May 8 2012, 07:13 PM
55 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ May 8 2012, 06:00 PM) The Optima is more than looks. Spec wise no other D segment model in that price range matches. It may not have top class handling compared to more refined brands like VW but the fact that ppl consider the Optima as direct competition to the VW is statement enough on the improvements that Kia has made. If people consider K5(D) as competition to Jetta(D), then it just shows that people perceive Kia as a class below. It's akin to people comparing Preve © vs Vios/City (B). Btw, Jetta's subdued looks but superb performance makes it a perfect "sleeper" car. Substance over form.Added on May 8, 2012, 8:00 pmSorry, it should've been substance over style :) This post has been edited by azfamy: May 8 2012, 08:00 PM |
May 8 2012, 08:09 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
All the 3 cars, gadget wise they are all quite basic. But when it comes to engine and gearbox, jetta is so far ahead. Given the choice ill definitely pick the jetta. Ample amount of torque at low revs is very practical especially going uphill. It's so much more relaxing and you don't have to stress the engine by revving hard. Coupled with the dsg gearbox, overtaking is actually quite fun. Gun the throttle and watch the cars behind disappear into the distance
May 8 2012, 10:46 PM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Aiya most Malaysians will say German cars are the best without thinking twice, actually not always correct.
If we have a big heart and "extend" our view to oversea market say US, car to car comparison was always fair without looking at the "brand" or country of origin. That's why Hyundai Elantra can beat Jetta, Focus, Civic, Altis, etc in Motor Trend review |
May 8 2012, 11:26 PM
248 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Undeniable, Jetta is powerful. 1.4 TSI can beat all those so called 2.0 jap car. Unfortunately, the trimming inside is crap. Sit inside a Golf then move to Jetta. Look at the back passenger sit light knob. No DRL is kinda turn off for this car.
May 8 2012, 11:46 PM
55 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
US gets "different" Jetta. Torsion beam, mostly NA engines & poorer cabin materials e.g. hard plastics dashboard. That's why american reviewers score them poorly. We instead get the Euro Jetta, an almost equivalent to the US Jetta GLI. The GLI gets good reviews in the US. In any case, Ah Bengs wouldn't be interested in Jettas bcoz "it looks boring". But I do agree SD overvalued the Jetta. Should be priced way cheaper than the Golf.
May 9 2012, 01:38 AM
654 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
carbuyer video is normally what i view to get realistic review and critics about any car
even it is a VW car..finishing not so great..and looks like a 90s car..dun put expectation too high lah..just a so-so car my opinion only |
May 9 2012, 02:03 AM
1,206 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
we in malaysia get the 160PS 1.4TSI engine for Jetta, in UK US they got loads of different engines, many diesels in the UK, and big cc petrols in US
May 9 2012, 07:37 AM
2,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
QUOTE(feng yun @ May 8 2012, 10:46 PM) Aiya most Malaysians will say German cars are the best without thinking twice, actually not always correct. +1If we have a big heart and "extend" our view to oversea market say US, car to car comparison was always fair without looking at the "brand" or country of origin. That's why Hyundai Elantra can beat Jetta, Focus, Civic, Altis, etc in Motor Trend review |
May 9 2012, 07:40 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(azfamy @ May 8 2012, 07:13 PM) If people consider K5(D) as competition to Jetta(D), then it just shows that people perceive Kia as a class below. It's akin to people comparing Preve © vs Vios/City (B). Btw, Jetta's subdued looks but superb performance makes it a perfect "sleeper" car. Substance over form. Read my statement again. I said competition to VW not Jetta in particular. The Optima was brought up as it was in the same price bracket. But if ure only comparing the 3 models above, then the Jetta is a clear choice. Sorry, it should've been substance over style Added on May 9, 2012, 7:47 am QUOTE(kcng @ May 8 2012, 06:05 PM) that is why i ask comparing in terms of what? I didnt say that corner baring was the only way to test handling did i? But since we're on the topic, why dont u educate the rest of us on how to test handling on normal city terrain during test drives?btw handling is more then just corner baring This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 9 2012, 07:48 AM |
Aug 15 2012, 10:53 AM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Salak South, KL |
I am the VW Jetta owner.
