Guys i want to buy y400..how about lenovo warranty? dell come to my place warranty what we call?
TOP 3 (and Worst 3) Warranty Support in Malaysia, On Site Support: Laptop/Desktop
Mar 30 2013, 12:43 PM
394 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Guys i want to buy y400..how about lenovo warranty? dell come to my place warranty what we call?
Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM
4,195 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(paddyps @ Mar 30 2013, 11:25 AM) who said Dell got best service?? i just had some nightmare experience with them. Yup, technicains at your door to service you 4 times within 1 month is soooooooo bad, it is unforgivable i bought Dell Inspiron 15R on 9th March (not even 1 mth old). The first week i noticed the spacebar is not working from 1 angle, so they send engineer to change keyboard, but exactly same issue happen. by this time anybody with half a brain will probably suspect the keyboard is not the issue. so the engineer issued keyboard and motherboard for the second service. but the second, third, and fourth service, they kept changing the keyboard only! up to the FIFTH keyboard (including original one), EXACTLY SAME ANGLE DOES NOT WORK. i dunno what's going on behind the management, why would they refuse their engineers' recommendations. and after i demand either a replacement unit or a refund, they agreed to a refund. and i heard they charge some RM80 for refund??!! ridiculous!! i'm really disappointed by Dell. i bought it because i heard so many good things about it, like here. and i actually like this laptop a lot... and reading the comments here about how good Dell is, i guess i'm just extremely unlucky... but i still can't believe how ridiculous they are... Get a grip with reality |
Mar 30 2013, 03:24 PM
Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM) Yup, technicains at your door to service you 4 times within 1 month is soooooooo bad, it is unforgivable +1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure Get a grip with reality |
Mar 30 2013, 09:48 PM
1,091 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: KL, Malaysia |
I went to lowyat today, den i stopped by a shop, they tell me that asus is better lenovo, and warranty extend till 4years... i dono if i shud go for asus...
Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 30 2013, 09:48 PM) I went to lowyat today, den i stopped by a shop, they tell me that asus is better lenovo, and warranty extend till 4years... i dono if i shud go for asus... Never trust shop people They are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable Anyways, the additional 2 years is probably shop covered only... |
Mar 31 2013, 12:37 AM
4,155 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM) Never trust shop people I concur with you bro.They are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable Anyways, the additional 2 years is probably shop covered only... |
Mar 31 2013, 04:19 AM
777 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM) Never trust shop people i agree with youThey are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable Anyways, the additional 2 years is probably shop covered only... |
Mar 31 2013, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM) +1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure I was about to say that until I saw your post. 150% agree with the way you put it. This post has been edited by JJKTP: Mar 31 2013, 11:12 AM |
Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 11:10 AM) I have some friends also experiencing the same problem with Dell though, they reported problem A, but technician came and repair problem B I think it has to do with miscommunication since not everyone is as tech savvy as the sifus and forumers here For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down |
Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM) For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down thats a good idea. i will keep my old elitebook after i got an alienware. then i will give the elitebook to my younger nephew after i got a hybrid laptop. seriously, business laptops last longer than any consumer line laptops, even though they looked ugly. my elitebook will be 3 years old this year and by the time i purchase alienware, it will be 4 years old. by the time the elitebook turns 6 years old, i will get myself a hybrid laptop, for personal business usage. im sure my elitebook will last 6 years. This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Mar 31 2013, 11:56 AM |
Mar 31 2013, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM) I have some friends also experiencing the same problem with Dell though, they reported problem A, but technician came and repair problem B Exactly. The main notebook should be from brand who have the best support. I think it has to do with miscommunication since not everyone is as tech savvy as the sifus and forumers here For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down Bro, do you know anything about the level of support provided by Lenovo Malaysia? Been eyeing E130/135 but I would also need the warranty to be extended to 3-Years Onsite. Wonder how much is the cost of such warranty on top of the notebook retail price. |
Mar 31 2013, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 01:01 PM) Exactly. The main notebook should be from brand who have the best support. Lenovo's on-site warranty support is quite expensive iinm... but I'm not too sure, and most sellers do not talk much about it.. perhaps its better to check with shops? Bro, do you know anything about the level of support provided by Lenovo Malaysia? Been eyeing E130/135 but I would also need the warranty to be extended to 3-Years Onsite. Wonder how much is the cost of such warranty on top of the notebook retail price. Can try to ask nexus2238 sifu about the warranty support as well, he has experienced it before haha |
