English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Carling Cup Winner,FA Cup Runner Up 2012

prophetjul
post Apr 23 2012, 07:13 AM

12,287 posts

We have no consistent prolific goal scorer since Torres left.
Add to that, we have no goals from midfielders.
i think this season, bar Stevie, the defenders have outscored the midfielders

Added on April 23, 2012, 7:22 amKeegan, Rush, Dalglish, Owen, Fowler, - what do these have in common apart from goals?

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 23 2012, 07:22 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 23 2012, 08:53 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Apr 23 2012, 07:34 AM)

Also, Papiss Cisse has scored more goals than Henderson, Adam, Downing, Kuyt and Maxi put together. Our strikers are misfiring but this isn't helped by the lack of goals from midfielders as well!

Keegan, Rush, Dalglish, Owen and Fowler ... they are British? XD
Cisse is a revelation.

The point i am trying to make is the above strikers KNOW instinctively where the goalmouth is,
and how to get into those goal scoring pisitions.
Our present set of players do not.
Suarex flashed two crosses in the 6yd box....no one near there to convert.
Our midfielders do not have goals in their boots.

Heck they hardly venture into the box!

Last note i happen to watch the Masters game between Liv vs Manc.
Watch how Robbie sneaks into the box and finishes with panache....aaaahhhhh those were the days
prophetjul
post Apr 23 2012, 10:58 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 23 2012, 09:55 AM)
I still can't wrap myself around how we ended up on the losing end again. We've now hit the post 30 times, the highest tally of any Premier League club since 2000 and the season isn't over yet. I still believe that all we need to do is to keep trying. You don't come closer to scoring a goal than hitting the post. I think it'd take a brave man to say that if we wouldnt have scored more in 9 out of 10 seasons if we replayed the season that many times. Not much more the manager can do than to find ways for us to create chances. Even Suarez for all his ability has been guilty of missing gilt edged opportunities.
If I were to be harsh, I'd say that sacking the manager at this point is a lazy option, and a little near sighted. Not like we've been dominated and outplayed. Like you have said, we have created and played well at home in the majority of our games. We can't expect King Kenny to lace up his boots and put chances away as he did in the old days. We aren't the finished product buy if we keep playing attacking football and dominating the opposition, surely it's just about juggling players around and being more clinical? So let's see what happens during the break. Hmm to think we were linked to Jelavic before he signed for Rangers.
I wouldn't be caught creaming in my pants yet. He did show some energy and nice touches when he last came on but so did Nabil El-Zhar and Mark Gonzalez. He could be found wanting by more experienced defenders after they figure him out.
Suarez is not clinical enough. He should take over Kyut's right side.
We need another Fowler/Owen/Rushie type....any thoughts?

Some we cant afford....Tevez, Aguero,
prophetjul
post Apr 23 2012, 11:09 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 23 2012, 11:06 AM)
It seems good.
Suarez could be a good winger.
Meaning we need to sign a striker then.
We need an INSTINCTIVE finisher.
No point Suarez creating all those but no one has the noos to go into
those goal scoring positions.
IF we had Chelsea's Sturridge or Kalou, they would be hammering in those chances.

These two 'maybe' affordable?
prophetjul
post Apr 23 2012, 11:44 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 23 2012, 11:39 AM)
Well Fowler was pretty clinical during the Masters Tournament. I doubt we'll see a more natural finisher for some time. He has amazing awareness and didn't need to look at the goal to place his shot. I wouldn't want Tevez for all his ability. His attitude and lack of loyalty leaves a lot to be desired. I'd hate to be over-reliant on just one player though. What's more disturbing to me isn't that our forwards aren't finding the mark, it's the lack of contribution from the midfielders. Even Stevie has been hitting it wide of the mark.
Yes i noticed what Robbie did last night...one of our greatest natural finishers.

Tevez type is what Suarez needs. i was just pointing out the TYPE not tevez per se.

And i was also poiting out the lack of goal contribution form midfielders.
In fact i think the defenders have done as well as the midfieldrs in the goals contribution this season.
in dont see many goals written on the boots of our present midfielders.
prophetjul
post Apr 24 2012, 08:18 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 23 2012, 09:36 PM)
Yes & No.
If Distin was not making mistake on back pass which let to 1 v 1 for Suaraz to score, Liv might not able to come back from 1-0, there was no big spark on second half until the Suarez goal which lift the team morale as well as Everton seem totally loss afterwards.

