, but not my wife brows.gif

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 13 2012, 09:55 PM)
introduce mieza to you perhap??  laugh.gif
Stop harassing her, next time she dun wanto show up in TT then I ask kenjilew to buttseck you
gogoman86
post Jul 14 2012, 12:30 AM

408 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:16 AM)
Comes to think of it, Marhaihai only got FSB, may be that's why he can do 90' right turn and sharp² cut into that parking space laugh.gif
Stop harassing her, next time she dun wanto show up in TT then I ask kenjilew to buttseck you
nothing wrong to introduce as friend right, since myself also nvr met her before tongue.gif

anyone know where is the fsb factory is? i worry i will late to the TT, at least can meet at factory.. Coordinates please...
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 12:33 AM

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:30 AM)
nothing wrong to introduce as friend right, since myself also nvr met her before  tongue.gif

anyone know where is the fsb factory is? i worry i will late to the TT, at least can meet at factory..  Coordinates please...
No. 38, Jln Industri USJ 1/1
Tmn Perindustrian USJ 1
47600 Subang Jaya
Selangor DE
nickzkuso
post Jul 14 2012, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:16 AM)
I have never tested a GaGa with ONLY FSB. But most of my cars has a 2 point FSB, my GaGa RSB is my 1st experience. According to my previous experiences is those FSB doesn't really do much magic, taking corner will be sharper/steeper. Worst is if your engine mounting already koyak, the FSB will become like a guitar string vibrate the whole car shakehead.gif

With only FSB, your car characteristic will not change, basically felt exactly the same. You need to find a road you're super familiar with, often attacked corner to test after installed FSB. You'll find you need less steering action to finish the corner. For example normally without FSB, when you take a hard corner before reaching your house, you pusing your steering in, and whilst the car turning you'll be hesitating release a little bit/increase a little bit to make sure the corner can be cut in correctly. With FSB, you "feel" your tyre got more grib. You know exactly where your car will end up. Once you get used to the feeling, you take the same corner again and you'll find some of the small "habitual" steering adjustment will be automatically eliminated. According to Cusco's video, because upper part of the engine bay has been "braced", pulling each front absorber together, the outter wheel will need more radial force to push the car back down and therefore the inner wheel's absorber will have to play more to keep the car on the ground. In short, the front wheel will increase grip because of mutual pushing characteristic of front strut bar.

If interested, please click spoiler to see pictar and do some reading on 6th July 2012 post back in V24.

huh? will become guitar string? shocking.gif
it only happen if engine mounting already koyak right?
kinda danger if u drive other ppl car cos u ald biasa with own car with RSB..haha
davidke20
post Jul 14 2012, 01:37 AM

QUOTE(nickzkuso @ Jul 14 2012, 01:14 AM)
huh? will become guitar string?   shocking.gif
it only happen if engine mounting already koyak right?
kinda danger if u drive other ppl car cos u ald biasa with own car with RSB..haha
Kidding lar. Because when there are extra vibration in the engine bay, due to force transfer(by the strut bars) the vibration will be directly distributed to whole car equally, as a result the strut bar will hum like a guitar string and your cockpit will become the soundbox of a guitar. No official reference as I found out via real life experience. Before I sold 1 of my Plotong Wiga 1.6, I took out the FSB and the whole car become senyap adi. The koyaked engine mounting only make noise when I make a sudden pickup/release gas pedal. Otherwise, with the FSB my whole car inside the cockpit wanna put a bottle on the dashboard it also shake until drop. shakehead.gif

Not that bad, its still the same car with slightly different cornering characteristic and that's it. Besides, when I drive other people's car, I tend to drive slower and be extra careful. Not sure about you, but I suggest you do the same, be safe than sorry. You don't even know how much tyre pressure it has in your friend's car, how can you be so confident to whack corners sweat.gif

I've always mentioned, until you're at the edge of losing control, then everything is different. You'll need to push the limit to find out how FSB/RSB will affect a car. Basically my GaGa is still a GaGa, doesn't really change that much. Trust me, the 1st time you installed your FSB, you'll start komplening there is no effect on it, as the car basically doesn't show any difference and any changes AT ALL! You'll be disappointed and paying money like somebody cheated you. However, the actual effect is, drive your car over the street, across 3MAX factory got another row of factory with less car, try to do those GT500/F1 warm up tyre move, swaying your car left/right quickly brows.gif Then you'll see how sharp your car can move with the stiffen strut towers brows.gif

This post has been edited by davidke20: Jul 14 2012, 01:43 AM
r3apers
post Jul 14 2012, 09:06 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:14 PM)
Remember to bring UR stickers tomorrow. Put it in the car now, go go (man)!

