151 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi V3

ockeat
post Nov 17 2012, 08:34 AM

hi all,

Just back from Langkawi last 2 days. Would like to share my bad experience on car parking and rental problem at Kuala Perlis. We reached Kuala Perlis about 2:30pm and due to very peak seasion, all the road side to Jetty Kuala Perlis full of parked car. During searching for place to park, a gang of Malay bikers approaching us and offer us a car parking place near by a construction building. We have not much choice and follow them to the parking area. The place indeed a public road side. They open a receipt asking for RM45 parking fee. It's OK since we will park there for 3 days and I think without paying such fee, they will do 'somthing' to your car probably.

The story is still not end. After collected the parking fee, they offer you to sign up Island Hopping, Mangrove tour, Car Rental etc packages. I managed to reject such Island Hopping/Mangrove tour package by given reason old parent not fit to have such tour. For the car rental, they claim we will not get any car at Island due to super peak season. They offer us a MyVi car with RM140 for 2 days and demand for half payment. I checked the rental company "Langkawi Car Rental" and should exist. After negotialtion, end up I will pay RM20 as deposit. Below is the receipt attached :

When reached Langkawi Island, contact the parking boys, they given reason that the car booked earlier yet to return by customer, no replacement any more. Ask you may get back your deposit when you back to Kuala Perlis Jetty. So I went directly to LangKawi Car Rental counter (behind KFC), shown them the booking receipt and being informed this is not their agent, probably is another company agent at XXX Kampung. I get confused. At the end, I have to engaged with another agent to get another rental car. This agent (Edry 013-4098092) highly recommended due to his good service.

SO beware of this number 017-5091639.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
samlee860407
post Nov 17 2012, 11:12 AM

4,631 posts

hm...stimix, is it better to update the 1st post to warn ppl to NOT BOOK/PAY for any car rental before they reach langkawi?

i follow this thread for quite sometimes d, and always noticed those that book their car (or even pay, doesn't matter just a small amount for deposit or the whole thing) end up either getting scam or cheated or bad service or given car with bad condition

while those that reach the island, see the car then only pay for it usually seems get better service.

ericpee82
post Nov 17 2012, 04:46 PM

19 posts

any recommended for car rental for 7 seater? how much izit?
JustcallmeLarry
post Nov 17 2012, 09:46 PM

1,363 posts

Hi guys plan to visit pulau payar in December. Wta will there be many people visiting pulau payar? Many things to see? I choose pulau payar bcs I get to save money on hotel, go in the morning come back home in the evening. I'm from Penang.
fooj
post Nov 18 2012, 11:27 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(ericpee82 @ Nov 17 2012, 04:46 PM)
any recommended for car rental for 7 seater? how much izit?
Hi , we rented innova RM390 for total 48 hours smile.gif
life_b4diezz
post Nov 18 2012, 01:59 PM

46 posts

rent a scooter and go around..
RJstory Fashion
post Nov 19 2012, 05:42 AM

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Nov 17 2012, 09:46 PM)
Hi guys plan to visit pulau payar in December. Wta will there be many people visiting pulau payar? Many things to see? I choose pulau payar bcs I get to save money on hotel, go in the morning come back home in the evening. I'm from Penang.
Pulau Payar is a snorkeling trip. You are travelling at peak season, I believe the trip there will be very crowded and you should not expect the best water quality. Though going deep enough, the water should be clean.
I am not sure what you are expecting to see in Pulau Payar though, It's a place for snorkeling. so, you will be seeing colourful fishes and corals. I heard the corals there are quite badly damaged these days.

if you know how to swim, you can go deeper to see larger fishes, long body fishes, larger gruopa if you are lucky. (gruopa bites, so if you see a large one, better dont tease them with your fingers or you might lose it)

Oh and not to forget, baby sharks seem to be quite an attraction for snorkelers.

Low peak Pulau Payar trip was around 60-80 per person. ( 2-3 Years ago)
Not too sure what's the price now. some trips provide meals (Fried rices).

