11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Comparing Jetta, Civic & Altis, Prefering Jetta

TSkhoodennis
post May 7 2012, 02:53 PM, updated 14y ago

54 posts

To all the pros out there I need an advice on a mid range car. Budget is around RM150k +-
The mentioned mid range is something like in the class of Honda Civic, Toyota Altis & my prefered choice is Volkswagen Jetta. Actually I prefers Passat(B7) year 2011 that offers 10% discount but it's sold out. The 2012 models don't offers any discount. Jetta still a considerable choice as it's 2011 made cars offers 10%.

ANY SALESMAN THAT'S READING THIS & GOT A 2011 PASSAT(B7) PLS PM. I'LL FLY OVER TO CLOSE THE DEAL.(WEST MALAYSIA ONLY)

Jetta:
The part that concerns me are the maintenance of the car. If fuel(monthly) & road tax(annually) is more is just +- RM100.00 then it's not much to compare about. It's just a small bite that won't be feel much.

The part that got me into thinking about it is the servicing part. Lubricant, gear oil & things that's not much talked about might come out with a OUCH!!! when paying the bill. Jetta offers 5 years warranty & surely it gotto goes to their official workshop. Also it's a twincharged car. I've never owned something like that. Servicing it would cost more?

That car is only 1.4CC. Underpower..? From what I've came to known it's technology...
1.4CC = 2.4CC of a non twin charged car. That's what the salesman told me.
Personally the talks of a salesman is called sales talk, the kind the just wants U to buy something from em.

Also I don't sees much of Jetta on the road. Any reason for it? Price is an issue for some? Yea... It's something that's in between & not many would goes for it. Mostly would just goes for Camry & Accord within that price range. Worth to pay the extras for the new technology.

As for me I'm looking at Volkswagen is offering AFFORDABLE TECHNOLOGY. Correct me if 'm wrong, there's not much of twincharge cars at these price range.

Jetta owners pls advice on this...

Civic & Altis:
It's just another normal car. From the starts of my 1st car till now there's nothing too special about it. Just that it's interior that might be better abit...

Final:
The feels of it when speeding... Weight & power gotto be balance. Weight is not what we sees on the paper only. When moving there's downforce, aerodynamics & for some it would be called stability.
At the highway which of these 3 would be better?

This post has been edited by khoodennis: May 7 2012, 02:55 PM
theanswer
post May 7 2012, 08:43 PM

1,024 posts

i'd go for jetta anytime. the reason u rarely seen it on the road because it's a new car compared to altis & civic.
yep the salesman is right. just look at the jetta 1.4tsi spec sheet..u'll see the power is comparable with 2.4 n/a engine.in fact u will get better torque range 240nm from 1500-4500rpm. small engine means cheaper roadtax too.
plus jetta got rear aircond vent which civic & altis dont have.
the only downside is no leather seat for jetta. but maybe got optional package.
cheers.
TSkhoodennis
post May 7 2012, 09:40 PM

54 posts

Thanks... I've been asking around & it's high recommended. Gonna get it for sure

jiro1986
post May 7 2012, 09:41 PM

Trader
817 posts

plus jetta have 5 year no limit mileage warranty...

this is a huge bonus for it
speedbird90
post May 7 2012, 10:30 PM

231 posts

Jetta bro, TSI engine with DSG gearbox, if I'm not mistaken it's a 7 speed too. Plus it's a German car. Performance for 1.4 TSI engine is amazing, test drive to believe.

Only thing missing is the bi-xenon headlamps and DRL.

It's miles better than civic or altis.

mokhzaini
post May 7 2012, 10:40 PM

278 posts

how come we are getting a very mundane version+
looked over our singapore neighbour their version jetta is really good looking. muscular.

was thinking about it but price is quite steep so i went for the all new civic
Kirie
post May 7 2012, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ May 7 2012, 10:30 PM)
Jetta bro, TSI engine with DSG gearbox, if I'm not mistaken it's a 7 speed too. Plus it's a German car. Performance for 1.4 TSI engine is amazing, test drive to believe.

Only thing missing is the bi-xenon headlamps and DRL.

It's miles better than civic or altis.
german tech that is assembled in mexico rite?
heavenly91
post May 7 2012, 11:15 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

honda only 3 yrs warranty
vw 5 yrs.
Before the vw warranty over u trade in and get other cars whistling.gif

VW is way more cool than T and H smile.gif
speedbird90
post May 7 2012, 11:27 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Kirie @ May 7 2012, 10:44 PM)
german tech that is assembled in mexico rite?
Not sure if 100% of the Jetta's sold in Malaysia are assembled in Mexico. I don't work as a Volkswagen sales assistant.

