Please think twice before using ABS water pipe

solame
post Apr 19 2012, 04:51 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:40 AM)
No bro. SS is better. Copper not only cannot take too acidic but also too alkaline. the water acidity level exceeds either side of 6.5 to 8.5 pH should not be used. You can see some blue/green residue. ss can take much higher acid and alkaline level.

ss is harder and copper is expensive.

Since copper is one of the best heat conductor you lose heat easily from you hot water and it means waste of energy thru out the years. See if your copper pipe is connected to the hot tank, at night the copper is "taking" conduct away the heat and heat lost accelerated as compare to ss. On top of that the copper pipe is thicker mean more heat is transfer and lost.

The advantage of copper is it can be bend quite easily and make it flexible for small curve and adjustment. for example when your pipe coming down straight and you find that it is a little to the right, you can bend anywhere along the pipe to be a little to the left.

Of course there are many advantages of copper but here is just comparing to ss.
I am renovating my house and changing all inlet water pipings.

Initial thought was all using poly pipe. My contractor now HIGHLY recommend to use ABS (blue). I have open a topic yesterday and just found this.

According to him, termites will attack poly pipe, that happended to his house (he sounded very real) but not ABS. Any comment? This is my first time hearing this "fact"

I asked a sample blue pipe from him and found that it is not of BBB nor PALING, shocking.gif thinking a way to turn down his "suggestion"...
solame
post Apr 19 2012, 10:58 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 19 2012, 05:02 PM)
The reason using poly aginst any other pipes is because you can have one long pipe without connection. It is the connection/joints that usually give you problems, leak and no properly seal with sufficinet glue or strenght. Poly also allow you to turn corner in this long distant length.

I cannot comment on termite attacking poly pipe. I thought termite eat only wood? Terminte might use the pipe channel between the pipe and the wall getting to your house when it is not compact enough due to some movement of the pipe when during concrete curing time like someone kick the pipe or move the pipe.
Ya, termites attack poly pipe, asked a few friends and no one heard of it. Anyhow, this will not be the draw back to choose poly material.

I prefer poly pipe simply because it is flexible (than rigid abs), bend-able (to certain extend) and most importantly it does not rely on gum to seal but thread. I think above reasons make me feel more comfortable to conceal it in the wall, since wall/ground does "move a little bit" from time to time. Is my "theory" correct? Should i "hold tight" on these points and insist using poly pipe for my house?

On the other hands, i hope to copy ozak's way in doing backup supply for kitchen, i.e. bypassing from tank to tank's inlet. But can someone tell me how is the piping size like should be for the whole house?

@Ozak: You did mentioned "the check valve and the rest of the pipe are 1 1/2". This means ALL FOR THE BYPASS SYSTEM, is it? And the check valve near meter should be 3/4" (follow main)?

So far after reading from page 1, what i could understand is: The main (meter-tank) should be 3/4", then tank to kitchen and baths should be 1/2". If higher flow is desired for bath, then tank to kitchen use 1/2" but use 3/4" or 1" for bath. Someone please advise if I got the info correct.
solame
post Apr 20 2012, 02:23 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 20 2012, 09:03 AM)
I guess the best is use poly pipe from meter all the way to the kicthen pipe. Than T out from the wall to the tank. This is the most secure from leaking cause by ground movement and impact. No joint at the ground and pressure not drop due to joint. The rest for bathroom and etc, can use PVC. Don't use ABS or PVC for the ground. The glue joint just unsecure enough.

The main pipe is 1" all the way till the tank. The rest I guess is 3/4" or 1/2". This is the original pipe size when brought the house. I didn't modify it beside adding the backup line. For backup line pipe size, I follow what is the main pipe size.

I find back the water supply plan. You can modify it to suit your house. This is an old 14yrs plan.
[attachmentid=2800324]

1 item you need to modify from the plan is the "water tank inlet tap" to the water tank. Change it to ball valve. You probably don't need the bypass valve and the water filter for the tank. Skip that 1. Add a tap there for tank maintainance. All this is 1" pipe.
thank you for the drawings.

1. According to my plumber, my house reno but never involve front portion of the house, i.e. living hall. Therefore, i have to lay main straight to tank. Correct?

2. He will use poly 1" pipe. for above.

3. From main (on the roof, before tank), branch out to kitchen and bathrooms (ya, all 3 bathrooms). He will install a check valve here so that when no water from main, water from tank flow to kitchen and bath. Correct? Should add a check valve at main after meter/outdoor filter to protect it from back flow?