Added on July 13, 2012, 11:20 pm

Get from Siuyi la brows.gif
AND STILL YOUR FC SO GOOD  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
i bring sticker u treat me KFC...wakakakaka
zeone
post Jul 14 2012, 09:38 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(lhwj @ Jul 13 2012, 10:33 PM)
I've been using 15w50 all these while whistling.gif
QUOTE(lhwj @ Jul 13 2012, 11:25 PM)
Proof that engine oil viscosity is not an important factor in FC icon_idea.gif
hi & Good Morning!! notworthy.gif

Re recent discussion (numerous times b4 this, too!) over suitable SAE EO grades, my fantastc hallucination here...agin...haha!

IMHO most users are kinda confused over "monograde" (ole skool) & "multigrade" (new skool) EOs.
A monograde SAE 30 only lubricates & protects as a single grade oil BUT DOES NOT provide suitable lube nor protect at less harsher/less demanding nor more hasher conditions.
A multigrade SAE 30 (as the name suggests) provides such characteristics UP TO max SAE 30 conditions

So similarly a multigrade SAE 50 E0 wld provide coverage for conditions up2 max SAE 50 requirements ie it wld do the same as if yu had SAE 40, 30, 20, etc depending on engine condition requirements

Multigrade EOs provide general lube & protection over a wide range of requirements.

Thus, me feel (IINM), no one shld hv any fear of using any multigrade EOs as long as it covers engine requirements. tongue.gif

If our Saga when driven @ a particular time needs SAE 30 (eg when cold), it's available.
If our Saga @that pt in time cos one thrashes it and thus need higher protection like with SAE 50, it's ALSO available!!

An example : A 0W40 Multigrade covers grades fr SAE 0 to 40...
Similarly 10W50 covers SAE 10 to SAE 50.

Now me am sober.... rolleyes.gif

Added on July 14, 2012, 9:44 amps. As alwaz...in all things in Life...theory & facts aside, all ends up a matter of personal belief, choice & decision.
Like often quoted, watever works for yu...Wat make yu happy! tongue.gif

Added on July 14, 2012, 9:47 am
QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 14 2012, 09:38 AM)
hi & Good Morning!! notworthy.gif

Re recent discussion (numerous times b4 this, too!) over suitable SAE EO grades, my fantastc hallucination here...agin...haha!

IMHO most users are kinda confused over "monograde" (ole skool) & "multigrade" (new skool) EOs.
A monograde SAE 30 only lubricates & protects as a single grade oil BUT DOES NOT provide suitable lube nor protect at less harsher/less demanding nor more hasher conditions.
A multigrade SAE 30 (as the name suggests) provides such characteristics UP TO max SAE 30 conditions

So similarly a multigrade SAE 50 E0 wld provide coverage for conditions up2 max SAE 50 requirements ie it wld do the same as if yu had SAE 40, 30, 20, etc depending on engine condition requirements

Multigrade EOs provide general lube & protection over a wide range of requirements.

Thus, me feel (IINM), no one shld hv any fear of using any multigrade EOs as long as it covers engine requirements.

If our Saga when driven @ a particular time needs SAE 30 (eg when cold), it's available.
If our Saga @that pt in time cos one thrashes it and thus need higher protection like with SAE 50, it's ALSO available!!

An example : A 0W40 Multigrade covers grades fr SAE 0 to 40...
Similarly 10W50 covers SAE 10 to SAE 50.

Now me am sober....

Added on July 14, 2012, 9:44 amps. As alwaz...in all things in Life...theory & facts aside, all ends up a matter of personal belief, choice & decision.
Like often quoted, watever works for yu...Wat make yu happy!
pps. Juz ask ourselves 1 simple question:
Why was the Campro engine ORIGINALLY filled with SAE 20W50 EO @ factory/Engine Assembly Plant?
And everyone trusted that oil to protect our Brand New engines for 1k+ Km b4 any oil changes?
This post has been edited by zeone: Jul 14 2012, 09:51 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 14 2012, 09:48 AM

3,832 posts

sweat.gif

If what u said is true, then why EO companies still selling SAE 40, 30, 20 since SAE 50 covers everythg?
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 09:55 AM

Actually the issues we were talking about were fuel consumption and engine response, and how using a lighter oil would help. I have no doubts about the lubricating qualities of any modern oil and I think you're right smile.gif
zeone
post Jul 14 2012, 09:58 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 14 2012, 09:48 AM)
sweat.gif

If what u said is true, then why EO companies still selling SAE 40, 30, 20 since SAE 50 covers everythg?
The choice depends on how the engine is used and the personal needs of the driver. tongue.gif
Like in my very simplified explanation, a SAE 30 multigrade covers up to SAE30 limits only...whereas SAE 50 is for up to a higher level.
A matter of choice depending on engine & user requirements eg type of use & driving style.
Long story...
Mayb more reading up re "What is a Multigrade Engine Oil?"