Mar 31 2013, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM) thats a good idea. i will keep my old elitebook after i got an alienware. then i will give the elitebook to my younger nephew after i got a hybrid laptop. Wah, so rich haha, envy yo seriously, business laptops last longer than any consumer line laptops, even though they looked ugly. my elitebook will be 3 years old this year and by the time i purchase alienware, it will be 4 years old. by the time the elitebook turns 6 years old, i will get myself a hybrid laptop, for personal business usage. im sure my elitebook will last 6 years. Business notebooks are meant to last haha, and I think so far them ThinkPads are still the best looking (relatively) notebooks out there |
Mar 31 2013, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM) thats a good idea. i will keep my old elitebook after i got an alienware. then i will give the elitebook to my younger nephew after i got a hybrid laptop. I agree with you. Generally the business class notebook last longer though with a bit of luck even 2008 model or a RM2K notebook can still alive today even when you use it daily. My HP model 2008 still alive in the hands of my friend even after 4.5 years.seriously, business laptops last longer than any consumer line laptops, even though they looked ugly. my elitebook will be 3 years old this year and by the time i purchase alienware, it will be 4 years old. by the time the elitebook turns 6 years old, i will get myself a hybrid laptop, for personal business usage. im sure my elitebook will last 6 years. |
Mar 31 2013, 01:26 PM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
Mar 31 2013, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 01:10 PM) Lenovo's on-site warranty support is quite expensive iinm... but I'm not too sure, and most sellers do not talk much about it.. perhaps its better to check with shops? I see. Was it good experience or bad? Can try to ask nexus2238 sifu about the warranty support as well, he has experienced it before haha Does our bro nexus2238 frequest this thread? |
Mar 31 2013, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 01:33 PM) A bit of background:I worked in my prev employer (a rather big MNCs) for 5 years. At the time that I joined, they just migrated every laptops and desktops from Dell to Lenovo. I had T400 / 410 / 420 over 5 years. Lenovo Malaysia service to my IT and myself personally has been top notch Anyway, last year I bought Y580, and found out that Lenovo Malaysia actually also provide on site warranty service for certain consumer laptops, so I lapped it up, extended the 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty for ~ RM250. So far never has to use the warranty Btw, Lenovo Malaysia outsource the warranty support to a few parties in Malaysia, iinm, and IBM happen to be one of them (all business class Think-series machine are supported by IBM). The onsite service for consumer line is also handled by IBM as well. |
Mar 31 2013, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 02:51 PM) A bit of background: I see. Thank you so much for the info sharing.I worked in my prev employer (a rather big MNCs) for 5 years. At the time that I joined, they just migrated every laptops and desktops from Dell to Lenovo. I had T400 / 410 / 420 over 5 years. Lenovo Malaysia service to my IT and myself personally has been top notch Anyway, last year I bought Y580, and found out that Lenovo Malaysia actually also provide on site warranty service for certain consumer laptops, so I lapped it up, extended the 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty for ~ RM250. So far never has to use the warranty Btw, Lenovo Malaysia outsource the warranty support to a few parties in Malaysia, iinm, and IBM happen to be one of them (all business class Think-series machine are supported by IBM). The onsite service for consumer line is also handled by IBM as well. So you pay RM250 to extend the warranty from 2-Years to 3-Years Onsite? How about for model that come with 1-Year upgrade to 3-Years Onsite? Did you get the warranty extension at the point of purchase? If yes, is the shop you go is directly under Lenovo or just a normal shop? Some normal shop I visited more inclined to sell their own dubious warranty. |
Mar 31 2013, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 06:21 PM) I see. Thank you so much for the info sharing. Yes, I paid ~ RM250 to upgrade the warranty from 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty.So you pay RM250 to extend the warranty from 2-Years to 3-Years Onsite? How about for model that come with 1-Year upgrade to 3-Years Onsite? Did you get the warranty extension at the point of purchase? If yes, is the shop you go is directly under Lenovo or just a normal shop? Some normal shop I visited more inclined to sell their own dubious warranty. As I said, Lenovo Malaysia don't offer on site warranty to all the consumer laptop models. As far as I know, Essential G series is definitely out, Y series is definitely in, the rest you have to find out for yourself "get the warranty extendion a the point of purchase" - Sorry don't understand I actually bought it from 1 of the reseller at LYN garage sales forum here |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:33 AM |