7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Hardware 2012 NEW MacBook Pro | MacBook Air Users Thread, Version 9.0 - 95%/92% score on Gdgt.com!

TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 12:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Post edited. This post regarding the Colcasac Uintah sleeve case for MBP RD will be posted on the MacBook Casing/Case/Sleeve thread.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 29 2012, 01:28 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 01:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That is not a black hole. that is the image of that shitty HP Z1 keyboard Lowyat.net idiotically advertised in the AppleByte section as their advertisement. (why they advertise a bloody PC brand in a Mac-exclusive section is beyond me).

He did not expand the browser to full width, therefore can only see that shitty keyboard.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 07:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Keyword: 2GB RAM. In the day and age of Lion (especially Lion) which isn't efficient with RAM allocations, 2GB won't cut it. Which is why power-starved older model users stick to Snow Leopard.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 07:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Jun 29 2012, 07:23 PM)
Why a new os is worst than the old os?? instead of upgrading the hardware, why dun they make it more efficient in ram allocation?

Afraid new macbook air will have similar issue sad.gif
Do you see the system requirement improving in Windows? What's enough now, will not be sufficient later. 2GB RAM is like 2008 model, 3 years old at that. If you wanna use it still, ask him to stick to Snow Leopard. To move up to the latest and greatest, you gotta go for more recent Macs. With MBAs, this is even more critical since the RAM isn't user-upgradable.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 29 2012, 07:27 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 08:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 29 2012, 08:28 PM)
guys, if let say when mountain lion out already, those who using lion wana upgrade the OS, means they gotta backup everything out and install the new os ? or the installation only will effect the OS folder then other application / picture / mp3 etc will remain ?
If Mountain Lion is anything like Leopard-Snow Leopard, it's an install-over type. Just need to download from Mac App Store, install and restart. Done.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 12:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Jul 1 2012, 11:09 AM)
folks, be careful when you're making purchase (or you can't even do anything after purchase, in Malaysia they don't offer exchange back)

Different display and different SSD in same clamshell MBA

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2408765
That has always been the case, since the first iteration of the MBA. Apple outsources display panels from 3 companies, AU Optronics, Samsung and LG. There is no way to identify what panel you will get from the serial/box until you open the System Profiler.

Personally, I think this is a moot point. There are threads in Macrumors detailing how extremely nitpick these people are in the US, where they abuse the return policy of Apple just to get the supposedly better Samsung panels, compared to LG. Sameful to be honest. There are calibration and LCD color profile available at Macrumors as well to improve the LG panel. In the end, all of them are TN-based panels. Whatever you do to it, it will not look any better than it already has. Excuses like "oh I'm a photographer, I want to edit my photos on my screen, so I need a better screen" and so on are given just to abuse the return policy to get the Samsung panel. My counterpoint is, if you are serious about photo editing, you wouldn't be wanting a TN panel on a MBA in the first place, you're be considering either connecting the MBA to an IPS panel via Thunderbolt, or get the Retina Display MBP. All these "my Samsung panel is better than your LG panel" mantra is hogwash, coz you're ultimately fighting for second place, a "decent only" panel compared to IPS panels.

There's the saying "you get what you pay for" and this holds true here. Cant expect to pay this much and get THAT much, and even if you get an LG screen, it is not any worse than a Samsung screen, coz what is perceived as a better screen depends on who is looking at it. The nitpicky b****y people of Macrumors are blowing this issue out of proportion,.....AGAIN. Just like the issues that they brought up, originated from them like "MBP RD screen burn-in, scroll lag, etc". The rest of the world who are content with their purchases moves along without much care because their Macs works as what they expected, not what hugely blown out of proportion these Macrumors are expecting it to be. My advice, is keep that expectation in check, and be happy with you purchase, and most important of all, START USING YOUR MAC instead of b****ing about it.

The b****ing thread in question:- http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1389918&page=7

I hope nobody here are as anal as these guys in that thread there.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2012, 12:42 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 01:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Jul 1 2012, 01:14 PM)
agreed here too. I would rather solve the calibration myself and afterall it has no difference. Color saturation is still there. I would say it's a setting issue isn't it. smile.gif
Color profile and calibration, and it's done. The color profiles ICC files are in that forum somewhere. Or maybe it's in that thread.

What's more important is how the image looks like with regards to color reproduction if you're using an external display for more productive image work. Which means, your external display would have to be up to snuff and the output from the DP/Thunderbolt port would have to reproduce images "as it should".

TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 06:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those looking for BTO 2012 MacBook Airs, MacStudio have them in stock right now. These configurations:-

11" MBA, 2.0GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD.
11" MBA, 2.0GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD.
13" MBA, 2.0GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD.

