in public hospitals like HKL surgeons and consultants are still being called Mr...
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center
Aug 27 2012, 08:56 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
in public hospitals like HKL surgeons and consultants are still being called Mr...
Oct 26 2012, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 25 2012, 06:33 PM) if he had least spend one day off to day a full medical check up once a year when he started working he could be still very well alive. kesian. |
Nov 10 2012, 10:44 AM
Dec 17 2012, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 17 2012, 05:37 PM) Good. Even someone who has just passed first year can pick up the error. yeah but if the TGL levels are really high fibrates should be started along with statins.The list of meds was prescribed by a junior MO who has just completed Housemanship. This MO is a graduate of an IPTA which is recognized by Singapore medical council. I really hope this is an "accidental" or "postcall" mistake. If not the rural folks are in big trouble. BTW, statin with fibrate is also not a good combination, as it can cause rhabdomyolysis. This combination is only used as second line therapy. |
Dec 17 2012, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 17 2012, 06:44 PM) Monotherapy is always recommended as the initial therapy. If TG is > 5.7mmol/L at presentation, fibrate is started instead of statin. Combination therapy is only recommended if optimal monotherapy has failed to bring the lipid level down to target lipid goals after 8-12 weeks. yes but this was a discharge script. the patient might have already been started on initial therapy during admission. no? furthermore it is unclear on how long has the patient been admitted and what other drugs has the patient been taking along with his other test results. IMO besides the duplication of aspirin, its hard to justify whether the script is accurate or not based on present data. Pls refer below pic for more info (from KKM guideline) [attachmentid=3212003] QUOTE(tqeh @ Dec 17 2012, 07:02 PM) It is likely that it is a unintentional mistake (for aspirin and ?cardiprin). gemfibrozil is to lower TGL levels, beta blockers work on the heart. both drugs work differently and have different mechanisms and different outcomes. Not sure why gemfibrozil, does it actually really work? Definitely I wont feel comfortable starting them together. ? consider beta blocker in future? Statin is a must regardless of lipid studies given its role in secondary prevention. Plavix - did not state the duration? Was PCI done/ BMS/ DES? =D Such mistake would not be made if there is a pharmacist around checking discharge scripts? This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 17 2012, 07:23 PM |
Dec 17 2012, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 17 2012, 08:23 PM) As mentioned, I hope this is an unintentional mistake. If not then I am very worried about the quality of medical education. ah my bad then. didn't really check the DOA. so yeah, the fibrates shouldn't be prescribed together with statins. yeap the statin dose is quite low and not maxed out yet. my mistake on part 4. should be referring to high risk patients.yes, agreed with the statin part. Statin should be started regardless of lipid profile post ACS/STEMI. if I am not mistaken, PCI is not routinely done for ACS. It is however, a gold standard for STEMI. Also, district hospital has no cardiologist, so PCI can't be done. Well, I am equally surprised that pharmacist didn't pick up the mistakes. I guess you are confused a little. Let me clarify. 1. The guideline says optimal monotherapy before considering combination. Does 20mg of lovastatin or 300mg of gemfibrozil sounds optimal to you? Are you aware of the max dosage for each drug? 2. Date of admission and discharged clearly written on the discharge note. Pls read it carefully. 3. All drugs taken by the patient are on the prescription slip. 4. You dun only start statin post stroke or cardio event (where did you get this fact!?). Statin can be used in simple dyslipidemia as suggested by KKM guideline and guidelines all over the world. 5. tqeh is right on beta blocker for ACS. Beta blocker reduces the myocardial oxygen demand. |
Dec 17 2012, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 17 2012, 08:53 PM) Ah. Wanted to point out statin/fibrates combo but too unsure about that. yeah cheaper. statins mostly differ by their potency.Btw what's the reason for the MO to prescribe lovastatin instead of atorvastatin? Am more familiar with the latter since it's.....more famous |
Dec 17 2012, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 17 2012, 09:07 PM) For your info, some consultants even routinely prescribed statin for all type 2 diabetic patients above the age of 40 regardless of baseline lipid profile. yeah statins are usually prescribed if the patients has diabetes. hmm not so sure if that's the correct practice though if the consultant does not bother about the lipid profile. |
Dec 17 2012, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 17 2012, 09:13 PM) atorva should be more potent, rosuva too, compared to simva and lovastatin. but rosuva or crestor is very expensive. GH gave my mom lovastatin too. rosuvastatin has the highest incidence of liver and muscle side effects so it is generally avoided.Lifestyle and exercise isn't doing much help for my cholesterol |
