17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

All about PRUDENTIAL & insurance updates!, any insurance related issue are welcome

roystevenung
post May 24 2020, 10:02 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(py yong @ May 24 2020, 07:45 AM)
Hi Roy,

Recently I am looking at my own policy as mentioned earlier, my pru value med insured until 70 years old.
I would like to raise the insurance year to 100 years old.

According to my agent, my insurance for illness is till 100 years old just medical card 1.5mil till 70 years old.
I asked her it is able to adjust everything to 100 years old and let me know how much is the premium.

She said mine is old policy which hardly can change anything. And if I upgrade to pru mil med which it will cost more than I bought a new insurance. She suggest me to buy a new insurance. Is that true?

3 concern here:
1. I cannot adjust my existing policy as its old policy
2. Either upgrade to pru mil med or buy a new policy)
3. If buy a new policy the old policy should maintain  for 1 year only surrender
1. To answer your question, yes, it is possible to upgrade on that PruValue Med policy. The quote will to be calculated by the Underwriters.

Whether it will be costlier to upgrade on the same policy or add on another policy (by doing medical card transfer), is another matter though. Why not you get both options to compare before deciding?

I am still wondering why are you having PruValue Med & PruFlexi Med running together. Is your PruValue Med comes with a high deductible, eg RM20K or RM50K?

You may PM me if you do not want to disclose this information in public.

As for PruFlexi Med, no endorsement is possible as the product has been taken off the shelve. It is a good product that favors customer (admitted, get money) for claims, but good product tends to be getting claims abused.

2. See above

3. Alternatively you may do a medical transfer from the PruValue Med to the PruMillion Med on another policy (age 100). This way, if the PruValue Med has surpassed the 120 days Waiting Period, once transferred, the Waiting Period of 120 days does not apply to the PruMillion Med.

The old policy will have the PruValue Med taken out and therefore reduces the insurance charges which ultimately reduces the premium.

Since you mentioned that the PruValue Med policy also have critical illness/death insurance that is up to age 100, you can maintain this policy unless you do not need the cover any more.

Once the upgrade/transfer of medical is done, it is best to keep the old policy for at least 2 years due to incontestability period. However, this will be very much dependent on the health of the person.

The reason for maintaining the old policy for 2 years is that if there was a major claim on the new PruMillion Med and it is found to be a non-disclosure of material facts during the upgrade, it is still possible to revert back to the PruValue Med on the old policy (if the non-disclosure of material fact was only found after the PruValue Med is in force, of course).
roystevenung
post Jul 9 2020, 10:09 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 8 2020, 11:58 PM)
My PVM has medsaver attached, and recently I had a minor daycare surgical procedure for a non pre existing condition. The RM300 will be charged when Prudential pays the hospital is it?
Would I be able to claim from my company insurer this RM300 since I went the other way around claim using PVM 1st rather than the company medical card 1st

Second question, I have a pre existing condition which my PVM doesn’t cover. If I require hospitalisation/surgery for this pre existing condition, would I be able to claim from my company medical card? Let say the bill come up to 30k and my company medical card limit is only 10k so the 20k I need to bear on my own and Prudential is not going to pay a single cent?
It will depend on your company insurance whether they will pay the RM300.

You can submit the certify true copies of the medic reports, discharge summary, itemised billing and the original receipt for the Rm300 to your company insurer for claims consideration.

More importantly you need to understand how the rm300 can really benefit you in a long run.

If without the Rm300 upon admission, you may need to pay rm30-50 more per mth on your insurance premium.

How old are you and how many times have you been admitted to the hospital?

Assuming you are 30 yrs old and has been paying for full claim, rm30x12=360 per year, or rm10,800 for the next 30 years.

Yes if the event is related to your pre existing illness as mentioned in the policy document then it is not coverable.

However some minor pre existing illness(eg gastritis) over time can be appealed to be removed.

PM me your pre existing illness if you are not comfortable to mention here, see if I can help.

roystevenung
post Jul 9 2020, 02:38 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 9 2020, 02:17 PM)
To answer the 1st part this is the 1st time I am having daycare/minor procedure so yeah it’s a small amount to pay rather than the increase in premium.Im 29 years old. My agent tells me I can claim the bills up to 1 year after the procedure .is it true or it is a case by case basis depending on whether it’s major procedure or daycare?

