Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you

TStomjason
post Oct 4 2012, 02:45 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Oct 1 2012, 10:17 AM)
sifu tomjason, i going to renovate my new house. Can you pm me your formula. Thanks
ayoi just know that tomjason no more giving his secret formula already.

Can you help me to quote estimate cost for :
1) extend kitchen area 26x5(red brick), without tiles
2) extend ground floor bedroom 12 x7(red brick) , without tiles
* 1 & 2 planing to do concrete roof, what is the cost to include in?

3) 9x8 ft wall up(red brick)
4) cement fence 63 ft

a) can u quote me 2 type of roof. one with wood and roof trust frame
b) what is the prices for main materials for construction. eg sand;red brick;steel....?
c) how to calc, how much/many should be used?
d) how start for a renovation? hire ppl draw plan, apply permit?costs?

how sifus can give me some green light. thanks
hi bro,

1) extend kitchen area 26x5(red brick), without tiles
Ans: Estimated RM10400. (include roof,wiring & ceilling)

2) extend ground floor bedroom 12 x7(red brick) , without tiles
* 1 & 2 planing to do concrete roof, what is the cost to include in?
Ans: Estimated RM6500 (include roof,wiring&ceilling)

3) 9x8 ft wall up(red brick)
Ans: Estimated Rm700

4) cement fence 63 ft
Ans: Estimated Rm3K (fence height 5 fts)

a) can u quote me 2 type of roof. one with wood and roof trust frame
Ans: my estimated above based on GI roof truss. Wood a bit cheaper.

b) what is the prices for main materials for construction. eg sand;red brick;steel....?
Ans: Sand 1 scoop RM70, 3 tons lorry RM 230, 10 tons lorry Rm430. Red brick RM0.45, sand brick RM0.37. Price at shah alam area.

c) how to calc, how much/many should be used?
Ans: this one for what material ??

d) how start for a renovation? hire ppl draw plan, apply permit?costs?
Ans: First thing you must draw your plan (you can use free sofware Sweet Home 3D or Sketch up google), for permit if sikit2 no need permit.
Most impoartant your jiran not complaint.

anything you want more inform me.

TQ

Added on October 4, 2012, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(currahee @ Oct 2 2012, 07:50 PM)
hi sifu, what metal material can i use to lay over the wall to make it into like a feature wall?
how much is it PSF? thx
hi bro,

what do you means, is it RC wall?...if RC wall, if want stronger you can use Y10 steel else you can use BRC A7 of A8.

Added on October 4, 2012, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(kslim138 @ Oct 2 2012, 08:23 PM)
Hi sifu, can you PM me the calculation formula.

Added on October 2, 2012, 8:55 pmTomjason, need your help to estimate the cost for extent my house backyard 20’ X 7' (only for 1 floor) as safety purpose to cover it before move in. I have got the permit as advice by contractor to have a runner helping to buy a standard book from MBSA.

The total cost he quote me is around RM25K – 30K, but now he have inform me that he only can start work in few months later due to too many works he have accepted and ask me if cant wait better find another contractor to do my house.

Now I’m struggling to find a new contractor
hi bro,

for your case Estimated RM17K. my advised dont 'gopoh2' find contractor...if the contractor jual mahal you can find other contractor...if you want indon contractor inform me much cheaper.

TQ

Added on October 4, 2012, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(allankoh007 @ Oct 4 2012, 12:28 PM)
Hi there,
    Welcome to JH Aluglass Enterprise. We among leading manufacturer for Aluminium, Tempered Glass and Stainless Steel. Call/Contact for Best Offer !!!

