So everyone is talking about the CVT gearbox, which is on the Preve iafm+ model. What about the 7 speed Protronic on the CFE+ model?
Proton Prevé V2, Drive it to Believe it
Apr 1 2012, 01:00 AM
3,435 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kota Bharu |
So everyone is talking about the CVT gearbox, which is on the Preve iafm+ model. What about the 7 speed Protronic on the CFE+ model?
Apr 1 2012, 01:02 AM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 1 2012, 01:00 AM) So everyone is talking about the CVT gearbox, which is on the Preve iafm+ model. What about the 7 speed Protronic on the CFE+ model? Ape tu CFE+? Both also use VT3 CVT, but with different software and tuning I suppose. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 1 2012, 01:06 AM |
Apr 1 2012, 01:11 AM
1,011 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
hurm, suddenly become heavy discussion. Its already in punch website before mentioned about 6% powerloss. i think i never mentioned how much on honda city auto powerloss, or did i???
I just mentioned the old mitsu 4at torque converter powerloss on cps or prtn cars. Thats why i mentioned i dont compare with others. Why suddenly butt hurt???Current at are less in term of powerloss, generally around 10% only. Twin clutch is actually based on manual trans, so, that it powerloss is the same as manual, but shifting is faster than manual cog. Yup, flx se actually can do a century sprint less than 12scnd, but to be consistent, it stated 12scnd. Incase u forgotten, even interm of power, one thing that city engine has vtec which changing low cam to highcam which actually boost the power in high rpm, which actually help if u r like to rev up to the activation point everytime when driving. Do u think a coomon driver rev to redline everyday to extract the power? The same case as cps, if u look at hp@torque powerband, since cps activation is around 3.8k n vim is at 4.8k, there is not much changes in the powerband. But in term of driving, even the graph says there is no subtancial of power increase, but trust me, beyond 3.8k in cps that u fell the most power, but back then the question is drivability. In town driving, which one is better? Thats why vvti is better than vtec in town driving. And another way around when u in racing mood. Same as cps n iafm+. Try to drive in L mode in flx se if u want to gauge the cvt in flx with honda city city. And u also must counted the all thing losses such eps vs hps, a/c, aero, rolling resistance n etc. Thats why i just used prtn cars as example coz dont want to compare to others coz the only info i can get is on prtn cars. I dunno about other cars brochures, but for prtn nowadays, they are quite modest in stating figures. For inspira@even lancer, have u try out dragging both cars? Not really interested in inspira coz nothing much develop in house except for r n h tuning n air cool cvt from front bumper aero design coz mitsu doesnt allow prtn to add@change the cooler. Punch cvt2 n cvt3 has cooler for trans, and cvt3 has higher cooling capacity. :-). Thats why dont want to compare with others, but still somebody brought it up. But trust me, this thing just happened only if talking about prtn, even not touch any other makes coz its hard to believe. But if talking about other makes, everything believable rite. Neverheard any arguements when toyota give data of efficiency when its new avanza has less power n torque, but yet it claim better in power n fc. Dont see any arguments on that part. Now u make me do comparison with others. My appologies, if offended any. Ckk125, i dont ask u or anyone to believe me. In dyno, as u said, hard to gauge cvt coz its variabilty, but based on ur comments, it seems u dont understand on how cvt works n why its call infinite ratio. Driving cvt cars with one person in car or full load, even u can feel the power is reducing due to increase in load, but not really bad compare to manual or at, the reason is manual n at has fixed ratio, if load change, its still using the same ratio. While cvt, it will change it ratio depend on load, road n input, thats why its call infinite or gearless. No one is fool by me here n im not fooling anyone. Have u read review on sylphy vs civic vs altis before? On paper, sylphy already been pawn hard by civic n altis, but when driving review, guess which one felt energetic n fast than others? I think it too much coz already start comparing with other makes which i dont really like much. Just saying that iafm+n punch cvt combo in a PROTON is better than cps n mitsu 4at combo in PROTON. Not other makes. If u still want to compare, up to u. I just end my discussion on punch cvt in iafm+ n mitsu 4at in cps. Both are proton. No need to believe me. Just sharing info. Drive it to believe it. |