IF.....alamak......Can be easily said if Agger cleared instead of waiting for Carra, we wont have let the 1st goal in.If Suarez did not pressurise Distin, he wont have made the mistakke........
If Stevie didnt score the 1st goal at Istanbiul, we wouldnt have won. YES sometimes one goal changes
the whole complexion fo the game.
Lookie ate the Mancs/Bitters game...same thing happened

I don't see it is tactical wise that change the game, but a mistake done. Liv offered little threat prior to the goal.

How many times, we see substitution that change the game? I cannot remember. 
How many times, we see substitution come to score and win the match? I cannot remember.

isayman. In the same match which you described up there, Bellers came on and set up the winning goal.
Getting old with age?  biggrin.gif

Yes. i agree that this relegation form is very unpleasnt and disconcerting.
prophetjul
post Apr 24 2012, 01:31 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Apr 24 2012, 01:16 PM)
I suppose you're right. It did look like a good prospect at the time. I actually thought he was a robust kind of player back then and was excited at the thought of him being unstoppable in the air. Until lately, that was just a wishful thinking as i watched this colossal of a man starts tripping over his own footings and not as dominating in the air as i thought he'd be. He has improved lately so maybe there's still hope for him.

But again i reiterate, Newcastle took the opportunity to rebuild and rebuild they did. Chelsea came and took Torres and Meireles from us, and we failed to recover. Somehow this picture doesn't look right at all. How is it one club can end up being 4th and the other remained almost stagnant.
Unfortunately for us, our strikers could not score and Newcastles were scoring freely.

Its all about goals....lookie at Spurs for eg. At the beginning, they were scoring freely as well with Adebayor et al.
Suddenly goal drought appears, and they are slowly sliding down.

i am encouraged by the type of footie that our players can play.

Its just the finishing that needs to be sussed out.

IMO that we need some goal getting midfeilders when Maxi and Kyut ships out.
There are hardly any goals in Adam, Henderson, Downing, Jonjo, Spearing and Lucas.
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 07:15 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 25 2012, 05:10 AM)
Fernando Torres's Goal just now have repaid Roman's 50Mil spending

wat a classic Torres Goal
Made no difference whether he score or not........
They were already on their way

Added on April 25, 2012, 7:16 am
QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)
now i'm starting to doubt the chance of winning the fa... chelsea is just a renaissance under matteo..
You are always moaning and groaning.

Lighten up and enjoy the thrills and spills of Liverpool FC as a fan.

Added on April 25, 2012, 7:20 am
QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Apr 25 2012, 06:45 AM)
I never believed it when they said Torres was past it.

This is how it's done. His composure in front of goal is something we have sorely lacked this season.
Twas a ONE on One...........composure? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 25 2012, 07:20 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 08:36 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Apr 25 2012, 08:16 AM)
Here we go again .. how many times have we heard "Torres is back!!" after he scores one goal, only for him to go the next 10 games without a goal. Not saying it will happen again but it's just a goal.

It's definitely poor finishing but what the players are "kinda" doing it right is they are certainly aiming for heigh or corners only for to rebound off the woodwork. If only ... the goal was 2 inches taller.

Jordan Henderson's shot which came off the bar on the weekend, actually came off Foster after that but in most cases, the ball ends up at the back of the net and not roll sideways away from goal!!

I have to admit though, Chelsea do look a different team under Di Matteo but the only thing I can see, he's been in charge in games where the opponents are let's say ... just beatable for their standards, aside Man City (they lost 2-1) and Barcelona. I mean they came out the better side against Barcelona but they practically had 3 shots on target in 180 minutes and they scored 3 goals. After last nightm Barcelona probably know how we feel after 90% of our games!
Aye

Barca's play reminded me of Liverpool...lotsa posession and pressin, but goals hard to come by.

IMO that Barca's play has been found out.....

a) barca's strength is posession and pressing
b) Barca's weakness is their defence AND inability to change their play mid game. They
dont have a Big No.9. They tried to suss this out by having Ibrahimovic but he doesnt like the bench!
They are also missin the predator like us in Villa/Etoo missing
c) Therefore crowd the box defensively and hope. Rafa used this aginst them before and it worked as well.
d) Then play a strong ONe man striker and hope for the breaks
e) Otherwsie its penalties which is a roulette
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 09:54 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Apr 25 2012, 09:32 AM)
How many times did Suarez fail to score from one-on-ones this season? biggrin.gif
"Doing it right" is putting the ball in the back of the net. Just tap it in or place the shot. Not aiming for hollywood shots which risk being ricocheted off the crossbar.

