124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

V1 Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread, Calling all owner and future one...

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 20 2012, 09:10 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(azlan83 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:21 AM)
Cool down bro...I see in the manual proton do not say cannot use 5w* oil. There are quotes in to use 10-30w SL or higher API standard...so  choose oil with high API standard...SL,SM or else. On grade for malaysia weather better stick to XX30W use fully syn. Then can service after 10000km mileage. If semi service after 5000km. Up to you bro...
Yes, it did. In the oil chart picture. Go have a close look at the 5W30 and 5W40 oil shown in Proton oil chart. It clearly said you should not use them if Ambient Temperature exceeds 20C.

I am sure you know our Malaysian ambient temperature FAR EXCEED 20C. 35C is common. In other word, you must not use 5W30 or 5W40 in Malaysia. Like you, I don't agree with Proton but that is what Proton is saying. Since Proton know more about CFE than you or me, who do you follow?

Added on June 20, 2012, 9:16 am
QUOTE(ultramaman @ Jun 20 2012, 09:06 AM)
this is bull. service interval for campro engines is 10k with factory  recomended grade oil. even the service interval book says 10k. even news annoucement says preve service interval 10k. so will u stop with this 5k-semi syn,10k fully syn mentality ? if u drive a honda, and its service manual says 5k. then, regardless of oil. u service 5k. if u drive a volvo, and its service manual says every 20k or once  a year u service every 20k.

so, u follow what your car manufacturer says.
engine oil r & d has improved a lot over the years, and the rule of thumb that our dad used cant be applied now.
I usually take very close look at oil and service interval and uses the car manual as the definitive guide and totally ignore what mechanic said.

In the manual, it says:
1. Normal driving. OCI is 10K

2. Severe driving. OCI is 5K. Severe is defined as frequent city dumper-to-dumper traffic jam or driving with distance below ~6km per trip.

This is what I intend to do:
1. Service at Proton every 10K to main Proton warranty.
2. Only change oil at outside garage using same oil/filter every 5K to cut cost. Since the manual said mineral 10W30 is best, Mach5 10W30 is dirt cheap at 1/3 the price of 0W30. Mine is severe driving.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 20 2012, 09:24 AM
2die4
post Jun 20 2012, 09:55 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:10 AM)

In the manual, it says:
1. Normal driving. OCI is 10K

2. Severe driving. OCI is 5K. Severe is defined as frequent city dumper-to-dumper traffic jam or driving with distance below ~6km per trip.

This is what I intend to do:
1. Service at Proton every 10K to main Proton warranty.
2. Only change oil at outside garage using same oil/filter every 5K to cut cost. Since the manual said mineral 10W30 is best, Mach5 10W30 is dirt cheap at 1/3 the price of 0W30. Mine is severe driving.
kinda agreed with u on the service interval of 10k at Proton SC....

Maybe my next visit to Proton SC at 10k.... than 15k at my normal workshop (using 10w30) and back to Proton SC at 20k....

Might safe a bit on cost of service at Proton SC but still maintain Proton Warranty since the booklet says every 10k...

thumbup.gif

amd2105
post Jun 20 2012, 11:46 AM

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 19 2012, 08:34 PM)
1. the trrrrrr sound when hitting pot hole -->Have not notice this, need to try out and observed
2. Weird sound when turn off engine --> Does it sound like FAN spinning?, if it is the fan than normal. Actually it does irritate me, don't understand why fan still running to cool the engine when engine off.
3. DVD player --> You need to sync the displayed channel on the Player with the FM radio (you can change default channel by pressing the green button on the remote). Make sure you use a channel that not occupied by any station. Alternatively you can run a wire from the DVD player head phone out into the AUX in on the radio then switch radio receiver MODE to AUX, the sound will be much clearer that way.
Note: Long press the "BAND" button to activate manual channel search.

Added on June 19, 2012, 8:36 pm

I do Not notice any delay from stand still to moving. I heard this is common on Preve first batch but not on EB.
The rattling sound as far as i'm concerned will happen if you hit a hole, sometimes no sound at all, still curious about this but let me confirm first with any SC or whoever really know about this issue. Hopefully its not that serious.

