127 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Cycling V2, General talks on bicycles

miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 06:31 PM

587 posts

haha.. inhuman tolerance indeed... running from bt18 to kuala klawang and back, is just plain insane! haha

what would you do with that extra spokes? so for us in malaysia, better to go with factory made wheels?
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 06:32 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 7 2012, 06:24 PM)
anyone here using garmin edge 500? is the route mapping features capable enough in assisting you in navigation?
edge 500 has no real navigation features if i am not wrong.. i think it can map ride routes and then use them to direct you to ride back the same route the next time.. but not anything like the navigational features of the 800...

the navigational feature shown in real life...

a longer run through on the capabilites.. including courses....

here is andy from competitive cyclist trying to poison you into getting one...

Added on March 7, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 06:31 PM)
haha.. inhuman tolerance indeed... running from bt18 to kuala klawang and back, is just plain insane! haha

what would you do with that extra spokes? so for us in malaysia, better to go with factory made wheels?
he did genting highlands runs, and what he calls ultra marathons ( i think is 100KM of running) ... and he made the interstate bunch look like sissies by riding 1200kilos instead of the interstate route... i dunno wat to make of him...

for handbuilt wheels, 2 ways to this..

if you can get a bunch of people to share the same interest into building the exact same wheels as you... get it in boxes and then split the spokes...

if not, buy it online... like i did mine from bikehubstore... i initially targeted the taiwanese bdopcycling for their pillar spokes... but i thought WTH... jus go with Sapim for that little extra more... buying online, biggest problem is shipping charges for 1.. 2nd, the problem if you miscalculated spoke lengths... no one for you to blame and exchange would be near impossible...

i took my chances... now waiting for the stuff to arrive...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 7 2012, 06:44 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 06:39 PM

587 posts

i don't think edge 500 has mapping/route capability like edge 800.

get edge 800 if want that feature. but if you ride in a group you don't really need this feature. and once you are familiar with that route, then mapping feature is no longer needed. BUT, the downside is, baddies might mistaken edge 800 for a phone and might attract robbers. edge 800 size is similar to a mobile phone

ok, do keep us updated once you receive your wheels. you bought loose parts, or complete wheels? if complete wheels, what about Customs?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 7 2012, 06:41 PM
mrjgx
post Mar 7 2012, 06:49 PM

59 posts

cool vids..thanks butthead. i guess that's more than enough for navigating unfamiliar route when doing solo ride. I don't mind mapping a ride on the net and then download it into the edge 500.

Furthermore I couldn't justify the bill for edge 800 where basic car gps with better navigating performance can be obtain for less than rm500...

i guess the price is around rm950..i saw one at bbs..the guy told he's a garmin dealer or something..although edge 200 can also do the same navigating function, but without the ANT capability in the future, I would rather invest in the 500.

butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 06:49 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 06:39 PM)
ok, do keep us updated once you receive your wheels. you bought loose parts, or complete wheels? if complete wheels, what about Customs?
i bought a complete wheel kit.. spokes, rims and hubs...not yet assembled...

i checked around and even asked the owner of the site and seems that there is no custom charges...but being malaysia... they can jus bite you if they like even if it is not written in the law...
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 06:51 PM

587 posts

they'll impose tax if the value is more than rm500
value of goods + shipping = must be lower than rm500 to avoid tax

i would go with edge 500 too, with HRM. but my fulcrum racing 1 spoke width doesn't allow me to place the spoke magnet close to spoke nipple, so edge 500 sensor becomes useless.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 7 2012, 06:54 PM
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 06:53 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 7 2012, 06:49 PM)
cool vids..thanks butthead. i guess that's more than enough for navigating unfamiliar route when doing solo ride. I don't mind mapping a ride on the net and then download it into the edge 500.

Furthermore I couldn't justify the bill for edge 800 where basic car gps with better navigating performance can be obtain for less than rm500...

i guess the price is around rm950..i saw one at bbs..the guy told he's a garmin dealer or something..although edge 200 can also do the same navigating function, but without the ANT capability in the future, I would rather invest in the 500.
Edge 200 is made to satisfy the people who complained that the Edge 500 and 800 is expensive... basically, that is one that you will regret buying as it has no modular expandabilities ...

the only thing i would warn is for you to conduct a check with any actual users... i know the damn thing is very bad on battery life... and most importantly.. you don't think of charging the head unit once every couple of ride being a pain in the ass...

