no rosak la... but performance drop ler
Jan 11 2007, 08:42 PM
93 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Glass Core |
sifu rorytate - oh..i was referring to the seven rods that John tested...on the other hand..u r right..the article that u posted in mfn does apply for both casting and spinning anglers..
plkvoon - maybe ur reel is using dry drag system and in your case, some of the engine oil accidentally sip into the drag system... |
Jan 12 2007, 09:22 AM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Bro SeR, i was thinking the same as well where the oil sip into the drag sys.
For everyone's benefit who intend to service themselves... 1: Bearings : Oil 2: Gearings : Grease. That's is the general rule of the thumb However, it varies of the grade of oil and grease to be used. Some angler prefer thick oil, some prefer thin oil, some prefer non-sticking grade of grease, some the opposite.. |
Jan 12 2007, 12:55 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ze deep blue ocean |
i service my reel once every 2-3 month to remove build up salt crystal/residue... if you are not playing saltwater, or perhaps you were a frequent freshwater kakis.. i dont think it's necessary to service it frequently. Perhaps once every 6~7 month should be enough.
Another rules, generous amount of grease n oil were not required, just a lite coat will do the job. Dont treat you reel like a bulldozer folks. Putting generous amount of grease wont make your reel crank faster, but it will make them perform like bull/heavy. For bearing i used castrol magnatec which is a bit thicker then those sewing machine oil and it could last longer. As for gears, i use toyo grease (spray type). |
Jan 12 2007, 01:31 PM
Agree with you bro Nicotine..
usually i service my reels after 3~5 trip so the main gear with the pinion gear might have some wear and tear..one of the reason why i service quire frequent, cos the habuk from the friction between main gear and pinion gear.. |
Jan 12 2007, 03:52 PM
as for me..after each outing..I'll tighten up the drag and give it a rinse using tap water..shake it a few times vigorously and let it dry up over night then put 1 drop of reel oils for the bearings on each side..also a bit of teflon grease on worm shaft gear ..consider it a minor service..
Jan 12 2007, 04:00 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ze deep blue ocean |
@bruder rory,
1000~2000 time of cast ... tangan patah oh bos.. hehe i prefer teh most lazy method .. bottom coz all i need to do is .. wait "tang wan tou" @seR, remember to loosen/free the drag system after few hour, over tighten will spoil the drag system... my old sifu teach punya teaching =) cheers n happi fishing |
Jan 12 2007, 04:39 PM
@nicotine - totally agreed..the drag should be loosen at all time..except during rinsing and outing of course..hehe..
speaking of drags..waiting for my friend to bring back a set of carbontex drag for my reel..hopefully he will be back in malaysia at the same time my zpi bearings arrive at my doorstep ..then it will be double tightlines with 1 lure..hehehhe This post has been edited by seR: Jan 12 2007, 04:46 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 04:49 PM
Ser, your method is merely to clean the exterior of it.
Due to the abrasion cause in the gears, do clean the gears thoroughly detach the unit, put in a glass container, spray lots of silicon oil and shake vigorously. 10 mins then lay out to dry on a tissue or newspaper. 5mins place in a thinner solution for 5~10 mins then lay out dry, then only you re-lube that would clean all the bits and pieces of the deposits. |
Jan 12 2007, 04:50 PM
bro nicotine...good workout to tone your arm also what..
Bro Ser, carbontex drag is available in M'sia liao la...i have installed in my calcutta, Procaster Z, Team Daiwa as well. |
Jan 12 2007, 05:08 PM
normally i'll send it to RHA if its a major service.....no time
aiks..where u bought those tiny donut?? i This post has been edited by seR: Jan 12 2007, 05:18 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 06:40 PM
Bro Ser,
It's available in Kepong and Uncle Bob. Can go to Big Sea in serdang too |
Jan 13 2007, 07:27 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kampong Pisang |
QUOTE(rorytate @ Jan 8 2007, 09:25 AM) Thanks Bro KK for the introduction. ???,i dunno the exact location,I just follow my father to fish some monster tomans! Bro Outsider, Me in between salt and freshwater. But if fresh water, preferably it's Toman. Dont mind trekking in and water level to my chest to do a little casting.. Bro QD, Welcome! I have fished in Tasik Ampang too(the one beside the MRR2 hway) Landed a 3~4 kg toman there using GT poppers. I was told that to access Klang Gate, we have to hike about 45mins ~1hr? Would you bring us there? BTW,me and my father got 50KG Tapah recently at Johor... Will post some pic to u all! BTW,Sea Lion Kolam sudah tutup meh?Long time no go there,usually i go there twice or three a month! This post has been edited by QD_buyer: Jan 13 2007, 07:29 AM |
Jan 13 2007, 04:20 PM
1,316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
anyone here tried Fly Fishing?
Jan 13 2007, 09:30 PM
Jan 14 2007, 01:52 PM
293 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
OH My friend !! i m back !!! I m here again !!!
Jan 14 2007, 02:11 PM
Lets fish kelah at Lentang or Bentong!
I got mine 3KG Kelah there!And got a weird fish liked trout! |
Jan 14 2007, 02:20 PM
43 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
any 1 from kuching area? may i knw what spot nice to fish?
Jan 14 2007, 02:27 PM
| Change to: | 0.0262sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:41 AM |