133 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V14, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

mr hellscream
post May 23 2012, 10:39 AM

212 posts

guys, just flashed. why the heaven dun I have SMemo anymore?
rebooto
post May 23 2012, 10:40 AM

146 posts

v15 leh?
jerrywan
post May 23 2012, 10:40 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 23 2012, 10:03 AM)
some personal observation (compiled) after close to 24hrs of use (stock and non-rooted). new items in RED.:
installation:
* need to install via KIES. no OTA yet.
* the update % may slow down at certain times...
* does not wipe your data... but still, never know... can happen. so backup first.
* apps drawer arrangement all gone... have to re-arrange again.

after installation
* cannot disable shutter sound in camera apps
* new swype is nice -- but copy/ select all now requires use of shortcut keys
* seems to take up more RAM -- i know RAM should be used. previously, my RAM usage hovers around 500+... now 600+.
* nothing major. not sure if its just me... but i noticed i get more hang applications today after the update. will probably restart the phone again and see how.
* now got S Memo and S Note... haiz... can't Samsung integrate nicely... now i got two similar apps?!?
* new gmail client -- not so easy to switch between accounts... i guess need to get used to this new interface
* lots of interface change with Google applications, in fact... not just the GMail i mentioned. Reader, etc... all also got some changes.
* Reader Hub still sucks. The ebook reader... still dun have the dark/ night option... previously used to have.
* stock browser seems much faster...
* no new live wallpaper
* i guess i can now uninstall 3G watchdog... ICS has got its own Data Usage meter.
* battery meter can also show % now... yea!
* camera apps... when you launch... you have that annoying TIPS that might not go off... what i did was to try using the S PEN to check "do not show again" and then OK. sometimes might not work. when that happens, use task manager to kill task and try again.
* nice that there's now some guidelines on folders. i see more apps putting photos (within individual folders) into one common folder called Pictures.
* Screencaptures and now called Screenshots. new folders... new locations... new naming convention for the files. Samsung should not change format with each revision la... *sigh*
* battery seems to drain faster. unplugged from wall about 630am. drove to PJ. in between, it was some twitter and reader updates, 5 mins gaming... by about 740am... 90% battery left...
* keyboard hangs... on several occasions, i can't swype anything. had to go to settings and change keyboard before it worked again. not sure if its swype issue or generally the input/ keyboard integration issue.
* TouchWiz actually hung on me about 2-3 times already. basically homescreen will just freeze. can't swipe to other screens... HOME button will light up the screen. i can put phone display to sleep but after unlock (using pattern lock) and HOME screen is showing, it just won't respond. had to restart phone.

[attachmentid=2855075]
how to show the btery meter in setting?
willhaven
post May 23 2012, 10:44 AM

45 posts

Go to setting > Display > and at the bottom tick the Display Batt Percentage
shchiam1978
post May 23 2012, 10:46 AM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 23 2012, 10:03 AM)
some personal observation (compiled) after close to 24hrs of use (stock and non-rooted). new items in RED.:
installation:
* need to install via KIES. no OTA yet.
* the update % may slow down at certain times...
* does not wipe your data... but still, never know... can happen. so backup first.
* apps drawer arrangement all gone... have to re-arrange again.

after installation
* cannot disable shutter sound in camera apps
* new swype is nice -- but copy/ select all now requires use of shortcut keys
* seems to take up more RAM -- i know RAM should be used. previously, my RAM usage hovers around 500+... now 600+.
* nothing major. not sure if its just me... but i noticed i get more hang applications today after the update. will probably restart the phone again and see how.
* now got S Memo and S Note... haiz... can't Samsung integrate nicely... now i got two similar apps?!?
* new gmail client -- not so easy to switch between accounts... i guess need to get used to this new interface
* lots of interface change with Google applications, in fact... not just the GMail i mentioned. Reader, etc... all also got some changes.
* Reader Hub still sucks. The ebook reader... still dun have the dark/ night option... previously used to have.
* stock browser seems much faster...
* no new live wallpaper
* i guess i can now uninstall 3G watchdog... ICS has got its own Data Usage meter.
* battery meter can also show % now... yea!
* camera apps... when you launch... you have that annoying TIPS that might not go off... what i did was to try using the S PEN to check "do not show again" and then OK. sometimes might not work. when that happens, use task manager to kill task and try again.
* nice that there's now some guidelines on folders. i see more apps putting photos (within individual folders) into one common folder called Pictures.
* Screencaptures and now called Screenshots. new folders... new locations... new naming convention for the files. Samsung should not change format with each revision la... *sigh*
* battery seems to drain faster. unplugged from wall about 630am. drove to PJ. in between, it was some twitter and reader updates, 5 mins gaming... by about 740am... 90% battery left...
* keyboard hangs... on several occasions, i can't swype anything. had to go to settings and change keyboard before it worked again. not sure if its swype issue or generally the input/ keyboard integration issue.
* TouchWiz actually hung on me about 2-3 times already. basically homescreen will just freeze. can't swipe to other screens... HOME button will light up the screen. i can put phone display to sleep but after unlock (using pattern lock) and HOME screen is showing, it just won't respond. had to restart phone.