Added on March 7, 2012, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 06:51 PM)
they'll impose tax if the value is more than rm500
value of goods + shipping = must be lower than rm500 to avoid tax

i would go with edge 500 too, with HRM. but my fulcrum racing 1 spoke width doesn't allow me to place the spoke magnet close to spoke nipple, so edge 500 sensor becomes useless.
i don't think the value determines the tax but rather the type of item... furthermore how would they determine the tax rate...

i did try to ask them to put it as gift... but they would not do it...

i have bought stuff from ebay as expensive as 700++ before an i didn't get taxed for that time... the rest was less than 500 but i didn't get taxed as well... hope it goes smoothly this time around...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 7 2012, 06:56 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 07:03 PM

587 posts

read here

http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php/bm/pro...ysia-berhad-pmb

RM500 (CIF) and above need to declare
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 07:12 PM

593 posts

let's see how it goes... keep my fingers crossed...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 7 2012, 07:17 PM
mrjgx
post Mar 7 2012, 07:34 PM

59 posts

i've once bought a lens from ebay for rm1.2k and didn't get taxed. it depends on your luck I think tongue.gif

finally I found the mother of all review for edge 500.

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2009/11/garmin-...pth-review.html

most users say on average they get +/- 10 hrs of usage..should be enough for my ride..usually will finish less than 3 hours...the only gripe would be to ensure it is fully charge before a ride..but I do that all the time with my iphone so should be ok..

but nothing beats my cheapo rm80 sigma..hehe..can take a ride anytime without charging tongue.gif

but i do want to hear from actual users here..anyone in this thread using it?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Mar 7 2012, 07:36 PM
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 09:52 PM

593 posts

it is supposed to last something like 16 or 18 hours according to garmin site...

the mentality is not wrong... but you have to remember that you carry your iphone with you everyday and you would have a higher chance to charge it more frequently than you bike computer or at least you will remember...

i've heard that users who owned 800 for a long time suffered degraded battery lifespan... like phone batt and laptop batt, they lose maximum charge capacity after a number of charges...

it is quite a concern for a unit that is that power hungry...

Added on March 7, 2012, 9:58 pmi on the other hand read this review and decided againt the edge and went with the rox instead.

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/vi...php?f=8&t=70862

the edge scored higher than the rox... but i still went with the rox as i din't need GPS functionality..

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 7 2012, 10:00 PM
minizian
post Mar 7 2012, 10:18 PM

1,074 posts

Okay my wound is better day by day. Manage to go out and have makan with my gang. Can walk slowly but still cant run. I wondered how long my woun will heal  sad.gif

The below is pic of my injuries 4 days after the accident. It kinda bloody on teh day of accident and I have no mood to take the pic at that time. Today it looks way better than this. Put into spoiler mode just so that i don spoil ppl mood  doh.gif U can see how skinny am I lor at 50kg/49kg. There are some aussie chick who are wayy skinnier than me and it doesnt look good  doh.gif

My face also kena as in long streak over my lips and a ding mark on my right cheek. I so worried my face will get deformed and I will lose my good looks. Thankfully now it is healed and most ppl wont see any noticeable marks there unless u see VERY closely. I was thankful i was wearing sunglasses during the crash as the frame was scratched badly and the lens were scratched too. Cant imagine I got into the crash without it  sad.gif  Thankfully no broken bone or teeth  unsure.gif

After the crash i had to take public bus to nearest clinic to do dressing on my wound while the wound bleeding out  ohmy.gif t

Back in aussie, managed to bring the bike. Not as bad as I think, the LBS did tighten the spokes, realign the wheel, readjust the gear hood into position, adjust the bengkok rear derailuer. Got my new helmet and glove to replace my broken helmet and torn gloves.

By the way that my seat post, i have no idea why have bloodstain there, need dettol to clean em out.

Busted helmet hit the group on right hand side

I still kinda phobia to go downhill nowdays after my crash, I am considering getting a roller instead of trainer to train myself on balancing so that i can do what those tract cyclist guy did.

Any suggestion to combat speed woble otehr than going down slowly by applying rear brake?
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 10:40 PM

587 posts

just tried building a set at prowheelbuilder. kinlin xr300 + white industries H2/H3 hubs + sapim cxray 20/24 + skewers, 1474g usd700. woohoo!

butthead, the rox's HRM ok ka? as good as polar's?

man! that's gotta hurt. how did the wobble happen? did you hit some gravels?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 7 2012, 10:41 PM
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 10:53 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 7 2012, 10:18 PM)
By the way that my seat post, i have no idea why have bloodstain there, need dettol to clean em out.

I still kinda phobia to go downhill nowdays after my crash, I am considering getting a roller instead of trainer to train myself on balancing so that i can do what those tract cyclist guy did.

