124 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Carling Cup Winner,FA Cup Runner Up 2012

Rotuham
post Apr 24 2012, 10:55 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 24 2012, 08:03 PM)
Wicked AC Milan!
I knew this would happen from the beginning.Hope milan fail to win the league laugh.gif
imin
post Apr 24 2012, 11:07 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Apr 24 2012, 10:55 PM)
I knew this would happen from the beginning.Hope milan fail to win the league laugh.gif
i think this can only be good for liverpool. from what i've seen, aquilani's are one creative midfielder and his shooting are accurate... in short better than what liverpool have now
amirbashah
post Apr 24 2012, 11:58 PM

274 posts

Do you guys know who is the guy sitting beside Bjørn Tore Kvarme?

This post has been edited by amirbashah: Apr 24 2012, 11:59 PM
Everdying
post Apr 25 2012, 12:38 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Apr 24 2012, 11:58 PM)
Do you guys know who is the guy sitting beside Bjørn Tore Kvarme?

the botak one? one of LFC's best LB - rob jones.
amirbashah
post Apr 25 2012, 12:43 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 25 2012, 12:38 AM)
Thanks smile.gif
TSsolstice818
post Apr 25 2012, 12:48 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:48 PM)
solstice can u update the result on the tag please?
Will do. Probably by this weekend given the workload i have. smile.gif
etseleste
post Apr 25 2012, 05:07 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 25 2012, 12:38 AM)
His best position is always right back. He was shifted to left back with the impending arrival of McAteer. One of the best full backs we had, too bad he couldn't fulfill his true potential for club & country due to numerous injuries that plagued him throughout his career. Reminds me of Jamie Redknapp. Had he remained healthy, I doubt Gary Neville would own the right back spot for national team as Rob Jones was the first choice before Terry Venables threw Neville into the Euro96 limelight as RJ had to withdraw due to injury.
digilife
post Apr 25 2012, 05:10 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Fernando Torres's Goal just now have repaid Roman's 50Mil spending

wat a classic Torres Goal

Adryan
post Apr 25 2012, 05:20 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:34 PM)
no manager in the right mind plan to lost be it league or cup competition.  if you look at our performance since Jan, we are sitting comfortably in the relegation zone.  If the season start in Jan, we are in the relegation dogfight.

As the manager, KD is responsible to arrest the slump and the slump have gone for far too long.  1 mth slump we can say we hit a bad patch.  2 mth slump, mayb extended slump.  3 mths is alarming.  we are into our 4th mth now.  when a team hit a slump its very important to turn the corner fast.  Extended slump like ours will effect the morale.  example, Arsenal had a bad bad start.  They didnt win any cup this season yet they are now 3rd.  They a few match along the way but a quick turn make recovery easier.  We on the other hand, win Carling then continue losing right after.  We manage to beat Everton in the FA semi and then continue losing in league.

I am sure KD did not plan for that.  I am also sure the player do not mean to lost like that.  collectively, they have manage to end up 8th with over 70mil spend.
I understand that but as I've said I will be very much more worried if we're not creating chances are have been constantly battered in all areas of the pitch.

Kenny showed last season that we can win games and score goals (5-0 vs Brum, 5-2 vs Fulham, 3-1 vs United, 3-0 vs Wolves and Newcastles) but just like him, I'm also puzzled to why we can't score goals this season.
skeleton202
post Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

now i'm starting to doubt the chance of winning the fa... chelsea is just a renaissance under matteo..
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 25 2012, 05:10 AM)

I never believed it when they said Torres was past it.

This is how it's done. His composure in front of goal is something we have sorely lacked this season.

Added on April 25, 2012, 6:52 am
QUOTE(Adryan @ Apr 25 2012, 05:20 AM)
I understand that but as I've said I will be very much more worried if we're not creating chances are have been constantly battered in all areas of the pitch.

Kenny showed last season that we can win games and score goals (5-0 vs Brum, 5-2 vs Fulham, 3-1 vs United, 3-0 vs Wolves and Newcastles) but just like him, I'm also puzzled to why we can't score goals this season.
Choose 1:
a) Poor finishing.
b) Voodoo spell cast by David Moyes.

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)
now i'm starting to doubt the chance of winning the fa... chelsea is just a renaissance under matteo..
Too early to say that.
Remember how well they played under Ancelotti when he first became manager?
Remember how well WE played under KK end of last season?

This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Apr 25 2012, 06:52 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 07:15 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 25 2012, 05:10 AM)

Made no difference whether he score or not........
They were already on their way

Added on April 25, 2012, 7:16 am
QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)
You are always moaning and groaning.

Lighten up and enjoy the thrills and spills of Liverpool FC as a fan.

Added on April 25, 2012, 7:20 am
QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)

This is how it's done. His composure in front of goal is something we have sorely lacked this season.
Twas a ONE on One...........composure? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 25 2012, 07:20 AM
Adryan
post Apr 25 2012, 08:16 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)

Added on April 25, 2012, 6:52 am
Choose 1:
a) Poor finishing.
b) Voodoo spell cast by David Moyes.
Too early to say that.

Here we go again .. how many times have we heard "Torres is back!!" after he scores one goal, only for him to go the next 10 games without a goal. Not saying it will happen again but it's just a goal.

It's definitely poor finishing but what the players are "kinda" doing it right is they are certainly aiming for heigh or corners only for to rebound off the woodwork. If only ... the goal was 2 inches taller.

Jordan Henderson's shot which came off the bar on the weekend, actually came off Foster after that but in most cases, the ball ends up at the back of the net and not roll sideways away from goal!!

