Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

kenso77
post May 22 2012, 03:15 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 22 2012, 03:02 PM)
At rm110k i think it´s really value for money. Only concen about quality n reliability ..
The 2 litre uses the well proven 407 engine mated with a 308VTi gearbox. Both are proven to be reliable and fuss free
LLH
post May 22 2012, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(kenso77 @ May 22 2012, 03:15 PM)
The 2 litre uses the well proven 407 engine mated with a 308VTi gearbox. Both are proven to be reliable and fuss free
I heard the 4 speed gb used by the 2.0 na is prone to problems , no?
kenso77
post May 22 2012, 03:28 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 22 2012, 03:22 PM)
I heard the 4 speed gb used by the 2.0 na is prone to problems , no?
If you're comparing against the AL4 that's found in the 407, yes, it has jerk issues, especially at low speeds. But the 408 2.0 shares the same gearbox as the 308VTi which is AT8 and we don't hear much complaints about gearbox jerks from VTi owners
LLH
post May 22 2012, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(kenso77 @ May 22 2012, 03:28 PM)
If you're comparing against the AL4 that's found in the 407, yes, it has jerk issues, especially at low speeds. But the 408 2.0 shares the same gearbox as the 308VTi which is AT8 and we don't hear much complaints about gearbox jerks from VTi owners
I see, but i thought i saw a sticker written AL4 sticked on the gear knob when i went to see the car
sonyman
post May 22 2012, 03:40 PM

1,043 posts

so which will be a better buy? 2.0 or 1.6?

kenso77
post May 22 2012, 04:09 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ May 22 2012, 03:40 PM)
so which will be a better buy? 2.0 or 1.6?
It depends .... on whether you're Naughty or Nice

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
azfamy
post May 22 2012, 05:20 PM

55 posts

^^Prince engine is really that unreliable huh? Naughty girl=exciting=unreliable, right? That's too bad since the engine output is really gooding.
So now we have a reasonably priced C-Seg conti in the form of 408, I wonder what CKD Jetta's price going to be like. RM130k a good price?
azbro
post May 22 2012, 06:50 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ May 22 2012, 03:38 PM)
I see, but i thought i saw a sticker written AL4 sticked on the gear knob when i went to see the car
Difference between the 4AT and the 6AT is 4AT is super cheap to maintain but crude, 6AT cost 10X more to maintain but have more gears to play with and is much smoother.

This post has been edited by azbro: May 22 2012, 06:51 PM
SUSkevin23
post May 22 2012, 07:48 PM

1,803 posts

Go to the 308 owners club, and u will find out that tons of them are hving problems

Nice car but damn unreliable.if ur a light user maybe its ok for u, but definately no for heavy users like me.

This post has been edited by kevin23: May 22 2012, 07:48 PM
kenso77
post May 22 2012, 08:22 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 22 2012, 07:48 PM)
Go to the 308 owners club, and u will find out that tons of them are hving problems

Nice car but damn unreliable.if ur a light user maybe its ok for u, but definately no for heavy users like me.
The 308THP 4 speeder, yes
The 308THP 6 speeder, maybe
The 408 2.0 NA 4 speeder, probably never
ferrari38
post May 22 2012, 08:24 PM

23 posts

Did a test drive just now.
Tested the turbo version,it was powerful and impressive with the NVH thumbup.gif
Comfort wise so so...becoz of the sportier suspension setup,but I m ok with it tongue.gif
Overall is a valuable choice.
Wondering the cost of maintenance hmm.gif forgot to ask..
is anyone know roughly how much it is?
azbro
post May 22 2012, 09:02 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 08:24 PM)
Tested the turbo version,it was powerful and impressive with the NVH thumbup.gif
Comfort wise so so...becoz of the sportier suspension setup,but I m ok with it tongue.gif
You can actually floor it more for immediate Turbo...seems like the accelerator is two steps type. Try it...but make sure the road is clear. biggrin.gif
ferrari38
post May 22 2012, 09:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 22 2012, 09:02 PM)
You can actually floor it more for immediate Turbo...seems like the accelerator is two steps type. Try it...but make sure the road is clear. biggrin.gif
Tried ady, the pulling feel really strong man thumbup.gif
So shiok rclxm9.gif
lowpro
post May 22 2012, 09:15 PM

180 posts

actually kenso77 has tested both models back to back today. why not check out what he wrote here in his updated blog:

http://www.kensomuse.com/the-peugeot-408-o...8-for-the-1-6t/

anyway, the new 408 turbo has an updated engine with new pistons, turbo, engine map and a few other enhancements to iron out the issues faced by 308 turbo owners. as a result it is also more powerful than before.

but if you're really risk averse, the rm109,888 2.0 makes a pretty good presentation of itself too.

This post has been edited by lowpro: May 22 2012, 09:16 PM
simonhar
post May 22 2012, 09:24 PM

Peugeot 408 is a pretty nice car, only the rear design is a letdown to the rather handsome exterior design.

Check out the night where the 408 is launched! http://www.simonhar.com/2012/05/peugeot-40...ty-or-nice.html
figure8
post May 22 2012, 09:38 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

really nice car
ckwong111
post May 22 2012, 09:40 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 08:24 PM)
I am interested in getting the car (turbo) and before test drive, maybe I can help to test out certain features or issues not detected previously. Since you are the first to test drive, do you mind sharing where you test drive the car, distance of test drive and when you mean comfort wise so so, can you elaborate a little bit on the statement?

I like the front more than the back, but I am not looking for sporty design, else I would have selected elantra already. But, looking at 163hp and maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm...I bet the pick-up at traffic light is fantastic and would beat all C-segment drive. Further more top speed at 215 is no slow couch either and even on par with some D-segment drive.

Might not win on the best spec and cabin design, but sure the hell beats all the Jap cars. Furthermore, conti drive and handling wor, at RM126K, fuh yoh...

Now just wanting for someone to convince me on the reliability of the engine and after sales service... sad.gif
lowpro
post May 22 2012, 09:42 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(simonhar @ May 22 2012, 09:24 PM)
Peugeot 408 is a pretty nice car, only the rear design is a letdown to the rather handsome exterior design.

Check out the night where the 408 is launched! http://www.simonhar.com/2012/05/peugeot-40...ty-or-nice.html
simon, vw quotes their power in PS rather than HP so in reality the 160PS relates to roughly about 158hp only. So the gap in power is actually greater for the 163hp 408Turbo and the Jetta.

simonhar
post May 22 2012, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ May 22 2012, 09:42 PM)
simon, vw quotes their power in PS rather than HP so in reality the 160PS relates to roughly about 158hp only. So the gap in power is actually greater for the 163hp 408Turbo and the Jetta.
Oh thx man, corrected the figure smile.gif
lowpro
post May 22 2012, 10:00 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(simonhar @ May 22 2012, 09:53 PM)
Oh thx man, corrected the figure smile.gif
no probs! nice blog you have there! thumbup.gif

by the way, you can get a test car by speaking to the corp comms dept and showing then your blog and credentials. final decision is still up to them tho but no harm trying.

This post has been edited by lowpro: May 22 2012, 10:03 PM

130 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:50 PM