Added on November 19, 2012, 5:56 am
QUOTE(ockeat @ Nov 17 2012, 08:34 AM)
hi all,

Just back from Langkawi last 2 days. Would like to share my bad experience on car parking and rental problem at Kuala Perlis. We reached Kuala Perlis about 2:30pm and due to very peak seasion, all the road side to Jetty Kuala Perlis full of parked car. During searching for place to park, a gang of Malay bikers approaching us and offer us a car parking place near by a construction building. We have not much choice and follow them to the parking area. The place indeed a public road side. They open a receipt asking for RM45 parking fee. It's OK since we will park there for 3 days and I think without paying such fee, they will do 'somthing' to your car probably.

The story is still not end. After collected the parking fee, they offer you to sign up Island Hopping, Mangrove tour, Car Rental etc packages. I managed to reject such Island Hopping/Mangrove tour package by given reason old parent not fit to have such tour. For the car rental, they claim we will not get any car at Island due to super peak season. They offer us a MyVi car with RM140 for 2 days and demand for half payment. I checked the rental company "Langkawi Car Rental" and should exist. After negotialtion, end up I will pay RM20 as deposit. Below is the receipt attached : 
When reached Langkawi Island, contact the parking boys, they given reason that the car booked earlier yet to return by customer, no replacement any more. Ask you may get back your deposit when you back to Kuala Perlis Jetty. So I went directly to LangKawi Car Rental counter (behind KFC), shown them the booking receipt and being informed this is not their agent, probably is another company agent at XXX Kampung. I get confused. At the end, I have to engaged with another agent to get another rental car. This agent (Edry  013-4098092) highly recommended due to his good service.

SO beware of this number 017-5091639.
You took a very dangerous path.. K.Perlis and K.Kedah is the same. Motorist will get you to park at their "designated parking" probably their house or some places. The parking at jetty is always very packed during peak seasons and for those travelling there on holiday season will have the same experience. I am a regular there as Langkawi is my hometown..

Be very careful for every single dealing at the JETTY at K.Perlis and K.Kedah, there are underground gangsters who
operates scams and robberies. There are some things you guys must be careful of.
1. Try not to ask for help from the motorists that volunteering to help you out.
2. Avoid parking at private places (You will risk having your whole car stolen / broke in)
The most common scams are they will steal or replace your car parts with 2nd hand. If you are having some proton or cheap car, they can easily break in, dismantle and sell your parts easily.
3. Avoid buying any holiday trips or car rental from the JETTY at K.Perlis and K.Kedah ( they may not be valid and you will definitely not be getting any refund.)
(AVOID! But even a regular like me, have to option for these parking at times because there aren't any other options, I WILL NOT PASS THEM THE KEY)

The rental cars there are in abundance but during peak season, the prices will hike. I doubt that you can't get to rent a car there.

You can shop for island tour trips in Langkawi easily, maybe a little more expensive but if you shop around, you can get yourself some good deals too.

This post has been edited by RJstory Fashion: Nov 19 2012, 05:56 AM
Ninena
post Nov 19 2012, 11:03 AM

Hi, New member here, i will go to Langkawi on Early December, already booked for Accomodation and car rental...hope everyting will be okay. For car rental i already pay deposit from Teluk Yu..anyone heard about this com before?..
RJstory Fashion
post Nov 19 2012, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(Ninena @ Nov 19 2012, 11:03 AM)
Hi, New member here, i will go to Langkawi on Early December, already booked for Accomodation and car rental...hope everyting will be okay. For car rental i already pay deposit from Teluk Yu..anyone heard about this com before?..
No idea, haha, there's so many car rental agents in Langkawi.

Ninena
post Nov 19 2012, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(RJstory Fashion @ Nov 19 2012, 02:33 PM)
No idea, haha, there's so many car rental agents in Langkawi.
Thanks Dear...anyway hope everyting will be okay..tak kena tipu hahaha
voon25
post Nov 21 2012, 03:30 PM

107 posts

any nice place in langkawi that that can have party ?
Around 20 of us planning a trip to langkawi for a day stay.....preferable a bungalow by the seaside that can swim with pool and barbecue at night.

