PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V25, Drive Saga Like a Boss!

lhwj
post Jul 10 2012, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 10 2012, 11:32 AM)
1. Wat's Traction rating for Mich XM2 185/60R14? A or AA?
Rated A
lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 04:22 PM

In conjunction with the rally, PROTON is also inviting spectators and rally enthusiasts to get up close to the action at the Angsana super special stage and savour some of the latest offerings fromits R3 (Race, Rally, Research) motorsports division at a mini PROTON carnival next to the Angsana Shopping Complex and rally service park.

The mini carnival will feature a wide range of PROTON performance parts and accessories by R3,and several R3 show models on display which includes the Saga R3, Satria NeoR3, Inspira R3 and Persona R3.

Also on public display for the first time will be the show versions of the Prevé R3and two special models - the Satria Neo Racing and Satria Neo Rally Edition models.

From here.
lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(mieza @ Jul 12 2012, 05:57 PM)
This coolant makes me sick just by watching it  vmad.gif
I guess you'll never fill Petron ever again.

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 12 2012, 06:42 PM)
Just a quick update ebibodi, since last post after I left workshop with cleaned injectors, halfway reaching Banting check engine lite up. I can't drive fast at all. As long I press gas harder, my ekzos will start farting black smoke like hutan bakar, then the car jerk until I vomit. Now still in workshop diagnose sad.gif haiz...
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 12 2012, 07:42 PM)
Latest update:

Sparkplug changed
Replaced temporary with spare injector sifu kept for emergency
Drained petrol tank replaced with 2 gallons of fresh SHELL RON95
Also tested fuel pump, working perfectly

Result: burning jungle type of black smoke emission + jerk until ballsache sad.gif

WTF sad.gif now we all waiting for tapau dinner. Magician said its less likely ECU problem, otherwise can not start oledi. Tired, worried, hungry, sleepy, pocket pain, disappointed, upset, all kinda negative feeling now sad.gif spent whole day with the car, work also not finish, later the bill dunno how crazy it can be shakehead.gif I want my car back to its original condition the day I bought!
I thought Campur enjin is quite reliable doh.gif Hope it's an isolated case, and that you fix it permanently soon.

What's your current mileage btw?

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 12 2012, 05:25 PM)
petronas not in your list, don't you ?  nod.gif

petronas sux. drink petrol like drink sirap ais  mad.gif
Are you kidding me? Petronas Primax 95 Xtra was what I used for my record run of 546 km on one tank two months ago brows.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 12 2012, 08:19 PM
lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 12 2012, 08:29 PM)
Not to forget the car lay dormant for 1-2 years before David bought it.
Didn't know that. I do know it's a secondhand car from an auction cos the first owner defaulted on loan, or something like that.

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jul 12 2012, 08:30 PM)
wow.. that's impressive FC..
how you drive? light footed? your average speed? city or highway more?
Light-footed of course. Shift up gears at 2k RPM. I drive between Penang and KL often so that's why my average is so low. I stick to the 110 km/h, don't wanna risk getting surat cinta from pulis tongue.gif Besides even if our PLUS is like Autobahn (no speed limit) I probably won't be going much faster cos the engine roar is loud thanks to the low gearing. On the other hand it makes overtaking a breeze, don't need to drop to 4th gear.

That 546 km was achieved by driving from Kepala Batas, Penang to KL and the rest of the tank around KL.

I must say though, that something's wrong with my consumption ever since I got the tyres and battery changed plus full 40,000 km service a few weeks ago. Here are my observations:

- The consumption immediately after servicing was 8.6L/100 km, which is a bit on the high side. Okay maybe that's reasonable because there was a bit of traffic driving in Penang, while in KL/PJ I don't really get stuck in jams.

- After that I filled up at Bukit Merah and drove to PJ (about 280 km) on the 28th last month and then about 80 km of driving around KL/PJ last Sunday morning. Mainly on the highway. First bar dropped at 80 km, second 70 km. Which is weird because on the highway I'd normally get 80-100 km per bar. My low fuel warning light popped up at about 360 km (normally, 400 km+, for that condition I'd estimate 450 km) and when I filled I got 7.7L/100 km. That's bad, because by my estimation it should have been around 7.0. There was a jam at the Menora Tunnel on my drive down to PJ because they closed the southbound tunnel and opened contra flow, but surely that couldn't have sapped so much fuel. I've driven this car long enough to predict the consumption based on the driving conditions. Bearing in mind that just before changing the tyres and stuff, I did Tapah - Cameron Highlands - Simpang Pulai - Ipoh - Penang and despite the Cameron hill climb and traffic in the two cities I still got 7.3L/100 km.

