70 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Maxis Connect to Maxis using Custom Router!, Guidelines

geegosh
post Oct 9 2012, 09:05 PM

Hi all,

I have successfully setup my maxis home fibre using the openwrt on TL-wr1043ND. Thanks for all the sifu here.

However, I found that every time if the Thomson is shutdown and turn on again, the Phone will not work. I will need to log in to Thomson to put in the Telephony password and click apply to activate it. Did I do something wrong here?

The telephone is working fine...just that I need to manually activate it everytime I turn off the Thomson?

Hope sifu here will shed some light.

Thanks a bunch folks...you guys rock!!!

Cheers.
mghong
post Oct 13 2012, 11:50 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(bsa12 @ Sep 23 2012, 11:25 AM)
Subscribe Maxis FTTH, installed and activated in June. I did not have much problem with Thomson router, however was unsatisfied with the WIFI speed which is 65Mbps which is slow for streaming movie from pc to media player. After reading through post and decided to change to TP-Link TL-1043ND (i think there is not much stock out there, quite difficult to find one with price less then RM150).
Followed post by Sayboon, flashed back to openWRT, and setup the router according to KLSeet guide.
It was easy, just remember that vlan ids for Maxis is this:
621 - wifi (i tagged it on LAN port 1, unifi is 500)
822 - voip (i tagged it on LAN port 2)
823 - IPTV (i tagged it on LAN port 3, unifi is 600)
other than that, the just follow klseet write up.
Thomson router was connected to LAN1, and wifi was disable. It was used for VoIP, just same setup as jssc in page 9 here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2384890/+200.

Everything was right on the spot during the setup, except the wifi speed was still at 65Mbps  blush.gif . This was tricky parts. Browsed and read many sites, finally found simple solution that need to run some script to turn off autoscan.
you have to download PuTTY  and type in telnet/ssh:
uci set wireless.radio0.noscan=1
uci commit
reboot
(I am n00b in linux & network, i just try)

All good for now thumbup.gif
Hope this will help anyone who want to switch to custom router. Both TL-1043ND and openWRT give a lot flexibility and freedom to me too.
Hi , i also encounter speed problem on the WR941ND...the speed was < 50Mbps...
can you explain abit how to do this telnet/ssh ?
ek
post Oct 21 2012, 02:27 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Sep 24 2012, 06:22 AM)
here are the video guide that i made for Asus RT-N66U router
so easy with this router
1.Connect Lan2 from modem to Asus RT-N66U WAN port
2.access your router 192.168.1.1 via lan or wireless
3.follow the video below

Hi, the LAN cable is connect to "WAN" port of RT-N66U or other LAN port? I tried but not able to make connection. Not sure is it because of the Alcatel Lucent BTU :|.
amil123
post Oct 23 2012, 01:37 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ek @ Oct 21 2012, 02:27 PM)
Hi, the LAN cable is connect to "WAN" port of RT-N66U or other LAN port?  I tried but not able to make connection.  Not sure is it because of the Alcatel Lucent BTU :|.
LAN 2 from BTU to WAN port RT-N66U , btw im using huawei BTU
if still no connection check ur Vlan ID setting and maxis ID/pass
if you using private ip
just set it up 123456@home.maxis.com.my

This post has been edited by amil123: Oct 23 2012, 01:40 PM
ek
post Oct 24 2012, 12:50 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Oct 23 2012, 01:37 PM)
LAN 2 from BTU to WAN port RT-N66U , btw im using huawei BTU
if still no connection check ur Vlan ID setting and maxis ID/pass
if you using private ip
just set it up 123456@home.maxis.com.my
Thanks for the info. Had tried that earlier, but the RT-N66U not able to make connection when using the Wizard to set the VLAN port to 621. Looks like have to google bit more, or hope that someone will post the admin login ID or setting for Alcatel Lucent BTU :|.
winterfrog
post Oct 26 2012, 04:28 AM

129 posts

Errr anyone know what the password for public ip...? Ist same as usename name for public ip or not ?
viknela
post Oct 29 2012, 08:29 AM

