Guild Wars 2 V2, Sequel to the CORPG game Guild Wars!
M.I.N.S
Apr 30 2012, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(frega @ Apr 30 2012, 11:08 PM) The problem is them opening on me / surprise attack. Usually too late to react. And if i'm caught without my invis cooldown up, I'm usually dead. Added on April 30, 2012, 11:09 pmAlso, engineer after they setup everything is like /wrist. best bet will b get more defensive skill rather relying on 1 or 2 skills to escape
ZeratoS
Apr 30 2012, 11:25 PM
Initiative is my resource. I don't have cooldowns and I rely on them to use skills. They range from 2~5 cost per skill so I can spam one skill or use them wisely.
Venoms are applied as per number of hits. They range from 1 hit (Basilisk) to 5 (Spider) depending on how useful they are. If I successfully apply venom and attack you but fail to continue the chain, I have just successfully wasted both my venoms and my initiative.
Without initiative, I have lost half my damage capacity and I am easy to kill because most of my play relies on quick chains of powerful skills in a short timespan.
To sum it up, all thieves play like this. To actually kill we must use high burst damage and if we fail to burst you down, we are essentially crippled ducks for a specific time-window which you must exploit.
Deimos Tel`Arin
Apr 30 2012, 11:26 PM
ooooo okies. thanks!
eh, how do thieves regen iniative oh then? ok me go find wiki
ok i got it.
12 initiative.
+3 more with trait.
regen 1 iniative per second.
This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Apr 30 2012, 11:27 PM
dezz
Apr 30 2012, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 30 2012, 11:25 PM) Initiative is my resource. I don't have cooldowns and I rely on them to use skills. They range from 2~5 cost per skill so I can spam one skill or use them wisely. Venoms are applied as per number of hits. They range from 1 hit (Basilisk) to 5 (Spider) depending on how useful they are. If I successfully apply venom and attack you but fail to continue the chain, I have just successfully wasted both my venoms and my initiative. Without initiative, I have lost half my damage capacity and I am easy to kill because most of my play relies on quick chains of powerful skills in a short timespan. To sum it up, all thieves play like this. To actually kill we must use high burst damage and if we fail to burst you down, we are essentially crippled ducks for a specific time-window which you must exploit. well said. XD thief relies heavily on timing, and the 1st few attacks. run out if initiative and you'll spamming normal atk and have to figure out how to runaway (or die).
Deimos Tel`Arin
Apr 30 2012, 11:31 PM
aaaah i see okies. thanks now i think i understand thieves a bit more.
my warrior rifleman simple build saja.
follow team mate, see enemy. pew pew pew. if hurt, heal self. if cannot win battle, flee and cap other points.
cap points, kill svanier, chieftain. repeat.
ZeratoS
Apr 30 2012, 11:33 PM
I have updated the list of tips. Most thieves don't know that you can pre-prepare poisons before fights as you can engage before the poisons run out and have the come off cooldown mid-fight.
Thieves are not a newbie friendly class. Same as Assassin from GW1.
moodswingfella
Apr 30 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Apr 30 2012, 11:31 PM) aaaah i see okies. thanks now i think i understand thieves a bit more. my warrior rifleman simple build saja. follow team mate, see enemy. pew pew pew. if hurt, heal self. if cannot win battle, flee and cap other points. cap points, kill svanier, chieftain. repeat. me too. just command my ranger to pew pew and order my bear to attack only
-DarKz-
Apr 30 2012, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(M.I.N.S @ Apr 30 2012, 11:05 PM) i only got brown bear,hound,eagle,jellyfish and the drake brown bear most tanky with decent damage follow by hound, i ditch my starting drake once i got my hand on the hound and brown bear aquatic is brown bear follow by jellyfish remember to swap ur pet once its dead, dam important if ur still in combat by the way how to switch and tame pet ? lol (noob question) as a newbie like me , i would suggest myself to pick bear for tank the mobs infront rather than tactical pets anyhow , i checked pet management page,there had 4 skill for my pet , how to activate that? thanks
moodswingfella
Apr 30 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(-DarKz- @ Apr 30 2012, 11:35 PM) by the way how to switch and tame pet ? lol (noob question) as a newbie like me , i would suggest myself to pick bear for tank the mobs infront rather than tactical pets anyhow , i checked pet management page,there had 4 skill for my pet , how to activate that? thanks  woa got pet management page?? i dont notice this. i lagi noob..
dezz
Apr 30 2012, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 30 2012, 11:33 PM) I have updated the list of tips. Most thieves don't know that you can pre-prepare poisons before fights as you can engage before the poisons run out and have the come off cooldown mid-fight. Thieves are not a newbie friendly class. Same as Assassin from GW1. agreed. and thinking back, sin in gw1 relies heavily on hits timing too.. miss 1 combo skill/wasted poison/venom = fuuuu XD
ZeratoS
Apr 30 2012, 11:40 PM
But here you don't have to worry bout WoH monks. Hate those with fiery passion.
