476 posts

current ex at jln wong ah fook, jb $changer = 2.50
r1v3r
post Jul 12 2012, 06:17 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 05:49 PM)
Even $200k+, do some maths and how long you need to have the minimum cash to purchase it.  sweat.gif
Easier if your partner share the cost.

20% down payment for 250k is 50k (12.5k cash, 37.5k CPF)

Equal share among couple is 25k ( 6.25k cash, 18.75k CPF)

say your combine income is 7k (3.5k each) , take home 5600.

If only save 1.5k each month for housing you need 8.3 months to reach 12.5k cash

combined CPF will be 2520 ( 1400 + 1120), you need 14.88 monts to reach 37.5k CPF*

factor in your bonus, salary increment and other expenses, you need about ~2 years of saving to purchase a 250k unit (if you can find one).

added* only the OA account of CPF can be used, so save longer or top it up with cash.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jul 12 2012, 06:22 PM
shanelai
post Jul 12 2012, 06:25 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 12 2012, 06:17 PM)
Easier if your partner share the cost.

20% down payment  for 250k is 50k  (12.5k cash, 37.5k CPF)

Equal share among couple  is 25k ( 6.25k cash, 18.75k CPF)
say your combine income is 7k (3.5k each) , take home 5600.

If only save 1.5k each month for housing you need  8.3 months to reach 12.5k cash

combined CPF will be 2520 ( 1400 + 1120), you need  14.88 monts to reach 37.5k CPF

factor in your bonus, salary increment and other expenses, you need about 1.5 years of saving to purchase a 250k unit (if you can find one).
Haha.. calculation got problem la dude. Don't forget CPF need to split among 3 acc. being equally spli 1 month is only 1/3 of the calculation i.e. 37.5k/3 - 12.5k. Somemore haven factor in COV and admin fee.... with a hdb $250k, i think is barely can get too. blush.gif

Edited * Long long way to even save for your first hdb without getting loan/sponsor from fama bank. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shanelai: Jul 12 2012, 06:26 PM
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2012, 06:29 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 06:25 PM)
Haha.. calculation got problem la dude. Don't forget CPF need to split among 3 acc. being equally spli 1 month is only 1/3 of the calculation i.e. 37.5k/3 - 12.5k. Somemore haven factor in COV and admin fee.... with a hdb $250k, i think is barely can get too.  blush.gif

Edited * Long long way to even save for your first hdb without getting loan/sponsor from fama bank.  biggrin.gif
you can be pessimistic, or you can be optimistic...your choice.
if you want to keep sticking to your calculation (maybe you will claim it is being realistic), go ahead but life is never as you expected.
others showed u that it is actually quite possible.

or if u follow what chessgal says, you will never get rich just by being employed. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 07:42 PM

1,006 posts

Yes, seems like impossible now for those who just started in Sg, but if you start saving now then put some cash into some investment like msia prop (that generate rental income of course), when appreciate, refinance to cash out.

Thats one way to get cash.
SONYSONY
post Jul 12 2012, 08:09 PM

79 posts

my fren has a plan. he wants to work in SG and get PR/citizen
then he wants to continue PhD.
which is cheaper, study in SG or study in M'sia.
cless^alvein
post Jul 12 2012, 08:18 PM

79 posts

Hi, probably out of topic, but wanna ask, any nice place for dinner at clarke quay area?
r1v3r
post Jul 12 2012, 08:29 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Jul 12 2012, 08:09 PM)
Who is "selling" the things he wanted, as if one can easily get it with cash.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jul 12 2012, 08:29 PM
shanelai
post Jul 12 2012, 08:36 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 07:42 PM)
Yes, seems like impossible now for those who just started in Sg, but if you start saving now then put some cash into some investment like msia prop (that generate rental income of course), when appreciate, refinance to cash out.

Thats one way to get cash.
Do you think malaysia property can invest now? Seems like quite bubble for the current situation. Where are you invested in to yield rental income.

To get some opinions. Do you think invest a property in malaysia to get rental income and continue rent a room in SG OR continue to save sum of money to get a hdb in singapore to save your monthly rental and comfort area. Assuming you need another 2 years time to get the down payment.
r1v3r
post Jul 12 2012, 08:58 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 06:25 PM)
Haha.. calculation got problem la dude. Don't forget CPF need to split among 3 acc. being equally spli 1 month is only 1/3 of the calculation i.e. 37.5k/3 - 12.5k. Somemore haven factor in COV and admin fee.... with a hdb $250k, i think is barely can get too.  blush.gif

Edited * Long long way to even save for your first hdb without getting loan/sponsor from fama bank.  biggrin.gif
I did place some flexibility is the way I estimate the saving duration needed. By 1.5 years you should have some extra cash to settle the odds.

