Travel Langkawi V3

hellokitty82
post Nov 28 2012, 12:12 PM

272 posts

going to Langkawi next year. Feb 2013.

looking at two hotels right now. Fave Hotel and Four Points Hotel. Read reviews on tripadvisor.

Fave hotel..looks good, but the room is small, not recommended for family. (im bringing 2.5yo girl)

Four Points Hotel...bad bad review...which im quite surprise. tot this is new hotel and somemore under Sheraton Group. should not be so bad right? ohmy.gif im not so sure.

appreciate any feedback or experience with these two hotels, anyone? smile.gif

1. location wise (beachfront preferably smile.gif )
2. room size wise (bringing a kid is not fun .. as you gotta bring lots of stuff. sweat.gif )
3. cleanliness

anyone care to comment, please? Thanks!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zstan
post Nov 28 2012, 12:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Nov 28 2012, 12:12 PM)

looking at two hotels right now. Fave Hotel and Four Points Hotel. Read reviews on tripadvisor.

Fave hotel..looks good, but the room is small, not recommended for family. (im bringing 2.5yo girl)

Four Points Hotel...bad bad review...which im quite surprise. tot this is new hotel and somemore under Sheraton Group. should not be so bad right?  ohmy.gif im not so sure.

appreciate any feedback or experience with these two hotels, anyone?  smile.gif

1. location wise (beachfront preferably  smile.gif )
2. room size wise (bringing a kid is not fun .. as you gotta bring lots of stuff.  sweat.gif )
3. cleanliness

anyone care to comment, please? Thanks!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
not sure about fave hotel but four points is isolated on its own.. a 5-10 minute drive away from pantai cenang.. this hotel has its own stretch of private beach but the beach is average so technically there's not much entertainment here apart from the impressive swimming pool.. room wise its pretty decent \according to another forummer here..

can check out some pics from my blog :

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/02/lang...-resort-by.html
acevent
post Nov 28 2012, 12:22 PM

203 posts

Hi I am going Langkawi by driving this 9/12/2012.

Wether the place is crowded by that date?
Can i go to Langkawi by Penang Jetty? any recomend?
I will stay there 2d1n.
Anythings need to beware?
Best Star hotel ok?

hellokitty82
post Nov 28 2012, 12:22 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 28 2012, 12:17 PM)
not sure about fave hotel but four points is isolated on its own.. a 5-10 minute drive away from pantai cenang.. this hotel has its own stretch of private beach but the beach is average so technically there's not much entertainment here apart from the impressive swimming pool.. room wise its pretty decent \according to another forummer here..

can check out some pics from my blog :

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/02/lang...-resort-by.html
thanks for your comment zstan. appreciate it. smile.gif

the photos look impressive and big. rolleyes.gif

alright. i shall see if there is anymore comment on this both hotel. its time for me to book. hehe

Ninena
post Nov 29 2012, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(dominic @ Nov 26 2012, 12:34 PM)
im just back too from langkawi since yesterday and the moment i reach kuala kedah jetty waiting the traffic light to turn in, there already 2 motorist asking me to follow them as parking at the kuala kedah are full as told there is no longer have any parking.

thus, in believing what they said, we just follow them and they took us to a nearby shop lot with some on going renovation there. i was piss off and drove away. before i drove to the shop lot for parking, i saw a proper paid parking and i just make a turn and park my car there with many parking available.

just forget those motorist and they are just another scammer at the holiday place in msia which we have met many of those.

and once i landed in langkawi, i was so nervous not to get any car for rent due to many ppls was going to langkawi that time but thanks to this thread whereby we insist to get our rental car in langkawi than in kuala kedah itself as few ppls already approached us for rental and keep nagging of no rental car available due to school holiday for a mpv.

once arrive in langkawi, we just walk straight from jetty point in langkawi even thou approached by few car rental ppls. once out, we look for KFC which is just opposite the jetty point, a single storey shop lot for car rental. we got our serena (2012 model)rm360 for 3days 2 night and return the car by 2pm as told during our last day. (many thanks for those who share out in this forum for guiding me) after asking and choosing around the car rental company over there while avoiding the blacklisted company. paid the money after checking and photo shoot on the car. all is nice and new.

