12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

TOP 3 (and Worst 3) Warranty Support in Malaysia, On Site Support: Laptop/Desktop

JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 07:18 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 07:03 PM)
Yes, I paid ~ RM250 to upgrade the warranty from 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty.

As I said, Lenovo Malaysia don't offer on site warranty to all the consumer laptop models. As far as I know, Essential G series is definitely out, Y series is definitely in, the rest you have to find out for yourself tongue.gif

"get the warranty extendion a the point of purchase" - Sorry don't understand smile.gif I bought the upgrade at the point of purchase. I had to registered the upgrade online with Lenovo. The warranty status when I check online at the time of purchase was 2 years International warranty. After registration, after ~ 3 weeks (I can't recall the exact time), when I checked online again, the warranty status was changed to 3 years on site warranty.

I actually bought it from 1 of the reseller at LYN garage sales forum here laugh.gif He is just a normal re-seller (selling lots of other brands), definitely not a Lenovo Malaysia branch.
Thanks bro. You actually answered my question even the one that you don't understand the sentence. smile.gif

May I know who is the seller? Btw, how can I tell a grey from an official Malaysian unit if the model sold in Malaysia?
nexus2238
post Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 07:18 PM)
May I know who is the seller? Btw, how can I tell a grey from an official Malaysian unit if the model sold in Malaysia?
I think ytlay sifu already answer the 2nd question.
The 1st question, let me pm you smile.gif Not suppose to peddle ware or promote sales here laugh.gif
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 09:45 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM)
The 1st question, let me pm you smile.gif Not suppose to peddle ware or promote sales here laugh.gif
Thanks bro. thumbup.gif
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 12:18 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

for the international warranty. actually which brand of laptop is supported. as for oversea uk. which brand is more better and easy?
sss2sssss
post Apr 1 2013, 08:52 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Well change my Y480 screen with not more than two weeks(initially is one week can settle but part arrive delay), and I can take back my Y480 while waiting for the part come(since my laptop still can use with external monitor), good service for Lenovo warranty service
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 09:52 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 12:18 AM)
for the international warranty. actually which brand of laptop is supported. as for oversea uk. which brand is more better and easy?
Actually all brands offer International Warranty, just that some come standard, some you have to pay more to get it smile.gif
Most models by Asus come standard with 2 years International Warranty. Asus UK warranty support is OK.
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 11:05 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 1 2013, 09:52 AM)
Actually all brands offer International Warranty, just that some come standard, some you have to pay more to get it smile.gif
Most models by Asus come standard with 2 years International Warranty. Asus UK warranty support is OK.
ASUs. okie. got this. smile.gif will go check through the website for more information
paddyps
post Apr 1 2013, 02:58 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM)
Yup, technicains at your door to service you 4 times within 1 month is soooooooo bad, it is unforgivable laugh.gif
Get a grip with reality smile.gif
well, Dell can do no wrong laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif anyway, thanks for all your advices and opinions here. appreciate it...

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM)
+1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure  laugh.gif
oh, i have no idea what to expect since this is my first time buying laptop/branded computer, as my very old custom-built/no brand desktop just died sad.gif guess mine is an isolated incident/unlucky... anyway, thanks for the input...
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 03:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paddyps @ Apr 1 2013, 02:58 PM)
well, Dell can do no wrong  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  anyway, thanks for all your advices and opinions here. appreciate it...
oh, i have no idea what to expect since this is my first time buying laptop/branded computer, as my very old custom-built/no brand desktop just died sad.gif guess mine is an isolated incident/unlucky... anyway, thanks for the input...
No, "Dell can do no wrong" is not true laugh.gif What I was saying is that:
1. put it in perspective, compare its service with other brands smile.gif
2. based on what you have gone through, you can say the product quality suck, you can even say the technician technical capabilities suck, but you really can't say warranty support service suck laugh.gif
3. Please understand the difference between a desktop and a laptop. For desktop, all components are more or less off the shelf (you tear down 1 desktop, you more or less know how to deal with the rest of desktop). For laptop, for each models there are lots of model specific components, and it is a lot harder to diagnose / maintain.

If you really don't like the Dell, get the refund and move on smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 1 2013, 03:27 PM
mackioes
post May 13 2013, 09:39 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 08:03 PM)
Yes, I paid ~ RM250 to upgrade the warranty from 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty.

