130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 10:03 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(simonhar @ May 22 2012, 09:24 PM)
Peugeot 408 is a pretty nice car, only the rear design is a letdown to the rather handsome exterior design.

Check out the night where the 408 is launched! http://www.simonhar.com/2012/05/peugeot-40...ty-or-nice.html
If anyone else is checking out the car anytime soon, can check whether the rear tail light having same issues with elantra, where only the most outer rear tail light is lighted and the inner part of the tail light is just a deco (no light).

At least elantra can go for mod with shops in Klang Valley to light up the entire rear light...

As for the rear, some after market mod can sure go a long way

Unlike 207 which is puke-invoking design!!! No offense to current 207 owners :-)
simonhar
post May 22 2012, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ May 22 2012, 10:00 PM)
no probs! nice blog you have there!  thumbup.gif

by the way, you can get a test car by speaking to the corp comms dept and showing then your blog and credentials. final decision is still up to them tho but no harm trying.
Haha hope so, still working on the credentials and visitor statistics part, these two are what the company is looking at. Thanks for the advise man smile.gif
ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 10:32 PM

38 posts

sport mod...
simonhar
post May 22 2012, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 22 2012, 10:32 PM)
sport mod...
this definitely looks cleaner, perhaps bodykit will give the 408 a sportier looking exterior.
ferrari38
post May 22 2012, 10:52 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 22 2012, 09:40 PM)
I am interested in getting the car (turbo) and before test drive, maybe I can help to test out certain features or issues not detected previously. Since you are the first to test drive, do you mind sharing where you test drive the car, distance of test drive and when you mean comfort wise so so, can you elaborate a little bit on the statement?

I like the front more than the back, but I am not looking for sporty design, else I would have selected elantra already. But, looking at 163hp and maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm...I bet the pick-up at traffic light is fantastic and would beat all C-segment drive. Further more top speed at 215 is no slow couch either and even on par with some D-segment drive.

Might not win on the best spec and cabin design, but sure the hell beats all the Jap cars. Furthermore, conti drive and handling wor, at RM126K, fuh yoh...

Now just wanting for someone to convince me on the reliability of the engine and after sales service... sad.gif
I was tested at bukit tinggi klang branch.
In fact I tested 308t b4 but I felt that 408t is more powerful.
The suspension is stiffer n some more due to the low profile tyre,thus, it was a bit bumpy..
The distance is about 5-6 km,there is 2 straight road for me to test the power tongue.gif in fact I can request for 1 more round but due to time constraint so didn't go for it wink.gif
I personally think that black color is a good choice, looks very nice matching with the chrome lining at the front n rear bumper. wub.gif

ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 11:23 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 10:52 PM)
I was tested at bukit tinggi klang branch.
In fact I tested 308t b4 but I felt that 408t is more powerful.
The suspension is stiffer n some more due to the low profile tyre,thus, it was a bit bumpy..
The distance is about 5-6 km,there is 2 straight road for me to test the power tongue.gif in fact I can request for 1 more round but due to time constraint so didn't go for it wink.gif
I personally think that black color is a good choice, looks very nice matching with the chrome lining at the front n rear bumper. wub.gif
Cool! Bro did you ask the SA other questions like car delivery time, colour selection (which colour delivery time faster, etc.)?

You comment the NVH was very good, so when you were shooting down the straight road, at what speed were you driving? At the speed you were driving, you did not hear any wind or road/tyre noise?

Did you get to check the sound system? Is it 6 speakers or more like 4+2 tweeter?

Sorry ah, ask so much questions...will try to go for a test drive after the school holidays so want to do a checklist for comparison...

I guess now it's elantra 2012 vs 408 vs (coming soon) focus 2012 for me to confirm my new ride...
jasonlim
post May 22 2012, 11:33 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

is there any sign of 308T to reduce its price?
LLH
post May 23 2012, 08:20 AM

The SA told me 2.0 using same gb as 407, i believed because i saw AL4 sticker on the gear knob.
lowpro
post May 23 2012, 08:41 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 23 2012, 08:20 AM)
The SA told me 2.0 using same gb as 407, i believed because i saw AL4 sticker on the gear knob.
it is just a sticker. the transmission is called AT8 (which is a development over the older AL4).
LLH
post May 23 2012, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(lowpro @ May 23 2012, 08:41 AM)
it is just a sticker. the transmission is called AT8 (which is a development over the older AL4).
I see, they should have used the right sticker then. Not sure how is the service n maintenance cost
raclette
post May 23 2012, 09:16 AM

428 posts

so looks lik a better deal than 308thp?
lowpro
post May 23 2012, 10:15 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 23 2012, 08:45 AM)
I see, they should have used the right sticker then. Not sure how is the service n maintenance cost
2L should be like the 407 while the turbo should be identical to the 308turbo. both of which are not expensive.
azbro
post May 23 2012, 10:15 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 22 2012, 09:40 PM)
I am interested in getting the car (turbo) and before test drive, maybe I can help to test out certain features or issues not detected previously. Since you are the first to test drive, do you mind sharing where you test drive the car, distance of test drive and when you mean comfort wise so so, can you elaborate a little bit on the statement?

