125 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

jimsontan6939
post Oct 3 2013, 12:53 PM

42 posts

Hi ,

I'm now in 20s and my weight in 120kgs .
I've lost my weight from 110kgs reduces to 80kgs quite some years ago and now i gained back my weight even more than where i started to lost .

I used to workout at gym but now i lost my passion of doing a lot of cardios , exercises . I joined Fitness first and Celebrity but terminated eventually due to not going , finding excuses for myself .

Now i thinking to join Jatomi , but i still not finding the right passion which i had ages ago . Anyone have any idea how to adjust my own mind ?

sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 01:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jimsontan6939 @ Oct 3 2013, 12:53 PM)
Hi ,

I've lost my weight from 110kgs reduces to 80kgs quite some years ago and now i gained back my weight even more than where i started to lost .

I used to workout at gym but now i lost my passion of doing a lot of cardios , exercises . I joined Fitness first and Celebrity but terminated eventually due to not going , finding excuses for myself .

Now i thinking to join Jatomi , but i still not finding the right passion which i had ages ago . Anyone have any idea how to adjust my own mind ?
You'll need to understand the reason why you want to change, form a goal and then go for it. If you feel like giving up midway, then change your routine, get a workout partner or meet new people in the gym who can motivate you. You can also try out new programs and new challenges (eg. marathon).

Last but not least, a change of environment could be good as well (but again, just a matter of time till you get bored).
TiF
post Oct 3 2013, 02:02 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(jimsontan6939 @ Oct 3 2013, 12:53 PM)
Hi ,

i think u need some serious motivation. i used to be just like u, i lost about 7-8kgs then i give up, and eating my way back to the original weight of 102kg, and then keep gaining weight until 109kg. but after 1 of my colleague died of stroke at the age of mid 30s, and my company event organizer died of heart failure at the age of 41. it kind of struck me that i might end up like them if i dun start taking care of myself.

at 33yo, my blood pressure was 140/90, my cholestrol level is dangerously hight at 5.9, wegith 109kg. and all these stats just scream that i am very unhealthy. i felt tired easily too. i ate nasi lemak/roti canai for breakfast, mountain high of rice, especially bak kut teh for lunch, some other heavy meal such as McD for dinner, potato chips & a canned of coke for snacks before i sleep. sitting down pc gaming or watching movie after work every day. thinking back, feel kind of scary, biggrin.gif

then i dig back my old photo when i was mid 70kgs few years back, and that kind of make me sad. so i challenge myself to lose my weight to 75kg, lower down my cholestrol level to normal range, and hopefully i will be able to live without the med for my bp. oh ya, and able to wear those shirts and pants that left in my closet.

jimsontan6939
post Oct 3 2013, 02:15 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 3 2013, 01:38 PM)
You'll need to understand the reason why you want to change, form a goal and then go for it. If you feel like giving up midway, then change your routine, get a workout partner or meet new people in the gym who can motivate you. You can also try out new programs and new challenges (eg. marathon).

Last but not least, a change of environment could be good as well (but again, just a matter of time till you get bored).
Thanks for your comment .
I think i need to take really serious consideration of my own physical workout and transformation to go healthly lifestyle .

sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 02:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 3 2013, 02:02 PM)
i think u need some serious motivation. i used to be just like u, i lost about 7-8kgs then i give up, and eating my way back to the original weight of 102kg, and then keep gaining weight until 109kg. but after 1 of my colleague died of stroke at the age of mid 30s, and my company event organizer died of heart failure at the age of 41. it kind of struck me that i might end up like them if i dun start taking care of myself.

at 33yo, my blood pressure was 140/90, my cholestrol level is dangerously hight at 5.9, wegith 109kg. and all these stats just scream that i am very unhealthy. i felt tired easily too. i ate nasi lemak/roti canai for breakfast, mountain high of rice, especially bak kut teh for lunch, some other heavy meal such as McD for dinner, potato chips & a canned of coke for snacks before i sleep. sitting down pc gaming or watching movie after work every day. thinking back, feel kind of scary, biggrin.gif

then i dig back my old photo when i was mid 70kgs few years back, and that kind of make me sad. so i challenge myself to lose my weight to 75kg, lower down my cholestrol level to normal range, and hopefully i will be able to live without the med for my bp. oh ya, and able to wear those shirts and pants that left in my closet.
That was scary indeed, good thing you have resolved to changing your habit wink.gif

I used to be a couch potato. Love sitting in front of the TV with junk food (chips, twisties, whatever you name it). I still do but have since replaced them with groundnuts instead.

