Proton PrevĂ© V2, Drive it to Believe it

ckk125
post Mar 31 2012, 10:52 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Mar 31 2012, 10:48 PM)
Hehe..they should work as an automotive engineer & design for us a better & more efficient engine & GB then  tongue.gif
lol..then go ahead and believe that cvt has 6% powerloss. then another xioncity will be borned.

sometimes, it is good to analyse the info before swallowing it down.
sp3d2
post Mar 31 2012, 10:53 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 31 2012, 10:50 PM)
lol..cvt is not a part of the preve? if dont talk about the drivetrain then talk about what?

it is not about tapau, it is about efficiency. same goes to the forte and 308 turbo, when it was on the 4 speed, it was lethargic, but on the 6speed, a big difference.

doh.gif
you are damn right bro.
zariel
post Mar 31 2012, 10:55 PM

90 posts

saga flx 0-100kmh is 2 seconds slower than the preve based on the brochure, 12s in saga against 9.5s in preve..

i feel that the one in the proton's brochure has somewhat underestimate the power of the engine... 9.5s is slower than the lotus neo which is at 9.2s... and i do feel the same with 12s saga flx... maybe they use eco mode on the saga gearbox during the test with translate to the higher time taken to sprint from 0-100kmh...

u need to take account the drag coefficient of the saga and city as well...

This post has been edited by zariel: Mar 31 2012, 10:57 PM
ckk125
post Mar 31 2012, 10:56 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(zariel @ Mar 31 2012, 10:55 PM)
saga flx 0-100kmh is 2 seconds slower than the preve based on the brochure, 12s in saga against 9.5s in preve..

i feel that the one in the proton's brochure has somewhat underestimate the power of the engine... 9.5s is slower than the lotus neo which is at 9.2s... and i do feel the same with 12s saga flx... maybe they use eco mode on the saga gearbox during the test with translate to the higher time taken to sprint from 0-100kmh...
there is no eco mode on CVTs, there is just a warm up mode.
samwongjyhhorng
post Mar 31 2012, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(zariel @ Mar 31 2012, 10:55 PM)

u need to take account the drag coefficient of the saga and city as well...
nw is compare saga flx se wit preve iafm+..not is preve CFE
N1ck
post Mar 31 2012, 10:59 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 31 2012, 10:52 PM)
lol..then go ahead and believe that cvt has 6% powerloss. then another xioncity will be borned.

6% powerless seems reasonable. The CVT transmission does not have a torque converter compared to conventional auto gearbox and the torque converter contributes to most of the loss.
CVT also less gears, typically only 2 pulleys and a belt compared to other gearbox with many many gears.

6% should mean the maximum efficiency of the transmission, probably during cruising. However during acceleration(varying gear ratio) the CVT would have much lower efficiency.
For example the mitsubishi lancer using CVT has gearbox overheating issues when driving spiritedly(hard accelerations, deceleration and then accelerating again). However I don't think it would have issues being driven at top speed for a period of time.

TSdares
post Mar 31 2012, 11:02 PM

834 posts

Why so judgemental?

Most of us are open to information, none of us here die die tell you is 6%.

We are all here to discuss, If mat79 was wrong, I would gladly accept that as well. And your post in the Inspira thread makes us here who read mat79's look like idiots.

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 31 2012, 08:55 PM)
lol...some guys over the preve thread actually believe the mr mat79's statement that cvt only has 6% power loss...haha
izputra
post Mar 31 2012, 11:03 PM

146 posts

Lol..did i said that? My point is, talking about power losses in transmission might lead us to never ending discussion though i knew that CVT is surely part of the car (the Preve)..haihh.
valence
post Mar 31 2012, 11:07 PM

29 posts

I think loss and efficiency of gearbox, not proven by 0-100, is when u reach 110, how many rpm maintain, isn't it? For my understand is like tat la...if a gb really efficient, it should makes u good in fc...
ckk125
post Mar 31 2012, 11:09 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 31 2012, 11:02 PM)
Why so judgemental?

We are all here to discuss, If mat79 was wrong, I would gladly accept that as well. And your post in the Inspira thread makes us here who read mat79's look like idiots.
okay. i rest my case
izputra
post Mar 31 2012, 11:11 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 31 2012, 11:02 PM)
Why so judgemental?

Yeahh..i came across him in Forte thread also..& I knew xioncity in Forte thread also..he's (xioncity) nowhere near in this thread now..yet still kena hentam..
zariel
post Mar 31 2012, 11:11 PM

90 posts

eco mode does not mean you have a button on the dashboard... you may only need to press the fuel pedal more to engage sport mode or press it a bit to engage fuel eco mode... since its cvt gearbox...

nway we dont know how they get that... the only way you can know about that is by putting the car side by side and race... there are so many variables... wind, engine oil, fuel type (ron95 against ron100).....

and i cannot find the 11.5s you said in the honda malaysia spec (ckk125)... but by asking google, i found this 11.8s with manual gearbox http://www.oneshift.com/new_cars/car_specs.php?pid=1748

the newest 2011 honda city A is even slower than the 2009 version... 14.7s...
http://www.oneshift.com/new_cars/car_overview.php?pid=1804

This post has been edited by zariel: Mar 31 2012, 11:41 PM
ckk125
post Mar 31 2012, 11:14 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Mar 31 2012, 11:11 PM)
Yeahh..i came across him in Forte thread also..& I knew xioncity in Forte thread also..he's (xioncity) nowhere near in this thread now..yet still kena hentam..
my apologies.
TSdares
post Mar 31 2012, 11:44 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 31 2012, 11:09 PM)
okay. i rest my case
Pls don't get me wrong man, I respect your knowledge and your candor. It's when the name-calling starts that I feel I have to call you out.

Do continue to share and discuss as you please.
izputra
post Apr 1 2012, 12:24 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 31 2012, 11:14 PM)
my apologies.
No harm done to me. As TS said, do continue to share & discuss as u please smile.gif

...but the forgiveness is not on me..i'm sorry
valence
post Apr 1 2012, 12:46 AM

29 posts

yeah continue the topic, can learn a lot technical things tongue.gif
stargate8
post Apr 1 2012, 12:54 AM

Live Long and Prosper
1,224 posts

they should start a pro workshop... then we know where to get a good service.

dont argue over how many % loss or whatever lar...we are not F1 driver

btw, we are all matured adult, sharing info and dont take it so serious, don't be personal

This post has been edited by stargate8: Apr 1 2012, 12:58 AM
TSdares
post Apr 1 2012, 12:57 AM

834 posts

So how many bulu anyone wanna bet the car wont be launched this week tongue.gif
stargate8
post Apr 1 2012, 12:59 AM

Live Long and Prosper
1,224 posts

QUOTE(valence @ Apr 1 2012, 12:46 AM)
yeah continue the topic,  can learn a lot technical things tongue.gif
haha agree, i've learn so many things about car now. really admire those who knows how to mod their cars.
valence
post Apr 1 2012, 01:00 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 1 2012, 12:57 AM)
So how many bulu anyone wanna bet the car wont be launched this week tongue.gif
just saw another forum stated that got someone saw it driving in Melaka... laugh.gif
maybe proton marketing strategy?
btw i hope it launch this week la sad.gif

121 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:45 PM