- Yesterday, the first bar dropped at only 4x km. I was horrified. It should normally last till 70-80 km.

Will keep on monitoring the next few tanks but it's not looking good.

One theory I have is that when I changed the battery the ECU got reset big time. Any thoughts? hmm.gif

lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 12 2012, 09:51 PM)
Not auction la, the owner hid the car at home for 1-2 years because he couldn't service the loan, until David happened upon it and bought it from him.

I find that my FC is better when running on Esso, and worse when running on Caltex.  hmm.gif
No Esso or Caltex near my place at Damansara Perdana. Only got BHP and Petronas at Mutiara Damansara. I don't mind BHP but the pump rate is super high making it very hard to fill to the brim, every time I try it overflows doh.gif

Ironically at my place in Penang there's Esso and Caltex nearby, I used Caltex RON 97 last time when my car was new (then it wasn't much more expensive than RON 95), can't remember how they feel like. Maybe I'll try when I move back to Penang next month.

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jul 12 2012, 09:51 PM)
actually seems like not bad ald.. my fc is around 11.1L/100km..
but that's because i speed til 140 everytime traveling from KL to Melaka..
coz if on 110km/h then sure got big bus cucuk my buntut everytime i'm on middle lane  doh.gif
Yup it's not bad compared to others but my car has been consistently performing much better than this. Take a look at my Fuelly log.

Oh, if there's three lanes, I drive on the left lane thumbup.gif It's empty most of the time, save the occasional slow lori so I can cruise in peace icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 12 2012, 10:05 PM)
u serious? last iswara and camry drink petronas petrol like air sirap weih. current saga not like that meh?  shocking.gif
If anything Shell is worse, going by what some people say. I can't remember the last time I filled Shell. From my personal experience, I don't really find consumption differs between the brands, but the noticeable difference is smoothness.

I'd say if you don't want Petronas, Caltex and BHP have good reviews.

ermmm.... i think flx se no need to put r3 thingy. is already high spec and sporty  whistling.gif

What about this? brows.gif

Gosh I wished my SE looked like that. Except for the rear spoiler, I'd just keep the current boot lip.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 12 2012, 10:13 PM
lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 10:31 PM

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 12 2012, 10:19 PM)
oohhh. that SE. i mean FLX SE. no need r3 thingy
I guess so. SE's are rare, both the original (mine) and FLX. Seldom see any around, unlike Maivee SE whistling.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 12 2012, 10:31 PM
lhwj
post Jul 12 2012, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 12 2012, 10:41 PM)
Whilst we took out the carbon sensor, the sensor has been covered with a thick layer of carbon powder, may be due to today's wholeday hutan bakar. Also found the catcon already sumbat!
What's the carbon sensor for?
lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(Zitay28 @ Jul 13 2012, 01:56 PM)
Guys, what is protn saga BLM SE price at July 2011 for a car that manufactured in year end of year 2009 but bought at March 2010 with excellent condition? Need to calculate for my income tax. And if you guys not sure, where can i get the info from? Can i use the value in the insurance form when i renewed it in the year 2011?
I think just use the insurance value lah.

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 02:41 PM)
14th July 2012 strut bar TT
Time 1.30pm sharp, don't be late as we will convoy to the factory.

1. Mahihi
2. dares
3. lhwj
4. zukjka
5. Mieza
6. Iskazulka
7. Guguman
8. r3apers (coming separately coz he lansi got many UR stickers dowan to convoy wit us  vmad.gif  vmad.gif )
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 10:33 PM

It's this Esso right?

I'm bringing a friend along, he's interested in seeing what the FSB looks like. You guys don't mind right? hmm.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 04:32 PM)

Added on July 13, 2012, 4:33 pmI jz realize COE masuk 15w-50 oil for my car this morning vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
I've been using 15w50 all these while whistling.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 13 2012, 10:41 PM

lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Jul 13 2012, 11:01 PM)
wow so riuh rendah...

off topic Q...
how to upload pic to LYN? lol...
Use the file attachment link below.

lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:14 PM)
AND STILL YOUR FC SO GOOD  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Proof that engine oil viscosity is not an important factor in FC icon_idea.gif

lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:27 PM)
Sluggishness?

Of course, new oil in the engine today, feels so revvy and responsive. Dunno how it's gonna be once past 5k km  hmm.gif
Actually what happened to you this morning happened to me every time I go for servicing. Go there, ask for something like 10w40 but they only have 15w50 doh.gif So I've never used anything lower before, but I expect a lighter oil will be less sluggish.