I like the front more than the back, but I am not looking for sporty design, else I would have selected elantra already. But, looking at 163hp and maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm...I bet the pick-up at traffic light is fantastic and would beat all C-segment drive. Further more top speed at 215 is no slow couch either and even on par with some D-segment drive.

Might not win on the best spec and cabin design, but sure the hell beats all the Jap cars. Furthermore, conti drive and handling wor, at RM126K, fuh yoh...

Now just wanting for someone to convince me on the reliability of the engine and after sales service... sad.gif
I don't much feel good about the conti handling....where got conti handling these days? You drive 200+km/h on Malaysia roads with bumps seems like not worth the effort to make a car so fast.

Since I'm driving 308T I can tell you it beats almost all C segment you will find on the road...and most ppl after getting smoked seeing the Turbo badge will bow down to it...except if you encounter a Turbo Kancil..hehe..that one becareful.

Yes. can go 215km/h but not as easy as flooring the pedal. If you wanna know, there are many cases it can go only until 170km/h...this is because you always drive slow in traffic jam and very seldom do highway driving...so the car will adapt to it.
Some extreme cases you need to reset back the adaptive gearbox and hentam kaw - kaw then only can get 215km/h.
But seriously...215Km/h is really too fast for Malaysian highways for a standard car. Lorry, bus and slow moving cars always suddenly change lanes and travelling so fast, you will not have time to react. Even when travelling very fast on the back lanes, going up and down hill also you need to slow down because not sure on the road ahead.

The cabin is very nice..pictures don't do justice to it...so far no owner of the 308 have even negative comment of the dash...
ckwong111
post May 23 2012, 10:58 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 23 2012, 10:15 AM)
I don't much feel good about the conti handling....where got conti handling these days? You drive 200+km/h on Malaysia roads with bumps seems like not worth the effort to make a car so fast.

Since I'm driving 308T I can tell you it beats almost all C segment you will find on the road...and most ppl after getting smoked seeing the Turbo badge will bow down to it...except if you encounter a Turbo Kancil..hehe..that one becareful.

Yes. can go 215km/h but not as easy as flooring the pedal. If you wanna know, there are many cases it can go only until 170km/h...this is because you always drive slow in traffic jam and very seldom do highway driving...so the car will adapt to it.
Some extreme cases you need to reset back the adaptive gearbox and hentam kaw - kaw then only can get 215km/h.
But seriously...215Km/h is really too fast for Malaysian highways for a standard car. Lorry, bus and slow moving cars always suddenly change lanes and travelling so fast, you will not have time to react. Even when travelling very fast on the back lanes, going up and down hill also you need to slow down because not sure on the road ahead.

The cabin is very nice..pictures don't do justice to it...so far no owner of the 308 have even negative comment of the dash...
Bro, thank you for your comment. This is my 1st time considering buying Peugeot car. Have never driven one, only see on the road. But price vs performance, I believe 408 offer the best. As for conti driving, only see from forum users many give good comments on conti cars handling, true or not, dunno yet.

As for highway driving, I use the MEX highway for daily driving from home to work (2-way), and I occasionally travel to North and South via NSE, traveling alone mostly, means to stay awake, I like to drive fast. Manage to borrow company's 323i recently and travel to North doing between 140km/h to 200km/h, great feeling, so alive! But, if one value their live and wants to drive fast, consideration like ESP, EBD, BA, etc. and 6 airbags can be a lifesaver. All presence on the 408T.

Driving in KL, you be lucky to be able to do 110km/hr (constantly) in the city center, and as I work nearby KLCC area, I fully agreed with your point. I assume you are driving a Peugeot rclxms.gif now, can you let me know what is "reset back the adaptive gearbox" means? Is it a lever, button, or menu which you can configure? Interesting...

You see, I am driving a current gen CRV (before facelift) and looking for something more powerful to trade car with the HM biggrin.gif

CRV is a good family car, but performance, road handling (esp. body roll) and NVH to me just ... sucks!