The engine sounds like a big fan or turbine that is spinning or rather a compressor for me, i counted the time to ensure its stop from producing such irritating sound almost 30sec, sometimes shorter than that sweat.gif

Don't have the luxury to test the dvd unit coz my toddlers keep on crying the whole night, they need feeding instead of dvd pleasure tongue.gif

Will give it a try again tonight, hopefully.. rclxub.gif anyway thanks for the advice smile.gif
rapidbumi
post Jun 20 2012, 03:23 PM

a stone chips my windscreen today... only realized when reached office parking... anybody knows a good Dr Cermin..?
azzet
post Jun 20 2012, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(giggsmu @ Jun 19 2012, 02:24 PM)
Received my EB yesterday. A lot of things yet to learn about this MPV. BTW, i've noticed that the Spare Tyre is exactly the same with the 4 tyres, with 16"rim. Is that the same with earlier EB? TQ
Bro,

When you booked the EB? Mine already 2 months for Elegance Brown and still waiting...emmmmmmmm
brotan
post Jun 20 2012, 03:58 PM

2,392 posts

any recommendation when i get the car, what i should check before accepting it?
amd2105
post Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(azzet @ Jun 20 2012, 03:57 PM)
Bro,

When you booked the EB? Mine already 2 months for Elegance Brown and still waiting...emmmmmmmm
I just received my EB last Friday, Elegance Brown as that was the color i'm requesting before genetic silver. Booked last month as i'm dealing with Gmart Kajang & Minda Pertiwi Cheras branch if not mistaken. I believe it all depends on the sales person on how fast they do things and the availability of the color we chose but just my luck to receive it earlier than expected. Hope you get yours soonest smile.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 20 2012, 03:58 PM)
any recommendation when i get the car, what i should check before accepting it?
Not really sure at first but did a check on the tint if it is really from ecotint (if it is premiun and there is a leaflet about ecotint at the passanger front glovebox). Mine don't have what they claimed to be ecotint as there are no marking on the rear screen, quite in hurry when we picked the car last week, dunno whether i was conned or what as i dun bother to take the tint matter seriously at that time.

Other than that check the wiper, signals and make sure there is no hanky panky happening before you drive away from the show room. Well i guess that's all tongue.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(rapidbumi @ Jun 20 2012, 03:23 PM)
a stone chips my windscreen today... only realized when reached office parking... anybody knows a good Dr Cermin..?
Where is your location? If in Bandar Baru Bangi there is one Dr Cermin outlet at sec 7 if i'm not mistaken, just go there and hopefully they can help you smile.gif

This post has been edited by amd2105: Jun 20 2012, 04:45 PM
azzet
post Jun 20 2012, 05:38 PM

[quote=amd2105,Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM]
I just received my EB last Friday, Elegance Brown as that was the color i'm requesting before genetic silver. Booked last month as i'm dealing with Gmart Kajang & Minda Pertiwi Cheras branch if not mistaken. I believe it all depends on the sales person on how fast they do things and the availability of the color we chose but just my luck to receive it earlier than expected. Hope you get yours soonest smile.gif

Booked mine at Tasik Permaisuri eventhough I stay at Kajang... Last month they offered me a just arrived Cocoa Grey but I refused as not want to regret later... BTW saw one new EB Elegance Brown at Sutera Kajang yesterday... Is that you?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 20 2012, 05:55 PM

12,696 posts

What FC are you people getting. Mine not good at ~12 L/100km.
brotan
post Jun 20 2012, 06:08 PM

2,392 posts

http://www.mydeal.com.my/deals/kuala-lumpu...a_8893_163980_9

any idea if this is worth it?
neo1point3
post Jun 20 2012, 07:30 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:55 PM)
What FC are you people getting. Mine not good at ~12 L/100km.
What is your mileage?

Mine during below 1000km fc is 12.6L/100km
1000-4000km fc is 11.8L/100km
Now at 6000km fc is 10.5L/100km

Full city driving
amd2105
post Jun 20 2012, 08:04 PM

[quote=azzet,Jun 20 2012, 05:38 PM]
[quote=amd2105,Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM]
Booked mine at Tasik Permaisuri eventhough I stay at Kajang... Last month they offered me a just arrived Cocoa Grey but I refused as not want to regret later... BTW saw one new EB Elegance Brown at Sutera Kajang yesterday... Is that you?

[/quote]

Cocoa Grey, that was the top in my list but the sales person intelligently brainwashed me to pick Elegant Brown instead sweat.gif Not my route Sutera Kajang, hehe..if you saw the one that has a "baby in car" sticker on the top right corner at the rear screen well then its me tongue.gif

Btw, i live in Kajang as well smile.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 8:07 pm[quote=neo1point3,Jun 20 2012, 07:30 PM]
What is your mileage?