Apr 1 2012, 01:15 AM
3,435 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kota Bharu |
Apr 1 2012, 01:18 AM
10,340 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 1 2012, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 1 2012, 01:15 AM) The 7 speed or 6 speed thing is just software, but it is the same CVT gearbox. So yeah, the CFE has a 7 speed CVT.Added on April 1, 2012, 1:21 am QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 1 2012, 01:18 AM) i guess the concept of infinite gear is hard to be grasp by ppl. but i believe.. only in SAT mode it has 7 speed... Haha or PROTONIC MODE hahahahaha. Unlike the 6 speed SAT, the 7 speed can be used with the paddleshifters.This post has been edited by dares: Apr 1 2012, 01:21 AM |
Apr 1 2012, 01:22 AM
160 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: KEDAH AND BANGI SELANGOR |
Apr 1 2012, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 1 2012, 01:19 AM) The 7 speed or 6 speed thing is just software, but it is the same CVT gearbox. So yeah, the CFE has a 7 speed CVT. u talkin abt the one in EB rite? honestly i only start following proton developement againt because of p3. elantra intrigue me wit the design n the initial rumored price but seems everything else is down hill after than. base on the initial review of EB performance, im quite optimistic that an equal or better performance can be achieve by p3. but other small parts remain to be seen like...Added on April 1, 2012, 1:21 am Haha or PROTONIC MODE hahahahaha. Unlike the 6 speed SAT, the 7 speed can be used with the paddleshifters. |
Apr 1 2012, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 1 2012, 01:24 AM) u talkin abt the one in EB rite? honestly i only start following proton developement againt because of p3. elantra intrigue me wit the design n the initial rumored price but seems everything else is down hill after than. base on the initial review of EB performance, im quite optimistic that an equal or better performance can be achieve by p3. but other small parts remain to be seen like... EB only have the 6 speed SAT.P3 will be the first proton car with the |
Apr 1 2012, 01:37 AM
Apr 1 2012, 01:40 AM
Apr 1 2012, 02:01 AM
1,839 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
SAT just simulates the gearchanges right? Does one loses the benefits of a CVT by activating SAT?
Apr 1 2012, 02:23 AM
Apr 1 2012, 02:27 AM
erm, by the way, off topic, just noted the city century sprint, stated by someone 11.5 scnd, but i think on the net, it is 14 scnd ++. Can somebody enlighten me with official figures?
Added on April 1, 2012, 2:31 ameb is 7 speed sat, just that dont have manual options. But for me useless in eb coz u cant control it manually. The protronic 7 speed is like driving eb with L mode n sat button ON. The diff, u can control it manually. Dont believe me :-), just sharing info n n im not the engineer...ha...ha... This post has been edited by mat79: Apr 1 2012, 02:31 AM |
Apr 1 2012, 02:33 AM
360 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Penang |
mat79 is God in explaining.. his words are true.. not keyboard warrior yo...
my fren drove City.. everytime when he says he at traffic light waiting for it to hit Green.. he says that pickup power Vios always fast.. cause he tried drag with Vios before.. he say Vios pickup very fast... This post has been edited by Aaron135LC: Apr 1 2012, 02:35 AM |
Apr 1 2012, 02:39 AM
and those who said cvt dont have eco mode, other makes, i dunno, but punch cvt has eco mode on when u drive until 80kmh. Dont have button, it is automatically. And 80kmh is around 2k rpm for flx @flx se by the way.
Apr 1 2012, 02:51 AM
Apr 1 2012, 02:56 AM
ecomode off :-) normal mode...he...he...
Apr 1 2012, 03:17 AM
142 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: hell |
im noob in cvt tranny function...however i like to ask...when engage to manual mode...when revving to max rpm...does it change gear automatically or need us to change gear manually ?
This post has been edited by nyap2: Apr 1 2012, 03:17 AM |
Apr 1 2012, 03:49 AM
QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 1 2012, 02:56 AM) alto u dun wan to admit. i still think u hv smtg to do wit proton so im assuming that if you stuck a boost meter there, it will show below 2k it should be still running on vacuum rite? so this is the "eco" mode This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Apr 1 2012, 03:50 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0162sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:20 PM |