Have to check the VIN number.

This post has been edited by speedbird90: May 7 2012, 11:27 PM
webboy
post May 8 2012, 01:46 AM

Bro, no need to choose here already... Jetta for sure. It wins hand down among the three..
I own a white teana 2.5 v6 and white jetta. The jetta got lots of torque to play with. But if u prefer more space, luxury or comfort, pls dont choose jetta as it has limited leg room space at the rear passenger seat.
It is a performance car. Its 1.4 tsi engine got excellent pickup much better than my another 2.5 v6
kadajawi
post May 8 2012, 06:17 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(khoodennis @ May 7 2012, 02:53 PM)
To all the pros out there I need an advice on a mid range car. Budget is around RM150k +-
The mentioned mid range is something like in the class of Honda Civic, Toyota Altis  & my prefered choice is Volkswagen Jetta. Actually I prefers Passat(B7) year 2011 that offers 10% discount but it's sold out. The 2012 models don't offers any discount. Jetta still a considerable choice as it's 2011 made cars offers 10%.

ANY SALESMAN THAT'S READING THIS & GOT A 2011 PASSAT(B7) PLS PM. I'LL FLY OVER TO CLOSE THE DEAL.(WEST MALAYSIA ONLY)

Jetta:
The part that concerns me are the maintenance of the car. If fuel(monthly) & road tax(annually) is more is just +- RM100.00 then it's not much to compare about. It's just a small bite that won't be feel much.

The part that got me into thinking about it is the servicing part. Lubricant, gear oil & things that's not much talked about might come out with a OUCH!!! when paying the bill. Jetta offers 5 years warranty & surely it gotto goes to their official workshop. Also it's a twincharged car. I've never owned something like that. Servicing it would cost more?

That car is only 1.4CC. Underpower..? From what I've came to known it's technology...
Personally the talks of a salesman is called sales talk, the kind the just wants U to buy something from em.

Also I don't sees much of Jetta on the road. Any reason for it? Price is an issue for some? Yea... It's something that's in between & not many would goes for it. Mostly would just goes for Camry & Accord within that price range. Worth to pay the extras for the new technology.

As for me I'm looking at Volkswagen is offering AFFORDABLE TECHNOLOGY. Correct me if 'm wrong, there's not much of twincharge cars at these price range.

Civic & Altis:
It's just another normal car. From the starts of my 1st car till now there's nothing too special about it. Just that it's interior that might be better abit...

Final:
The feels of it when speeding... Weight & power gotto be balance. Weight is not what we sees on the paper only. When moving there's downforce, aerodynamics & for some it would be called stability.
The (old) Civic is supposed to handle rather well, but the Jetta was basically made for speeding (it's a German car, and since in Germany 130-140 is very common and many drive faster German cars are made for that).

In terms of safety the Jetta should be able to beat them all, unless the Japs are JDM.

Funny how the Jetta is considered a performance car. It is the sedan version of a small family hatchback. The German equivalent of a Toyota Vios. Just, well, more modern, safer. Of course Malaysia only gets the rather powerful engine.

I'd probably go for the Jetta too.
cybermaster98
post May 8 2012, 07:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(khoodennis @ May 7 2012, 02:53 PM)
The mentioned mid range is something like in the class of Honda Civic, Toyota Altis  & my prefered choice is Volkswagen Jetta. Actually I prefers Passat(B7) year 2011 that offers 10% discount but it's sold out. The 2012 models don't offers any discount. Jetta still a considerable choice as it's 2011 made cars offers 10%.

Jetta:

Civic & Altis:

Final:
At RM 143,888 (about RM17K cheaper than a Jetta), the Kia Optima K5 would be a better choice with better specs, better design and much bigger interior not to mention higher safety standards. Plus its a D segment car and it too comes with a 5 year unlimited mileage manufacturers warranty.

The Jetta has higher torque due to the twin turbo and a more advanced gearbox. But besides that, the Optima wins hands down. Quality & build quality has improved alot and after sales is also improving from what ive seen.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 8 2012, 08:14 AM
Deja Vu
post May 8 2012, 07:47 AM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 8 2012, 06:17 AM)
The (old) Civic is supposed to handle rather well, but the Jetta was basically made for speeding (it's a German car, and since in Germany 130-140 is very common and many drive faster German cars are made for that).