Dec 17 2012, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Dec 17 2012, 09:36 PM) Yea, I think I know what are those drugs for after a few years of medical school. fibrates is more related to risk reduction in diabates compared to a cardiovascular event. its usage is more limited to reduce TGL levels and that's about it I have not been studying in a while (like really super long) but correct me if I am wrong (I know there are a lot of senior doctors reading, please correct me if I am wrong!) I have no idea if gemfibrozil actually works in secondary prevention of cardiovascular event - I have not been taught about it, or read about it, or find out about it. Statins MUST be used in secondary prevention of cardiovascular event as Number Needed to Treat is low (?50, cant remember, depending on which studies you pick and which statin) Statins, can be used for primary prevention for high risk patient - oh well, nowadays ppl just treat numbers anyway lol even if they are perfectly healthy lol. NNT probably about 1000? pretty low yield. Perindopril has to be used post AMI as it reduces mortality (er, something to do with cardiac remodelling blabla) B-blocker, in patient post AMI without significantly impaired systolic function (Ie systolic heart failure), should be commenced on a B-blocker (low dose first, as tolerated) as it reduced recurrent AMIs and ?mortality. And yea, about the plavix part, I dont know man, I dont know whether the patient had a STEMI/NSTEMI. But the duration of plavix should be documented!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! plavix is there to prevent clot formation. working together with aspirin. QUOTE(tqeh @ Dec 17 2012, 09:42 PM) Is that from lecture / real life practice? I see so many cardiologists start people (private prac) on rosuvastatin. Hospital people tend to get atorva. from lectures |
Dec 17 2012, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 17 2012, 10:04 PM) I'm not too sure where you got your source though, but from journals i read, rosuva has lower incident of rhabdo, and similar adverse event rates compared to other statins. an exception is cerivastatin, which is banned. they do get slight raise of transaminase though. its from my lectures made by practitioners. guess in practice its a different story.agreed =P save cost. and hey, they all work well. my teacher called it the miracle drug because it has many other functions too, like stabilizing plaques and etc etc. So yes I will still give high risk patients statins. and I wont add in a fibrate.... unless the consultant tells me so QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 17 2012, 10:07 PM) both drugs causes hyperglyceamia. which may lead to diabetes if not properly monitored. |
Dec 18 2012, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 18 2012, 09:10 AM) TBH I haven't seen much use of fibrates (none that I can recall, for that matter) so far. Don't know if it has fallen out of favour in Australia (Hobart) or it's just that I've been not looking close enough. fibrates are not like statins which can give you other benefits, their only role is to lower TGL. fish oil with omega 3 and 6 seems to be a more popular choice now.P/S: B-blockers can mask the adrenegic symptoms of hypoglycaemia as well (!use in high risk patients). Hypermax, are b-blockers and absolute contraindication in COPD and Asthma? I ask this only because I have seen patients on them, where the doctors say, B-blockers work for them. beta blocker is also contraindicated in people with vascular diseases. but the benefits still outweighs the risk. QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 18 2012, 09:40 AM) I guess the benefits outweighs the risk? I think cardioselective BBs will be used to decrease unwanted s/e. but still, it will have more or less affect the airways/FEV1. QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 18 2012, 09:55 AM) at the end of the day, like onelove89 mentioned, is to see whether the benefits outweigh the risk or not. even in an asthmatic patient, if the patient needs a b-blocker to survive it has to be given and the asthma is being contained in some other ways (if the patient suffers an attack). and a drug being selective doesn't mean 100% of the drug particles are selective. as hypermax pointed out, as the dosage increases there will be more circulating drugs in the system and just 1% of the stray particles maybe enough to trigger and attack. having said that some asthmatic patients may also not react to the beta blocker. so the best way is to monitor the patient and prescribe accordingly and start with small doses.This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 18 2012, 02:00 PM |
Dec 18 2012, 10:23 PM
Last one is simvastatin. ccb given with ccf? Wanna kill the patient mer
Dec 19 2012, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 19 2012, 12:01 AM) Tripple whammy right there as well? firstly the article compares the drug against a placebo, which is pointless in this time and age. of course the drugs performs better than a placebo. Also this article may be interest for you guys. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9264493 'Of the 450 patients, 55% were identified as having coronary artery disease as the cause of their heart failure, and the remaining 45% were classified as having a nonischemic cause.' in this case actually only about 45% of the patients are more prone to heart failure worsening by the CCB IMO. in people with CAD your heart may be still be fine (valves and walls still normal). also there isn't any confidence interval for the decrease in blood pressure hence it may not be clinically significant although its statistically significant. mortality rates for both are the same as well. anyway the discussion and conclusion pretty much sums it up: "Despite these modestly favorable hemodynamic and hormonal effects, however, felodipine ER therapy was not associated with clear-cut short-term or long-term clinical benefit. This study, therefore, does not support the concept that a dihydropyridine calcium antagonist can strikingly augment the favorable clinical response to ACE inhibitors in heart failure. Nonetheless, the data suggest that felodipine ER can be used safely in patients with heart failure if used for another indication. " so maybe the MO is treating the patient for hypertension? sorry can't really read the abbreviations. but this means that Felodipine is not contraindicated with CCF and the script is accurate. This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 19 2012, 12:37 AM |