Deimos Tel`Arin
Apr 30 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 30 2012, 11:11 PM) Tips for you thieves out there.
- Dancing Dagger + Devourer Venom = bouncing ranged immobilize. Gets you out of ganks and starts ganks.
- Shadowsteps don't really work from different level positions.
- Always use steal - steal from necromancers = fear, steal from elementalists = burn, stun or freeze, steal from warriors = spinspinspin.
- Venom works on all your weapon skills and I do believe it works on the axe item stolen too. It also works even when you're downed.
- Use dodge
- Use Stealth, it changes your first skill to something really amazing.
- Pre-prepare your poisons because if you get into the fight at the right time, you'll have them ready to be applied again.
- Steal is also a shadowstep.
- Vulnerability is your best friend.
- Heartseeker, Flanking Strike, Leaping Death Blossom are all gap closers. Use them.
- Warriors are a betch to fight.
- Rangers are also a betch to fight.
- Elementalists are lunch.
- Mesmers are supper, but they're bad for you because they give you extra calories...and the smart ones hurt.
Have fun dealing with or countering thieves. woh monks? word of healing? 5 energy, heal target other ally and bonus heal if their health is under 50% ? oh, about stealing from warriors, i think it depend on what weapons the warrior currently using rite? i think guardians also a betch to fight against rite? i cannot kill guardians lulz. kena pwn by them.
M.I.N.S
Apr 30 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Apr 30 2012, 11:37 PM) woa got pet management page?? i dont notice this. i lagi noob.. thats y i tekan every icon u see in the game its a paw right nex to ur pet icon
ZeratoS
Apr 30 2012, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Apr 30 2012, 11:42 PM) woh monks? word of healing? 5 energy, heal target other ally and bonus heal if their health is under 50% ? oh, about stealing from warriors, i think it depend on what weapons the warrior currently using rite? i think guardians also a betch to fight against rite? i cannot kill guardians lulz. kena pwn by them. If I'm not mistaken its usually stun or spinspinspin if you steal from a warrior. Spin is really the most worthless of the lot because the damage sucks compared to what you can dish out. Good if you're in a team fight since they have little AoE besides LDB. Guardians? Nobody fights guardians - we run from them. Mesmers can eat them though since lolclones.
-DarKz-
Apr 30 2012, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Apr 30 2012, 11:37 PM) woa got pet management page?? i dont notice this. i lagi noob.. it's above your skill hotkey there , the green "paw" icon
Deimos Tel`Arin
Apr 30 2012, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 30 2012, 11:45 PM) If I'm not mistaken its usually stun or spinspinspin if you steal from a warrior. Spin is really the most worthless of the lot because the damage sucks compared to what you can dish out. Good if you're in a team fight since they have little AoE besides LDB. Guardians? Nobody fights guardians - we run from them. Mesmers can eat them though since lolclones. lulz ok i geddit now. i was doing it wrong lulz. i tried to kill a guardian. failed. only way to take one down is via gang bang then i suppose?
moodswingfella
Apr 30 2012, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(M.I.N.S @ Apr 30 2012, 11:42 PM) thats y i tekan every icon u see in the game its a paw right nex to ur pet icon QUOTE(-DarKz- @ Apr 30 2012, 11:46 PM) it's above your skill hotkey there , the green "paw" icon
ZeratoS
Apr 30 2012, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Apr 30 2012, 11:47 PM) lulz ok i geddit now. i was doing it wrong lulz. i tried to kill a guardian. failed. only way to take one down is via gang bang then i suppose? My guild member from the Guru was able to hold off 5 people for 20 seconds or more. Who the heck survives for that long!?
Deimos Tel`Arin
Apr 30 2012, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Apr 30 2012, 11:48 PM) My guild member from the Guru was able to hold off 5 people for 20 seconds or more. Who the heck survives for that long!? dafuq. O_O 1 vs 5 and survive for 20 seconds???? but the point is lost anyway right? i.e. they got 4 more members on that point. but the rest of the members will surely cap the other points liao. or kill svanir / chieftain etc.
M.I.N.S
Apr 30 2012, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(-DarKz- @ Apr 30 2012, 11:46 PM) it's above your skill hotkey there , the green "paw" icon yeah the paw right above skill 1