As I said, Lenovo Malaysia don't offer on site warranty to all the consumer laptop models. As far as I know, Essential G series is definitely out, Y series is definitely in, the rest you have to find out for yourself tongue.gif

"get the warranty extendion a the point of purchase" - Sorry don't understand smile.gif I bought the upgrade at the point of purchase. I had to registered the upgrade online with Lenovo. The warranty status when I check online at the time of purchase was 2 years International warranty. After registration, after ~ 3 weeks (I can't recall the exact time), when I checked online again, the warranty status was changed to 3 years on site warranty.

I actually bought it from 1 of the reseller at LYN garage sales forum here laugh.gif He is just a normal re-seller (selling lots of other brands), definitely not a Lenovo Malaysia branch.
mind to share how to buy lenovo 3 years on site warranty? is it also international? can give me the contact of seller? also can i use it after bought a lenovo for a few month already?

This post has been edited by mackioes: May 13 2013, 09:39 PM
nexus2238
post May 13 2013, 10:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ May 13 2013, 09:39 PM)
mind to share how to buy lenovo 3 years on site warranty? is it also international? can give me the contact of seller? also can i use it after bought a lenovo for a few month already?
As I mentioned, for consumer class laptop, Lenovo Malaysia is offering on site warranty support for Y series and Z series. You just has to upgrade to get it. Any re-sellers will be able to help you smile.gif

Let me put this properly. The on site warranty service is applicable to Malaysia only. But it does not mean you lose the International warranty. It is still in force. It is just that when you are in Malaysia, Lenovo will do on site service.

For your last question, sorry, I'm not sure tongue.gif Suggest you to contact the re-seller who sold you the unit to clarify. If he/she don't know, ask him/her to contact Lenovo to find out smile.gif I know for Thinkpad T and Edge series, the warranty upgrade and extension could be done anytime (just that if you do it at the time of purchase, it will cost less), but I am not sure about Lenovo consumer class laptop.
mackioes
post May 13 2013, 10:14 PM

282 posts

Thanks for clarifying ! I am planning to buy a y500 or z500 laptop. Looks like should be able to upgrade to 3 year warranty then? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mackioes: May 13 2013, 10:19 PM
nexus2238
post May 13 2013, 11:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ May 13 2013, 10:14 PM)
Thanks for clarifying ! I am planning to buy a y500 or z500 laptop. Looks like should be able to upgrade to 3 year warranty then?  rclxms.gif
Yes.
OptimusStar
post May 14 2013, 02:03 PM

801 posts

Planning to get Z480, and looking at the onsite warranty as well. Had a online chat with Lenovo sales support from another part of the world and first he said on site not supported in Malaysia. Made a few calls and ask him to reconfirm again he said he got the policy changed now Malaysia have on site support as well. Funny guy. Reading over the thread helped alot. Thanks.
cazador007
post May 14 2013, 08:43 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM)
kindly pm me also about that seller pls icon_rolleyes.gif t
THX~!!! notworthy.gif
Cranky guy
post May 21 2013, 12:50 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

Best- Dell, Lenovo, Illegear.

Worst- Asus, Acer.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: May 26 2013, 02:56 AM
rizal13
post Jun 9 2013, 11:29 PM

327 posts

Hi sifu, where can get that extended warranty pack for lenovo? anyone know where or who got selling? and is it true that lenovo US set need original receipt for warranty purpose? online registration is not enough for claiming warranty in Malaysia for lenovo US set laptop? Thx in advance for advice.
Unomi
post Jun 11 2013, 08:58 AM

330 posts

My choice will be dell, i think they have one of the best warranty services.
Alexes
post Sep 14 2013, 11:13 AM

-=alx=-
1,314 posts

experienced on-site warranty for dell and lenovo thinkpad (or IBM to be precise). Both good. truly next day on-site and no question ask.
suadrif
post Sep 14 2013, 12:42 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 18 2012, 12:13 AM)
HP and lenovo i dont know.

but for dell, their service default are onsite(no carry in), so with valid warranty, then there will be onsite.

lenovo got carry in policy so im not sure about that
not all Dell come with onsite warranty.
head up to my complain thread and u can see i've been manipulated by Dell.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:50 AM