Chester
post Nov 21 2012, 04:52 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(Ninena @ Nov 19 2012, 11:03 AM)
Teluk Yu is ok, rented fairly new Sentra and Livina from them 2 years ago. No complaint smile.gif But no need book, lah..go there they always got car..
lowlowc
post Nov 21 2012, 09:50 PM

918 posts

Hi, may I know whether the car rental booth at Langkawi airport will be still operating at 7 pm? I'm going to take an evening flight there but worry can't rent a car there later.

Is there a regulation on liquids in hand carry luggage in domestic flights to LGK the same as international flight? I'm hoping to bring my hairspray on board but it's over 100ml, and I hate check in baggages. In case anyone wondering why the hell I'm bringing that to LGK, I'm going Langkawi for a formal dinner function.
yazoo
post Nov 21 2012, 10:13 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Nov 21 2012, 09:50 PM)
Hi, may I know whether the car rental booth at Langkawi airport will be still operating at 7 pm? I'm going to take an evening flight there but worry can't rent a car there later.

Is there a regulation on liquids in hand carry luggage in domestic flights to LGK the same as international flight? I'm hoping to bring my hairspray on board but it's over 100ml, and I hate check in baggages. In case anyone wondering why the hell I'm bringing that to LGK, I'm going Langkawi for a formal dinner function.
The first thing you'll notice once you stepped into the airport terminal upon your arrival are people calling for you to rent a car. Just pick one. They will put something like a Viva or Wira (auto) for RM160 per day, but if you decide to take for 2 or 3 days they will give a package price. For a Viva it will cost RM200 for 2 days ( much cheaper if non holiday season ). You need to pay all upfront plus RM50 deposit.
But beware normally they are barely any petrol when they hand you the car.

As for liquid I took my eye contact saline solution and mineral water by putting them in my hand luggage - to & fro Langkawi ... all passed our airport securities without any problem
Ninena
post Nov 22 2012, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(Chester @ Nov 21 2012, 04:52 PM)
Teluk Yu is ok, rented fairly new Sentra and Livina from them 2 years ago. No complaint smile.gif But no need book, lah..go there they always got car..
hahaha...macam kiasu me rite hehe...its because i will go there with 3 small kids...so dont want spend time looking for car rent later..hehehe save time ..some more iwill reach there 9 PM huhuhu blink.gif
alien@lyn
post Nov 22 2012, 11:54 AM

Hi guys,
Me and a couple guy friends are going to Langkawi for bachelors night.
A friend if getting married there next month so we would be spending the night before the wedding there.

Any recommendations on where to go and what to do?

Thanks in advance guys!
cynnz
post Nov 22 2012, 11:19 PM

121 posts

for domestic flight, no limit on liquid smile.gif
RJstory Fashion
post Nov 23 2012, 02:12 AM

Yeah, there will be car rental once you exit the arrival hall, you can also option for those located within the luggage area. Make sure you get some good deal, NEGO is a must! There are free maps in the luggage hall if you need them! or just ask for some from the car rentals.

QUOTE(alien@lyn @ Nov 22 2012, 11:54 AM)
Hi guys,
Me and a couple guy friends are going to Langkawi for bachelors night.
A friend if getting married there next month so we would be spending the night before the wedding there.

Any recommendations on where to go and what to do?

Thanks in advance guys!
I guess bachelor's night is all about relaxing and have fun while the soon to be wedded guy will not be able to keep his mind off the wedding plannings. It depends on what kind of fun are you looking at..
There's a few option,

1 ) Stay at a 3-4 star hotel and enjoy the facilities. If you guys are the types who wants to enjoy a more relaxing orientated and stress free trip.
2) Food adventure at Pantai Cenang, trying different types of food and some casual drinking by some bar / pub.
3) Relaxing food with incredible view at Perdana Quay and stay at Awana Porto Malai. It will be a windy sea breeze feeling without a lot of crowd or disturbance.
4) If you are the rich guys, you can consider Tanjung Rhu 5 star hotels with live bands, alcohol, swimming pool and the luxuries spa and relaxation retreat.
5) Pantai Cenang budget hotel, take in the Sunset View, Water Activities, Food and DRink till you are dead drunk the next day. XD

lowlowc
post Nov 24 2012, 12:00 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(yazoo @ Nov 21 2012, 10:13 PM)
The first thing you'll notice once you stepped into the airport terminal upon your arrival are people calling for you to rent a car. Just pick one. They will put something like a Viva or Wira (auto) for RM160 per day, but if you decide to take for 2 or 3 days they will give a package price. For a Viva it will cost RM200 for 2 days ( much cheaper if non holiday season ). You need to pay all upfront plus RM50 deposit.
But beware normally they are barely any petrol when they hand you the car.

