QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 22 2012, 01:11 PM)
1 week plant not going to die laaa in the meantime you can look at table lamp to substitute should be OK
Nooohhh Planted Aquarium V8
Mar 22 2012, 01:12 PM
7 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Mar 22 2012, 01:20 PM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 7th Floor |
Mar 22 2012, 01:21 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
Glosso / Japanese Hairgrass hehehe
Mar 22 2012, 01:27 PM
my tank above having JHG + HC and the tank have gone thru with no lights at all, just ambient light for 3 weeks. they didnt die in my tank either.. dun underestimate your plants surviving capability u know..
worst to come is just the glosso would grow vertical for a while until the next trim. |
Mar 22 2012, 01:30 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
Plant is a slow creature hehehe so it is OK just makesure there is oxygen else I worry not your plant buy fish and shrimp will die
Mar 22 2012, 02:31 PM
2,104 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
![]() This post has been edited by ciohbu: Mar 22 2012, 02:32 PM |
Mar 22 2012, 04:15 PM
7 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Mar 22 2012, 04:17 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
[quote=kkwjustin,Mar 22 2012, 01:12 PM]
Nooohhh [/quote] lol. even use 14w and 6.5k isn't too bad. just turn you plant slow growing for a while ![]() [/quote] oi. cool!! what kind of twig is that? pokok bunga kertas? i do see a buble on the dead twig surface? already boiled it? |
Mar 22 2012, 05:46 PM
669 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Anfield |
@Jawa,
I'm so jealous at your tank.. @ciohbu, sneak peak only ka?? anyone got HC up for sale?? or better, to give away? PM me please.. Thx |
Mar 22 2012, 06:11 PM
12,413 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
not really planted aquarium related here but since i cant find any suitable forums to ask so have to ask u guys, since u guys are mostly pro on this i blif
how do i wash the gravel in my aquarium? i haven't wash my gravel since my first wash when i bought them. only perform water changes i now noticed there's a layer of yellow forming on the gravel although i have a filter ![]() now some planted aquarium question. i feel like converting my current normal setup into planted aquarium. my tank size is 15" x 8" . enough for planted aquarium? any other accessories i need : eg ; filter , other than those stated in first post? roughly need how much for a beginner set up? need some recommendations for beginner This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 22 2012, 06:18 PM |
Mar 22 2012, 06:25 PM
i dont really clearly see which are the yellow forming thing u mentioned but how long your tank have been setted up? it might be diatoms. otto and yamato would help you. they'll eat these soft-soft stuffs.
Mar 22 2012, 06:44 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Deus Vult |
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 06:11 PM) not really planted aquarium related here but since i cant find any suitable forums to ask so have to ask u guys, since u guys are mostly pro on this i blif you can prolly vacuum the gravel using something like this:-how do i wash the gravel in my aquarium? i haven't wash my gravel since my first wash when i bought them. only perform water changes i now noticed there's a layer of yellow forming on the gravel although i have a filter ![]() now some planted aquarium question. i feel like converting my current normal setup into planted aquarium. my tank size is 15" x 8" . enough for planted aquarium? any other accessories i need : eg ; filter , other than those stated in first post? roughly need how much for a beginner set up? need some recommendations for beginner thats how i clean up my gravel last time......i DIY the gravel vacuum using hose n 0.5 mineral water bottle... This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 22 2012, 06:47 PM |
Mar 22 2012, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(usermode @ Mar 22 2012, 06:25 PM) i dont really clearly see which are the yellow forming thing u mentioned but how long your tank have been setted up? it might be diatoms. otto and yamato would help you. they'll eat these soft-soft stuffs. on the picture.u will noticed there's a few spots of white. the rest are yellowishi think my tank is up for 1 and a half month now. |
Mar 22 2012, 07:07 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Deus Vult |
QUOTE(shinshishio @ Mar 22 2012, 12:07 PM) you can put some chendol species. utricularia sp.... i forgot its name but it really looks like lilaeoosis plant. but be careful. even it eat bacteria colony, its a carnivorous plant. might accidentally catch your srimplet bos...i ve read the article uve given, n using my basic understanding of microbiology, chemistry n advance biology, there is no part in that article talks about BGA... ( it talks mainly about composition of urticularias trap liquid, how it differs under different condition n microorganism diversity in the plant's trap...) except for one part where it talks about xylitol (exist at trap surface) , where it has the property to inhibit bacteria's colony to produce biofilm (n from my understanding, BGA is cyanobacteria, n the colony produce biofilm as protection against element) ... prolly u gave me the wrong article?you can refer this method by referring to any utricularia type. try reading this info. might save a lot of budget.. Combating BGA burger King |
Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 07:05 PM) on the picture.u will noticed there's a few spots of white. the rest are yellowish when did the first sign of this thing appeared that you started to notice? i assume this is just a normal diatoms. happens to new tanks most of the time. u'll get it cleared earlier with otto and yamato or u can jsut leave it just like that..... when the time coems, it will dissappear by itself. but you can always vacuum your gravels too. just use the hose when the time you do your WC.i think my tank is up for 1 and a half month now. |
Mar 22 2012, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(usermode @ Mar 22 2012, 07:52 PM) when did the first sign of this thing appeared that you started to notice? i assume this is just a normal diatoms. happens to new tanks most of the time. u'll get it cleared earlier with otto and yamato or u can jsut leave it just like that..... when the time coems, it will dissappear by itself. but you can always vacuum your gravels too. just use the hose when the time you do your WC. i start noticing it i guess 2 weeks ago. hope u are right it will disappear soon enough. how about my question below?QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 06:11 PM) now some planted aquarium question. i feel like converting my current normal setup into planted aquarium. my tank size is 15" x 8" . enough for planted aquarium? any other accessories i need : eg ; filter , other than those stated in first post? roughly need how much for a beginner set up? need some recommendations for beginner |
Mar 22 2012, 08:00 PM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Any1 has tried "air jambu" branches as driftwood decoration?is that ok for planted tank with shrimp?
Mar 22 2012, 08:50 PM
42 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
haish..need to wait until sunday to get back my lamp from NA..cant wait
doing a road tour to 4 fs today...cant find any Christmas moss |
Mar 22 2012, 09:03 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
ZeneticX, u really remind me of the me when starting planted tanks lol
my chronology on how i got 'terjebak' into this epic hobby lol: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « wonder how you guys stumble on this hobby? |
Mar 22 2012, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 22 2012, 09:03 PM) ZeneticX, u really remind me of the me when starting planted tanks lol good chronology of events there lolmy chronology on how i got 'terjebak' into this epic hobby lol: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « wonder how you guys stumble on this hobby? i already have my tank ready. just wonder about the steps and accessories required |
| Change to: | 0.0266sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:53 PM |