Travel Langkawi V3

samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 08:55 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(wolve @ Apr 30 2012, 03:13 AM)
Just got back from Tioman, and eager to go on another island getaway! Would appreciate advice on:

1. What's the best hotel for budget of RM100/night?
2. How easy is it to get around, i.e. from Pantai Cenang area to Kuah?

And other suggestions deeply appreciated! biggrin.gif Thanks!

PS: Me + hubby + young daughter will be traveling together ^^
1) hotel asia at kuah at under rm100, very new and clean. but it's at kuah

2) if you got car, then from cenang to kuah is very easy. without that, then taxi which is quite plenty at both side

Added on April 30, 2012, 8:57 amSawadee Thai Seafood @ Pantai Cenang

After the 4 hours island hoping, both me and LY are sorta exhausted already. However, since both of us have a bad breakfast, we both agree that we should have something better before we check in our hotel.

However, nobody bother to served us or acknowledge that we will be served soon when we are here. Only 1 waiter is taking orders, and no other waiter are to be seen. We sat for almost 10 minutes before someone finally come to us. I am still amazed on my patience, maybe I am too tired? Hmm….

I love the tom yam here...

nice and fresh clams

This post has been edited by samlee860407: May 2 2012, 07:10 AM
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 10:03 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 09:24 AM)
Where is it rekomen to haf lunch?

When order seafood, wat dish is rekomen to order?

Anyone?
lobster, scallop, tiger prawns, fish, crab
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 10:19 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 10:17 AM)
wow lobster haha

dat cost a bom..

for 2 ppl I think cant fninish so many..

If order lobster, scallop and fish need to specify how to cook or they will cook their style?
lol u seems to know what i gona post in my next 2 blog post , where i order the same dish as you stated

anyway, its the same like u go any restaurant and order your food la shakehead.gif
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 12:55 PM

4,631 posts

300g I think very small only leh

When I order at orkid it's around rm100 per lobster.

Also very small few piece nia. Later I upload the pictar u see lo.

And yes orkid ria got menu and u can ask them
samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 04:25 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 30 2012, 03:39 PM)
He calculated it based on frozen price. Fresh lobster normally costs RM75 and above.

I have attached the pic for your reference. The pic is a fresh lobster ard 350g for RM80++ if i dun recall wrongly.

hmm..maybe maybe

anyway,

i pay RM100++ for this. fresh la, not frozen

20120408 2012.04.07 Orkid Ria @ Langkawi-6 by samlee860407, on Flickr

samlee860407
post Apr 30 2012, 08:38 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 30 2012, 04:39 PM)
Nice to eat or not the lobster? Need to peel the shell like prawn?

I never eat b4 sweat.gif
no need peel. but the head part still got meat, that one need to bite sendiri like crab
samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 07:08 AM

4,631 posts

After lunch, we are really smelly and tired liao, so we head straight to check in at Four Points by Sheraton @ Langkawi

super empty lobby. Even though it's 2pm++ liao, but room still not ready =.='

Luckily, it's ready after 5 minutes. Quite a big room eh....

The beach here is very very sux imo. Sand is not that soft, the sea water is not clear at all, more over when i step in it, the muddy (or tak tau apa) sand make my whole leg black =.=

But the infinity pool is bestest....loved it.

Four Points by Sheraton is a very new hotel in Langkawi, they are doing promotion rate of only RM320 nett per night. And while I am using cash + points which I accumulate in the past (I am a SPG member), I pay less than RM500 for 3 nights here.

IMO, although the location of this hotel sux, nothing to eat nearby, nothing to do nearby, and it's a 15minutes drive to Pantai Cenang, but with such huge room and the pool, i think RM320 nett per night is quite a good choice.

This post has been edited by samlee860407: May 2 2012, 07:09 AM
samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 12:44 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ May 2 2012, 12:42 PM)
Four point  tongue.gif
ehh u stay here too?
samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 01:15 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ May 2 2012, 01:08 PM)
For a night.  brows.gif
ahh i see thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
samlee860407
post May 2 2012, 09:24 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 2 2012, 09:16 PM)
Four Points, looks abit like Langkasuka Beach Resort? Is the location somewhere near the airport?
no more langkasuka. four points take over and refurbish it. and yes, it's very near to the airport
samlee860407
post May 3 2012, 06:02 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ May 3 2012, 05:29 PM)
Eh, the island hopping, how does it work?

I'll stay in Kuah, should I buy those package that wrote 9.30am - 1.30pm to  3-4 different island?

They will let us down on each pantai for an hour right?

I still wondering where to book them.
most of the island hoping start around 9am to 9.30am for morning session, and 2pm for evening

they will bring u to few places, like the pregnant lady and beras basah, there you can spent like 45mins to 60mins each

then eagle feeding which just sit at boat and see eagles

all of them go same place, so just compare price la
samlee860407
post May 7 2012, 08:45 AM

4,631 posts

Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant @ Pantai Cenang, Langkawi

Almost full house at 7pm. It's one of the most famous seafood restaurant in Pantai Cenang.

Few piece nia..but it's good la

again, portion so small lo...tak cukup makan also for 2 people. Cost about RM100 ++ or so. Fresh lobster la, not frozen

Thai style fish, taste gooding.