Our expertise :-
Aluminium Door with more than 1000's design for selection
*BI FOLD
*SWING
*SLIDING
*HANGGING
*KITCHEN CABINET DOORS
*SHOWER ENCLOSURE WITH ALUMINIUM FRAME
*WARRANTY 2 YEARS

Tempered Glass 10MM
SHOWER SCREEN ENCLOSURE
SWING DOOR TYPE
* WALL TO WALL SHAPE
* DIAMOND SHAPE
* L - TYPE
* PATTERN
*WARRANTY 2 YEARS

SLIDING TYPE
* WALL TO WALL
*WARRANTY 2 YEARS

Stainless Steel Security Door
*ANTI PRYING
*ANTI BURGLAR
*ANTI RUST
*SOUND PROOF
*7'S BUILT IN LOCKSET
*WARRANTY 5 YEARS

For more information or enquiry please contact us :
Justin Koh 019 675 8398
jh.aluglass@gmail.com
www.jhaluglass.com
Facebook: JH Aluglass Enterprise
sorry bro, this thread is not for advertisement.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Oct 4 2012, 02:50 PM
janmz98
post Oct 4 2012, 11:19 PM

Hi tomjason,
Appreciate that u can share the secret formula to me.
Thanks in advance.
qaf1010
post Oct 5 2012, 03:35 PM

24 posts

Hi tomjason,

need your help.. what should i do with cracks like these?

DavidCooper
post Oct 5 2012, 03:55 PM

Can anybody tell me is this formula will save my money while renovating my home? If yes kindly send me PM with this secret formula. I am still somewhat confused about this formula. I want this formula for calculate my estimate to renovate my white kitchen cabinets and what will be estimate to repaint it.

This post has been edited by DavidCooper: Oct 5 2012, 03:58 PM
TStomjason
post Oct 5 2012, 04:01 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(qaf1010 @ Oct 5 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hi tomjason,

need your help.. what should i do with cracks like these?
hi bro,

in general it seem that your soil is a bit 'turun' or 'mendap' this can be avoid if the contractor properly do it properly.

Let start with :

Wall partition & car porch & drainage walkway:

If i just look at the wall partition only, it normally due to the contractor did put / 'tanam' horizontal besi (can be steel 'link' size 6 or 7, or can put steel Y10 ) between the existing wall and new wall. This always happened if the contractor did not put horizontal steel tanam at existing wall (about 1 feet) to old wall, it wall crack after few year. Secondly, the correct way to joint the new wall and old wall is to hack a bit the plaster of the old wall then, place your new batu bata then replaster again. hope you under stand.

Unfortunetly by looking porch picture, the crack is along between wall and porch, suspected your tanam turun a bit. Suspected also, your contractor did not lay down BRC steel at during the concrete.

Drainage:

by looking at the picture, seem you fondation turun (suspected your contractor not properly do it, or you soil turun). To rectify this, hack the plaster then inspect whether your beam crack or not, if just plaster cracking, then just replaster.

Fence:

Mostly did is just plaster cracking due to the batu pasir crack. For the last picture, this is maybe due to plastering, from my experience , if we use batu pasir for fence we will always this kind of crack, the batu pasir itseld if crack causing the plastering crack. Hack the plaster and lay the 'wire/steel net' and replaster.

TQ

This post has been edited by tomjason: Oct 5 2012, 04:47 PM
qaf1010
post Oct 5 2012, 04:46 PM

24 posts

and also, my house is suffering from a very bad leakage.. i've consulted some contractors and they said my developer didn't do any waterproofing.. and they suggested that i have to install new roof in order to do this.. by the way, my roof is of the lowest quality..

do you think this is the problem as well?

Added on October 5, 2012, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(tomjason @ Oct 5 2012, 04:01 PM)
hi bro,

in general it seem that your soil is a bit 'turun' or 'mendap' this can be avoid if the contractor properly do it properly.

Let start with :

Wall partition & car porch & drainage walkway:

If i just look at the wall partition only, it normally due to the contractor did put / 'tanam' horizontal besi (can be steel 'link' size 6 or 7, or can put steel Y10 ) between the existing wall and new wall. This always happened if the contractor did not put horizontal steel tanam at existing wall (about 1 feet) to old wall, it wall crack after few year. Secondly, the correct way to joint the new wall and old wall is to hack a bit the plaster of the old wall then, place your new batu bata then replaster again. hope you under stand.