Full city driving

[/quote]

well not fully tested yet as the car just move around the neighborhood only so not very sure..

This post has been edited by amd2105: Jun 20 2012, 08:07 PM
klate
post Jun 20 2012, 09:36 PM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:30 PM)
What is your mileage?

Full city driving
Do you reset the ave fuel meter for every step above?. If the latest 10.5l/100km @6000km is cumulative average from day one then the actual should be better than that. If i'm right the fuel consumption will be high at the beginning of the life and getting better over time before settle after > 5000km (2nd service).
neo1point3
post Jun 20 2012, 09:39 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(klate @ Jun 20 2012, 09:36 PM)
Do you reset the ave fuel meter for every step above?. If the latest 10.5l/100km @6000km is cumulative average from day one then the actual should be better than that. If i'm right the fuel consumption will be high at the beginning of the life and getting better over time before settle after > 5000km (2nd service).
I never reset back since day one

Oh damn, 5000km need to send sc 2nd service ah? ohmy.gif
mine already 6000km ++
V12Kompressor
post Jun 20 2012, 10:28 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:10 AM)
Yes, it did. In the oil chart picture. Go have a close look at the 5W30 and 5W40 oil shown in Proton oil chart. It clearly said you should not use them if Ambient Temperature exceeds 20C.

I am sure you know our Malaysian ambient temperature FAR EXCEED 20C. 35C is common. In other word, you must not use 5W30 or 5W40 in Malaysia. Like you, I don't agree with Proton but that is what Proton is saying. Since Proton know more about CFE than you or me, who do you follow?
but when your engine is running at optimum condition, I dont think the temperature is merely 35 degrees. wink.gif smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 20 2012, 10:31 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jun 20 2012, 10:28 PM)
but when your engine is running at optimum condition, I dont think the temperature is merely 35 degrees.  wink.gif smile.gif
Engine oil are being selected based on AMBIENT TEMPERATURE and ours is about 35C. Not OPERATING TEMPERATURE.

V12Kompressor
post Jun 20 2012, 10:38 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:31 PM)
Engine oil are being selected based on AMBIENT TEMPERATURE and ours is about 35C. Not OPERATING TEMPERATURE.
but which of those you think has direct/ greater importance?

ambient temperature which determines the ability to start the engine (fluidity of engine oil)

or

operating temperature which determines the overall viscosity and longevity of the engine oil?

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 20 2012, 11:04 PM
klate
post Jun 21 2012, 06:20 AM

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:39 PM)
I never reset back since day one

Oh damn, 5000km need to send sc 2nd service ah?  ohmy.gif
mine already 6000km ++
Depending on the oil grade used, you can opt for 10k or 5k service interval.

To be more accurate try reset your ave meter ..... to reset, long press while the meter is being selected (blinking)

This post has been edited by klate: Jun 21 2012, 06:23 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 21 2012, 06:25 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jun 20 2012, 10:38 PM)
but which of those you think has direct/ greater importance?

ambient temperature which determines the ability to start the engine (fluidity of engine oil)

or

operating temperature which determines the overall viscosity and longevity of the engine oil?
Engineer would already have taken that into account. Regardless of what ambient temperature, the operating temperature would be fairly predictable due to cooling system of the car.

So who do we trust? The very engineer who design the engine or non-engineer?

V12Kompressor
post Jun 21 2012, 08:06 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 21 2012, 06:25 AM)
Engineer would already have taken that into account. Regardless of what ambient temperature, the operating temperature would be fairly predictable due to cooling system of the car.

So who do we trust? The very engineer who design the engine or non-engineer?
It has come to our general consensus that the engineers at Proton has recommended engine oil of at least SAE 10w30 and above. But, what does those numbers really means? It means that the oil has conformed to SAE10W specifications in winter testing (-17 degrees celcius) and conformed to SAE30 ratings during operating temperature (100 degrees Celsius). The 10w reflects the fluidity of the engine oil during winter temperature which determines the ability to crank the engine and keep it properly lubricated at the first crank of the engine. However, due to our ambient temperature which is constantly around 22~35 degrees Celsius there are no issues of engine oil getting crystallized. Therefore, the SAE10w part can be ignored for most of the users in our market.

In conclusion, it is safe to say that the chart serves only as a reference for users which experience cold weather (4 seasons) or countries which has all long cold weather. Users who experience all round summer like us can use whatever engine oil in the market, as long as it is a minimum of SAE30, regardless of 0w, 5w, 10w, 15w or 20w.

124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:38 AM