8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

menmissed
post Nov 5 2012, 05:42 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Nov 5 2012, 04:36 PM)
guys, for those recently went to Tokyo for trip or those resides at Tokyo, I would like to verify on radiation level in Japan as my colleague frens, both couples whom went at different times did expose to radiation and advised to  abort the baby and avoid pregnancy in 10 years...quite sadden news for the couple and I wonder is Japan safe for tourists? weather is one thing, food which contaminated from radiation is also a concern for us...

me and my partner plan to have trip to Tokyo on coming spring 2013. need your advise sincerely. thanks!
Who is your colleague fren? do you know them? if you read the earlier post, you should know what happened.
If it is from your fren's mouth, then when they go, how long they stayed and at where?
Scared of this? Don't go. cool2.gif

I guess is the person is really exist and it happened.... it's during WW2. hmm.gif lol...

Added on November 5, 2012, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 5 2012, 05:39 PM)
Based on this logic, tons of people residing in tokyo will have to abort their babies? And next 10 years there will be no more children born there?

I am extremely skeptical of your "colleague's friends." Sounds remarkably like those kind of pipu who hear a rumour and then add spice when passing on the rumour saying "oh my friend kena" padahal it is actually just a rumour.
lol.... bro, Tokyo fertility rate is 0 lor... doh.gif

This post has been edited by menmissed: Nov 5 2012, 05:48 PM
menmissed
post Nov 5 2012, 05:53 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Nov 5 2012, 05:48 PM)
yeah, I want to know..which page can I refer to?? quite worrying....I bought air tix and accommodation already!!!! sweat.gif  doh.gif
haha... no need to refer back, deodorant has summarised it above, that's the story.
If you worry, go to check the radiation level at different website/source. Then, do your own calculation.
menmissed
post Nov 5 2012, 06:00 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 5 2012, 05:56 PM)
Shit not this radiation stuff again.

If dead also i dead first. ( for info just ask others senior or refer back old post)

If i dead from radiation then you guys only not going.
So scare dun  go la.
Bro, any breaking news update? laugh.gif
menmissed
post Nov 6 2012, 11:15 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 6 2012, 10:58 AM)
Japan everyday also got quake.  If quake 3 scale above, the warning news will comeup at all tv station , radio and advertise board.
What is the likelihood of snow in osaka/kyoto/hakone/tokyo between end of Nov and early Dec?
menmissed
post Nov 6 2012, 02:24 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(artman @ Nov 6 2012, 01:22 PM)
Basically you have no problem having fun staying around Shinjuku. Almost everything there...
Kabukicho district is just a few rows of shops. Red light district for men & women. Lots of restaurants too.

1) Shopping
- OIOI Marui, Isetan, Odakyu, Takashimaya... but my favourites is 'Tokyu Hands' coz it less expensive.
- Those major shopping food hall did offer some discount before they close, just like our jusco here.

2) Food
- Lots of choices. I almost eat different meals each day on my 8 days visit.
- Must Try their 'Yakitori + Beer' (Sorry if u're Muslim)
- Anyway, almost all restaurants did offer free cool water. So you might not spend so much on drinks.

3) Attractions - Walking distance to Metropolitan Government Bulding Observatories... but for me, not much a big deal but it FREE till 11pm.

4) Train
- Don't chase the train, it might be the wrong one.
- Ask ask & ask... japs are very helpful. Even one girl did offer me to follow her all the way to my destinations.
- Make sure you know ''which exit or direction'', or else you will spend some time looking for it.
- I been using passo card for my journey and vending machine before I return it.

Just enjoy!!!

ps, luckily I did bring my ipad 2 3G (offline) map along (ios5), it helps alot for directions.
(But I think you need to load the map first)
I prefer walking on the street compare to shopping centre, but i'll shop in yodobashi.. haha! Maybe will go their basement hunt for some food.
Same plan, will bring my ipad with maps also together with some printed maps.
Thanks for your input.

menmissed
post Nov 14 2012, 02:12 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Nov 14 2012, 11:45 AM)
ah i see..I guess i walk the wrong street..i was down omotosando..got trick by trip advisor as well:X

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hpho..._58602126_n.jpg
mt fuji half covered by cloud...
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...998075510_o.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...899449716_n.jpg

my hostel pretty near sky tower...everyday and night also pass by it..haha
Hi bro, did you go up skytree? How's the queue for a weekday? I'll be there soon, thinking to see sunset view.