[attachmentid=2855075]
Finally someone talking about the battery usage.
How about the rest?

Any comment?
nokia6280
post May 23 2012, 10:48 AM

5,705 posts

QUOTE(hlsp7a @ May 23 2012, 10:34 AM)
Anyone got problem after upgrading to ICS 4.0.3. My Clock at lock screen will flicker whenever i received sms. And i cannot open the battery icon in settings..... Anyone got this type problem.... And Somemore just yesterday when i lock my screen, the screen become distorted.... Any one facing this prblem... How to solve it?
You did hard reset? Removing battery and wait for 5 minutes and put it back?
jerrywan
post May 23 2012, 10:48 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(willhaven @ May 23 2012, 10:44 AM)
Go to setting > Display > and at the bottom tick the Display Batt Percentage
ok..thnx..
hlsp7a
post May 23 2012, 10:50 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ May 23 2012, 10:48 AM)
You did hard reset? Removing battery and wait for 5 minutes and put it back?
no hard reset... just update from kies........ removing the battery will solve the problem????
nokia6280
post May 23 2012, 10:51 AM

5,705 posts

QUOTE(hlsp7a @ May 23 2012, 10:50 AM)
no hard reset... just update from kies........ removing the battery will solve the problem????
Sometimes this trick works..
huntedz
post May 23 2012, 10:51 AM

26 posts

yeah.. Battery drain. just leave my note for hour, it decrease my battery 2%
shchiam1978
post May 23 2012, 10:53 AM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(huntedz @ May 23 2012, 10:51 AM)
yeah.. Battery drain. just leave my note for hour, it decrease my battery 2%
mmmm,
did u check what is running to prevent it from deep sleep?

jacqueslim

51 posts

I updated my ICS yesterday..
it seems like the contact profile didn't sync with my whatsapp contact...
now my whatsapp contact full with android's pic...
Is it because I saved in google account instead of phone?
erictham83

67 posts

I have just upgrade my G.Note thru Kies to ICS. However, I found that there is no "My Story" apk as advertised by samsung Premium pack upgrade. Anyone found this as well?
Superman7
post May 23 2012, 10:54 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ May 23 2012, 10:53 AM)
I have just upgrade my G.Note thru Kies to ICS. However, I found that there is no "My Story" apk as advertised by samsung Premium pack upgrade. Anyone found this as well?
nope, it's not there but you can manually download and install the apk
shchiam1978
post May 23 2012, 10:55 AM

Polypterus Bichirs
2,432 posts

QUOTE(jacqueslim @ May 23 2012, 10:53 AM)
I updated my ICS yesterday..
it seems like the contact profile didn't sync with my whatsapp contact...
now my whatsapp contact full with android's pic...
Is it because I saved in google account instead of phone?
Well, normally i save the contact photo in the google contact and it will sync also after i formatted the phone.

jacqueslim
post May 23 2012, 10:58 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ May 23 2012, 10:55 AM)
Well, normally i save the contact photo in the google contact and it will sync also after i formatted the phone.
Yea it sync but then the contact profile pic now din't sync with my whatsapp account =(
erictham83
post May 23 2012, 11:01 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ May 23 2012, 10:54 AM)
nope, it's not there but you can manually download and install the apk
Where can I get the apk file. Can you please follow me the link. I try to check from Samsung App but there is nothing.
mdnurman
post May 23 2012, 11:02 AM

738 posts

upgraded my GNote to ICS.. happy mode

benny888
post May 23 2012, 11:03 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ May 23 2012, 11:01 AM)
Where can I get the apk file. Can you please follow me the link. I try to check from Samsung App but there is nothing.
Post #6 has the links
Superman7
post May 23 2012, 11:05 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ May 23 2012, 11:01 AM)
https://www.box.com/shared/771625606d446ef59946

Here you go from my box.

133 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:14 PM