4. He proposed to use blue ABS 1" though my initial plan was using poly 1/2". I like to have that 1" pipe for all kitchen and bathroom cause i hope to get higher water flow. But material wise...

@ozak: from your reply, can see you prefer pvc over abs. any particular reason? To me they are just the same. Both rely on glue for sealing, rigid etc. For household use, i seriously do not think there will be a need to prevent acid or chemical attacks. So till now, my question is unanswered.

5. Now i re-think, during water cut only we will use tank water. This means water that we use that time is "not fresh". So we treat it as "back up/emergency use for kitchen only"?

too much questions but still hope you guys would advise sweat.gif
solame
post Apr 22 2012, 03:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 21 2012, 12:00 AM)
Same as autocad.
@ozak: i yet to show my plumber my sketch (= your drawings with minor modifications tongue.gif ).

In your drawings, there are 3 independent outlets from tank to bathrooms. what if i need to install a pump after tank to bathrooms? Can i straight tap out 1" pipe from tank to pump then, pump outlet 1" branch to 3 nos 3/4" or 1/2" till bathrooms? means, 3 bathrooms having common inlet pipe, is this ok?
solame
post Apr 23 2012, 10:44 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 22 2012, 09:16 PM)
As Jinxxx said, no problem.

If use pump, 1" inlet to the pump. Than out from pump can use 1" or bigger. Than branchs out to 3 pipe to 3 bathroom. But smaller size pipe. Smaller size pipe to reduce the cost. And with pump you don't need consent about the pressure because of smaller pipe size. And don't need hack a bigger hole in the wall. 1/2pipe should be good enough from the pump side.
@ozak: just saw your post in another thread, you are installing a pump into your current installation.
Actually for my case, I yet to move into my new house, not sure if the water pressure is low or not. After moved in, if cannot accept the water pressure only will add on pump. How should i lay my piping after tank, to "prepare for future pump installation"? From tank branch out 3 pipes to bathrooms now? Or, from tank branch out 1no 1" pipe then only split to 3 nos 3/4" pipe for 3 bathrooms? Mean, before install pump, all bathrooms sharing common inlet. If so, my bathrooms' water pressure without pump will sure low!??

So, don't "prepare for pump" now, isit? When need pump only ask installer to modify piping on the roof?
solame
post Apr 23 2012, 01:38 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Apr 23 2012, 01:00 PM)
yea i know but i saw in previous post of this thread ppl saying it attack poly..i was quite surprising.. haha blink.gif
yes, i was told by my plumber. He discourage i use poly pipe for whole house piping... no one heard of it before though.
solame
post Apr 23 2012, 05:52 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 23 2012, 11:09 AM)
When you have pump it does not matter much if you split from 1 inch into 1/2 inch since the pump has enough force to push up the water pressure.

When you have no pump logic tells you that the pressure it has is the height of the tank location to its outlets. It is all about gravity and the pressure is usually low due to the limited height. In such case you got to consider the right size of pipe with below consideration:

1. Water that run flat will be slow as such you need bigger pipe. This is from Tank to each individual bathroom before going down.

2. water that runs down has gravity assist therefore need not have to use big pipe, it doesn't help much or at all.

3. The outlets are 1/2 inch, having bigger than half inch does not help the volume flow for pipe coming down with gravity.

In conclusion the proper sizing is:

1. From tank running flat = 1 inch. 1 inch pipe can support 4 nos of 1/2 inch pipes without suffering lost of pressure.
2. From roof to bathroom = 1/2 inch

Note: Area of circle = PI R square.
1 inch pipe area = (22/7*1/2)x(22/7*1/2)=2.47sq"
1/2 inch pipe area =0.617sq"
2.47/0.617=4
by using these rule, i "design" my poly pipes this way:

(on the roof) branch 1" pipe for about 2 ft (long enough?) c/w 2nos. stop cock, as spare/preparation for future pump installation.
Then, branch to 3 nos. 1". Reduce to 1/2" once "turn down" to bathrooms.

( conceal in bathrooms) all 1/2"

Will you guys be so kind to comment?
solame
post Apr 24 2012, 09:03 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 23 2012, 11:47 PM)
It is easy method to check if your bathroom have good pressure or not. Ask your plumber to put a gauge on the tap and read what is the psi/bar. Anything above 40psi is good enough. This is general pressure maintain and suggest by forumner here. From here you can know pump or no pump. No need wait.