Total around RM180++. can try la

samlee860407
post May 7 2012, 07:03 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 7 2012, 05:58 PM)
FFFUUUU.. Back from Langkawi 3 days 2 nights.. DAMAGE RM1200++ for 2 ppl

Went the Orkid reatoran at Kuah eat the seafood 200++. Order too much until cannot eat finish. Portion very big although order small. The butter cream lobster sauce very nice... then mantis prawn oso very big.. also order seaweed soup, vege and telur masin sotong

STay at senari bay very nice thumbup.gif Is not directly on pantai cenang but same road as pantai cenang just drive straight for 4-5 mins. Is chalet style very big room. Got private beach summore. and service very good.. security also very good cos is private beach only the guest stay in

Added on May 7, 2012, 5:59 pmforget say cheap also.. 1 day rm150 about same price as other hotel
FFFUUUU..

mine also RM200++ (see picture on post above , including the takeaway back soft shell crab and fries which are not in pics) , but portion small lehhhhh
samlee860407
post May 8 2012, 02:20 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(drsaleh @ May 8 2012, 01:29 PM)
going to langkawi next week. should I use Kuala Kedah jeti, or kuala perlis?? I'm from Kota bharu, btw
i am so gona use kuala perlis jetty on my next trip to langkawi.

almost 2 hours on that ferry is not fun, i rather take a longer trip on car biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post May 8 2012, 05:27 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 8 2012, 04:59 PM)
wow so many days.. go wif how many ppl?

weekday summore ahaha
3 nites call banyak?
samlee860407
post May 10 2012, 08:22 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 8 2012, 04:33 PM)
Eh guys, when u all going langkawi again?

Maybe we can carpool.. I can drive if nobody wanna drive. Then share the toll and petrol lo. From kuala perlis is actually very cheap of share.

My last trip is use kuala perlis. If go alone then price is same.

For hotel or other shit if u dun 1 join cos not close or different interest then we can go separate ways when reach and back together. If fren fren maybe will find common interest

Sounds good?
the last trip i go with friends, include my gf, so total 4 ppl liao, so share among us lo

my next trip to langkawi, i will stay at cenang area only, since i already been to most of worth to visit place in langkawi, my next trip will just relax by the beach, and maybe go to a fishing trip and mangrove tour

so yea, my next trip to langkawi i won't rent a car liao. will just rent a bicycle instead biggrin.gif

then cycle around pantai cenang and pantai tengah, wee wee

QUOTE(kelvyn @ May 10 2012, 08:16 AM)
Got a question here.
Am planning to spend 5 days in Langkawi. So, though of driving over to Langkawi instead of taking flight and later have to rent car in Langkawi.

Is it possible & advisable to drive over from mainland into Langkawi (via ferry)?
it will take like 24 hours to reach langkawi (as per few pages before you ask). So you reach there, 24 hours you won't have a car to use. same like when you go back

the ferry that you sit on and the ferry that take your car to langkawi is different (unlike penang)

Added on May 10, 2012, 8:30 amCable car & Sky bridge @ Langkawi

My friend arrived today and after picking him up at the airport, we head straight to oriental village and thinking to have breakfast there.

Too bad, when we arrived at oriental village at 10am, most restaurant/cafe not opened yet, only 1 of them opened. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

after we had a quick breakfast, we noticed that the queue for the cable car is LONG

damned....

after queuing up for like 1 hour or so....

the femes sky bridge, the view is quite good smile.gif

and from the platform to the sky bridge , you have to walk, and it's not near at all. Picture below is taken from the sky bridge, and the platform where the cable car will reach is on top.

After cable car, it's go kart time...and yes, at 1pm biggrin.gif

too bad, no picture..haha. It cost RM37 per person for 10 minutes, which is not cheap, but the track is quite a fun one.

This post has been edited by samlee860407: May 10 2012, 08:30 AM
samlee860407
post May 10 2012, 09:17 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ May 10 2012, 08:57 AM)
Oh.. IC... thought their ferry service would be like Penang...
So, looks like have to take a flight and then rent a car... hmm.gif
it's just a small small ferry biggrin.gif

samlee860407
post May 10 2012, 10:56 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(cynnz @ May 10 2012, 09:01 PM)
me too me too..no need to rent car...wont be using it also..my next trip is next week..will jus be aroudn cenang area relax only...and maybe go for sunset cruise again..perhaps some water sports also... biggrin.gif  u went for fishing trip before? hows it? i never tried..
hehe yea. cenang is good place to chill. never go fishing trip before, but saw some shop offer fishing trip ma, so thinking to try lo, hehe

where u staying next week?
samlee860407
post May 11 2012, 01:39 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(lolikid @ May 11 2012, 11:50 AM)
Hi all, i will be in Langkawi next week 17th. Becoz im going to Koh Lipe on 18-20th.
I'm now looking for cab service instead of renting a car even is it cheap. Any cab driver contact number can be provide from anyone here?
I need a cab from Kuah to Telaga Harbour on 18th morning & Telaga Harbour to Kuah & Airport on 20th.
thanks  nod.gif
QUOTE(yiivei @ May 11 2012, 01:28 PM)
I don't recall i see any cab there. Mb i not aware of it.

Samlee, can you assist our friend here?
assuming you going by boat, once you out of jetty, as in the shopping complex, you will see some taxi around d, before reaching the rent car area.

if kuah town, seems that just have to wait by the road and catch 1 that pass by, or just ask the hotel to find 1 for you.
samlee860407
post May 11 2012, 01:50 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(lolikid @ May 11 2012, 01:43 PM)
Hey Samlee, thank u for your info. I going by flight. Will stay 1night in Kuah town hotel. That's y next morning i need to go Harbour Park by 8.30am. Just afraid Kuah area hard to get cab. Do you roughly know the rate from Kuah to Harbour.
yea, if at kuah town, there ain't much cab afaik

you can call 04 - 966 5249. price should be around RM30++

PS: or also ask hotel to help you when checking in lo

This post has been edited by samlee860407: May 11 2012, 01:50 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:25 PM