This post has been edited by menmissed: Nov 14 2012, 02:41 PM
menmissed
post Nov 14 2012, 04:20 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Nov 14 2012, 03:58 PM)
Nope, I checked with the tourist center there and they said only one hr queue.. Weekend probably 3 hours.. Haha
Was there about 11am weekday... Probably 1 hr just to buy ticket
Thanks bro... then see my luck lo.. hmm.gif
menmissed
post Nov 15 2012, 11:30 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Nov 14 2012, 08:54 PM)
not sure if web booking/purchase still available or not.. there is special counter for that..and it's pretty empty..haha
According to their website, reservation only for Japanese credit card and the reservation is fixed on specific time period.
Will go and try, hopefully I can make it.
menmissed
post Nov 16 2012, 08:03 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 16 2012, 12:11 PM)
Thanks mate  ... I chrcked at tropicana mall and the rate was .388
sg wang and mid valley have the best rate.
Dont change at 1u, TCM, Paradigm, BTS .....

For those flied with AA, what time do they serve the meal for 1am flight?

This post has been edited by menmissed: Nov 16 2012, 08:04 PM
menmissed
post Nov 16 2012, 08:31 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

Really? Then you may buy it.
because i always go tcm, and i saw their rate is higher than mv & sg wang.
menmissed
post Nov 16 2012, 09:36 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 16 2012, 09:27 PM)
surprisingly i passed by MAYBANK currency exchange in midvalley and the yen rate is also......  .39 ! same as the money exchange under the escalators in midvalley
really? ok, let me go tcm have a look tomolo. hmm.gif
menmissed
post Nov 16 2012, 09:52 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Nov 16 2012, 09:47 PM)
u mean, go back KL that time from haneda?? mine departed about 12am on a tuesday..meal was serve when fully airbone..about 45mins - 1hr after take off i guess. I didn't buy meal..just sleep...haha
I work in TTDI didn't know TCM has good rates?? TCM is tropicana city mall right?? haha..

For MV..can check this site: http://www.moneymaster.com.my/
i fly to and fro osaka. 1am KUL-KIX. It's midnight and we're probably ate something before boarding. Maybe buy something light. Then 9.40am KIX-KUL, if they serve as what you said, then we may breakfast on plane, save a bit.
menmissed
post Nov 17 2012, 11:05 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(sang_kenari @ Nov 17 2012, 10:58 AM)
Just reached home after reaching lcct @ 5.45 am this morning from Haneda airport. Tiring but very enjoying trip. Many thanks to this forum for lot of useful information for me to survive in Tokyo without a tour guide  rclxms.gif
wow... good to you. take a rest and share your trip with us. many of us will going soon.
menmissed
post Nov 19 2012, 09:00 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(sang_kenari @ Nov 18 2012, 02:45 AM)
Basically this is my itineraries for 4 nights and 4 days trip. For info, I stayed at Kamata on the first night and Shinjuku for the remaining 3 nights. My flight reached Haneda Airport 20 minutes from it's schedule time hence I got no problem in clearing the immigration and reaching Kamata before midnight.

Day 1 - Morning I wandered around Shinjuku's streets until lunch time when I checked into the Shinjuku hotel. After lunch, I headed to Ueno where I went to Ueno Park and Ameyoko shopping bazaar. At night, (5-6 p.m was already night there) I went to Tokyo Tower at Minato.

Day 2 - I spent the whole day at Disneyland from 9.30 a.m. until 8.30 p.m. It was Wednesday but the park was full of people with some attractions' waiting time was almost 2 hours.

Day 3 - Morning I went to Hakone for Mount Fuji and autumn's viewing. I completed the Hakone rounded course and reached back Shinjuku around 4 p.m. At night I wandered around Shinjuku's streets.