being offered island hopping at rm35 during waiting our car by the company but decided not to take it as we plan to take it at our hotel, awana porto malai (which also nearby the island hopping jetty only). after survey around in hotel and pantai cenang, found the best deal of RM25 (at first doubt it also as just too cheap as reported here but we decided to take the risk) at pantai cenang. thus, for those who plan for island hoping, just walk around pantai cenang for best deals that offer at those small stalls.

about food, the first day we took our MPV we head straight to wan thai to confirm the location as reported here since many have said comment the thai food is just taste so good. location found and was told fully booked and we only able to have our dinner the next day. paid rm50 for booking and ordered our food. when the day come for dinner, we were just dissapointed with the food taste as reported in forum and we, 8 ppls also said is overated but confirm the green curry chicked is good from the 8 dished we ordered. in KL, we can get a good one easily especially the tom yam / pandan chicken. anyway, this is just our comment and our taste may differ from others, is very subjective. thus, pls booked it in advance in order to enjoy ur meal especially during peak season as we saw many tourist bus sending their customer over here. all food are pre cooked and mostly serve kinda almost get cold d even the tom yam. no charcoal was used to pre heat during serving.

the rest of restaurant mentioned here before such as teo seafood, wonderland, orchid ria and sang thai, the taste is much better than wan thai and best of the best is orchid ria, pantai cenang. price wise, we can said is not that cheap too for a medium portion as we ordered usually in order to try more dishes from each restaurant and usually cost 8ppl of us, min rm250 per meal which usually a fish, prawn, mantis prawn, curry beef (if got), vege, chicken, squid, etc.

again regard the food taste for each restaurant, is all our personnel taste and may not affect ur judgement for each shop as stated and may differ from each ppl's taste.

hotel wise, even thou is peak season as told, u can backpack it and walk in any small motel (if u are lone ranger) at pantai cenang and get a good rate.

thats all for now and many thanks for big bros and sis for guiding and sharing in this forum. it really help me a lot in planning and place to visit.

rgrds
I want to ask about the parking in pantai Chenang..bcoz will stay in Malibest this dec any tips?...thanks ya
zstan
post Nov 29 2012, 10:36 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Ninena @ Nov 29 2012, 10:20 AM)
I want to ask about the parking in pantai Chenang..bcoz will stay in Malibest this dec any tips?...thanks ya
There's no proper parking along the beach. People just park along the road.
samlee860407
post Nov 29 2012, 11:00 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Nov 28 2012, 12:12 PM)

Four Points Hotel...bad bad review...which im quite surprise. tot this is new hotel and somemore under Sheraton Group. should not be so bad right?  ohmy.gif im not so sure.

appreciate any feedback or experience with these two hotels, anyone?  smile.gif

1. location wise (beachfront preferably  smile.gif )
2. room size wise (bringing a kid is not fun .. as you gotta bring lots of stuff.  sweat.gif )
3. cleanliness

anyone care to comment, please? Thanks!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
not sure about fave. but i stayed at four points before.

four points is under the starwood groupd (sheraton, westin, W, aloft, le meridien, st regis all also under starwood group). but four points and aloft are the cheapest hotel in the group

anyway, four points room is big. good for kids. it also has balcony.

it's just by the beach, and the beach is pretty queit becoz not much ppl there, also because the water there is imo worse than pantai cenang.

but then nothing is near to the hotel besides the airport. it's around 10minutes drive to pantai cenang.

the only good thing about four points is it's huge room , the hotel is relatively new (just refurbish not long ago, last time is langkasuka or something), and it's infinity pool. very nice smile.gif

clean...yes it is

will i recommend you to stay ? No. at it's price , now should be RM400++ , find any hotel nearer to pantai cenang

Added on November 29, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(acevent @ Nov 28 2012, 12:22 PM)
Hi I am going Langkawi by driving this 9/12/2012.