I’m not sure whether it’s a minor pre existing illness or not since it’s related to the heart but the doctor said it’s minor lol. It’s erm some heart valve issue and my PVM specifically mention that in the future if any heart valve replacement required or treatment for the related issue they will not cover

And my monthly premium for the prucash and prulink has additional few RM added to the premium for this issue compared to what is originally quoted
Yes I do have claims submitted after 8 mths, customer misplaced the bill due to cancer stressed, it was honored.

My question is why wait until one year only test whether the claim is payable? What if Pru reject? Better submit everything asap, payment also will be swift.

Anything that is related to the heart is no minor issue unless it is being triggered by certain event,eg drinking coffee can cause palpitation.

If after 2 years of non recurrent for the heart issue, you may get your agent to appeal to remove the exclusion by writing a simple memo.

roystevenung
post Jul 9 2020, 09:33 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 9 2020, 07:33 PM)
Ok there is a lot of info to digest
1. Claim- are you saying that I can do piece meal claim instead of accumulating all the bills up to 1 year or until doctor say no more follow up required ,whichever earliest. I thought for 1 surgery case can only claim once then case closed

2.Heart issue- Actually the heart issue didn’t create any issue for me only every 2 year need to go for scan to confirm that the heart issue condition is not worsening

3.Remove exclusion- I didn’t know can do this my agent never tell me.Thanks for informing. When I meet my agent to submit the follow up invoices, I will ask her about it. Does that mean my premium will reduce also?
1. That is not what I said, please read again what I had typed sweat.gif
As for the details on how long it is claimable for the follow up upon discharge from the surgery, it is maximum up to 90 days.

2. So it is not a minor issue, otherwise there won't be a need for future follow up.

3. Appeal to Remove exclusion can only be "considered" once it is no longer on a followup for at least 2 years. Key word here is 'considered'
roystevenung
post Jul 9 2020, 09:52 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 9 2020, 09:45 PM)
Thanks understood for 1

2. To clarify, it was suspected  8 years ago in a student visa checkup and confirmed after an echo scan and cardiologist consultation.No medication,hospitalisation or surgery required for the condition up till now. I only had to return every 2 year for the echo scan and cardiologist follow up. Guess that is not a strong argument to appeal to remove exclusion?
There is no harm in trying to remove the exclusion if your policy has been in effect for 2 years
roystevenung
post Jul 9 2020, 10:04 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 9 2020, 10:01 PM)
Policy has been in effect for 4 years already
Thanks so the agent need to write a memo? Is there any other supporting required?
Details, please refer to your agent. TQ
roystevenung
post Aug 13 2020, 05:19 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(likitsaelee @ Aug 13 2020, 03:28 PM)

I bought pru-senior med for my parent years ago, with a deductible of 6k and a life time limit of 225K.

However I realized that 225K might not be sufficient, hence i am interested to buy another insurance to improve the limit of this insurance.

I've checked online and found that pru-value med has a plan with 20k deductible. I wonder can I buy pru-value med so that I can utilize pru-senior med or the first 6-20K and use pru-value med for the rest?

I am open to other options as well, thanks!
Yes it is possible.

However Rm6k will still need to be paid and the possibility that your mum will be left with only the Rm20k deductible plan once her PruSenior Med Plan expires at age 80.
roystevenung
post Sep 16 2020, 08:56 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Sep 16 2020, 01:23 AM)
the switching must be done through agent or visit branch right, not possible through online?
Online is possible. Just ensure that the signature used in the form is the same as in the policy document.
roystevenung
post Oct 5 2020, 06:29 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(sching @ Oct 5 2020, 04:43 PM)
Is it worth to upgrade from PruFlexi Med to Prumillion Med? Need to pay extra RM110 per month. My PruFlexi Med covers until age 70 while Prumillion Med will cover til age 80.
PFM is on annual limit,eg Rm50k (min) annual limit and up to 20x lifetime limit.

PMM min plan is Rm1.38m annual limit with unlimited lifetime.

Do check how much annual limit your PFM is offering.

Worth or not is very subjective because insurance is never worth until the event being claimed for happens.
roystevenung
post Oct 13 2020, 02:45 PM

2,173 posts

Yes there will be a medical repricing next year for Prudential medical cards.