Dec 19 2012, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 19 2012, 06:56 AM) 1. This patient has both hypertension and CCF, thus felodipine should not be used as first line therapy. In the above case, dose of enalapril is still not optimized. beta blocker should not be used here because the patient has diabetes..though this can improvised...how was the patient's kidney's condition? considering patient has DM the kidney may not be fully functional as well. ivabradine could be used though (not sure whether district hospital has this drug). enalapril is already at the 10mg target to manage aldosterone levels as well as stabilising the bp. the diuretics is also helpful against the patient's hypertension along with resolving the oedema so there are 3 drugs for hypertension now. without echo its really hard to tell how bad has the heart failed and how bad will the CCB affect the heart(class 1/2/3/4 using NYHA classification?)2. Beta blocker could be added for this case in place of felodipine. Beta blocker is known to be beneficial in patients with heart failure, and it treats hypertension as well. 3. Calcium channel blocker is best avoided in systolic heart failure, but can be used safely in diastolic heart failure. Both conditions can only be distinguished with echocardiography. However, both conditions often coexist in clinical practice. Echo was not done in the above case. 4. Another study done on felodipine in heart failure http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1277290/ It is really good to see healthy discussions going on. Keep up the good work guys. also that study was done in 1987, not very sure whether the same circumstances applies 25 years later. Added on December 19, 2012, 2:30 pm QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 19 2012, 10:19 AM) Also, does anyone know what else they look for in echos for CCF besides Ejection fraction (Systolic failure) and LV function (both systolic and diastolic failure)? you could also look for hypertrophy of the atrium or ventricles or whether are the walls dilated (dilated cardiomyopathy)This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 19 2012, 02:42 PM |
Dec 20 2012, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 19 2012, 09:26 PM) I have a very dumb question here, Angiotensin II has various functions, which of it is the most prominent? Is it constriction of vessels as I remember? vasoconstriction.. hypertrophy of the heart... renin release which triggers aldosterone release... Na retention..increase fluid retention.. BP raised..Added on December 20, 2012, 12:02 am QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 19 2012, 07:01 PM) 1. Beta blocker is not recommended in DM patients, but it is not absolutely contraindicated. Compare to CCB in heart failure, it is relatively safer. yeah CCB will also cause peripheral oedema which is very hard to get rid off. so its best to avoid.2. Low dose Beta blocker is generally used in HF. So even DM patients with HF are well tolerated towards BB. 3. There are many studies with conflicting views on the usage of CCB in HF. But in general, CCB is best avoided in diastolic HF (a strong physiology knowledge will tell you why) 4. Enalapril can be used as high as 20mg BD in HF 5. Kidney functions are normal in this case. In practice, both systolic and diastolic HF often coexist (according to my consultant, more reference needed). Thus CCB shouldn't be used as first line. This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 20 2012, 12:02 AM |
Dec 20 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 20 2012, 10:29 AM) I do think that you need to reread my question more carefully, I know about all those but which of it is dominant? (Hence hypermax's: (improve survival and quality of life)) All of these happen concurrently when angiotensin 2 binds to the AT1 receptors. There's no dominant process and it is a positive feedback mechanis. However if you are talking about short term and long term eeffects of excess angiotensin 2 circulating ijbthe body then vasoconstriction and bp increase takes place first and hypertrophy comes later at a slower rate. Hence if you dont treat it your condition will get more and more worse. Which brings back to improving survival rate and qualityof life. Hope I answered your question.This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 20 2012, 12:53 PM |
Dec 20 2012, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 20 2012, 01:56 PM) vasoconstriction and sodium reabsorption. the first choice is always ACEI due to the cost, sartans are still relatively new are much pricier and are only used when ACEI are not effective (in the private settings it may be another story though). but both should never be used together.was reading an article on AT2r, which is rather interesting http://hyper.ahajournals.org/content/35/1/155.full http://circres.ahajournals.org/content/83/12/1182.full However i think sartans and prils are pretty much the same in terms of efficacy. Still there are conflicting data saying one is better than the other. Any clinicians can clarify the selection of sartans over ACEI? (apart from when the patient cannot take ACEI). technically ARBs are more effective as it binds directly to the receptors hence angiotensin 2 have no where to bind and get degraded. In the case of enzyme inhibition there's bound to be some ACE escaping the effects of ACEI. but in real life scenarios it may differ. This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 20 2012, 04:43 PM |
Dec 20 2012, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 04:42 PM) In clinical practice, first line is almost always ace-I. Arb is used when patient cant tolerate ace-i, usually due to dry cough (accumulation of bradykinnin in the lungs). Of course in some cases, double blockade is used (combination of both Arb and ace-i). its really not recommended... there's always other choices of BP lowering drugs.. combination of these 2 will result in declining renal function. the electrolyte imbalance will also be more severe if combined. http://www.jfponline.com/pages.asp?aid=7183 |
Dec 23 2012, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(raul88 @ Dec 23 2012, 06:32 AM) not sure if this is the right place well if you want to opt for 'smaller' hospitals you can always apply places like pahang, kelantan, terengganu, perak etc.but i'm going to finish med school soon need to fill housemanship form and interview just around the corner any idea good place for housemanship? not GH....i hate big hospital cos many medical student (like myself) and more importantly fierce consultant any tips very much appreciated |
| Change to: | 0.0495sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 AM |