I have to admit though, Chelsea do look a different team under Di Matteo but the only thing I can see, he's been in charge in games where the opponents are let's say ... just beatable for their standards, aside Man City (they lost 2-1) and Barcelona. I mean they came out the better side against Barcelona but they practically had 3 shots on target in 180 minutes and they scored 3 goals. After last nightm Barcelona probably know how we feel after 90% of our games!
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 08:36 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Apr 25 2012, 08:16 AM)
Here we go again .. how many times have we heard "Torres is back!!" after he scores one goal, only for him to go the next 10 games without a goal. Not saying it will happen again but it's just a goal.

It's definitely poor finishing but what the players are "kinda" doing it right is they are certainly aiming for heigh or corners only for to rebound off the woodwork. If only ... the goal was 2 inches taller.

Jordan Henderson's shot which came off the bar on the weekend, actually came off Foster after that but in most cases, the ball ends up at the back of the net and not roll sideways away from goal!!

I have to admit though, Chelsea do look a different team under Di Matteo but the only thing I can see, he's been in charge in games where the opponents are let's say ... just beatable for their standards, aside Man City (they lost 2-1) and Barcelona. I mean they came out the better side against Barcelona but they practically had 3 shots on target in 180 minutes and they scored 3 goals. After last nightm Barcelona probably know how we feel after 90% of our games!
Aye

Barca's play reminded me of Liverpool...lotsa posession and pressin, but goals hard to come by.

IMO that Barca's play has been found out.....

a) barca's strength is posession and pressing
b) Barca's weakness is their defence AND inability to change their play mid game. They
dont have a Big No.9. They tried to suss this out by having Ibrahimovic but he doesnt like the bench!
They are also missin the predator like us in Villa/Etoo missing
c) Therefore crowd the box defensively and hope. Rafa used this aginst them before and it worked as well.
d) Then play a strong ONe man striker and hope for the breaks
e) Otherwsie its penalties which is a roulette
nando
post Apr 25 2012, 09:29 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

Chelsea? The players are super good. The only thing is they are selective about their gaffer. Di Matteo knows how to rub their egos and make them happy and hence, the willingness to go all out for him on the pitch. Scolari and AVB are good coaches and tacticians but they lost half the battle when their troops goes into the pitch half hearted...

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 25 2012, 09:38 AM
Zephyr_Mage
post Apr 25 2012, 09:32 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 25 2012, 07:15 AM)
Twas a ONE on One...........composure?  biggrin.gif
How many times did Suarez fail to score from one-on-ones this season? biggrin.gif

"Doing it right" is putting the ball in the back of the net. Just tap it in or place the shot. Not aiming for hollywood shots which risk being ricocheted off the crossbar.

Looking at the 29 times vid someone posted (was it you?), many of the shots were either half chances or shots from acute angles. Ergo we were never gonna score from those shots.

What I don't understand is how keepers always manage to give in amazing performances at Anfield.
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 09:54 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Apr 25 2012, 09:32 AM)
How many times did Suarez fail to score from one-on-ones this season? biggrin.gif
"Doing it right" is putting the ball in the back of the net. Just tap it in or place the shot. Not aiming for hollywood shots which risk being ricocheted off the crossbar.

Dont know But how many times Luis is One on one with the defenders about 20 yds away? biggrin.gif
demio121
post Apr 25 2012, 09:57 AM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Apr 25 2012, 05:20 AM)

i know. Its mindboggling we manage to hit the post all season yet me mange 40 goals in 34 matches in the league. in cup competition we fair much better. its not sumthing that happen since Aug 2011 but with the extended slump, thing got from bad to worst. Frustration sets in.

I dun blame the player for lack urgency. we manage to create chances, we dominate the entire game but we cannot slot the ball into the net. what happen during the 2nd half last season, i call it euphoria. a legend step in after a bad start and morale and spirit is high. its the same for Chelsea now. Di Matteo step in after AVB fails and every1 is eager to change. The real Di Matteo work is next season (if he gets the job).

at the end of day, reality is no win no points. no amount of chances or hitting the post will gv us money or send us to CL.
led_zep_freak
post Apr 25 2012, 10:36 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 25 2012, 08:36 AM)
Aye

Barca's play reminded me of Liverpool...lotsa posession and pressin, but goals hard to come by.

IMO that Barca's play has been found out.....

a) barca's strength is posession and pressing
b) Barca's weakness is their defence AND inability to change their play mid game. They
dont have a Big No.9. They tried to suss this out by having Ibrahimovic but he doesnt like the bench!
They are also missin the predator like us in Villa/Etoo missing
c) Therefore crowd the box defensively and hope. Rafa used this aginst them before and it worked as well.
d) Then play a strong ONe man striker and hope for the breaks
e) Otherwsie its penalties which is a roulette
The lack of No.9 is correct, however they suffered a blow when David Villa suffered a long term injury. They are playing Messi as a makeshift striker and while he may be scoring goals for fun in other matches, an out-and-out striker makes a difference in tight matches such as these.

It seems that they will end this season trophyless but they are still a very good team. I hope Guardiola would stay because it'll be a pity to see the Barca's current golden era come to a halt prematurely. People may talk about their play-acting and all but when on form, they have served up some of the best football you'll ever see.

As for Chelsea, congratulations to them but I hope they lose both finals. tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 10:51 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 25 2012, 10:36 AM)

As for Chelsea, congratulations to them but I hope they lose both finals. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

124 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0215sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:49 PM