The repricing varies depending on the type of medical card eg full coverage will come with a higher repricing rate while some higher deductible plans (Rm20,000 deductible) is not affected with the repricing.

IMO there will be no end to the repricing if the hospital keeps charging the insurer at the rate they are charging.

The options to maintain or cushion the impact of the repricing is mentioned in the letter.

You may contact your servicing agent to discuss on a possible solution.

roystevenung
post Oct 30 2020, 04:35 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Oct 30 2020, 01:10 PM)
Update: my appeal to remove exclusion was rejected by Prudential
Should I try again after my next check up in 2 years time
What's the story? Pls tag if you had ask before. Sorry i cant possibly remember everyone's case 😔
roystevenung
post Oct 30 2020, 09:35 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Oct 30 2020, 09:25 PM)
Background story:
Been having some “minor” heart issue since 8 years ago and need to go for scan/follow up every 2 years
So far condition is stable
This year asked my agent to write a note to try to remove this condition from exclusion list but Prudential rejected
If it is still under follow-up with the Doctor then the Exclusion will still remain.

Only until the Doctor had cleared you that you no longer need to go back for follow up (with no recurrent) there is a possibility of having the Exclusion remove.

Was it palpitation?
roystevenung
post Oct 31 2020, 10:38 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Oct 31 2020, 01:29 PM)
Hi

I am interested in infant care plus policy

Can you explain a bit
The purpose of the Infant Care Plus (ICP) insurance rider is to bridge the insurance protection gap between pregnancy and after the baby is born. The pregnancy stage is considered 'high risk' for many of the insurers, which explains why most of the medical card do not cover pregnancy complications (even if have, it is with a limited amount).

Before the introduction of the ICP, baby insurance policy can only be purchased after the baby is born. If the baby is born healthy (eg, sufficient weight, no health complications) then it will not be any issue to purchase insurance for the new born.

However, if the baby is born with complications (such as under weight, congenital conditions, hole in the heart, or needs to be ICU) then Underwriters will want to wait for at least 2 years to assess before coverage can even be considered.

This is why it is recommended to buy the ICP together with the medical card (for the baby) during pregnancy stage.

Once approve, the ICP covered items starts immediately and there is no waiting period.

However, if the baby is born with any of the Congenital Illness and it is under the covered Congenital Conditions, the claims will fall under the ICP and not the medical card (eg, PruValue Med/PruMillion Med medical card rider). The medical card does not cover Congenital Illness.

For the details of the covered items, the ICP (2 plans), you may refer to the brochure

Infant Care Brochure
roystevenung
post Oct 31 2020, 10:49 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Derrick16 @ Oct 31 2020, 09:28 PM)
Hi, I would like to seek clarification for Prudential, total multi crisis care insurance. I read through the brochure, there is a clause stated that:-

A maximum of 4 early critical illness (consists of early stage and intermediate stage) claims are allowed subject to RM200,000 per life limit.

If someone purchase the insurance, TMCC with sum insured of RM300k. For eg:-

1st CI, heart attack = early stage claimed should be RM150k
After few years, 2nd CI, cancer = early stage claimed limited to RM50k (instead of RM150k)

Is the illustration above correct?
Yes the above illustration is correct as Early CI comes with a RM200K per life limit
roystevenung
post Nov 1 2020, 01:25 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Derrick16 @ Nov 1 2020, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for the prompt response.
May I know is it encourage to include payor saver rider when consider to buy for total multi crisis care insurance?
What is the benefit of payor saver rider associated with this insurance?
If the purpose (to include the payor saver) is to 'project' that the policy is sustainable until the end of the policy term, then yes - because without the saver, the quote cant be generated.

Otherwise, if your purpose is to save or invest then there are other investment opportunities that you may want to explore if you want it for investment purposes.

Buy insurance for its protection value and never for its investment. ILP does not declare dividends unlike pure mutual funds.

Additionally investment is not simply put your money and expect it to grow. Constant monitoring, switching, rebalancing, redirection is required.