In terms of safety the Jetta should be able to beat them all, unless the Japs are JDM.

Funny how the Jetta is considered a performance car. It is the sedan version of a small family hatchback. The German equivalent of a Toyota Vios. Just, well, more modern, safer. Of course Malaysia only gets the rather powerful engine.

I'd probably go for the Jetta too.
Dude I think u got it mixed up wit d Polo Sedan. Jetta is derived from a stretched platform of d Golf (Altis, Civic, Sylphy, Focus class). N not necessary hv to b JDM la, a standard 2.0 FD Civic or Lancer/Inspira 2.0 will reach tat speeds easy peasy.

If TS willing to go left-field a bit, I'm all d way wit d Jetta. Superbly finished n was speechless by built quality when had a seat in it. N wit tat rear air con its simply a class on its own.
cybermaster98
post May 8 2012, 08:02 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 8 2012, 06:17 AM)
Did u know that the Jetta didn't fare too well in the American National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) safety analisis for 2012?

It only got an overall 4 Star rating with frontal and rollover impact being its biggest flaws with 4 star ratings. The Optima K5 on the other hand received 5 star ratings in all 3 frontal, side and rollover impact analysis. Even the mighty BMW 5 Series only got a 4 star rating for frontal impact with the rest being 5 star. The 2012 Honda Civic got an overall 5 Star rating which is higher than the Jetta.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 8 2012, 08:14 AM
ericmaxman
post May 8 2012, 08:20 AM

-
7,951 posts

1.4cc is very small..considering the kancil is 660cc shocking.gif
Jinster
post May 8 2012, 08:36 AM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

not all cars in malaysia are the same as those overseas..
unless it's an import..local assembled cars are roughly 70% the same as an import version..
regarding safety... just drive safe and be aware of ur surroundings cause even if we drive safe, other people are reckless or perhaps unintentional accidents would occur..
cybermaster98
post May 8 2012, 08:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 8 2012, 08:20 AM)
1.4cc is very small..considering the kancil is 660cc shocking.gif
Ure obviously from the older generation of ppl who associate engine capacity with power. The Jetta's 1.4TSI is a twin turbo engine with 158Hp and 240Nm torque. It beats most of the 2 liter D segment Japs e.g Camry, Accord and Teana in terms of power. Not to mention its more advanced 7 speed DSG gearbox. But all that comes with a price and at approx RM160K (OTR), it isnt cheap.

My choice would still be the Kia Optima K5 at only RM143,888 (OTR). It is slighty more powerful than comparable Jap models with 163Hp & 198Nm torque but with excellent specs, design and interior space.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: May 8 2012, 08:45 AM
ericmaxman
post May 8 2012, 08:51 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ May 8 2012, 08:43 AM)
Ure obviously from the older generation of ppl who associate engine capacity with power. The Jetta's 1.4TSI is a twin turbo engine with 158Hp and 240Nm torque. It beats most of the 2 liter D segment Japs e.g Camry, Accord and Teana in terms of power. Not to mention its more advanced 7 speed DSG gearbox. But all that comes with a price and at approx RM160K (OTR), it isnt cheap.

My choice would still be the Kia Optima K5 at only RM143,888 (OTR). It is slighty more powerful than comparable Jap models with 163Hp & 198Nm torque but with excellent specs, design and interior space.
i dont fecking care about the specs. read carefully what i've written there

hahahahahahahahahahaha
kenso77
post May 8 2012, 08:53 AM

179 posts

If it's performance & handling, the Jetta is the better option based on the choices you have listed ... But then if the budget is slightly higher, you can get the fully imported from Germany Golf 1.4TSi which drives better than the Jetta (at the cost of sacrificing space). If its space and handling, I agree with cybermaster98 that the K5 is a viable choice (sacrificing power vs the Jetta). In terms of maintenance, the Jetta is every 15,000km or 1 yr whereas Civic is every 5k so it works out to be similar. Bang for buck, I won't consider Altis and Civic unless it's resale value you're after
cybermaster98
post May 8 2012, 08:56 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 8 2012, 08:51 AM)
i dont fecking care about the specs. read carefully what i've written there

hahahahahahahahahahaha
I did and ive responded. U claimed the 1.4 is small which is a major oversight on your part. The bits about specs is an add on.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:06 PM