61 posts

here are the video guide that i made for Asus RT-N66U router
so easy with this router
1.Connect Lan2 from modem to Asus RT-N66U WAN port
2.access your router 192.168.1.1 via lan or wireless
3.follow the video below

hey i already set up like you posted and now my internet works.... as for the voip do i jsut plug the maxis modem wan port to the port 3 of the router?? must i configure anything?? cuz i cant seem to get VOIP up

ek
post Oct 29 2012, 02:51 PM

177 posts

Is there a way to get Maxis / TM to change the Alcatel Lucent BTU with Huawei BTU? biggrin.gif
amil123
post Nov 5 2012, 09:17 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(viknela @ Oct 29 2012, 08:29 AM)
hey i already set up like you posted and now my internet works.... as for the voip do i jsut plug the maxis modem wan port to the port 3 of the router?? must i configure anything?? cuz i cant seem to get VOIP up
nope i cant get voip to work with this router...already try all possible solution but cant get it working

Added on November 5, 2012, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(ek @ Oct 29 2012, 02:51 PM)
Is there a way to get Maxis / TM to change the Alcatel Lucent BTU with Huawei BTU? biggrin.gif
ek yout alcatel lucent btu using lan2 or lan1 port?
if lan1 just connect lan1 to wan port at your router

This post has been edited by amil123: Nov 5 2012, 09:29 PM
UFO
post Nov 10 2012, 11:40 AM

50 posts

Device A: BTU = Huawei HG850a ™ <- Can't Access via webpage since TM Installer modified it with Firewall
Device B: Residential Gateway Router/Modem = Technicolor TG784n v3 [upgraded version of Thompson TG784n] (Maxis)
Device C: D-link 615 (Flashed firmware with DD-WRT interface UI) (UNIFI-TM)

I recently terminate my UNIFI & subscribe to Maxis Fibre.
They setup Device A(LAN 2 Port) + Device B (WAN Port) for me;
but I intend to use back the D-Link 615 (Device C) to replace the Device B.

*Warning: You will NOT able to use Maxis Dect-Phone VOIP Service with this setup.

My Final Setup
Device A (LAN 2 Port) + Device C (WAN Port)

GUIDE: http://unifi.athena.my/ddwrt_guide.php *vlan2 change to '621' for Maxis

Basically, concept is the same with UNIFI, just the username+password & vlan tagging number changed. icon_rolleyes.gif

ek
post Nov 11 2012, 04:06 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Nov 5 2012, 09:17 PM)
nope i cant get voip to work with this router...already try all possible solution but cant get it working

Added on November 5, 2012, 9:29 pm

ek yout alcatel lucent btu using lan2 or lan1 port?
if lan1 just connect lan1 to wan port at your router
It's using Lan 2. Had tried that before but it doesn't work :|.
joytest
post Nov 13 2012, 02:29 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Hi all,
I've skimmed thru 28 pages of this and I'm interested in the VOIP function via a SIP client on my Android.
I saw that a couple of users have intermittent success, mind sharing?

I'm using mediafone-5
username:03xxxxxxxx
password:03xxxxxxxx1
Servers:homesip.maxis.com.my
Port : 5060 (default)
SIP Transport:UDP
EnableSRTP:Disabled

Any help appreciated.
ysoon
post Nov 13 2012, 10:29 AM

46 posts

Every SIFU here, that mean I can buy my own HUAWEI or DLINK router instead of Thompson?

How about Thompson V3, is it better compare to Thompson previous version?

iankhan
post Nov 21 2012, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(UFO @ Nov 10 2012, 11:40 AM)
Device A: BTU = Huawei HG850a ™ <- Can't Access via webpage since TM Installer modified it with Firewall
Device B: Residential Gateway Router/Modem = Technicolor TG784n v3 [upgraded version of Thompson TG784n] (Maxis)
Device C: D-link 615 (Flashed firmware with DD-WRT interface UI) (UNIFI-TM)
I recently terminate my UNIFI & subscribe to Maxis Fibre.
They setup Device A(LAN 2 Port) + Device B (WAN Port) for me;
but I intend to use back the D-Link 615 (Device C) to replace the Device B.