Unfortunetly by looking porch picture, the crack is along between wall and porch, suspected your tanam turun a bit. Suspected also, your contractor did not lay down BRC steel at during the concrete. 

Drainage:

by looking at the picture, seem you fondation turun (suspected your contractor not properly do it, or you soil turun). To rectify this, hack the plaster then inspect whether your beam crack or not, if just plaster cracking, then just replaster.

Fence:

Mostly did is just plaster cracking due to the batu pasir crack. For the last picture, this is maybe due to plastering, from my experience , if we use batu pasir for fence we will always this kind of crack, the batu pasir itseld if crack causing the plastering crack. Hack the plaster and lay the 'wire/steel net' and replaster.

TQ
thanks a lot tomjason.. that really helps how i'm going to proceed with my 'repair' project.. actually it's a brand new house but unlucky me, the developer is really irresponsible.. don't want to entertain my complaints at all.. and now i need to do major repair on my house at my own cost.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by qaf1010: Oct 5 2012, 04:54 PM

wua2016
post Oct 5 2012, 05:03 PM

Hi, Tomjason
I would like to renovate my double storey house, fully extend back & upper level. could u pls pm me the calculation cost of renovation.
Many thanks in advance.
GT28
post Oct 6 2012, 09:58 AM

Hi Tomjason,
Can I have the formula too. I would like to extend my Kitchen for another 5 feets(only ground floor)
Mine is double storey house.

Many Thanks
imbayoung
post Oct 7 2012, 02:08 PM

Hi Tomjason,

Im renovating my double storey house with extension of kitchen 5feet at backdoor. Can you pm me the formula too?

Thanks!
TStomjason
post Oct 8 2012, 08:06 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(qaf1010 @ Oct 5 2012, 04:46 PM)
and also, my house is suffering from a very bad leakage.. i've consulted some contractors and they said my developer didn't do any waterproofing.. and they suggested that i have to install new roof in order to do this.. by the way, my roof is of the lowest quality..

do you think this is the problem as well?

Added on October 5, 2012, 4:54 pm

thanks a lot tomjason.. that really helps how i'm going to proceed with my 'repair' project.. actually it's a brand new house but unlucky me, the developer is really irresponsible.. don't want to entertain my complaints at all.. and now i need to do major repair on my house at my own cost..  cry.gif
hi bro,

sad to hear about your developer/contractor...for you case based on your picture, your new contractor suggested to install new roof to resolve the water leaking at concrete gutter. For me the issue is that the water leaking due to the concrete gutter do not have the water proofing. My solution is :

1. Clean the concrete gutter (CG), then put the water proofing as my picture below :

The product cost about RM24 liter, buy the 5 liter one cost about RM88.

2. Let the water proofing dry, then lay again. Do it for at least 3 layers.

this will solve your problem.

"please capture the product picture", i will deleted the picture soon.

gd luck.

===========================================================================================

Just want to show my DIY :

TQ

kslim138
post Oct 8 2012, 08:39 AM

Yes tomjason, I need you help to introduce me indon contractor.

Please PM me indon contractor contact no.

thanks.

This post has been edited by kslim138: Nov 1 2012, 09:47 PM
qaf1010
post Oct 8 2012, 08:59 AM

24 posts

thanks tomjason for the suggestion.. i'm still trying to figure out why there's a bad leakage at my wall.. might be the way they did the roofing.. that's why water can seep through the walls.. the leakage happens at walls next to my living room & kitchen pillars..

anyway, do you know roughly how much is the upah to install new door & door frame (incl. removing old door & frame)? i got quoted RM260/door..
TStomjason
post Oct 8 2012, 09:22 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(qaf1010 @ Oct 8 2012, 08:59 AM)
thanks tomjason for the suggestion.. i'm still trying to figure out why there's a bad leakage at my wall.. might be the way they did the roofing.. that's why water can seep through the walls.. the leakage happens at walls next to my living room & kitchen pillars..

anyway, do you know roughly how much is the upah to install new door & door frame (incl. removing old door & frame)? i got quoted RM260/door..
hi bro,

i believed your water leaking problem is due to water seep thru your concrete gutter that do not have water proofing.

