56 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

ASUS A | N | U Series Combined Thread V5, 4 threads about ASUS filled!

lee_what2004
post Oct 5 2012, 12:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The thermal paste is something like this
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1702139/all
You just need to apply a dot.

When you open the heatsink, you can see if its become too hard/dry..
drumhitz
post Oct 5 2012, 11:19 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 5 2012, 12:19 PM)
The thermal paste is something like this
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1702139/all
You just need to apply a dot.

When you open the heatsink, you can see if its become too hard/dry..
hi sifu lee...

thanks for ur reply, now im facing another weird issue.. i have created a new post asking for help at Mobile Computing.. well, this is the case..

Whenever I restart my Asus A42JC laptop, it will automatically shutdown at approximately 15 seconds after the ASUS logo appearing. Then I try to switch on the laptop again, same thing happen, it just auto shutdown at the same timing---roughly 15 secs. I have tried to hit F8 and go to safe mode or last known good configuration... same thing happen, roughly 15 secs, no matter im on my way to Safe mode, or Last known good configuration, it shuts down..

Well, i need to wait around after 10 minutes, switch On the laptop again... then only it will go to windows 7 successfully.

VERY VERY weird... 1st time i encountered this problem. Other than that, it is working perfectly fine... ive been using it for roughly 7 hours already. Everything is ok, gaming...browsing...downloading...

Now I try to RESTART again... it went back to the 'auto shutdown' routine!!! LOL... meaning i cant restart my laptop~~~ icon_question.gif

Hope I didnt confuse u..
lee_what2004
post Oct 5 2012, 11:58 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

If you try to enter to BIOS and leave it 15 seconds, willl it shutdown ?
drumhitz
post Oct 6 2012, 12:05 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 5 2012, 11:58 PM)
If you try to enter to BIOS and leave it 15 seconds, willl it shutdown ?
yeah... i tried this also... ON laptop, hit F2, go into BIOS, roughly same timing, shut down~~ ( I was randomly browsing some options inside BIOS) Any idea?? rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Oct 6 2012, 12:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Can you check the BIOS version? See if the Asus website has newer version ?
drumhitz
post Oct 6 2012, 12:34 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:11 AM)
Can you check the BIOS version? See if the Asus website has newer version ?
i checked at the website..bios version 216..updated 2011.06.28.. Yeah.. checked already, I am with the latest version biggrin.gif

So what are u suspecting? Some people at LYN think is overheating, this came to my mind at 1st.. but not making sense as it only will shut down when i do a restart hmm.gif

This post has been edited by drumhitz: Oct 6 2012, 12:36 AM
lee_what2004
post Oct 6 2012, 12:36 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yeah, check on the BIOS, usually at the first page.

What about if remove everything usb, lan cable, battery, only plug with the power cord ? or only using battery ?
drumhitz
post Oct 6 2012, 12:38 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:36 AM)
Yeah, check on the BIOS, usually at the first page.

What about if remove everything usb, lan cable, battery, only plug with the power cord ? or only using battery ?
yeah yeah... checked already my bios version.. the latest one..

yap, i tried also.. unplug everything... with only power cord (no battery), and with battery only... all scenarios also shut down..
lee_what2004
post Oct 6 2012, 12:41 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Can try remove everything including the battery, and press and hold the power button for couple seconds to discharge the electricity, and try to ON it again ?
drumhitz
post Oct 6 2012, 01:15 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:41 AM)
Can try remove everything including the battery, and press and hold the power button for couple seconds to discharge the electricity, and try to ON it again ?
yeah... following ur steps... discharged everything, then using power cord... auto shutdown... waited for 10 minutes, now only i can reply u sweat.gif

however, i tried checked my temp. now... CPU is 80C !!! but how come i din feel anything, not feeling any hotness... the fan is running at high fan perfectly.. bottom of my laptop oso cool.. how come processor temp. so high!?

is this the cause? any cure? doh.gif
honsiong
post Oct 6 2012, 07:20 AM

3,182 posts

Eh guys, I plan to change the HDD of my N55 to SSD. I don't care bout recovery partition anyway, plus I use Win8x64 ady...

The MusicNow will also go away right? And then any significant impact to my baby?
drumhitz
post Oct 6 2012, 03:53 PM

412 posts

lee_what2004... problem solved, yeah.. i think is overheat issue.. i apply thermal paste dy.. no more auto shutdown... voila~~ thanks yeah..

Btw.. my asus came in Altec lansing speakers... but the volumn is damn low... i switched to maximum already.. sound still very low..

anyway i can tweak it? or configuration to boost up the volumn?
lee_what2004
post Oct 6 2012, 03:56 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 6 2012, 07:20 AM)
Eh guys, I plan to change the HDD of my N55 to SSD. I don't care bout recovery partition anyway, plus I use Win8x64 ady...

The MusicNow will also go away right? And then any significant impact to my baby?
Your laptop will be faster laugh.gif

QUOTE(drumhitz @ Oct 6 2012, 03:53 PM)
lee_what2004... problem solved, yeah.. i think is overheat issue.. i apply thermal paste dy.. no more auto shutdown... voila~~ thanks yeah..

Btw.. my asus came in Altec lansing speakers... but the volumn is damn low... i switched to maximum already.. sound still very low..

anyway i can tweak it? or configuration to boost up the volumn?
Yeah, the Asus so called 'altec lansing' is weak..
If you use MPC to watch movie, can try to normalize sound.
Jganne
post Oct 6 2012, 05:15 PM

129 posts

Sifus, i have some questions.
My model is A42J with i7core and ATI 5730.
But when I play certain games, it will lag. I checked the FPS it's normal so I assume it is my processor's problem.
Overheated maybe?

Any solution for this kind of problem?
lee_what2004
post Oct 6 2012, 05:45 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Lag or stutter ?
If its lag, the FPS should show it..
Try check the temperature using HWMonitor or OpenHardwareMonitor.
Jganne
post Oct 6 2012, 06:16 PM

129 posts

it's shutter. Wait let me upload the openhardware photo.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This post has been edited by Jganne: Oct 6 2012, 06:21 PM
lee_what2004
post Oct 7 2012, 01:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

indeed its the CPU problem, your CPU only run at 931MHz maximum...
It throttle becasue oerheating,
Can you try vacuum the ventilation? or if possible, repaste the thermal paste.
xavierkang
post Oct 13 2012, 04:28 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(syafiq0211 @ Oct 2 2012, 08:44 PM)
seems like we face the same problem bro,at first i'm quite confused bout where the sound comes from but then lately,i found that it came from below of the laptop,although its altec lansing,but the sound is relatively small  sad.gif

by the way,new user reporting in!currently using asus a45vd white colour icon_rolleyes.gif
Until now do you solved this problem ?
syafiq0211
post Oct 14 2012, 02:45 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(xavierkang @ Oct 13 2012, 05:28 PM)
Until now do you solved this problem ?
nope,myb the problem is with the speaker,which is located below the laptop rclxub.gif
kamkemkimkom
post Oct 14 2012, 11:47 AM

349 posts

anybody here have overclock their gt540m?
i am asus a53s user smile.gif

56 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.1351sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:53 PM