Jetta is the right choice, before i bought it , i have booked a toyota prius hybrid, after my friend recommented to me, i change the order. Performance : Really good, power is standby in anytime and backup you. Gearbox : you can't feel the gear have turn from N to D1 or S1 (There have auto mode and sport mode, and +/- mode too), really smooth. Soundproof : I can't hear any sound of wind blow when i am driving 200km/h Feeling : You never try any japanese car after u drive this Germany car, because they give u different feel. Warranty : 5 years with no limit mileage Don't go to buy the korean car because i just sold my Sangyong Rexton, too bad. I have booking the leather seat, next week will change it in RM2,200/-. |
Aug 15 2012, 06:34 PM
92 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(jasonhee8986 @ Aug 15 2012, 10:53 AM) I am the VW Jetta owner. tested my fren's jetta, it is superb in term of handling and performance, and no doubt, i would have gotten it instead of my 2008 fd2. Other than that, the cabin material and design arent as good as fd2. FC for jetta is excellent too. Fren told me ard 12cents/km on ron95 for his daily commute from shah alam to sg buloh via nkveJetta is the right choice, before i bought it , i have booked a toyota prius hybrid, after my friend recommented to me, i change the order. Performance : Really good, power is standby in anytime and backup you. Gearbox : you can't feel the gear have turn from N to D1 or S1 (There have auto mode and sport mode, and +/- mode too), really smooth. Soundproof : I can't hear any sound of wind blow when i am driving 200km/h Feeling : You never try any japanese car after u drive this Germany car, because they give u different feel. Warranty : 5 years with no limit mileage Don't go to buy the korean car because i just sold my Sangyong Rexton, too bad. I have booking the leather seat, next week will change it in RM2,200/-. i understand ur frust on previous rexton, but i think we shudnt blindly ban any item/brand/country of origin just simply...like that. Last time samsung handphone was crap, now smartphone/tv leader. |
Aug 15 2012, 07:21 PM
23 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(jasonhee8986 @ Aug 15 2012, 10:53 AM) I am the VW Jetta owner. Bro, are u sure bo u did't hear any wind noise when cruising at 200km/h Jetta is the right choice, before i bought it , i have booked a toyota prius hybrid, after my friend recommented to me, i change the order. Performance : Really good, power is standby in anytime and backup you. Gearbox : you can't feel the gear have turn from N to D1 or S1 (There have auto mode and sport mode, and +/- mode too), really smooth. Soundproof : I can't hear any sound of wind blow when i am driving 200km/h Feeling : You never try any japanese car after u drive this Germany car, because they give u different feel. Warranty : 5 years with no limit mileage Don't go to buy the korean car because i just sold my Sangyong Rexton, too bad. I have booking the leather seat, next week will change it in RM2,200/-. I think Benz or BMW also don't have this kind of good soundproof leh I tested jetta before and the wind noise started coming in around 120km/h. Moreover, the DSG gearbox is not as smooth as everyone claimed, it tends to has some jerking when shifting from d1-d2 due to its dual clutch design and also quite famous with it's mechatronic failure issue Beside the above issues, VW still consider a very good car in terms of value for money Btw, I think nowadays Korean cars have better reliability, quality, value for money and also resale value compared to those days old generation Korean cars |
Aug 16 2012, 07:37 AM
2,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muddy Confluence |
QUOTE(digitheatre @ May 9 2012, 01:38 AM) carbuyer video is normally what i view to get realistic review and critics about any car Yup, carbuyer.uk has the most realistic reviews, lol. I always like the water bottle test.even it is a VW car..finishing not so great..and looks like a 90s car..dun put expectation too high lah..just a so-so car my opinion only |
Aug 16 2012, 06:23 PM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Korean car is crap
Dont regret after buying oh.. dunno why in the picture Please go test drive a jetta Should be able to tapau bmw |
Aug 16 2012, 06:50 PM
819 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Moon's Dark Side |
Aug 16 2012, 07:19 PM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Oct 12 2012, 03:05 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(ferrari38 @ Aug 15 2012, 07:21 PM) Bro, are u sure bo u did't hear any wind noise when cruising at 200km/h The new DSG does not have the jerking issue no more.. it has improved and its a better drive. All you need to do is go back to the SC and ask them to update the software. All done. I think Benz or BMW also don't have this kind of good soundproof leh I tested jetta before and the wind noise started coming in around 120km/h. Moreover, the DSG gearbox is not as smooth as everyone claimed, it tends to has some jerking when shifting from d1-d2 due to its dual clutch design and also quite famous with it's mechatronic failure issue Beside the above issues, VW still consider a very good car in terms of value for money Btw, I think nowadays Korean cars have better reliability, quality, value for money and also resale value compared to those days old generation Korean cars Korean cars are like Korean girls, pretty but some of them are fakes. German cars are like the girl next door, not very pretty but cute enough to give you a boner. Anyways it is up to you on what you want to have. Pretty girls or girl next door... i am more of a girl next door person so I own a Jetta. |
Oct 12 2012, 03:31 PM
1,135 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jetta for sure, it is very powerful. Love it when i drove my friend's car to ipoh recently. Accord,camry all go one side.
Optima/Sonata is a truly big lorry. Really no power like my old waja *vomit blood* |
Oct 12 2012, 03:32 PM
9,338 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(blurry d @ Oct 12 2012, 03:05 PM) The new DSG does not have the jerking issue no more.. it has improved and its a better drive. All you need to do is go back to the SC and ask them to update the software. All done. I prefer Korean girls to German "Helga"....Korean cars are like Korean girls, pretty but some of them are fakes. German cars are like the girl next door, not very pretty but cute enough to give you a boner. Anyways it is up to you on what you want to have. Pretty girls or girl next door... i am more of a girl next door person so I own a Jetta. |
| Change to: | 0.0339sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:37 AM |