Btw, you better check your cpf account if you never look at it. OA account contribution is way higher than the other 2.

Also, we need some people who keep paying monthly rental to earn extra income. You have interesting understanding on taking personal loan for housing.

250k, 30 years loan, your monthly installment should be 1k+. Compare that with the rental you paid for the unit.

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 12 2012, 09:16 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 08:54 AM)

Unless combine CPf. As for myself, I hv CPf but not my bf, he just turn PR last month. Bought the condo under his name as I am reserving mine for another. We utilized all cash we have, refinance some property for the Downpayment.

One advice, if you plan to invest in Sg, don't use joint name in your first private condo cause both of you would only hv one chance of getting 80% loan. Reserve the other name for another cOndo. I heard the government is trying to clamp down on speculation by disallowing use of CPf for second property.
izzit possible to put d name under 1 person but apply for financing with a couple of names?

but there's a risk he might lari with d asset while u r joinly financing it right?

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 12 2012, 03:58 PM)
em 3K also tak sampai
habish lah camni...
beli kat jb.. rumah kos rendah rclxms.gif
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 12:05 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 05:49 PM)
Even $200k+, do some maths and how long you need to have the minimum cash to purchase it.  sweat.gif
200K flat, you'll generally need only 50K to fund all the initial payments from downpayment to stamp duty etc. 4K salary, you can save 2K a month. So... all you really need is 25 months or 2 years. And if you withdraw your CPF and start to complicate the math a bit with compounding the interest/dividends on your progressive savings, you'll move into 200+K territory.

Question is... have you done your math?

I've done mine. I just bought my first property in SG last weekend.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 13 2012, 12:06 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2012, 12:08 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2425842

for those that wanna work in sg, hanief is hiring...
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 12:34 AM

1,006 posts

Congrats! Where did you bOught!? Katong? New or resale?

Added on July 13, 2012, 12:43 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 12 2012, 09:16 PM)
izzit possible to put d name under 1 person but apply for financing with a couple of names?

but there's a risk he might lari with d asset while u r joinly financing it right?
beli kat jb.. rumah kos rendah  rclxms.gif
Yes for private, hdb I am not sure.

WOnt lari one. You just gotta trust if you want to jointly invest. I also enter a few jv for commercial property in kl, they trust me, I trust them. Of course I do my due diligence before jv w them. Surround yourself w successful ppl so that least yOull make mistake.

Added on July 13, 2012, 12:44 am
QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 12 2012, 08:18 PM)
Hi, probably out of topic, but wanna ask, any nice place for dinner at clarke quay area?
Cafe iguana, beside brewerk. Nice Mexican food.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 13 2012, 12:44 AM
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 08:38 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 13 2012, 12:34 AM)
Congrats! Where did you bOught!? Katong? New or resale?
The one I asked you about in Simei. Supposed to TOP in 2014. Was sold on it when I stepped out of the MRT. Took 3 minutes to walk the 80m from platform to project entrance and 1 minute to cross the road to shopping mall. Figured it was a sure rental or resale.
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 08:55 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 13 2012, 08:38 AM)
The one I asked you about in Simei. Supposed to TOP in 2014. Was sold on it when I stepped out of the MRT. Took 3 minutes to walk the 80m from platform to project entrance and 1 minute to cross the road to shopping mall. Figured it was a sure rental or resale.
Congrats! Yay!
ivanswk
post Jul 13 2012, 09:06 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 12 2012, 08:18 PM)
http://peonyjade.com/index.html

Added on July 13, 2012, 9:10 am
QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Jul 12 2012, 08:09 PM)
malaysia is cheaper
but singapor better uni, Insead rolleyes.gif
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_821091.html

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 13 2012, 09:10 AM
jasonkwk
post Jul 13 2012, 09:21 AM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2012, 12:08 AM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2425842

for those that wanna work in sg, hanief is hiring...
I saw dishwasher job advertised in ST , the salary posted is $1500. this one too low.

ivanswk
post Jul 13 2012, 09:21 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 08:36 PM)
To get some opinions. Do you think invest a property in malaysia to get rental income and continue rent a room in SG OR continue to save sum of money to get a hdb in singapore to save your monthly rental and comfort area. Assuming you need another 2 years  time to get the down payment.
my vote to a hdb in singapore rolleyes.gif
WyjSwmW
post Jul 13 2012, 09:39 AM

862 posts

Anyone wonder why there is no Chatime in SG?

Who wanna partnership with me on opening the first Chatime outlet in SG?

125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:52 AM