Added on July 14, 2012, 10:03 am
QUOTE(lhwj @ Jul 14 2012, 09:55 AM)
Actually the issues we were talking about were fuel consumption and engine response, and how using a lighter oil would help. I have no doubts about the lubricating qualities of any modern oil and I think you're right smile.gif
Methink yu are on right track there...rclxms.gif
SAE 30 wld help in easier revs but NOT provide needed protection @higher revs nor @higher temp.

An issue of choice... Owner / User makes that decision acc2 wat his car is used for and how it wld b driven.

This post has been edited by zeone: Jul 14 2012, 10:25 AM
dares
post Jul 14 2012, 10:39 AM

834 posts

From what I read, weight 50 lubes are overkill for normal city or even highway driving. Maybe good for track driving or high performance engines where the temperature runs very high.

Under normal driving conditions, 40 should be plenty enough, even with the occasional spirited sprint hmm.gif
zeone
post Jul 14 2012, 10:46 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

Juz 4sake of discussion & going back 2my hallucination state of mind.... hmm.gif

Eg if one uses multigrade SAE 30 eg 10W30 for easier revving engine, one wld probably tend to rev a bit higher than normal, resulting in more internal stress, wear & tear which might not be provided for due2 now higher friction + resulting engine temp?
Whereas a higher SAE grade multigrade wld be able to shift upwards to give needed lube & protection in such a situation?

Let's juz look back in2 Saga's lube reco history...

2008 (BLMs) to Pre-late 2011 (later FLs) : reco grade = 20W50
Late 2011 to 2012 (FLXs) reco 10W30

AND MOST SCs fill up ALL Sagas = 10W40

Now yu tell me wat's going on...???

ps. AFAIK Saga is FIRST car model where reco EO grade has been officially changed in User Manuals!
Also why are SCs NOT following as per reco in official manuals?

My hallucination? Proton is catering to complaints by buyers of Sagas over poor FC and a quick immediate solution is to reco 10W30...
However, if one chks the chart of suitable EO grades for ALL Sagas in ALL user manuals, ALL those grades ARE SUITABLE!! Haha! rclxm9.gif

My hallucination stops here...long withdrawal period coming... tongue.gif

Added on July 14, 2012, 10:55 am
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 14 2012, 10:39 AM)
From what I read, weight 50 lubes are overkill for normal city or even highway driving. Maybe good for track driving or high performance engines where the temperature runs very high.

Under normal driving conditions, 40 should be plenty enough, even with the occasional spirited sprint hmm.gif
Yup, that statement is true, Bro. smile.gif

However, we are not dealing with Single (monograde) oils nowadays...but MULTIGRADES... rolleyes.gif

A SAE 10W50 is NOT an SAE50 grade oil but covers SAE grades from SAE10W up to SAE 50...smile.gif

So if we drive "normally", the oil wld probably perform as SAE 30/40 (me really dun kno 4sure which).
However, if we need to drive more than normal, the oil wld be able to perform as SAE 50 oil to give the lube & protection the moving parts need.

That is the main advantage of Multigrades. thumbup.gif

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:04 amps. A multigrade EO eg 10W40 is NOT a 40 grade oil ONLY.
It can be in simple terms a 10W, 5W, 0W, 10, 20, 30, 40 grade oil as the engine conditions demand of it.
Sincerely hope that is a clearer pic?
TQ 4reading this far.
Feel me bored yu guys enuf oledi.
Hv a nice wkend!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Jul 14 2012, 11:04 AM
davidke20
post Jul 14 2012, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 14 2012, 10:39 AM)

NASCAR V8 5000cc monsters uses 15w40 mineral oil x 2 gallon. Most of the time their cars running at 200mph, so whats wrong with mineral oil rolleyes.gif
dares
post Jul 14 2012, 11:17 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:11 AM)
NASCAR V8 5000cc monsters uses 15w40 mineral oil x 2 gallon. Most of the time their cars running at 200mph, so whats wrong with mineral oil rolleyes.gif
Unker, I tak mention mineral oil pun dry.gif my car now running on full syn 15w-50 sad.gif
EhWhatNowLah?
post Jul 14 2012, 11:33 AM

something that i found in the net.. the bodykit fl r3 wub.gif

r3apers
post Jul 14 2012, 11:40 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(EhWhatNowLah? @ Jul 14 2012, 11:33 AM)
something that i found in the net..  the bodykit fl r3  wub.gif
if u really wan it..try look for our handsome SiuYi...
JackX
post Jul 14 2012, 12:02 PM

2,732 posts

Hello guys! Please add me in too!

Saga FLX 1.3 - Solid White | Manual| Standard

I should be collecting my car next week latest Wednesday! hehe tongue.gif

Thanks!

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top