Day 4 - Morning I wandered around Akihabara until lunch time. After that I went to Harajuku and shopped for souvenirs, mostly at Harajuku Oriental Bazaar until night.

Lucky for me that all 4 days' weather was clear with an average temperature around 16 Celsius at day and 10 Celsius at night.
have a nice trip there. but dont you think 4 days are quite short?

QUOTE(RJstory Fashion @ Nov 19 2012, 05:02 AM)
Everyone is holidaying now..

I wonder whats the weather there...
I heard from my fren, it's quite cold there. day about 13-15 night 6-10.
menmissed
post Nov 19 2012, 07:45 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

Duno how's the weather next week until early dec? I'm flying in. Look at the forecast numbers, temperature still ok but will rain. I like the view when kinkakuji covered by snow.
menmissed
post Nov 20 2012, 02:33 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

bestrate is 38.5 today. rclxms.gif
menmissed
post Nov 21 2012, 10:08 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

hi, just want to ask whether Fushimi Inari, Tofukuji and Nara Todaiji temple doable in 1 day?
menmissed
post Nov 22 2012, 08:35 AM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Nov 22 2012, 12:17 AM)
my plan is like tat
but i can only do fushimi inari and nara todaiji in a day
cos the day i travel it was raining
i reach inari around 930
leave there to tofukuji station to take the rapid express train to nara
reach nara it's already almost noon.. had lunch.. walk to todaji n back the sky already dark sad.gif
i see.
can anyone here share your kyoto plan?
menmissed
post Nov 22 2012, 11:28 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(yiwee @ Nov 22 2012, 06:37 PM)
I just got back from tokyo, let me share some experiences with you guys. Hopefully it'll help somewhat.
I noticed that its cheaper to buy last minute gifts eg royce's choc and tokyo banana etc after clearing Immi. Its cheaper than in the airport area, and also I think cheaper than outside stores.

Roads are clean and Metro and JR are very easy to use. just find your destination station on the board above and buy a ticket according to the price listed on the board.

Weather was great with only 1 day of rain. Non stop literally for one day. Umbrella costs on 200yen.

Ipad mini are available now. Bought 2 from Ginza and another at Labi. They didnt have stock on the earlier days when I was there, but managed to get it later. If you do buy, you will get free Softbank internet access for a week I think. The Ginza sales girl didnt inform me, but Shibuya did.

Stayed at Daimon (sotetsu Fresa Inn - Nice and cheap and easy to get to when arriving at haneda), Mercure in Ginza, Hilton Shinjuku (super nice, got upgraded with executive lounge access too. Fantastic!!) . I think a nice area is Ginza - very orderly, and most fun seems to be Shibuya.

Dont worry about prices of food, its not really that expensive. Generally you can get good meals for between 390~800 yen. Up to you to find and choose. Plenty all around. Yoshinoya is good value I guess?

Shopping isn't great, like China or Europe or US. Most things are more expensive there but you could find some good deals in some shops. eg. adidas gave 40% off anything during a 3 hour period.. and Kids' Nike Tshirt or Short for 998yen only.

Well hope you guys enjoy Tokyo when you go, I did.
wa... good for you. Ginza really that good to stroll around? Besides Ginza, where else you visited? mind to share as well? Im flying in next week. rclxm9.gif
menmissed
post Nov 23 2012, 10:39 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 23 2012, 02:29 PM)
Contrary to what you have read about Ginza shoppings (Luxury brands & can see but cannot buy)..I actually shop till I drop in Ginza especially during the opening of Uniqlo Ginza in Mar this year haha.. Lotsa 50% cloths/sweaters & downs..And surrounding malls/ fashion shops are equally good & similar pricing to those in Shibuya.

Ginza is good combining your trip near Tokyo Main stn area & King Palace. And during weekend there is an interesting flea market at Tokyo Forum near Tokyo stn..Lotsa antiques, kimono & etc...  rclxms.gif
ya ... that was in my plan. will walk around ginza first, probably just window shopping la.. no budget for shopping, go to see tokyo tower night view better. thumbup.gif
fashion stuff not my cake .. perhaps akihabara would have my stuff.
cant wait for my flight liao.. wub.gif

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:11 AM