Anyone can share 308T FC? Since I believe 408T sharing the same engine, might give good indication of the FC. China market 408 says 8.2L/100km...dunno how true? My current FC on CRV with 50%/50% city/hw works out to about 10.1L/100km...(I am heavy footed)
LLH
post May 23 2012, 12:15 PM

Since I'm driving 308T I can tell you it beats almost all C segment
How is the service n maintenance cost? Expensive ? SA told me major service cost 1 - 2k?
post May 23 2012, 12:25 PM

836 posts

when we talk about conti handling in such cases , we are comparing to same segment car at the same speed, for conti cars the faster you go the more stable it is even on bumpy roads (in my case and my car works this way) , but it all boils down to weight , tires , suspension etc.

but of coz i cant tell if i've not driven it b4 , owned a 405 Gti b4 thou ... loved the suspension ... 408T looks appealing ...

raclette
post May 23 2012, 12:57 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 23 2012, 12:15 PM)
How is the service n maintenance cost? Expensive ? SA told me major service cost 1 - 2k?
Normal serv every 10k cost rm300-400. Major dunno. Btw got quoted nearly rm400 for front wiper lolilol.
azbro
post May 23 2012, 02:39 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 23 2012, 10:58 AM)
Bro, thank you for your comment. This is my 1st time considering buying Peugeot car. Have never driven one, only see on the road. But price vs performance, I believe 408 offer the best. As for conti driving, only see from forum users many give good comments on conti cars handling, true or not, dunno yet.

As for highway driving, I use the MEX highway for daily driving from home to work (2-way), and I occasionally travel to North and South via NSE, traveling alone mostly, means to stay awake, I like to drive fast. Manage to borrow company's 323i recently and travel to North doing between 140km/h to 200km/h, great feeling, so alive! But, if one value their live and wants to drive fast, consideration like ESP, EBD, BA, etc. and 6 airbags can be a lifesaver. All presence on the 408T.

Driving in KL, you be lucky to be able to do 110km/hr (constantly) in the city center, and as I work nearby KLCC area, I fully agreed with your point. I assume you are driving a Peugeot  rclxms.gif now, can you let me know what is "reset back the adaptive gearbox" means? Is it a lever, button, or menu which you can configure? Interesting...

You see, I am driving a current gen CRV (before facelift) and looking for something more powerful to trade car with the HM  biggrin.gif

CRV is a good family car, but performance, road handling (esp. body roll) and NVH to me just ... sucks! 

Anyone can share 308T FC? Since I believe 408T sharing the same engine, might give good indication of the FC. China market 408 says 8.2L/100km...dunno how true? My current FC on CRV with 50%/50% city/hw works out to about 10.1L/100km...(I am heavy footed)
408T good for 150km/h~170km/h cruising. I think for NKVE thats fast enough.

My 308T is about 8~9km/l (11~12l/100km)...I drive in the worst place...most of the time below 50km/h in jam sad.gif
In that situation, its even worst than having a heavy foot....can even go up to 5km/l in jam!!

QUOTE(LLH @ May 23 2012, 12:15 PM)
Depends on which you take...6speed ones cost more because the gearbox oil...4 speed ones lesser.
Yes, major service cost that much...but currently I'm on the 3 year warranty and 3 year free service/parts plan...I might additional another 2years warranty by Nasim

kenso77
post May 23 2012, 03:21 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 23 2012, 10:58 AM)
can you let me know what is "reset back the adaptive gearbox" means? Is it a lever, button, or menu which you can configure? Interesting...
It's not a lever, button or menu. When you switch off the car and wait till everything becomes dark on the ODO meter, simply depress the gas pedal until the end for a few seconds. You will then hear a faint click sound. When this happens, you have effectively reset the GB and the ECU will start recording a new drive pattern.

To me, a conti feel is not just about how the car feels at high speeds (which, as some forumers has pointed out not often in KL's jam packed roads). More often is how the car tackles corners, especially at high(er) speeds. A conti's galvanized chassis feels tout, tight and coupled with good suspension settings and steering weight provides excellent feedback to the driver on how the car is behaving at all times. It is this amalgam of fine tuning of various components of the car to work as one that differentiates an Asian made car from a continental.
sonyman
post May 23 2012, 08:37 PM

1,043 posts

i tried both variant just now, dont know why i prefer the 2.0L version, much nicer to drive. The 1.6L seems very very tight, like a virgin, u know what i mean. couldnt test at high speed, u know lah at Glennmarie stupid course.

anyway hope to try more actual road feeling later. But one thing i can say, the car is huge, the back door is like a stretched version of a sedan car. believe me, it is long. sounds like a ahmad driven car leh.

anyway i still got placebo feeling this 408 is like local product, feels a little like proton.
thats my opinion.

130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:53 PM