Price is as per BTO config at Apple Store online.

Got my BTO 2012 13" MBA from them (MacStudio LYP) just now, after selling off my Vaio Z. Going all Mac.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2012, 06:39 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 06:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jul 1 2012, 06:41 PM)
Wahh... you bought another 13" MBA after purchased the 15" MBPRD? How do you manage your work on both Macs?
People work on 2,3 displays on their Macs. I'm sure I'll manage. tongue.gif The right Mac for the right occasion. wink.gif

Added on July 1, 2012, 6:47 pmThose with VLC installed on their Retina Display MBP, update it now. The new version now supports Retina Display!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2012, 06:47 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 07:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Update on the BTO MBA models available at MacStudio LYP:

13" BTO model gone.

11" BTOs with 8GB RAM each and 128GB/256GB SSD still available.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 08:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jul 1 2012, 08:39 PM)
But buying 2,3 displays are different from buying 2,3 Macs... tongue.gif
But you made a better choice by getting the bigger 13" MBA coz I still feel the 11" is too small for serious
work.
I've had multiple Macs before, especially the 2010 models with Nvidia GPU on the MBA. Had 11" and 13". Funny thing was, I sold off my 13" and stayed with 11". But this time, with the MBP RD, it teaches me that screen real estate is prudent.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 09:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jul 1 2012, 09:03 PM)
Initially, I was quite unsure whether 15" will be right for me Coz I used to have 2008 MBP previously and it was too heavy. But I think I have made the right choice.
But I am not sure why its still quite warm when using on my lap. Is it normal?
I'd say it's ABNORMAL if it's not warm. Besides pushing the hot air out through the vents near the display hinge, aluminum unibody of all the MacBooks now employs heat conduction via the chassis.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 12:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Me and a friend was looking for a portable, bus-powered Thunderbolt hard drive. Came close to getting the Buffalo Ministation Thunderbolt external had drive 1TB. But the problem isn't with the connector, it's the bottleneck.

What bottleneck you ask? Consider this. My current USB3.0 Seagate GoFlex USB3.0 external bus-powered hard drive measures 80MB/s transfer speed when transferring data to my MBP RD. The data transfer rate of this Buffalo Ministation Thunderbolt external drive is 100MB/s. The bottleneck here is not the connection (USB3 vs Thunderbolt), but the hard drive inside it. They are using slow moving platter hard drive that gives out crappy transfer rate, and not representative of what Thunderbolt can do.

Thunderbolt is capable of much better transfer speed. LaCie Little Big Disk 240GGB SSD (externally powered) can measure up to 350MB/s transfer speed. Pegasus R4/R6 up to 500-700MB/s. The only problem is, these devices are externally powered, not bus powered. All bus-powered Thunderbolt devices are using slow platter HDD that bottlenecks the transfer speed. It's like having a huge empty highway to slam the gad pedal down accelerating as fast as you want to, but restricted by the traffic police of speeds you can drive in there at 40 km/h.

In the end, until there are solid state drives externally bus-driven Thunderbolt devices, it is not worth it. Go for USB3, they are comparable in speed.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 2 2012, 05:46 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 02:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You want to utilize Thunderbolt, you gotta cough up the dough. Otherwise USB3 is cheaper at half the bandwidth. The same argument applies when you use USB3 enclosures with slow hard drives. You get crappy transfer speeds as well.

The only way to get fast transfer speeds from slow hard drives is to RAID them. And that surely isn't portable/transportable or bus-powered either.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 05:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I find it ironic that you claim to have work flow experiences in VM and Photoshop in the other thread, yet you can't even diagnose your crashes in your MBP RD. One part you're portraying your need for 16GB of RAM like you're dealing with heavy professional workload yet you can't even determine if your "Mac live messenger or Google Chrome Canary" is crashing your Mac? Very fishy and conflicting. I don't wanna call you out but your statements here are already betraying you.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 2 2012, 06:01 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 05:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I find it ironic that you claim to have work flow experiences in VM and Photoshop in the other thread, yet you can't even diagnose your crashes in your MBP RD. One part you're portraying your need for 16GB of RAM like you're dealing with heavy professional workload yet you can't even determine if your "Mac live messenger or Google Chrome Canary" is crashing your Mac? Very fishy and conflicting. I don't wanna call you out but your statements here are already betraying you.

