Please think twice before using ABS water pipe

jumpstat
post Apr 25 2012, 10:01 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Apr 23 2012, 12:10 PM)
blue algae ? i thought cleaning it is to remove the dirt/mud and sorts but not algae..
It depend on the water quality within your area. Apart from the usual dirt and mud which will accumulate with time, so cleaning is done in one shot. Anyway it is good practise to just do some preventive maintenance which costs roughly RM100 every three years to clean and check the float, lingkages etc
solame
post Apr 26 2012, 09:56 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Apr 25 2012, 02:47 PM)
hi bro solame:

this is my calculation:

using formula :

Pressure = a + rho*gravity*height

a = atmosphere pressure (normally not count)

So after few calculation:

1 meter height of tank = 0.102 kg/cm^2  pressure.

3.3 meter (10 ft normal house height) = 0.3366/0.07 = 4.80 psi.

that your water pressure on upper floor or single storey house.

For pressure at ground floor (for double strorey house). Total height ~ 23 fts. So pressure at ground floor is (7.67 meter) = 0.7823/0.07 = 11 psi.
--------------------------------------------------------------------

My house is single storey height = 12 fts (4 meters). Pressure is 0.408/0.07 = 5.82 psi. Therefore with pressure 5.82 psi and combination of 1 inches and 3/4 inches of pipe, you can have good shower head without pump.

I do not know about height 10 fts = 4.80 psi can have good shower or not. but certainly the pipe size is important.
In my opinion should be no problem as the differences is 5.82 psi - 4.80 psi = 1.02 psi only.
good one bro rclxms.gif
just checked, beam-beam height is about 10 ft. 0.07 bar difference with yours. Should be bearable. Still, decision on my hand now sweat.gif
if install pump 3 or 5 years later, that time piping connections may be "aged" and lagi cannot tahan pressure surges? depends on workmanship today, is it?
TStomjason
post Apr 26 2012, 10:07 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(solame @ Apr 26 2012, 09:56 AM)
good one bro rclxms.gif
just checked, beam-beam height is about 10 ft. 0.07 bar difference with yours. Should be bearable. Still, decision on my hand now sweat.gif 
if install pump 3 or 5 years later, that time piping connections may be "aged" and lagi cannot tahan pressure surges? depends on workmanship today, is it?
bro, not 0.07 psi difference but 1.02 psi dfifferences..

for your case....just use water heater with pump for upper storey and downstair...let say you want install pump later..then just install the pump...

for me....i not keen on pump as later after few years using....there could be water leaking due to high pressure of the pump...

This post has been edited by tomjason: Apr 26 2012, 10:16 AM
Geon82
post Apr 26 2012, 06:27 PM

24 posts

since this topic discuss about pipe and i am facing underground water leakage. can u guys recommend me any good plumber in town?
solame
post Apr 27 2012, 11:26 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2012, 09:33 AM)
Actually the piping is the same with my drawing. It is still 3 bathroom pipe out from the tank. Not 1 pipe and branch to 3pipe.

You need to know how tall is your tank from your 2nd floor if you cannot using the gauge to check the pressure.
@ozak: what kind of check valve you using? Brass swing check valve? Checked with hardware shop, 1" approx. RM20+ per pc. not expensive. "i” brand. can't find other brand. any recommendations?
stevie8
post Apr 28 2012, 01:59 AM

1,365 posts

There is no need to go into calculation. The formula times this divides by this etc and getting the calculated result and to understand if it is sufficient is a headache itself. It makes little sense with figures like how many psi when you are not sure how many psi you require by your heater or your preference.

Simply work on the height and pipe size will do:

1. The higer the location of tank the greater the water pressure at the bottom of the openings (taps) regardless how much the tank water holds. It can be a big tank or a smaller tank when they are at same height the static pressue are the same. The height of the tank no doubt has higher pressure but by a few feet (maybe just 2 feet). You put the smaller tank higher by 2 feet the pressure is same as the taller tank.

2. The smaller the opening the higher the velocity of water given that same static pressure. It is therefore better to have a one size larger pipe before the end tap by reducing the pipe to accept the tap. eg. 3/4 inch pipe all the way till the tap with 1 inch connection.

This means, try to put the tank as high as posible at roof top and size the pipe make sure the total output of the opening tap is smaller than the supply pipe size.

