Interview, What to prepare...

jady
post Jan 24 2011, 11:11 AM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

QUOTE(humanfly @ Jan 21 2011, 11:36 PM)
Been interviewing people recently, what I do not like most is when someone dunno what they actually want. What career path that they want.

For example, come in interview for technical position but keep on saying that his interest is in web development.

And also people who does not know how to communicate well i.e. conversation.

Always must have confidence in yourself and know what you want...
yes, most fresh graduate don't know what they want. they will keep telling you they just want to learn everything, then see how. some even say they actually want to study master, but want to work 1-2 years first doh.gif
fazlythewarrior
post Jan 24 2011, 01:37 PM

234 posts

hello guys.
i got an interview tomorrow at comfori,jalan raja chulan for business development. i currently finish my studies in management diploma and this is my first interview, act they review my resume at jobstreet and send me the emel to attend the interview.
really scared right now. can anyone help me? sad.gif
akupolis
post Jan 24 2011, 03:04 PM

@fazly..
comfori? aku bru pas intrview kat comfori mggu lepas..
tp kat subang jaya..
fazlythewarrior
post Jan 24 2011, 03:12 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(akupolis @ Jan 24 2011, 03:04 PM)
@fazly..
comfori? aku bru pas intrview kat comfori mggu lepas..
tp kat subang jaya..
yeke? wah jauhnya. aku dapat interview kat menara KH jalan sultan ismail.
apa macam interview dorang?
akupolis
post Jan 25 2011, 09:08 AM

senang je..mst ko pon dpt nyer..
Faiza|
post Jan 25 2011, 10:41 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(StumpyGirl @ Jan 19 2011, 09:22 AM)
i did..

normally the SPA person will ask u about your integrity and general knowledge.. and sometimes the current issues..
the other person, would be the officer from the department u been offered.. the will ask u a question that related to the field..
thanks rclxms.gif
wish me luck 2mrrow!
sweet_pez
post Jan 25 2011, 11:03 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chienta @ Jan 20 2011, 11:49 AM)
so in my resume if i dont to reveal my current salary is okay...? i'm afraid by not doing so they don wanna to hire me.. or may be they'll think i'm poyo..

always in any interview they will ask me to bring the payslip or tell them my current salary... but i dont wanna to actually... i want  a high pay base on my experience not base on my last salary....
Yeah chienta, it's fine. However most interviewers/ HR personnel will still throw you the question. It serves as a benchmark for them to check how much was your previous pay and how much you mark up for their company. Another note, once you refuse to disclose, most will see it as you have something to 'hide' or you're not being 'truthful'. Whatever it is, unless you are a highly sought-after candidate, you have a lower chance if someone with all the same/ better criteria than you steps up (and this person is willing to disclose his/ her pay). This is something common. Imagine yourself in the interviewer's position then you'll understand why.

I don't bring my payslip around as well. I would tell them what I earn in previous job if they ask but I will not show them my payslip. If they don't believe me, it's fine. I don't have to support it with my payslip.

QUOTE(humanfly @ Jan 21 2011, 11:36 PM)
Been interviewing people recently, what I do not like most is when someone dunno what they actually want. What career path that they want.

For example, come in interview for technical position but keep on saying that his interest is in web development.

And also people who does not know how to communicate well i.e. conversation.

Always must have confidence in yourself and know what you want...
It's a common problem ^^; my boss said he asks a candidate, "Why do you study Marketing?" and the guy replied, "Because my parents ask me to study it."

bayleef10
post Jan 25 2011, 11:15 AM

Yeah it's me yo
651 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 25 2011, 11:03 AM)

It's a common problem ^^; my boss said he asks a candidate, "Why do you study Marketing?" and the guy replied, "Because my parents ask me to study it."
LOLz stand no chance to b hire... no passion in job
sweet_pez
post Jan 25 2011, 11:21 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Apart from no passion, isn't it obvious this guy don't even know what he wants? It's because he doesn't know that he follows his parent's wish to take Marketing. Secondly, it appears that he doesn't really care about it.

Just 2 cents' worth of thought. Even if it's the truth (parents ask to take the subject), he don't have to be so direct about it sweat.gif Naive, perhaps? There's pros and cons to his characteristic though ^______^ it's easier to mold naive mindset into the company's way of thinking.
ranee
post Jan 26 2011, 01:02 PM

18 posts

the interviewer ask how you could contribute to our success. What kind of answer does he expect? My strength? personality or else?
coolie
post Jan 26 2011, 01:13 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(ranee @ Jan 26 2011, 01:02 PM)
the interviewer ask how you could contribute to our success. What kind of answer does he expect? My strength? personality or else?
Try to relate to what you can offer for the company in terms of skillset and motivation you intend to share. It is about your intrapersonal and interpersonal skill which correlates to the environment you feel you suit best.