Any suggestion to combat speed woble otehr than going down slowly by applying rear brake?
good to hear that you are well... your saddle don't look that bad... jus ride it till the foam gives way...

i guess being on the road is a different experience than on a roller... on the road you have to deal with imbalance due to wheel running over stuff.. and many un-expected stuff...

don't let one fall deter your spirit... we all fall when we ride.. jus that you fall now you become more conscious then when you were single digit old...

there are couple of ways.. some people will use their legs to clamp down the top tube to dampen the wobble.. but most importantly is not to hold the bike with a death grip.. it worsens the problem...

think you should stay away from high or technical downhill for the time being...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 10:40 PM)
just tried building a set at prowheelbuilder. kinlin xr300 + white industries H2/H3 hubs + sapim cxray 20/24 + skewers, 1474g usd700. woohoo!

butthead, the rox's HRM ok ka? as good as polar's?

man! that's gotta hurt. how did the wobble happen? did you hit some gravels?
prowheelbuilder is another good site... white industries hub are quite pricey as well although cheaper than CK and DT swiss the more common ones... that explains the price difference in your built...

my rox does not have problem with the HRM strap like some reviews report... i did have a couple of incidents where it did not pick up the cadence sensor... but once i twist the head unit to disconnect it off the bracket and twist it back in.. it detected it again..

so quite, small problem for me...
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 10:58 PM

587 posts

u think can get these stuff in malaysia ah?

another setup, replace kinlin with HED C2, 1441g, usd840. if use american classic hubs, i think can go sub 1.4kg
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 11:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 10:58 PM)
u think can get these stuff in malaysia ah?

another setup, replace kinlin with HED C2, 1441g, usd840. if use american classic hubs, i think can go sub 1.4kg
not a chance in hell... no bike shop wants to spend hours to lace up and tighten and true a wheel for only a small little fee.. they rather sell you machine built ones which is why you don't see this parts anymore...

if you want mavics.. i think unker boon foo still has them but not the most recent cxp and open pro's... i noticed the current CXP with white decals have a different ERD than the older red/yellow decal ones...

actually that is one that i was interested in as well for the fact that it is a 23mm wide rim... i actually targeted the velocity A23 initially.. as they were slightly cheaper and much nearer then, in aussie..

for 799 USD, and weight at 1400 grams...
http://store.velocityusa.com/products/prod...4020.0.0?pp=12&

unfortunately, don't ship out of US...

australia ships to malaysia, but hefty shipping charges... australian ones have fancier decals too...

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:13 pmhere is the australian ones...

http://www.velocitywheels.com/store/produc...?pID=258&cID=55

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:14 pmalthough velocity's are sold as wheelsets.. but they are hand built rather than machine built...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 7 2012, 11:14 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 11:16 PM

587 posts

current CXP is 23mm wide? didn't know that
butthead
post Mar 7 2012, 11:19 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 11:16 PM)
current CXP is 23mm wide? didn't know that
i meant the HED C2s, they are among the few alloy ones who utilizes 23mm width for better tyre support... the mavic CXP are still conventional 19mm rims..
miaopurr
post Mar 7 2012, 11:25 PM

587 posts

velocity A23 rims + american classic hubs + sapim cxray 20/24 + skewers. 1320g usd695.

dream on......

so jealous, singapore got many wheelbuilders and wide range of parts to choose from.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 8 2012, 12:37 AM
Sky.Live
post Mar 8 2012, 12:48 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 7 2012, 02:56 PM)
oh yeah... you own a timex ironman right... if it ain't too expensive...go for it, since it is modular anyways... thought you were planning to get a totally new computer.

even this fella only rides a polygon 300 at the beginning... you had a better start than him...
http://impossibleisnull.blogspot.com/2008/05/new-bike.html

he got a runner / beater bike as a 2nd bike... and then the third, a race bike which is an argon 18..
http://impossibleisnull.blogspot.com/2009/...tt-mercury.html

i think he rides a specialized transition now with DT tri-spoke wheels..

it's never impossible according to him as long as you have the will..
I meet him in person a few times, he is perfectly normal except is prepared to enjoy the suffer

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 7 2012, 04:18 PM)
are your device got measure % of uphill and downhill gradient real time??
Are complete measuring cycling is Heart Rate monitor, speed sensor, cadence... is the hill gradient % is measured together with speed?
No, my device have crappy altitude reading, GPS altitude are laughable.. but still something as a general guideline to you
For accurate altitude reading, which I believe rather important for your ultrarunning, get yourself a barometer - which currently for tri-watches only Garmin 910xt is offering

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 04:20 PM)
u want complete, get powermeter
me no money...

btw the mean that I need no upgrade now is not really true, just that i decided it's enough for me, you will never stop spending no matter what you do. I haven't get my clip-shoe, my cycling shorts and jersey, my cadence meter and etc.. just that I think it's more important to go on the road and learn what is necessary to become a better cyclist.. the basic stuff is done for now.. cyclist with VFF.. haha kinda weird

127 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:44 AM