Just my 2 cents, other agents may disagree
roystevenung
post Nov 12 2020, 10:39 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 12 2020, 09:32 PM)
hey roystevenung wanna seek for your advise, is it true that for premium re-direct or switching of fund on investment link policy,
we can only switch between the funds stated in the product disclosure sheet of the policy?

cannot switch fund not in the policy? because i found there are more performing funds on Prudential funds webside
This is a Yes and No Answer, depending on the product purchased. Some of the 'savings' / endowment plan it is unable to change fund as there is a 'guarantee' feature on the payment and the funds are managed by Prudential, therefore can't change/switch the fund.

However, for the normal ILP, yes you can redirect/switch funds which are *not* mentioned in the quote/PDS. For example, there is a new fund, PRULink Global Strategic Fund with Hedging#

My personal opinion is that if you are able to monitor the fund DAILY pricing, THEN you should opt to pay the premium manually and strategically pay only when there is a downtrend - to buy more units.

Same analogy goes if you are paying quaterly/half yearly/annually. See the trend as funds tend to stagnant after a while.

HTH

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Nov 12 2020, 10:40 PM
roystevenung
post Dec 1 2020, 11:15 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(farizmalek @ Dec 1 2020, 10:01 AM)
Good morning.

I have a question regarding my insurance policy.

Currently I have medical card Prudential BSN Takaful HealthEnrich Premier. Already 10 years.

Normal clauses, etc, etc

Including 90 days before and after warded treatment. Pay and claim.
It is also stated if kena critical illness, cancer, heart bypass, etc automatically no need to pay premium any more.
There is no such clause stated in the policy document as you claim above. It waives the contribution amount, but there is no mentioned whatsoever that you are not required to pay premium anymore if diagnosed with any of the CI.

First of all, it won't be automatic as your agent will need to submit a Critical Illness Claim (after 30 days upon diagnosis) together with the Doctor's report.

Secondly, the payment contribution (based on your frequency of payment, eg monthly/quarterly/half yearly or annually) will be taken over by the insurer and pay on your behalf and not "no need to pay premium any more".

As we grow older (or if there are other factors that affects the cost and cash value eg, medical reprising, funds not performing, withdrawals) our cost of insurance for the medical cover will still increase, therefore there is still a risk that the cost of insurance is more than the contribution.

If and when this occurs, you may be required to do a top up in order to sustain the policy.

However in case if kena bypass, you need to take medication for life, is it covered (pay and claim) even after the 90 days?

Thanks in advance.
No, medication after the 90 days is not covered.

roystevenung
post Dec 22 2020, 12:17 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(netguy @ Dec 22 2020, 11:02 AM)
For investment-linked policies, if I put extra money into my insurance, does the extra automatically go to investment and becomes my cash value?
And can I withdraw them out to my bank, next time if I want to? Thank you!
No, any extra premium paid, it will not go automatically into the Investment Unit Account (IUA).

It will go into a suspense account (floating) there until utilized.

If you intend to do top up into the policy underlying fund, you may do so via single top up or regular via prusaver 95% allocation rate.

My personal advice is to only do single top up, by monitoring yourself the trend of the fund.

Some agents may advise you to do regular top ups to do Dollar Cost Averaging, but personally for me its complete bull. Why? Is because if you do regularly, commission is earn, 3%!

Investing when the fund is at an all time high, good luck getting your money's worth. Just my 2 1/2 sense.

roystevenung
post Jan 7 2021, 12:52 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(lee1994 @ Jan 7 2021, 12:42 PM)
May I know what you mean the medical insurance charges for the PruMil Med will cost Rm10k pa when you are age 76-80? Is it the insurance charges will increase every year or what?
PruValue Med Cost of Insurance

The projected cost of insurance for the medical coverage is mostly found in the brochure of the medical card that you purchased.

Yes the COI will increase as you grow older (which is also been mentioned in the Sales Quote).

If you require more reading, checkout my blog Insurance 101
roystevenung
post Jan 7 2021, 02:25 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(lee1994 @ Jan 7 2021, 02:21 PM)
Actually I couldn't find any brochures about PruMillion Med. Do you have it?
My current plan is PruValue Med. The COI of this plan also increase as I grow older?
PruMillion Med

All insurance COI increase as we get older as insurance is a business of risk transfer

The higher the risk, the higher the Cost of Insurance.

As age gets higher the spare part easily worn out, so to speak

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0323sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:22 AM