Share what you have contributed before, what are the challenges you faced and overcome before and how you work with your colleagues. It'll definitely help.
senyii
post Jan 27 2011, 07:25 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 25 2011, 11:03 AM)
Yeah chienta, it's fine. However most interviewers/ HR personnel will still throw you the question. It serves as a benchmark for them to check how much was your previous pay and how much you mark up for their company. Another note, once you refuse to disclose, most will see it as you have something to 'hide' or you're not being 'truthful'. Whatever it is, unless you are a highly sought-after candidate, you have a lower chance if someone with all the same/ better criteria than you steps up (and this person is willing to disclose his/ her pay). This is something common. Imagine yourself in the interviewer's position then you'll understand why.

I don't bring my payslip around as well. I would tell them what I earn in previous job if they ask but I will not show them my payslip. If they don't believe me, it's fine. I don't have to support it with my payslip.
omg there is actually people who will reply like this?
TommyTan
post Jan 28 2011, 09:54 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Jan 27 2011, 07:25 PM)
i'd appreciate their honesty.

lots of candidate only know how to bull their way through with rehearsed answers, makes our job so much more difficult
sweet_pez
post Jan 31 2011, 05:23 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Jan 27 2011, 07:25 PM)
Interesting, isn't it?

Tommy>> It really depends on how one sees it. For my boss, it's really too much to receive such responses.
laicikang
post Feb 1 2011, 10:42 AM

wow.
never knew this forum could be so informative.

yiivei
post Feb 3 2011, 11:44 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Juz went to an interview last week...

Throughout the interview, the interview does mention 'bout potential candidate, don't be surprise if we call you after CNY... Does it mean the chances of getting the job is high?

But, he does mention he got a few more interviews to go... sigh~

Added to that, due to time constraint on catching a flight, i wasnt able to raise question during the interview. However, i do ask for his contact detail in order for me to raise my queries and sending thank you letter.

Guess my chance at the time is getting lesser and lesser... sigh~

This post has been edited by yiivei: Feb 3 2011, 11:52 AM
evil_cutie
post Feb 7 2011, 11:32 AM

322 posts

Going for an interview 2 days from now, just want to ask, in order to keep track of the interview results and also sending thank you letter, is it ok to directly ask for the contact details of the interviewer after the interview session?
or should i get it from HR department before the interview ?
sweet_pez
post Feb 7 2011, 09:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Feb 3 2011, 11:44 AM)
Juz went to an interview last week...

Throughout the interview, the interview does mention 'bout potential candidate, don't be surprise if we call you after CNY... Does it mean the chances of getting the job is high?

But, he does mention he got a few more interviews to go... sigh~

Added to that, due to time constraint on catching a flight, i wasnt able to raise question during the interview. However, i do ask for his contact detail in order for me to raise my queries and sending thank you letter.

Guess my chance at the time is getting lesser and lesser... sigh~
You could look it in a positive way - you're one of the few finalized candidate. It's also possible that he wanted to hire you right away but he would not be able to make a decision before reviewing the other candidates. It's only fair to go through all the interviews then decide on the best/ most suitable one.

It's normal - these days the job market is really competitive especially if it's a vacancy from a popular company. Be patient about it.

Interestingly, since you have his contact, do feel free to call/ email him if you have questions. With this, he'll be able to interact with you and know that you're highly interested in the position.

Hope you'll be offered for the position.

QUOTE(evil_cutie @ Feb 7 2011, 11:32 AM)
Going for an interview 2 days from now, just want to ask, in order to keep track of the interview results and also sending thank you letter, is it ok to directly ask for the contact details of the interviewer after the interview session?
or should i get it from HR department before the interview ?
Some interviewer will give you his/ her namecard at the start of the interview. So for these cases you don't have to ask for them.

I'm not too sure about the thank you letter but if you wish to know the status of your application after a week or so, do contact the HR dept and not the interviewer. Usually it's HR who deals with these matters.
kerrigan_id
post Feb 8 2011, 06:53 PM

24 posts

Hi

I'm currently employed, and there is this company that i want to work with. So I applied for the position trainee. Training for 4month and OJT for 6month. Purpose of the training if of course, give skills to the unemployed. A week later, they told me that I was shortlisted. I ask them, when can get my offer letter, because I want to hand my resignation. She seems to be shocked and ask me not to resign until I get my offer letter. Does the fact that I'm currently employed reduces the chances of me going to the training?
Just now she called me saying that her manager wanted to see me next week.
I'm puzzled . I humbly seek advice.
faceless
post Feb 10 2011, 08:42 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(kerrigan_id @ Feb 8 2011, 06:53 PM)
Hi

I'm currently employed, and there is this company that i want to work with. So I applied for the position trainee. Training for 4month and OJT for 6month. Purpose of the training if of course, give skills to the unemployed. A week later, they told me that I was shortlisted. I ask them, when can get my offer letter, because I want to hand my resignation. She seems to be shocked and ask me not to resign until I get my offer letter. Does the fact that I'm currently employed reduces the chances of me going to the training?
Just now she called me saying that her manager wanted to see me next week.
I'm puzzled . I humbly seek advice.
Maybe they want to interview you again before making an offer to you.

89 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:32 PM