for upah pasang pintu is normally RM100 and upah varnish or paint door is Rm150.

qaf1010
post Oct 8 2012, 04:06 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Oct 8 2012, 09:22 AM)
hi bro,

i believed your water leaking problem is due to water seep thru your concrete gutter that do not have water proofing.

for upah pasang pintu is normally RM100 and upah varnish or paint door is Rm150.
thanks again tomjason.. was asking about the upah cos i need to change all my doors.. the ones installed by the developer were of very bad quality.. even need to change the door frames..

have to do skim coating as well.. the walls are very rough (whole house).. my house is a DST corner (24' x 58 1/2').. can u roughly estimate (including painting the whole house)?
Yamma
post Oct 8 2012, 05:44 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(qaf1010 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:06 PM)
thanks again tomjason.. was asking about the upah cos i need to change all my doors.. the ones installed by the developer were of very bad quality.. even need to change the door frames..

have to do skim coating as well.. the walls are very rough (whole house).. my house is a DST corner (24' x 58 1/2').. can u roughly estimate (including painting the whole house)?
me too. having bad quality door and door frame with bad plastering which required skim coating.
aviecena2020
post Oct 8 2012, 09:43 PM

210 posts

Hi tomjason
i'm planning to make brick wall for my house & will request contractor to quote soon
can you pm me the formula...
TStomjason
post Oct 9 2012, 07:57 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(qaf1010 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:06 PM)

hi bro,

for you case, skim coat and painting, the upah cost about RM3K.

qaf1010
post Oct 9 2012, 08:54 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ Oct 9 2012, 07:57 AM)
hi bro,

for you case, skim coat and painting, the upah cost about RM3K.
any recommended metal roofing and paint? i'm totally a noob in this..
yapyeen
post Oct 11 2012, 10:45 PM

Hi tomjason,
I need to extent my backyard to be a wet kitchen.
Wet kitchen size = 20 x10 feet
Please help to advice us whether below quotation is reasonable or not.

Quotation given by contrator for extention.
1 Back buiding extend:
a Clearing, hack and remove fence wall. RM250.00
b Pilecap x 3 units (size: 3'x3') include (excavation, steel bar & concrete). RM1,800.00
c Installation of 3' Bakau piles, 9 pcs for each pilecap (total use: 27pcs). RM600.00
d Fill up 12" and compaction. RM450.00
e Building & Structure 20'x9.6' include (concrete structure, brickworks by cement sand bricks and cement plastering). RM 8,500.00
f Roofing: G.I. Metal truss with security double battern, alum foil with c.w.netting, concrete roof tiles, facial board & external ceiling. RM7,000.00
g Window: 4'x4' x 2 units. (1 new unit and 1 reuse panel unit). RM800.00
h Back door: supply and install mild steel frame (door by others). RM250.00
i Floor tiling to above floor slab (exclude tiles supply) same level to existing kitchen floor. RM800.00
j Wall tiling: full high (from side of existing door until side of new back door, exclude tiles supply). RM1,450.00
k Back door out side steps down to backlane: concrete, bricks, cement plastering to smooth and tiling to steps top surface. RM480.00

2 Kitchen:
a Wet kitchen: counter top (exclude cabinet door and tiles supply), 10'+7'. RM2,890.00
b Dry kitchen: counter top (exclude cabinet door and tiles installation), 6'+6'. RM1,500.00

3 Plumbing work:
a Backyard: washing machine inlet and outlet, include hack wall and wall touch up. RM500.00
b Dry Kitchen: relocation sink inlet & outlet. RM450.00
c Wet Kitchen: New sink location inlet & outlet. RM450.00
d Balcony: Water tap x 1 (include hack wall and touch up). RM200.00
(Above plumbing works exclude supply of sink & taps).

TotalCost : RM28370

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by yapyeen: Oct 11 2012, 10:48 PM
ordinarypenangite
post Oct 12 2012, 02:03 PM

Hi tomjason
Planning to do renovations............
can pm me the formula...

56 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top