If don't want pump first, 3 hole from tank and 3 1" pipe to bathroom. Later want pump, just chop of and cap the pipe from tank. PVC pipe easy to modify and change.
Something wrong with existing pipelines. Open tap but no water, plumber said "masuk angin". So, can't know how good the pressure is now.
Then i opt to re-do pipelines, using poly pipe. Since modify pipeline in future when installing a pump cost $$ as need to engage plumber again, i hope to reduce that cost and hassle...

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:04 am
QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 23 2012, 11:47 PM)
It is easy method to check if your bathroom have good pressure or not. Ask your plumber to put a gauge on the tap and read what is the psi/bar. Anything above 40psi is good enough. This is general pressure maintain and suggest by forumner here. From here you can know pump or no pump. No need wait.

If don't want pump first, 3 hole from tank and 3 1" pipe to bathroom. Later want pump, just chop of and cap the pipe from tank. PVC pipe easy to modify and change.
Something wrong with existing pipelines. Open tap but no water, plumber said "masuk angin". So, can't know how good the pressure is now.
Then i opt to re-do pipelines, using poly pipe. Since modify pipeline in future when installing a pump cost $$ as need to engage plumber again, i hope to reduce that cost and hassle...

This post has been edited by solame: Apr 24 2012, 09:04 AM
solame
post Apr 25 2012, 09:19 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Apr 24 2012, 12:01 PM)
if you want good water flow follow my design.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2271767

by the way..there is no such thing as termite eat poly pipe..i think that contractor just want fool you.
Thanks a lot. This is simple. I am yet to make up my mind if to install a pump.

Feasibility study:
double storey c/w 3baths. Will frequently use 1st floor's bath only. GF's toilet will be for visitor. So, will temporary install 1no water heater (with pump) for the house.
Price difference for water heater with and without pump is around RM 250.
To buy and install a Grundfos pump now RM 1.5k.
=>Not feasible to install pump.

But if i "gamble", combine tomjason and ozak's piping map, MAY BE i do not need to install a pump at all.
may be... still 15 16...

solame
post Apr 25 2012, 01:59 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2012, 09:33 AM)
Actually the piping is the same with my drawing. It is still 3 bathroom pipe out from the tank. Not 1 pipe and branch to 3pipe.

You need to know how tall is your tank from your 2nd floor if you cannot using the gauge to check the pressure.
yes, same. but yours c/w check valve & by pass line tongue.gif
still, what is the "at least" height for tank-1st flr?
solame
post Apr 26 2012, 09:56 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Apr 25 2012, 02:47 PM)
hi bro solame:

this is my calculation:

using formula :

Pressure = a + rho*gravity*height

a = atmosphere pressure (normally not count)

So after few calculation:

1 meter height of tank = 0.102 kg/cm^2  pressure.

3.3 meter (10 ft normal house height) = 0.3366/0.07 = 4.80 psi.

that your water pressure on upper floor or single storey house.

For pressure at ground floor (for double strorey house). Total height ~ 23 fts. So pressure at ground floor is (7.67 meter) = 0.7823/0.07 = 11 psi.
--------------------------------------------------------------------

My house is single storey height = 12 fts (4 meters). Pressure is 0.408/0.07 = 5.82 psi. Therefore with pressure 5.82 psi and combination of 1 inches and 3/4 inches of pipe, you can have good shower head without pump.

I do not know about height 10 fts = 4.80 psi can have good shower or not. but certainly the pipe size is important.
In my opinion should be no problem as the differences is 5.82 psi - 4.80 psi = 1.02 psi only.
good one bro rclxms.gif
just checked, beam-beam height is about 10 ft. 0.07 bar difference with yours. Should be bearable. Still, decision on my hand now sweat.gif
if install pump 3 or 5 years later, that time piping connections may be "aged" and lagi cannot tahan pressure surges? depends on workmanship today, is it?
solame
post Apr 27 2012, 11:26 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2012, 09:33 AM)
Actually the piping is the same with my drawing. It is still 3 bathroom pipe out from the tank. Not 1 pipe and branch to 3pipe.

You need to know how tall is your tank from your 2nd floor if you cannot using the gauge to check the pressure.
@ozak: what kind of check valve you using? Brass swing check valve? Checked with hardware shop, 1" approx. RM20+ per pc. not expensive. "i” brand. can't find other brand. any recommendations?
solame
post May 2 2012, 03:05 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Apr 28 2012, 09:05 AM)
i " brand u mean itap ?

http://www.itap.it/valves-for-heating-syst...heck-valves.asp

seems like this is the only check valve.... ppl are selling seems to be branded too smile.gif
bought YORK, itap's. cannot see any other choice nod.gif

0.0282sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:18 AM