QUOTE(jimsontan6939 @ Oct 3 2013, 02:15 PM)
Thanks for your comment .
I think i need to take really serious consideration of my own physical workout and transformation to go healthly lifestyle .
Yup, you'll need to find the reason why you'd want to go through with the transformation (aesthetic, health or personal satisfaction etc) and then use that as the key motivation to stick to your workouts. Aim high biggrin.gif
TiF
post Oct 3 2013, 02:31 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 3 2013, 02:28 PM)
That was scary indeed, good thing you have resolved to changing your habit wink.gif

I used to be a couch potato. Love sitting in front of the TV with junk food (chips, twisties, whatever you name it). I still do but have since replaced them with groundnuts instead.
Yup, you'll need to find the reason why you'd want to go through with the transformation (aesthetic, health or personal satisfaction etc) and then use that as the key motivation to stick to your workouts. Aim high biggrin.gif
arent groundnuts supposed to be high in calories? not sure of it myself, been told bout that.

btw, every now and then, some frens/colleagues will come and ask me "are you losing weight? u look slimmer" and that kind of make my day, haha
sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 02:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 3 2013, 02:31 PM)
arent groundnuts supposed to be high in calories? not sure of it myself, been told bout that.

btw, every now and then, some frens/colleagues will come and ask me "are you losing weight? u look slimmer" and that kind of make my day, haha
Nuts, peanuts, peanut butter etc is good oil. I admit they're not low in calories so I tend to eat half the pack each time.

Couldn't agree better on the compliments. They always help in working harder.
jimsontan6939
post Oct 3 2013, 02:38 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 3 2013, 02:02 PM)

Yes exactly , it just passed years not more than 3 , i can't believe how i did it and what had encouraged me to diet so extremely to slimming down 40kgs at half year . Those picture i was taken that time were now precious not sure if i can see it in real for future .
Its really a big mistakes of my life im not moving on to maintain my body and let it go wild and became big .

Your effort will get paid someday , keep it up and i'll see your result . Cheers to you and myself biggrin.gif . Aza Aza fighting !
jimsontan6939
post Oct 3 2013, 02:39 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 3 2013, 02:28 PM)

Yes babe , thanks for encouraging .
ssilvia
post Oct 4 2013, 12:33 PM

107 posts

halo everyone..after view all the post..i hv strong motivation already...so good!! smile.gif
arissa1992
post Oct 7 2013, 11:20 AM

46 posts

Just want to ask,
why do I gain weight after a week of gymming?
and by a week of gymming I mean 5 days a week, and I weigh in weekly.
I feel better as in healthier but the numbers on the scale is depressing.

can anyone suggest a routine for me to follow for effective weight loss?
My built is pretty bulky already, so I'm aiming to tone up and lose flabs, with minimal muscle increase.
Plus I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits,
where people eat to survive, so any easily available healthy foods u guys can think of?

This post has been edited by arissa1992: Oct 7 2013, 11:21 AM
sweet_pez
post Oct 7 2013, 03:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arissa1992 @ Oct 7 2013, 11:20 AM)
Just want to ask,
why do I gain weight after a week of gymming?
and by a week of gymming I mean 5 days a week, and I weigh in weekly.
I feel better as in healthier but the numbers on the scale is depressing.

can anyone suggest a routine for me to follow for effective weight loss?
My built is pretty bulky already, so I'm aiming to tone up and lose flabs, with minimal muscle increase.
Plus I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits,
where people eat to survive, so any easily available healthy foods u guys can think of?
1. You shouldn't weigh every week, your weight fluctuates. Just weigh yourself once every 3-4 months to check progress.

2. What workout do you do in the gym?

3. With "I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits" maybe you can tell us what sort of choices you have. Otherwise it's too vast and vague to advice.
arissa1992
post Oct 7 2013, 07:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 7 2013, 03:51 PM)
1. You shouldn't weigh every week, your weight fluctuates. Just weigh yourself once every 3-4 months to check progress.

3. With "I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits" maybe you can tell us what sort of choices you have. Otherwise it's too vast and vague to advice.
1. Then do u know of any way tht I can use to assess whether I'm constantly making progress or doing the right thing?

2.warm up, around 20 to 30 mins cardio, then some dumbbell lifting and stretching exercises plus the misc. Machines for the remaining 30 mins or so.

3.erm, the only green leafy vegetable is cabbage. I have oats too.
Rural area, so theres only the basic foods.

Thanks for ur prompt reply!
darklight79
post Oct 7 2013, 09:09 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 7 2013, 03:51 PM)

You SHOULD weight yourself every week, at a particular time on a particular day. Only experienced people can purely rely on the mirror as a gauge.
sweet_pez
post Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 7 2013, 09:09 PM)
You SHOULD weight yourself every week, at a particular time on a particular day. Only experienced people can purely rely on the mirror as a gauge.
Seriously? You mean if I started to weigh on Wednesday night, I should consistently do it on every Wednesday night? That seems a little too regular because improvement only shows after a month or two and so on... but I get your point, it's the ability to monitor closely.