Given a double storey house, water from tank cannot give good static and velocity presure to the 1st floor bathroom as it is not high enough. Therefore, a pump is needed or if you use instant water heater it is advisable to have a built-in pump.

As for the ground floor bathroom you can choose to have a shower head with tiny little holes to increase the velocity pressure if the instant water heater has no built-in pump.

For instant water heater without built-in pump one other way is to feed the water heater from direct main. Direct main presure is much greater than the pressure from the tank othewise it cannot fill your tank.

In short:
1. To feed your heater from tank buy heater with built-in pump or
2. feed directly from main. And
3. have a pump at tank feeding all the bathroom. With a centralised pump you do not need to bother the sizes of the pipe as this high power pump can give you more than enough pressure (static or velocity) even with half inch pipe all the way.

This post has been edited by stevie8: Apr 28 2012, 02:09 AM
ozak
post Apr 28 2012, 08:36 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(solame @ Apr 27 2012, 11:26 PM)
@ozak: what kind of check valve you using? Brass swing check valve? Checked with hardware shop, 1" approx. RM20+ per pc. not expensive. "i” brand. can't find other brand. any recommendations?
There is only 1 type. I dont no how does swing check valve look like. Any brand will do. Check valve is very common part. Just like pipe fitting part only.
JinXXX
post Apr 28 2012, 09:05 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(solame @ Apr 27 2012, 11:26 PM)
i " brand u mean itap ?

http://www.itap.it/valves-for-heating-syst...heck-valves.asp

seems like this is the only check valve.... ppl are selling seems to be branded too smile.gif
solame
post May 2 2012, 03:05 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Apr 28 2012, 09:05 AM)
i " brand u mean itap ?

http://www.itap.it/valves-for-heating-syst...heck-valves.asp

seems like this is the only check valve.... ppl are selling seems to be branded too smile.gif
bought YORK, itap's. cannot see any other choice nod.gif
Skydrop
post May 9 2012, 09:27 AM

361 posts

Sorry, noob here.

So, blue color pipe is ABS and light grey is PVC? If pipe is install not underground (from main) but expose to sun and rain, which one is better and more tahan lama? Polypipe is black color?

I am planning to install simple water filter to filter dirt and rust especially from main. Just follow stevie8 method tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Skydrop: May 9 2012, 09:30 AM
stevie8
post May 10 2012, 03:34 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ May 9 2012, 09:27 AM)
Sorry, noob here.

So, blue color pipe is ABS and light grey is PVC?  If pipe is install not underground (from main) but expose to sun and rain, which one is better and more tahan lama?  Polypipe is black color?

I am planning to install simple water filter to filter dirt and rust especially from main.  Just follow stevie8 method  tongue.gif
There is no much different between the three. They will last you yrs after yrs.

For filtering dirt and rust get 2 or 3 cheap filter housings connect them in parallel.
Skydrop
post May 10 2012, 04:18 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ May 10 2012, 03:34 PM)
There is no much different between the three. They will last you yrs after yrs.

For filtering dirt and rust get 2 or 3 cheap filter housings connect them in parallel.
Thanks for reply. I think I will go for PVC as I read more, this is better and more recommended by many sifus in LYN smile.gif

I will get the plumber go measure the water pressure first. Went to check out the main pipe and water meter... scary. Not sure how to fix the filters now sweat.gif sweat.gif I stay in apartment.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2012, 12:52 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Feb 23 2012, 11:01 AM)
I just to advised if possible do not use ABS water pipe.Instead please use normal PVC pipe. For PVC pipe please ensure that your contractor using Class 6 and 7.The ABS pipe is not resistance to acid, very easily 'makan' by acid.[attachmentid=2701434]
I only know plastic pipe. How do you tell which is ABS and which is PVC? They all look the same to me.

xerox1234
post Jun 28 2012, 01:10 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2012, 12:52 PM)
I only know plastic pipe. How do you tell which is ABS and which is PVC? They all look the same to me.
Color is different and ABS is harder and cannot be bench, PVC is more soft.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2012, 01:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Jun 28 2012, 01:10 PM)
Color is different and ABS is harder and cannot be bench, PVC is more soft.
So what color is ABS? And what color is PVC, grey, right?

cherroy
post Jun 28 2012, 02:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2012, 12:52 PM)
ABS is more "hard", not as easily bend as PVC.

