8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 03:53 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:35 PM)
OK, let's see...

1. On your browser, go to 192.168.1.254
2. On the main page, you'll see a section "Broadband Connection"
3. Click on eInternet.
4. Under the Maxis Logo, click "details"

Can you screenshot this page and paste it here? blackout your PPP username (so that no one can misuse it.... smile.gif )
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 04:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 04:21 PM)
ok...you notice that "uptime"? I notice that if I disconnect my internet, or pull out the DSL line from tm modem and reconnect after a few minutes, that uptime value resets.In your screenshot , your PPP has been connected for 4hr 51min. So, it's not the DSL line went up and down every few minutes. If it did, that uptime should have reset.

Next...

1. Are you facing a browsing problem? Or you are downloading something and suddenly the download speed become 0?
2. Are you on WiFi? As you know from the thread, a lot of user facing WiFi problem.... if you on WiFi, when you face the problem, did you try to connect using LAN cable and see if it helps?

Based on my setup at home, I suggest you to try this when problem happen.

1. If you are on WiFi, change WiFi channel to 13.
2. Fix the DNS setting on your PC. Try google DNS (8.8.8.8), I notice I have sometimes browsing issue using Maxis DNS.
i am using LAN connection, only browsing for example thestar.com.my also the speed become 0, and the browser hang

do you mean changing the dns to 8.8.8.8?
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 04:45 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 04:38 PM)
yeap, dns on your PC to 8.8.8.8. Hopefully, the problem is something like I experienced before, then this change could help.
ok, thanks... i'll try later after getting the call from maxis(promise me today)... i want to ask them first what is the actual issue

i'll monitor the connection... currently has not been disconnected for 45 minutes or so

while writing this, it's down again

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 11 2012, 04:46 PM
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 05:20 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 04:48 PM)
another thing to try is, when it goes down....try to ping 8.8.8.8 from your PC... if you can't browse, but ping is OK, that is also a good indicator that something wrong with domain name resolution.
i've just change the dns... will report back if it resolved the issue... thanks again
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 05:46 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 04:48 PM)
another thing to try is, when it goes down....try to ping 8.8.8.8 from your PC... if you can't browse, but ping is OK, that is also a good indicator that something wrong with domain name resolution.
change dns setting oledi... but after 15 minutes, another message come out in the event log... i read forum this message means ip confilict.. you can view the attached image

is it normal? or something is not right?

danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 06:01 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 05:54 PM)
But your connection is ok? This not ip conflict. that looks like another maxis vlan service for management i think. Not related to ppp.
not sure bcoz i do not use the internet during that time... but i notice it still hang at times even though it does not show xDSL linestate disconnect

Added on July 11, 2012, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 05:54 PM)
But your connection is ok? This not ip conflict. that looks like another maxis vlan service for management i think. Not related to ppp.
now i can confirm the problem still exist... instead of saying xDSL linestate down, it change the description after i change my dns to google public dns

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 11 2012, 06:08 PM
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 06:18 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Jul 11 2012, 06:11 PM)
If you want to get sure either you are connected to the internet or not,
try run ping continuously to the internet (ie. to Google DNS IP addres as shown in screenshot below),
you will see "Request timed out" during your internet disconnected.

Internet is connected:

Internet has been disconnected:
not enough time to test... the disconnection is at random and it happened for a few seconds
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 06:29 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 06:24 PM)
I think you should still see xDSL error even by changing DNS. Try pisanq's suggestion to confirm
Internet connection
confirm lah got request timeout.. and then i check the event log again.... xDSL linestate down appear again

so conclusion is internet really down... and has nothing to do with dns... no more argument nowonwards

i read somewhere in the UK forum it could be the telephone line issue as well... since i am in highrise, that could happen... somewhere along the telephone line, you never know which part is broken

but i see many people complain in the maxis forum with same issue this few days, so this might not be telephone line, but the router problem

see the attached image

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 11 2012, 06:44 PM
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 06:57 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 06:24 PM)
I think you should still see xDSL error even by changing DNS. Try pisanq's suggestion to confirm
Internet connection
maxis support technical dept just called me a few minutes ago... will be sending technician this friday... so u see, response time is 4 days after you make plenty of noise... imagine if you keep quiet, it could be 40 days

ok, for those of you who has this xDSL linestate down issue, the technician told me it's the firmware of the thomson router... need to be upgraded
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 07:10 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 11 2012, 07:01 PM)
thanks for the info....in case we too faced disconnection issue, then a firmware upgrade is needed.