One way I use to measure is clothes and belt (able to see progress from there as well).

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 8 2013, 09:13 AM
TiF
post Oct 8 2013, 09:56 AM

1,192 posts

my weight now stucked and doesnt seems to go down. i eat the same amount of food (1600-1800 calories), jog 5km and some sit up. but tbh, i dont really care anymore. just gonna stick with my diet (cant eat much now too, feel like stomach got smaller biggrin.gif) and workout. good to see my weight go down that fast during my first month tho.

btw, i noticed that the more i workout the heavier i get the next day. after jogging for 20km over the weekend, i am 3kg heavier. so i get why some ppl feeling frustrated and might start giving up.
sweet_pez
post Oct 8 2013, 12:39 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arissa1992 @ Oct 7 2013, 07:42 PM)
1. Then do u know of any way tht I can use to assess whether I'm constantly making progress or doing the right thing?

2.warm up, around 20 to 30 mins cardio, then some dumbbell lifting and stretching exercises plus the misc. Machines for the remaining 30 mins or so.

3.erm, the only green leafy vegetable is cabbage. I have oats too.
Rural area, so theres only the basic foods.

Thanks for ur prompt reply!
1. Best refer to Darklight's reply above.

2. Maybe you'll want to tweak your workout a little and do it differently each day. Eg. Day 1 and Day 4 focus only on Cardio - HIIT workout all the way. Day 2 and 5 weights only etc. Then another day = rest or stretching (eg yoga). Just a recommendation to tryout and see if it'll work. Everyone's body works differently.

3. Nothing wrong with eating meat if you can get it. More source of protein. Just be careful on the parts and method of cooking. If you really want to take care of your meal, eat lean meat that is cooked healthier - steam, boil stir fry, lightly pan fried, grilled etc instead of fried or deep fried.

Oats is good, take it regularly - but preferably you don't eat it with too much sugar. Otherwise it defeats the purpose wink.gif

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 8 2013, 09:56 AM)
my weight now stucked and doesnt seems to go down. i eat the same amount of food (1600-1800 calories), jog 5km and some sit up. but tbh, i dont really care anymore. just gonna stick with my diet (cant eat much now too, feel like stomach got smaller biggrin.gif) and workout. good to see my weight go down that fast during my first month tho.

btw, i noticed that the more i workout the heavier i get the next day. after jogging for 20km over the weekend, i am 3kg heavier. so i get why some ppl feeling frustrated and might start giving up.
Time to tweak your workout? Body adapts easily.

And after you've jogged 20km... do you eat a lot to replenish?
TiF
post Oct 8 2013, 03:03 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 8 2013, 12:39 PM)
1. Best refer to Darklight's reply above.

2. Maybe you'll want to tweak your workout a little and do it differently each day. Eg. Day 1 and Day 4 focus only on Cardio - HIIT workout all the way. Day 2 and 5 weights only etc. Then another day = rest or stretching (eg yoga). Just a recommendation to tryout and see if it'll work. Everyone's body works differently.

3. Nothing wrong with eating meat if you can get it. More source of protein. Just be careful on the parts and method of cooking. If you really want to take care of your meal, eat lean meat that is cooked healthier - steam, boil stir fry, lightly pan fried, grilled etc instead of fried or deep fried.

Oats is good, take it regularly - but preferably you don't eat it with too much sugar. Otherwise it defeats the purpose wink.gif
Time to tweak your workout? Body adapts easily.

And after you've jogged 20km... do you eat a lot to replenish?
no, just the normal meal. got full easily lately.

im not in hurry to shed my weight, so i'll just keep on doing what i've been doing. at the very least, i feel good
skylinelover
post Oct 12 2013, 08:12 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

oops dang 4 the first time ever,,,i just exceeded the 80 kilo mark doh.gif rclxub.gif i going 2 start by eating fruits in every single meal after this so that my fat buttock and fat tummy can burn down gradually...fingers crossed sweat.gif target is 70 kilo by early 2015 haha sweat.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Oct 12 2013, 08:14 AM
SUSNew Klang
post Oct 12 2013, 07:06 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 12 2013, 08:12 AM)
oops dang 4 the first time ever,,,i just exceeded the 80 kilo mark doh.gif rclxub.gif i going 2 start by eating fruits in every single meal after this so that my fat buttock and fat tummy can burn down gradually...fingers crossed sweat.gif target is 70 kilo by early 2015 haha sweat.gif
You have a goal and a plan. Keep us posted with your progress. If it is working I am your follower.

125 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:22 PM