*Warning: You will NOT able to use Maxis Dect-Phone VOIP Service with this setup.
My Final Setup
Device A (LAN 2 Port) + Device C (WAN Port)

GUIDE: http://unifi.athena.my/ddwrt_guide.php  *vlan2 change to '621' for Maxis

Basically, concept is the same with UNIFI, just the username+password & vlan tagging number changed. icon_rolleyes.gif
YSoon,

The above quote should be sufficient answer to your question.

Ian
mghong
post Nov 22 2012, 12:30 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(mghong @ Oct 13 2012, 11:50 PM)
Hi , i also encounter speed problem on the WR941ND...the speed was < 50Mbps...
can you explain abit how to do this telnet/ssh ?
I manage to try out the step , but still the speed was around 58 birate..

attach my print screen...is it slow ?

TechnoDude94
post Nov 28 2012, 05:13 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Hi, may I know what BTU (Alcatel-Lucent or Huawei) are you using? Also, you're on landed property?
Planning to switch from Unifi to Maxis Home Fibre Internet and pairing with ASUS N56/N66.

Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoDude94: Nov 28 2012, 05:14 PM
lms2005
post Nov 30 2012, 11:04 PM

1,270 posts

OOT rolleyes.gif

just wanna know if we setup maxis gateway + router (juz connect d fibre) at place where unifi already installed, will it works?

My friend said wanna test maxis fibre before convert... I juz come out with this idea...

lucaswjk
post Dec 1 2012, 02:06 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Dec 1 2012, 03:34 AM
ati radeon
post Dec 2 2012, 04:33 PM

454 posts

hello there,

i was very frustrated with the instability of the wireless signal of the thomson 784n (piece of shit). hence i stumbled upon this thread and got myself a tp-link 841nd version 7.2

i followed every steps shown in the first post but i was stucked at the ptm 1.621 settings till i found the solution after several pages.

thus if possible can the thread starter edit the steps to delete and create a new ptm 1.621 settings as the huawei hg655a will show 'wlan id tagging identical' error. i can make do with the default firmware without the need to flash to the others. btw what are the benefits of flashing to custom other than compatibility issue?

got everything setup after that, and attached pic is the speed i get.

pretty nice so far, though speedtest shows some hiccups after the initial setup and lags and high ping

Added on December 2, 2012, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(TeddyBearFlame @ Oct 6 2012, 09:16 PM)
All the bros here, can help me see this ? I had an error message as per the print screen, please help, I am using Belkin wireless router
[attachmentid=3087050]
QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Oct 8 2012, 11:27 PM)
Hi all,

I'm having the same issue. sad.gif

Can anyone help us please?

Hope to solve this out and replace the lousy thomson router.

Thank you so much in advance.

btw, LAN1 for both(port binding & vlan tagging) are checked by default, instead of LAN2. Is it because we are using a different firmware version?
same issue that i encountered. read through the pages and found solution.

remove the existing ptm 1.621 settings, then create a new one and check only Lan3 for vlan 621....voila

This post has been edited by ati radeon: Dec 2 2012, 04:48 PM
e_necro
post Dec 4 2012, 04:42 AM

92 posts

finally i got really fed up with thomson already.. 1 day restart 10times !! vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
pulled out my old tplink i've got for my streamyx last time..
and configured the vlan 621 for internet..

and was trying to find a way to log in to huawei's hg850a until i search this forum... tried for more than 1 hour but couldnt get in.. gateway was 192.168.100.1, but can't seem to bring up the gui..
thanks to this topic i finally get to know it's firewalled.. damn..

well.. don't really use the phone too, so am just gona ignore it until i can find a solution icon_rolleyes.gif

but by any chance, anyone know what's a cheap solution to that? maybe an adapter? how much it cost?

70 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:05 PM