EDIT: Called you out TWICE. More visibility I guess? wink.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 2 2012, 06:01 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 06:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jul 2 2012, 06:04 PM)
because i not expert to solving these crash, first time using mac.. and not sure what to do.
what make u so concern ? do you know what job i am doing?
you can just post a reply to help or u may ignore too if u think u not sure what is happen also...
btw, 16gb ram is reli like dealing heavy professional workload ? lol tongue.gif
Clearly you came from the Windows camp. Mac OSX have not many cases of memory leakages or inefficient programs that requires 16GB RAM.

Tell me then what you do for a living. I shown previously that with 8GB RAM I've plenty to play with with regards to free RAM. You "claim" your virtualization/VM processes and Photoshop needs 16GB.

Your vocabulary and choice of words isn't helping your case either. You sound more more collegiate than anything remotely "professional".

And yes, keep those wonderful news of "my Apple order delays" on the correct thread, please. This isn't the first or the second time I'm telling you this. Don't want to kena f*ck, right?

TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 06:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(loisjeans @ Jul 2 2012, 06:36 PM)
Just got my RMBP and migrated my old macbook by using the time machine. Everything goes well and I'm very happy with the retina display.

I saw there is a Remote Disc under DEVICES, may i know what is that?
Use another computer's optical drive to run optical discs like installation discs from there. That is what Remote Disc is.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 06:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:37 PM)
hey guys... what cooler pad you guys recommend i have to get for my rMBP? since the vent is at the back I thought of the Logitech N120 or cooler master notepal x3? any others that would suit well for the rMBP?

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:38 pm
remote disc is a function to piggyback other computer optical drive
There are no "cooler pad" in the market that caters to MBP RD heat expulsion. Contrary to the common Windows laptop designs where majority is plasticky with vents in the bottom, MacBook aluminum unibody design makes use of the aluminum body itself as a heat sink. The ventilation vents are located on the display hinge. With this design, there are no cooler pads that can help this any more than it already has been done by the MacBook aluminum body design itself.

The best thing you can do is rest the MBP on a level surface, let it do its cooling job and if things get hot on the palm rest area, get Moshi Palm Rest Guard. Warning: since it will get hot, the palm guard will , in time, peel away.

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jul 2 2012, 06:33 PM)
if you can live with the 8GB ram then go on, because i know that 8GB ram is not sufficient for me that why i getting the 16gb smile.gif anyway, the application you use everyday is different from me and of course, 8GB is enough for normal use maybe if you dont photoshop alot and vm maybe ? and i never claim that i am "professional" but what makes u think i am ? sad.gif 
nvm then if later it crash again, i will sure jot down any information there and we will discuss here ^^ seriously, newbie on mac is need alot advise from all the master and guru here like you smile.gif
Show me processes that you do that require 16GB of RAM, I'm just curious. Open up your apps and then run Activity Monitor and take a screenshot of it (Command-Shift-3) and I'd like too what processes you run that eats more than 8GB of RAM.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 2 2012, 06:47 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2012, 07:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jul 2 2012, 07:03 PM)
here is the screen shoot >.< this is my normal "open task" for everyday (except diablo 3 tongue.gif will always on awhile to auction house or play awhile when bored)

still have 4GB free tongue.gif

edit: sry forgot reduce the resolution just now.
Cant see shit, Captain.

EDIT: "kernel_task" isn't part of virtualization processes, it is because you are using too many external hardware devices. G35 headphones lah, G700 mouse lah, notebook cooler lah, external keyboard lah. With all these devices connected on your usage pattern, you're better off getting a Mac Mini instead of an MBP RD!

While some of the kernel_task services will not unload when you quit the processes that have started them, others will, especially if they are managing hardware in the system. For instance, on systems with multiple GPUs, if you use the onboard GPU, then you will see an increase in RAM usage by the kernel_task, but unlike some applications services, if you switch graphics processing back to the dedicated GPU, then the kernel_task will relinquish the RAM it was using for video memory. Likewise, if you have activated your iSight camera with a program like Photo Booth, then the kernel_task will use another 8-10MB of RAM, which will be relinquished when Photo Booth is shut down.

Ultimately there is not much you can do to affect how kernel_task runs and manages the system. If you see the kernel_task process taking up a large amount of RAM on your system, there are a few options to reduce the RAM other than restarting your system. The first is to disable any hardware devices you may have attached to your system, such as external monitors, hard drives, or third-party audio or video interfaces. In addition, you can disable services like Wi-Fi and Bluetooth if you are not using them, and switch to using discrete graphics instead of the onboard GPU. The second thing you can do is quit programs and system services that use kernel extensions, such as the aforementioned Photo Booth, or graphics processing programs and games, especially if you are running with the integrated graphics card.

From this article: http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-20091...up-ram-in-os-x/

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 2 2012, 07:33 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0454sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:40 AM