Wether the place is crowded by that date?
Can i go to Langkawi by Penang Jetty? any recomend?
I will stay there 2d1n.
Anythings need to beware?
Best Star hotel ok?

u can go from penang, but 1 day only limited few trip and quite long imo

can check below

http://www.langkawi-ferry.com/Home/Schedule.aspx

QUOTE(Ninena @ Nov 29 2012, 10:20 AM)
just park at cenang lo. the whole stretch quite a lot parking de

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Nov 29 2012, 11:04 AM
Ninena
post Nov 29 2012, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 29 2012, 11:00 AM)
not sure about fave. but i stayed at four points before.

four points is under the starwood groupd (sheraton, westin, W, aloft, le meridien, st regis all also under starwood group). but four points and aloft are the cheapest hotel in the group

anyway, four points room is big. good for kids. it also has balcony.

it's just by the beach, and the beach is pretty queit becoz not much ppl there, also because the water there is imo worse than pantai cenang.

but then nothing is near to the hotel besides the airport. it's around 10minutes drive to pantai cenang.

the only good thing about four points is it's huge room , the hotel is relatively new (just refurbish not long ago, last time is langkasuka or something), and it's infinity pool.  very nice smile.gif

clean...yes it is

will i recommend you to stay ? No. at it's price , now should be RM400++ , find any hotel nearer to pantai cenang

Added on November 29, 2012, 11:04 am

u can go from penang, but 1 day only limited few trip and quite long imo

can check below

http://www.langkawi-ferry.com/Home/Schedule.aspx
just park at cenang lo. the whole stretch quite a lot parking de
Tq..wow the room is indeed huge...mm maybe later can stay there

This post has been edited by Ninena: Nov 29 2012, 11:38 AM
samlee860407
post Nov 29 2012, 11:45 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Ninena @ Nov 29 2012, 11:37 AM)
Tq..wow the room is indeed huge...mm maybe later can stay there
rmb...only 2 pros of this hotel lol

1) big room
2) nice infinity pool
oldskool AE
post Nov 29 2012, 12:38 PM

89 posts

Oh the langkasuka resort been turn to four point hotel. I wanna go langkawi january next year, no wonder I cant find langkasuka resort on the net.
Stayed in langkasuka few years back, the room is huge with private beach but cant swim there cos lots of jelly fish.

samlee860407
post Nov 30 2012, 09:01 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Nov 30 2012, 07:11 AM)
is there a nice and clean chalet near the beautiful beaches. i assume the nicest beach is in Pantai Cenang right? i like to stay in chalet because only my family can get to hear the sound of wave and wind.
nicest beach is not cenang, cenang is the most happening beach

if want beautiful beach then stay at andaman, four seasons, datai

zstan
post Nov 30 2012, 11:19 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 30 2012, 09:01 AM)
nicest beach is not cenang, cenang is the most happening beach

if want beautiful beach then stay at andaman, four seasons, datai
its not exactly beautiful (especially for four seasons laugh.gif ) but got more privacy lor
samlee860407
post Nov 30 2012, 11:28 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2012, 11:19 AM)
its not exactly beautiful (especially for four seasons laugh.gif ) but got more privacy lor
but cin cin cai cai also better than cenang kut? biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 30 2012, 01:15 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 30 2012, 11:28 AM)
but cin cin cai cai also better than cenang kut? biggrin.gif
no leh four season sand damn rough. andaman n datai then a bit better
chaiyeen
post Nov 30 2012, 07:43 PM

278 posts

hey peeps, i'll be landing in alor setar airport, then take taxi to kuala kedah jetty. anyone knows how much is the taxi fare for that?
aezad87
post Dec 2 2012, 08:44 PM

86 posts

Hi there.. please recommended me place to buy cheap choc and shopping outlet..
also wanna ask bout motorcycle rental.. is there any motorcycle rental company at the airport?
Ash96
post Dec 3 2012, 06:45 PM

206 posts

Hello.

May I ask if the Sky Bridge is still closed for maintenance ?

zstan
post Dec 3 2012, 06:45 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aezad87 @ Dec 2 2012, 08:44 PM)
Hi there.. please recommended me place to buy cheap choc and shopping outlet..
also wanna ask bout motorcycle rental.. is there any motorcycle rental company at the airport?
http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/02/lang...e-shopping.html
Ash96
post Dec 3 2012, 08:39 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Dec 3 2012, 10:45 AM)
Hello.

May I ask if the Sky Bridge is still closed for maintenance ?
anyone knows? sad.gif
Xiao Pei
post Dec 3 2012, 11:21 PM

Hi, is the car rental and tour package still can get easily during super peak season? Coz i planning to go during CNY 2013. Thanks

151 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:40 PM