CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

BrachialPlexus
post Apr 1 2015, 09:39 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 1 2015, 06:32 AM)
Any recommendations for surgical text for JMO/RMOs? or any comment of bailey & Love vs Sabiston? smile.gif much appreciated.
Are you planning to enter surg training? tongue.gif
CyberSetan
post Apr 1 2015, 11:19 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

“I want to study medicine because my elder sister is studying that, too,” she said.

I LoLz.... laugh.gif

Nation

Home > News > Nation

Published: Wednesday April 1, 2015 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Wednesday April 1, 2015 MYT 8:03:08 AM

Medicine still top choice despite glut

KUALA LUMPUR: Although there are more medical graduates than ever in the country, three top SPM scorers who each received a National Scholarship are adamant about studying medicine.

Muhammad Farhan Romli, 18, from SM Sains Sultan Mohamad Jiwa, Sungai Petani, was ecstatic about getting the scholarship and said he would pursue a career in medicine.

“My four elder brothers studied medicine and it was quite costly. This (scholarship) will ease my family’s financial burden,” he said, adding that he obtained 9A+ in his Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) examination.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...e-despite-glut/
cckkpr
post Apr 1 2015, 12:02 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Apr 1 2015, 11:19 AM)
“I want to study medicine because my elder sister is studying that, too,” she said.

I LoLz....  laugh.gif
"My four elder brothers studied medicine.... rclxms.gif ."
onelove89
post Apr 1 2015, 01:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Apr 1 2015, 09:39 AM)
Are you planning to enter surg training? tongue.gif
Hmm.... one of my interests.

Find that working is way different to medical school. Interests change too. smile.gif

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Apr 1 2015, 11:19 AM)

I LoLz....  laugh.gif
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 1 2015, 12:02 PM)
"My four elder brothers studied medicine.... rclxms.gif ."
it runs in the family. Medical-school gene! smile.gif only found in Malaysia... or maybe in parts of SEA.
cckkpr
post Apr 1 2015, 03:53 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 1 2015, 01:05 PM)
Hmm....  one of my interests.

Find that working is way different to medical school. Interests change too. smile.gif
it runs in the family. Medical-school gene! smile.gif only found in Malaysia... or maybe in parts of SEA.
Supposedly easier to study with so many brothers in the same profession providing guidance and helping with writing reports and assignments. Medicine is no exception with third parties being paid to write and with the parents being a doctor/s will be the best situation. Several of relative coursemates do this thing rclxms.gif
zstan
post Apr 1 2015, 05:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 31 2015, 05:57 PM)
i have always wanted to backpack, but never had the opportunity....coincidentally, the short break between graduating and starting work i had was also spent in taiwan...but that was a very long time ago...
tomorrow refer all your patients to other doctors, buy flight ticket and kasi buang itu resignation letter, and leave the day after laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 21 2015, 10:17 PM

15,856 posts

so apparently quite a few of monash malaysia graduates got internship positions in Australia.
limeuu
post Apr 23 2015, 01:18 AM

12,291 posts

How many exactly?....there were 7 last year....
limeuu
post Apr 23 2015, 01:18 AM

12,291 posts

Double posted.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 23 2015, 01:20 AM
zstan
post Apr 23 2015, 09:33 AM