As for liquid I took my eye contact saline solution and mineral water by putting them in my hand luggage - to & fro Langkawi ... all passed our airport securities without any problem
Thanks but what time do they closes the car rental booth in airport? Cause I'll arrive late around 6.30 pm.
dominic
post Nov 26 2012, 12:34 PM

35 posts

im just back too from langkawi since yesterday and the moment i reach kuala kedah jetty waiting the traffic light to turn in, there already 2 motorist asking me to follow them as parking at the kuala kedah are full as told there is no longer have any parking.

thus, in believing what they said, we just follow them and they took us to a nearby shop lot with some on going renovation there. i was piss off and drove away. before i drove to the shop lot for parking, i saw a proper paid parking and i just make a turn and park my car there with many parking available.

just forget those motorist and they are just another scammer at the holiday place in msia which we have met many of those.

and once i landed in langkawi, i was so nervous not to get any car for rent due to many ppls was going to langkawi that time but thanks to this thread whereby we insist to get our rental car in langkawi than in kuala kedah itself as few ppls already approached us for rental and keep nagging of no rental car available due to school holiday for a mpv.

once arrive in langkawi, we just walk straight from jetty point in langkawi even thou approached by few car rental ppls. once out, we look for KFC which is just opposite the jetty point, a single storey shop lot for car rental. we got our serena (2012 model)rm360 for 3days 2 night and return the car by 2pm as told during our last day. (many thanks for those who share out in this forum for guiding me) after asking and choosing around the car rental company over there while avoiding the blacklisted company. paid the money after checking and photo shoot on the car. all is nice and new.

being offered island hopping at rm35 during waiting our car by the company but decided not to take it as we plan to take it at our hotel, awana porto malai (which also nearby the island hopping jetty only). after survey around in hotel and pantai cenang, found the best deal of RM25 (at first doubt it also as just too cheap as reported here but we decided to take the risk) at pantai cenang. thus, for those who plan for island hoping, just walk around pantai cenang for best deals that offer at those small stalls.

about food, the first day we took our MPV we head straight to wan thai to confirm the location as reported here since many have said comment the thai food is just taste so good. location found and was told fully booked and we only able to have our dinner the next day. paid rm50 for booking and ordered our food. when the day come for dinner, we were just dissapointed with the food taste as reported in forum and we, 8 ppls also said is overated but confirm the green curry chicked is good from the 8 dished we ordered. in KL, we can get a good one easily especially the tom yam / pandan chicken. anyway, this is just our comment and our taste may differ from others, is very subjective. thus, pls booked it in advance in order to enjoy ur meal especially during peak season as we saw many tourist bus sending their customer over here. all food are pre cooked and mostly serve kinda almost get cold d even the tom yam. no charcoal was used to pre heat during serving.

the rest of restaurant mentioned here before such as teo seafood, wonderland, orchid ria and sang thai, the taste is much better than wan thai and best of the best is orchid ria, pantai cenang. price wise, we can said is not that cheap too for a medium portion as we ordered usually in order to try more dishes from each restaurant and usually cost 8ppl of us, min rm250 per meal which usually a fish, prawn, mantis prawn, curry beef (if got), vege, chicken, squid, etc.

again regard the food taste for each restaurant, is all our personnel taste and may not affect ur judgement for each shop as stated and may differ from each ppl's taste.

hotel wise, even thou is peak season as told, u can backpack it and walk in any small motel (if u are lone ranger) at pantai cenang and get a good rate.

thats all for now and many thanks for big bros and sis for guiding and sharing in this forum. it really help me a lot in planning and place to visit.

rgrds

This post has been edited by dominic: Nov 26 2012, 03:03 PM

151 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:33 AM