TS, maybe can update this symptom and info from danieltay on the first post
better not, until the technician is here this friday and i confirm with him this is the issue... sometimes they may not tell u the truth... i'll update u guys then

some of you guys may not know or feel it because the downtime is only a few seconds although it happened every few minutes or so... but for my case, it's critical as i am retrieving report online

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 11 2012, 07:17 PM
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 07:28 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 11 2012, 07:20 PM)
show ping 8.8.8.8 -t
if it really disconnect even for a few second it will show  nod.gif
yes try the ping test... and then view your thomson router event log
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 08:26 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 11 2012, 08:00 PM)
If you stream youtube, you would not notice it because the speed is fast enough to buffer the 20 to 30 seconds downtime. Also if you are reading a stationary web page, you don't feel it too. But if you jump from pages to pages, you will notice the short DC. 
I have plenty of "xDSL linestate down" in my log too, sometimes when I click on LYN thread link from another page, my firefox browser occasionally needs more than 10 sec to load up the page, sometime I have to refresh the loading. However in most instances, the browser can load a LYN page instantly within half second.
Spot on! I retrieving reports and I jump fr pages to pages a lot by opening a new tab

It sounds to me a known issue

I now doubt it's firmware as mentioned by the maxis support, since I just installed this Monday
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 09:24 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 11 2012, 09:13 PM)
Is there no other router that can be used?
Does the majority of the people here face the same problem? DC's...

I don't know. I got accepted under under the RM118 promotion.
Installation later this month.
I still can cancel it.
So for the next few days I'm going to keep a close eye on this thread.

I don't want to have the same problem as DanielTay.
After 4 hours already problem.

Will everything be better if they give us a new improved router?
Because it seems that the only problem is the router.

Added on July 11, 2012, 9:14 pm

Im really sorry to hear this problem.
What did Maxis say about your problem?
How will they solve it?

I'm trying to see if many more people face the same problem as you.
Maxis will tell u Thomson router is the only choice u have, no matter what!

They are coming this Friday, I'll keep u guys updated if it can be solved then

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 11 2012, 11:26 PM
danieltay
post Jul 11 2012, 11:27 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 11 2012, 07:41 PM)
laugh.gif thomson router?? it's on tong sampah d...  whistling.gif
Then u use what router now? How bout ur VoIP?
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 02:06 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(peacelover1990 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:40 AM)
ya! website will not load, have to click refresh only it will show up!

Added on July 12, 2012, 12:42 am
ya, i am using custom router, and using DSL. disconnected twice in 5 minutes just now!
Then the maxis support said need to upgrade thomson router firmware tipulah... U use custom router also same... Damnit, looks like the frequent disconnection cannot be solved... Are u high rise or landed?
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 12:25 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 12 2012, 08:50 AM)
because i called past midnite..the technician ald sleeping..
so need to wait after i finish work around 7..
the time taken actually takes abt 10mins..
a simple reset at maxis site, n switch off both devices for 15secs..
n reboot..
since it happened between thurs & friday..need to wait after working hours..
if not sure fast 1
u call past midnite, how long b4 they pick up the call?

i calll many times more than 15 mins no one pick up the call... all tidur liao maybe
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 02:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 12 2012, 01:28 PM)
not long..within 3mins answered ald..
n a technician call me 30mins after that coz he's engaged with a call.
called..the CS double check with home dept n said activated the moment VOIP activated..
pro-rated of coz for 1st month..
so at ur mobile bill, just check UNDER DISCOUNTS section..
u use the voip phone or ur handphone to call them? what number u call? 123?
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 02:33 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(peacelover1990 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:16 PM)
ya tipu! on high rise building
how about others having the same issue? everyone on highrise? anyone on landed?

i started to think the telephone line could be the culprit... or could it be the copper issue?

Added on July 12, 2012, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 12 2012, 02:32 PM)
call from hp..easier..
yup..123, press 2, n then 6
oic, try b4 during day time... no answer... listen to music for more than 10 minutes

This post has been edited by danieltay: Jul 12 2012, 02:34 PM
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 04:21 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 12 2012, 04:16 PM)
i have a friend who subscribe to the same service, who mentioned disconnection problem.
But he says, router shows internet is connected but can't browse. Then he need manually disconnect and reconnect on his router to get back the service. But he's landed with FTTH, so I wasn't too sure it's the same problem....
yes, i kena once, same situation too... happened after only 4 hours of installation... will ask the maxis guy why this happened but i doubt they can answer, sure blame firmware

same as unifi/tm, maxis is using contractor to do maintenance and installation... so you may get young ciku who know nothing
danieltay
post Jul 12 2012, 08:51 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Jul 12 2012, 06:27 PM)
Finally after 10 days of bashing maxis through twitter, email, call & maxis forum, I got a call today installation on 27 July.

I did warn them about making sure TM contractor show up on time as well.

I guess complaining to MCMC really work. Plus I get the promo price RM118 for 10MB.

I just got a 2nd call from maxis regarding my complaint to MCMC, dam nice fella apologizing this & that. Good that they finally follow up even after 10 days.

Guess MCMC really POWER !

TM guy will be late for sure because they are on commission basis, they more they do, the more they get... So they arrange more appointments than they can handle in a day... While the maxis guy is on fixed salary, only two installation per day, plus will be scolded by maxis if late

Whether maxis guy or tm guy, they are contractor actually, except that maxis try to maintain reputation and quality.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:54 PM