15,856 posts

Not very sure. Probably around there. My friend got a position at box hill just 20 minutes away from central Melbourne. i guess if you are good they will still take you in. the rest are further away or rural areas or other states.
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 23 2015, 11:29 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 23 2015, 10:33 AM)
Not very sure. Probably around there. My friend got a position at box hill just 20 minutes away from central Melbourne. i guess if you are good they will still take you in. the rest are further away or rural areas or other states.
If one really wants to practice as a doctor, does it matter where the location is be in Malaysia homeland ? After all one takes the oath right ?
zstan
post Apr 23 2015, 11:34 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 23 2015, 11:29 AM)
If one really wants to practice as a doctor, does it matter where the location is be in Malaysia homeland ? After all one takes the oath right ?
Well. in the case for my friend she already got the job offer during her studies. whereas in malaysia you have to spend time applying to SPA, wait for a letter before the medical board or something similar considers you, and then you have to wait from 9-12 months before you get a job. not many people could afford to wait that long.
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 23 2015, 11:44 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 23 2015, 12:34 PM)
Well. in the case for my friend she already got the job offer during her studies. whereas in malaysia you have to spend time applying to SPA, wait for a letter before the medical board or something similar considers you, and then you have to wait from 9-12 months before you get a job. not many people could afford to wait that long.
True. I wasn't in particular referring nor pointing at you or your friend here. Just a matter of fact that many students take up medicine or dentistry for all the wrong reasons they can be. I personally have two friends who are passionate about being doctors and they are happy to be in homeland based. One is going to EM for posting and the other doing her houseman now.
onelove89
post Apr 26 2015, 10:03 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 23 2015, 11:34 AM)
sounds like '14 grad. In that case it'll be weird as that is the time when internship crisis is at its peak (for the time being). It's kinda hard to believe CAT 5s getting a spot in major metro hospitals, and in 1-2nd round offers.

The previous 7 in '13 grads are all in tasmania. 2-3 got into July internship in burnie here.
zstan
post May 7 2015, 10:07 AM

15,856 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...civil-servants/

Even less jobs for medical professionals?

This post has been edited by zstan: May 7 2015, 10:08 AM
limeuu
post May 7 2015, 12:56 PM

12,291 posts

Housemanship is different from the usual civil service jobs...it is a statutory requirement for full registration, and only can be performed in gazetted gov hospitals....

it is also a short term 2 year job, unlike other psd jobs....

therefore it will continue...

in addition, the 2 years compulsory service remains in force, and hence the gov is duty bound to need to keep these doctors under employment for another 2 years.....

however, while housemanship is a close ended 2 year job, doctors have always been taken into the psd as full time employees....and hence people think this is a full time civil service appointment, which it is in the past....and they continue on for another 2 years under compulsory service...

but the two are actually separate matters...therefore, i foresee that housemanship appointment will change into a contract employment....for the 2 years...the compulsory service will be abolished....the newly full registration doctors will need to apply for a full time psd job after housemanship...and that will NOT be guaranteed anymore...

jobless doctors is a reality, as the private sector has limited capacity to absorb junior doctors....
BravoZeroTwo
post May 7 2015, 01:03 PM

1,128 posts

Talking about jobless doctors in the future, I, however know personally a number of doctors ie GPs as well as specialists, their children are studying medicine. I wonder why though when I asked them, they say it is still one of the best profession for professionals.
limeuu
post May 7 2015, 02:19 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 7 2015, 01:03 PM)
Talking about jobless doctors in the future, I, however know personally a number of doctors ie GPs as well as specialists, their children are studying medicine. I wonder why though when I asked them, they say it is still one of the best profession for professionals.
because there are more jobless professionals in the other professions....

but they don't have to deal with a rm1/2 million debt....

read Pagalavan's latest blog about this issue....

from a country's economics and health provisions point of view, there should NEVER be too many doctors....it is wasted resources...
cckkpr
post May 7 2015, 05:18 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 7 2015, 02:19 PM)
because there are more jobless professionals in the other professions....

but they don't have to deal with a rm1/2 million debt....

read Pagalavan's latest blog about this issue....

from a country's economics and health provisions point of view, there should NEVER be too many doctors....it is wasted resources...
My relative is now doing his 6 weeks rotation in a gomen general hospital and looks like it there is a shortage of housemen, esp. in the critical care unit. He is supposed to be "look see but no touch" but has been given a lot of opportunities by the specialists in their rounds.

But certain MO's are really screaming aloud against some housemen; the reason being "I was given the same treatment".
limeuu
post May 7 2015, 05:33 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 7 2015, 05:18 PM)
My relative is now doing his 6 weeks rotation in a gomen general hospital and looks like it there is a shortage of housemen, esp.  in the critical care unit. He is supposed to be  "look see but no touch" but has been given a lot of opportunities by the specialists in their rounds.

But certain MO's are really screaming aloud against some housemen; the reason being "I was given the same treatment".
there is no houseman posted to the icu....

91 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:23 AM