Dont know But how many times Luis is One on one with the defenders about 20 yds away? biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 25 2012, 10:51 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 25 2012, 10:36 AM)

As for Chelsea, congratulations to them but I hope they lose both finals. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2012, 08:00 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Apr 26 2012, 07:42 AM)

Its the white away strip jinx, i tells ya........
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2012, 08:30 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Apr 26 2012, 08:24 AM)
its like watching how we give our season away....!!!!

i got a suggestion.  anyone with connection to KD pls fwd.  Please make the post smaller (height and width) during training.  So that, they keep hitting the post in training but on matchday its on target. cool right?
They may still aim for the posts regardless! shocking.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2012, 09:04 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 26 2012, 08:56 AM)
i jokingly said after we hit posts few times in the first few match of the season (never thought this problem will linger....)

aim for the post...and you'll score....
Methinks Nandos cicken will do the trick! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2012, 09:29 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 26 2012, 09:24 AM)
like one comedy i saw lol..the phyton was coiling around the hero...he ask his girlfriend to help..use stick and aim to hit snake's head....twice the girlfriend hit his head..

then he said...try aiming for my head...and the girlfriend did the job.... doh.gif

Can someone please check how many times Aquaman and J Cole have hit them posts in Spain and France?

on a more serious note, yeah, Kalou leaked out the hint that Dirk wants to go back Feyernoord...
Kalou? How would he know?

But there has been rumours of this AND for 1MIL! mad.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2012, 11:46 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 26 2012, 10:45 AM)
On an unrelated note, I wonder what Ramos was aiming for.

Credit to Chelsea for hanging in there but I would have liked to see Barca play in the final. Heck, I like to watch Barca play on any given day. I see posters disecting what they did wrong but in the end, they get most things right. The first leg in particular were theirs for the taking. As Liverpools fans, we should be able to empathise - dominating the game, having the lion's share of possession, chances and yet getting sucker punched in the end. I almost fell off my chauir laughing when I read and article the next day depicting how Chelsea got their formation right. Well if you ask me, their formation had little to do with their escape. It was more about Barca scuppering their chances. When you play a team like Barca, you know they'll create chances. All you can do is to minimise the amount of opportunities they get. It's kind of like guarding Michael Jordan. You know he'll score 30-40 on any given day and if you limit him to below 30 points, you've had a good day. You'll never really stop Barca. The understanding between their players is almost telepathic having played together since their youth days. You just do all you can to limit their opportunities and hope they miss them.
A joy to watch is Barca.

Barca's weaknesses were

a) Defence
b) Inability to change their strategy mid game- No Big No.9 centre. They sorely miss a predator
in Villa -similar to our situation

R madrid and chelsea set up for that. Like you mentioned

limit their opportunities and hope they miss them.

AND counter strike them with Ronaldo or Drogba to snatch a SUCKERs goal.

Formation 6-3-1
prophetjul
post Apr 30 2012, 08:36 AM

12,287 posts

Hey PPL

CHILL- O-U-T.....

Enjoy the FA cup final....dont get so stressed out even before the ball's kicked........

Why worry so much about the plastics?

Let them worry about us......

Lets just H-Ope* carra does not start.......Drogba will give him HELL
prophetjul
post May 2 2012, 09:00 AM

12,287 posts

New Ingerlund gaffer....... biggrin.gif

prophetjul
post May 2 2012, 09:12 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(simplicio @ May 2 2012, 09:06 AM)
yeah...100mil spent to add depth in our team...
where is it? even 2nd string player cannot be that bad ler..

personally i don't KK can last  till next season without this weekend FA cup...I want him to succeed but its just a hallucinating fairytale...

I dont know how he wanna sort this mess....don't think there will be another 100 mil waiting for him come summer...so he needs to sell and then buy.
Are you J Henry? tongue.gif
prophetjul
post May 2 2012, 09:15 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Adell G @ May 2 2012, 09:12 AM)
Even with a trophy, this has to be another low and frustrating season..
Cant see a future with the current team, no depth at all and unreliable 2nd team
how are we supposed to compete for the champs league next season?
I made a right choice by sleeping after the first half mad.gif
No Doubt a GenZ .....no patience.....all instant cafe. biggrin.gif

BTW we arent in the CL next season............

0.0660sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:46 PM