PVC normally come in grey colour.

You can tell the difference by bending the pipe, one is easier bend than other.
You see more "straight" in ABS pipe in the storage for the same length in both are stored together.

skng03
post Jun 28 2012, 03:47 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2012, 01:36 PM)
So what color is ABS? And what color is PVC, grey, right?
Abs = blue color, pvc = grey color.

Both pipe (with sirim approved) almost same price, abs fitting price higher. THose pvc sold in hardware shop without sirim much cheaper but lower quality.

Abs alto harder, but easy to break/ crack @ T joints n bend.

Previously, abs is the only approved cold water pipe for internal piping by syabas, now pvc r approved due to the above…
BM81
post Oct 14 2012, 11:03 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 20 2012, 08:07 PM)
Normally and logically this is pipe sizing for home in malaysia.

1. The incoming pipe from water work before meter is 3/4 inch.
2. Going into the meter is half inch size with a lenght of approximately 1 foot in length.
3. Due to high pressure 3/4 inch pipe before meter it is logically to have 3/4 inch pipe from meter into the house than to use half inch pipe so that the pressure is not affected. It serve no purpose to have bigger size pipe than 3/4 as it is not going to help increasing the in coming pressure neither will 3/4 inch pipe reduces the water pressure even when it branches to kitchen and up to tank. But having bigger than 3/4 size pipe does no harm.
4. From the tank to the bathroom is a different story. Depending on how many per outlet from the tank serves the pipe from tank has to be at least 3/4 size pipe per bathroom as it is place flat.
5. Then as it come down to the bathroom with the help of gravity the rush of water the pressure increases so reduced to size of pipe to half inch is ideal. It is not necessary using biger size like 3/4 inch pipe. By doing so you got the extra unncessary work to have pipe reducer from 3/4 inch to half inch as the tap and outlets accepts only half inch pipe. More so when it is concealed you dont want to hack bigger than necessary channel for the pipe.
Hi Stevie,
Sorry, I am a newbie here....
Have some questions and hope you can help to answer:
1. Incoming pipe before meter= 3/4", into meter=1/2". Would it be logical to use 1/2" pipe from meter into the house? What I mean is, since the pipe going into the meter is already 1/2", and if we use 3/4" after the meter, the water pressure will still be the same regardless of whether we are using 1/2" or 3/4"?
2. looking at item num 4 and 5, what type of pipe is normally used? is it pvc or poly?
3. Any difference btw grey and white PVC?

Hope you can give some advise. smile.gif

abitnuts
post Oct 15 2012, 01:03 AM

129 posts

Hi BM81,

Would like to share some understanding and experience I have on some of your questions. Other sifu's are welcome to correct me if I'm wrong.

Q2 - Usually PVC is used (Grey colored). For your own home get the thick one. Some people like to use Poly (black colored), it is durable, alot of farms use them for water piping but their fittings are more expensive. If you decide to get Poly then make sure it is SIRIM certified.

Q3 - PVC (Grey) and uPVC (White) difference can be checked out here: http://www.ehow.com/list_6861864_differenc...-pvc-pipes.html.

Basically you can use either one, your preference. However in Malaysia most use PVC (grey) for most of the piping and uPVC (White) for gutter and toilet plumbing.

BM81
post Oct 15 2012, 09:12 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(abitnuts @ Oct 15 2012, 01:03 AM)
Hi BM81,

Would like to share some understanding and experience I have on some of your questions.  Other sifu's are welcome to correct me if I'm wrong. 

Q2 - Usually PVC is used (Grey colored).  For your own home get the thick one.  Some people like to use Poly (black colored), it is durable, alot of farms use them for water piping but their fittings are more expensive.  If you decide to get Poly then make sure it is SIRIM certified.

Q3 - PVC (Grey) and uPVC (White) difference can be checked out here: http://www.ehow.com/list_6861864_differenc...-pvc-pipes.html

Basically you can use either one, your preference.  However in Malaysia most use PVC (grey) for most of the piping and uPVC (White) for gutter and toilet plumbing. 

Thanks a lot bro abitnuts biggrin.gif

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:14 AM