Though I asked them at my 40,000 km service and they said I can bring my own oil next time rclxm9.gif Hmmm it's gonna be quite a few more months before I hit 50,000 km hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 13 2012, 11:35 PM
lhwj
post Jul 13 2012, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 13 2012, 11:42 PM)
10w30 also can ady.  nod.gif
Hahaha, not by choice also. Where you do your service? COE lets you bring your own lube  hmm.gif
EON at Sungai Pinang, Penang. I thought of doing my 40k service at Mutiara Damansara since I live nearby but I happened to be back in Penang then.
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 12:33 AM

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:30 AM)
nothing wrong to introduce as friend right, since myself also nvr met her before  tongue.gif

anyone know where is the fsb factory is? i worry i will late to the TT, at least can meet at factory..  Coordinates please...
No. 38, Jln Industri USJ 1/1
Tmn Perindustrian USJ 1
47600 Subang Jaya
Selangor DE
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 14 2012, 09:38 AM)
Actually the issues we were talking about were fuel consumption and engine response, and how using a lighter oil would help. I have no doubts about the lubricating qualities of any modern oil and I think you're right smile.gif
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 03:39 PM

Wah the jam was so bad that I've only just got back sweat.gif

QUOTE(mieza @ Jul 14 2012, 03:23 PM)
Hi. Fast comment on fsb.

I drive to esso around 100km/hr. Aftr install fsb, i go back and realise i drive around 130km/hr for some reason.. Dunno why.. That all i'm rushng.. Thanks..
Lucky you, the LDP was moving quite slow so I didn't have the chance to test. Can't tell any difference in steering feel, but I can feel that the ride is smoother now, over bumps or is it a placebo effect tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 14 2012, 03:40 PM
lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 11:48 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 14 2012, 08:41 PM)
Waiting at Esso, my car in front, followed by Mieza's and zukjka's. lhwj shy shy park his car in the backgroun, OUTSIDE the petrol station. kenjilew and mahihi has not arrive yet.

I passed by the first time, I saw you parked outside so I went another round and parked outside but by that time you moved inside tongue.gif

Yar lor, imagine me and dares standing there, then suddenly another white FLX SE pulls up, then yet another one comes. Three in a row rclxms.gif

Again, lhwj's BLM SE is parked outside. Poor car  sad.gif

Ladies first mah nod.gif

From left to right - V12k (or so kenjilew claims himself to be), zukjka, lhwj and Mieza

Didn't see any brown FLX Exec with loud exhaust today whistling.gif

Anyway, nice to meet you all, good to put a face to the names thumbup.gif

QUOTE(r3apers @ Jul 14 2012, 05:26 PM)
whn u try hard cornering thn u will know...wakakak
Looking out for the chance now. Maybe that windy and hilly stretch between Jalan Semantan and Phileo Damansara brows.gif I think for now I can feel a slight improvement, when going over bumps the swaying is reduced.

QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 14 2012, 09:41 PM)
Any idea/info where dealers/stockists located up North? Eg A/Star or Pg?
Googled but no such results...not even main supplier!  rclxub.gif

Plenty re UR! Juz the opposite...

ps. Contemplating install RSB as rear "protection" for rear passengers...? Of course besides the main ori function. Bro david's suggestion a good valid one!
UR one is too intrusive in2 boot area/spc.
You know Z1 I'm gonna be driving between KL and Penang quite a few times in the next one month cos I'm moving back, if you really want you can buy the RSB from Mahihi and I'll bring it up FOC then you can collect it from me in Penang smile.gif

lhwj
post Jul 14 2012, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:26 PM)
anyway, nice to meet you guy... icon_rolleyes.gif
Aiyah I didn't stay in time to meet the water repellent salesman tongue.gif Next time then icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 14 2012, 11:49 PM)
You mean zukjka or Mieza? whistling.gif ph34r.gif
Read the middle word of that phrase, and note who was in that position whistling.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 14 2012, 11:54 PM
lhwj
post Jul 15 2012, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 15 2012, 12:00 AM)
lhwj 1.3 4AT can save petrol la, 1.6 CVT drink petrol just the same sleep.gif
Mine is manual lah mad.gif

QUOTE(kenjilew @ Jul 14 2012, 11:56 PM)
but CVT pickup so fast and powerful than my manual leh.... save petrol also... lols
I'm really curious as to how much more efficient the CVT can be compared to manual, but so far the CVT owners here suka tekan sahaja doh.gif
lhwj
post Jul 15 2012, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 15 2012, 12:04 AM)
Anyone with experience with fender bars?  hmm.gif
Looks like someone kena poisoned dy brows.gif

There's a pretty good chance I might get the RSB too icon_idea.gif

0.0925sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled