129 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

taxpayer
post Apr 3 2012, 06:00 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 3 2012, 11:39 AM)
the time i book is rm300 per night.. so depends on the rate? if wanna convert to hkd?~

Added on April 3, 2012, 11:41 am

yup i return 2 =( also kena, they say this year only have this rule..

Added on April 3, 2012, 11:42 am

hmm more than 90 days only no need le @@ 7 days no need? weird octopus carD?

Added on April 3, 2012, 11:43 am

kings de nathan 100% they charged.. hkd10 per luggage...~~ @@

Added on April 3, 2012, 11:45 am

haha yup~ i have my hotel pictures in front there =) you can have a look very cozy hotel~ just that DO NOT speak MANDARIN! in hong kong haha

too many china travellers... -.- if you speak mandarin, they will treat you rude-ly and bad-ly..
As a frequent traveller to Hk , the rule of thumb is speak English if you want to be treated with respect. Dont bother speaking Cantonese as they will treat u like just any other person. Many of them are not comfortable speaking english and they have less room to show their habitual and ingrained arrogance. Only speak Cantonese when you don't have a choice
yvonnesoo
post Apr 3 2012, 06:30 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Apr 3 2012, 04:22 PM)
Anyone tried flying to HK with just 5 months left on passport. Don't really want to renew it to curb my travelling lust. If renew, surely I'll be tempted by airasia sale and go travelling instead.

Haha
u can't. better dun take the risk la.. go renew it. very fast only if u use the self machine bt their system will sometimes down la.. tat's wat happen to me. end up having to do manually.. doh.gif

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Apr 3 2012, 05:43 PM)
wow looks nice. Which hotel is this and how much a night? Thanks
QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 3 2012, 05:52 PM)
hmm yea lo no choice they are rich but their attitude still... XXX hahaha... i think only malaysian can recognize others from which country only too bad...

which hotel did you stay at? not bad also.. very nice.. spacious?

Added on April 3, 2012, 5:54 pm

dont think you can do that @@ so risky! hk side is very straight... i had my hand bouquet back, they keep looking at it, and ask you came to celebrate ur bday? i say yes only they let me go @@  i guess flowers are not suppose to bring back haha..
Butterfly on Prat Boutique @ TST. i stayed in superior queen bedroom. nice n spacious at least for me la.. for others i dunno cz my sis complaint it's small..i bet she neva even c some even smaller in HK.. sweat.gif i made my reservation n booking early. so it does haf early bird discount. around RM380 per nite (weekday) n over RM400++ per nite (weekend).. gt free wifi inside d room.. there r many alternative of hotel in HK bt i choose tis cz i like d location n wanna to haf a spacious room to relax on after a long day out

i saw 1 gal holding a banquet of flowers at the custom.. perhaps tat is u.. tongue.gif

Added on April 3, 2012, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(taxpayer @ Apr 3 2012, 06:00 PM)
As a frequent traveller to Hk , the rule of thumb is speak English if you want to be treated with respect. Dont bother speaking Cantonese as they will treat u like just any other person. Many of them are not comfortable speaking english and they have less room to show their habitual and ingrained  arrogance. Only speak Cantonese when you don't have a choice
yea. i agree.. i only speak canto in those "dai pai dong" or "cha chan deng".. dun wanna get scold by those workers.. imagine speaking eng in those places.. hahaha.. previously my fren (dunno much bout canto) trying to speak in canto to those "cha chan deng" worker in the dim sum place saying she wanna haf "fun cheong" rofl (supposedly she wanna order "cheong fun") the worker react so big n scold her bek who r u calling "fun cheong"??

usually i speak eng unless in certain places.. n d most funniest part is whn we speak eng.. those ppl around us will react very big n look at u in a kind of surprise way.. lolz..

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Apr 3 2012, 06:41 PM
AngelLingLing
post Apr 3 2012, 09:53 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Apr 3 2012, 06:00 PM)
As a frequent traveller to Hk , the rule of thumb is speak English if you want to be treated with respect. Dont bother speaking Cantonese as they will treat u like just any other person. Many of them are not comfortable speaking english and they have less room to show their habitual and ingrained  arrogance. Only speak Cantonese when you don't have a choice
but those char chan teng aunty knows english? hmm.. if so next time will speak english with them already.. easier too..

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 3 2012, 06:30 PM)
u can't. better dun take the risk la.. go renew it. very fast only if u use the self machine bt their system will sometimes down la.. tat's wat happen to me. end up having to do manually..  doh.gif
Butterfly on Prat Boutique @ TST. i stayed in superior queen bedroom. nice n spacious at least for me la.. for others i dunno cz my sis complaint it's small..i bet she neva even c some even smaller in HK..  sweat.gif i made my reservation n booking early. so it does haf early bird discount. around RM380 per nite (weekday) n over RM400++ per nite (weekend).. gt free wifi inside d room.. there r many alternative of hotel in HK bt i choose tis cz i like d location n wanna to haf a spacious room to relax on after a long day out

i saw 1 gal holding a banquet of flowers at the custom.. perhaps tat is u..  tongue.gif

yea. i agree.. i only speak canto in those "dai pai dong" or "cha chan deng".. dun wanna get scold by those workers.. imagine speaking eng in those places.. hahaha.. previously my fren (dunno much bout canto) trying to speak in canto to those "cha chan deng" worker in the dim sum place saying she wanna haf "fun cheong" rofl (supposedly she wanna order "cheong fun") the worker react so big n scold her bek who r u calling "fun cheong"??

usually i speak eng unless in certain places.. n d most funniest part is whn we speak eng.. those ppl around us will react very big n look at u in a kind of surprise way.. lolz..
hmm tst should be not bad~ hotel there price maybe higher.. yup 3 yrs back i stay at dorsett(currently i think is silka XXX)... the room are much much more smaller compare to kings de nathan ~ price last time rm2xx only.. but now after reno i think rm3xx also.. and a bit more far @@

wah @@ is it? u came back same day with me? @@ 31/3?

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 3 2012, 06:30 PM)
u can't. better dun take the risk la.. go renew it. very fast only if u use the self machine bt their system will sometimes down la.. tat's wat happen to me. end up having to do manually..  doh.gif
Butterfly on Prat Boutique @ TST. i stayed in superior queen bedroom. nice n spacious at least for me la.. for others i dunno cz my sis complaint it's small..i bet she neva even c some even smaller in HK..  sweat.gif i made my reservation n booking early. so it does haf early bird discount. around RM380 per nite (weekday) n over RM400++ per nite (weekend).. gt free wifi inside d room.. there r many alternative of hotel in HK bt i choose tis cz i like d location n wanna to haf a spacious room to relax on after a long day out

i saw 1 gal holding a banquet of flowers at the custom.. perhaps tat is u..  tongue.gif

haha funny about the fun cheong @@ true... and we cannot say tar pau.. only ngoi mai >.< tar pau i think is for dead body LOL~ their canton and ours different also.. and i dont understand why mong kok called as mong kok.. if chinese word it should be wong kok @@ not meh? @@

This post has been edited by AngelLingLing: Apr 3 2012, 09:57 PM
samlee860407
post Apr 3 2012, 10:45 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 3 2012, 09:53 PM)
and i dont understand why mong kok called as mong kok.. if chinese word it should be wong kok @@ not meh? @@
in chinese, it's "wang jiao"

in canto, it's "mong kok", "wong kok" means you read wrongly liao in canto
yvonnesoo
post Apr 3 2012, 11:16 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 3 2012, 09:53 PM)
but those char chan teng aunty knows english? hmm.. if so next time will speak english with them already.. easier too..

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:55 pm

hmm tst should be not bad~ hotel there price maybe higher.. yup 3 yrs back i stay at dorsett(currently i think is silka XXX)... the room are much much more smaller compare to kings de nathan ~  price last time rm2xx only.. but now after reno i think rm3xx also.. and a bit more far @@

wah @@ is it? u came back same day with me? @@ 31/3?

Added on April 3, 2012, 9:57 pm

haha funny about the fun cheong @@ true... and we cannot say tar pau.. only ngoi mai >.< tar pau i think is for dead body LOL~ their canton and ours different also.. and i dont understand why mong kok called as mong kok.. if chinese word it should be wong kok @@ not meh? @@
ya TST is a nice place.. bt hotel near Mong Kok area nwadays is nt cheap anymore.. yea i came back on 31/3 6.15pm AA flight.. it's same flight as urs?

nt our canton is diff from them. is our Msian Chinese ppl speak d wrong canto. Msian mix up wif other languages dy. for eg Msian like to say raining as "lok sui" actually it's wrong cz it's mean go into d water.. d correct way of saying is "lok yu". i oso dun und y ppl here like to say "lok sui" i feel weird too..

yea u r right. da pao is 2 pack d dead body.. correct way is "ngoi mai" or they preferably say the hk slang "hang kai".. Mong Kok is pronoun as Mong Kok is the name previously bt present name it pronoun as Wong Kok..
SUSnordingh
post Apr 3 2012, 11:36 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

I speak malay in few places... :0
MrBuBu
post Apr 3 2012, 11:40 PM

203 posts

Anyone knows what is available around the University of HK? At Pok Fu Lam
yvonnesoo
post Apr 4 2012, 12:13 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Apr 3 2012, 11:36 PM)
I speak malay in few places...  :0
rclxms.gif they kno to respond to u? curious..
sfwong1
post Apr 4 2012, 12:20 AM

456 posts

wasted didnt go and have a look at the famous HKU.
Human Nature
post Apr 4 2012, 12:23 AM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 4 2012, 12:13 AM)
rclxms.gif  they kno to respond to u? curious..
my experience at mongkok, i was talking to a friend in malay discussing about price (bargaining) and the seller aunty spoke to me in malay laugh.gif
yvonnesoo
post Apr 4 2012, 12:46 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 4 2012, 12:23 AM)
my experience at mongkok, i was talking to a friend in malay discussing about price (bargaining) and the seller aunty spoke to me in malay  laugh.gif
lolz.. d seller probably come frm Indonesia or Msia
Human Nature
post Apr 4 2012, 12:47 AM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

yeah, indonesia..at the end we all laughed
SUSnordingh
post Apr 4 2012, 01:40 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 4 2012, 12:13 AM)
rclxms.gif  they kno to respond to u? curious..
actually.. they start 1st... ha ha...

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 4 2012, 12:23 AM)
my experience at mongkok, i was talking to a friend in malay discussing about price (bargaining) and the seller aunty spoke to me in malay  laugh.gif
happen to me too....

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 4 2012, 12:46 AM)
lolz.. d seller probably come frm Indonesia or Msia
not exactly.... near to TST, there a shop selling souvenir... 2 person can speak malay but not indonesian malay... when both talk each other... sound like philipine...

There is one restaurant name Ziafat - Pakistani, Indian and Arabian restaurant, there is one girl there can speak english, malay, chinese and arab. On the 1st time i reach the place she told me 'Baru je 30 orang Malaysia makan kat sini tadi'.... that group heading to Ocean Park after that.

My experience at oversea...

Hong Kong 1st time 10 years ago - I dine with ambassador from... (sorry cannot tell from where but not from indonesia) - he speak indonesian with me... rest of his friend just keep quiet... no one understand except my boss.

Japan - went to akibahara (electronic city) - heard 'Harga murah, boleh datang ke kedai kami' - I looking around wondering who say that.. found out there is one Japanese behind me... asked him, he say, he learn malay during his work at embassy.. actually our embassy at japan have a free class for their worker every thursday... and while I at embassy, a girl come chit chat.. she say 'Saya suka makan kuih malaysia'...

Paris - while looking for Eiffel tower souvenir (under the tower la).. one indian 'abang mau beli apa. macam2 saya ada'... 'ada rokok gudang garam tak? - he learn malay from our student there which stay in same place... he from india actually.

At Waterloo station, UK... getting a passport chop before left UK to Paris... heard 'apa khabar'... again... i looking around.. actually the guy at the counter ask me that...

Dubai.. there is one shop selling fabrics, seller can speak malay... famous shop.. under the glass on the table you can found hundred of business card belong to cuctomer from malaysia (including mine).

After that all happen to me... I always use malay when I travel... at least speak a few words. And must be careful too...

At work now... 2 australian I know can understand malay... (but both never work in malaysia).
mugenz
post Apr 4 2012, 02:50 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 3 2012, 10:45 PM)

indirectly also is the same hahahahaa..

mong = bz

wong = slang for bz hahahaaa

i m cantonese, but my cantonese is very weird, pronunciation quite off hahahahaa..

Added on April 4, 2012, 2:53 am
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 3 2012, 11:16 PM)
ya TST is a nice place.. bt hotel near Mong Kok area nwadays is nt cheap anymore.. yea i came back on 31/3 6.15pm AA flight.. it's same flight as urs?

nt our canton is diff from them. is our Msian Chinese ppl speak d wrong canto. Msian mix up wif other languages dy. for eg Msian like to say raining as "lok sui" actually it's wrong cz it's mean go into d water.. d correct way of saying is "lok yu". i oso dun und y ppl here like to say "lok sui" i feel weird too..

yea u r right. da pao is 2 pack d dead body..  correct way is "ngoi mai" or they preferably say the hk slang "hang kai".. Mong Kok is pronoun as Mong Kok is the name previously bt present name it pronoun as Wong Kok..
ya lo, mostly is hang kai or "loh chao" = takeaway doh.gif hahahaha

but 100% i will make a fool out of myself there hahahahaa.. too used to our own KL Cantonese style d.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 4 2012, 02:54 AM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 4 2012, 10:38 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 4 2012, 02:50 AM)
indirectly also is the same hahahahaa..

mong = bz

wong = slang for bz hahahaaa

i m cantonese, but my cantonese is very weird, pronunciation quite off hahahahaa..

Added on April 4, 2012, 2:53 am

ya lo, mostly is hang kai or "loh chao" = takeaway doh.gif hahahaha

but 100% i will make a fool out of myself there hahahahaa..  too used to our own KL Cantonese style d.
dun worry.. jz speak in english if u feel uncomfortable to speak in canto wif them (of cz depends on which place u go). oh ya, their time is $$. try nt to ask them to repeat many times during u order ur food as they will tend to feel angry... my bf get shoot by them 3 times at the same "cha chan deng" tongue.gif they speak very fast during order n my bf stress cz can't hear them clearly. speak n order the wrong way.. thn kena lor.. blush.gif
sunnyboy
post Apr 4 2012, 11:08 AM

1,446 posts

HK ppl english slang different abit, but for my trip last 2 weeks....

speak to them in either canto, mandarin or english....never experience rude/ unpleasant experience from them....

some they even bring u to the junction of the area u want to go and point to u the proper direction...

AngelLingLing
post Apr 4 2012, 11:12 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 3 2012, 10:45 PM)

yea~ but msia the restaurant is wong kok ma~ not meh?

im just curious haha~~

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:15 am
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 3 2012, 11:16 PM)

yea u r right. da pao is 2 pack d dead body..  correct way is "ngoi mai" or they preferably say the hk slang "hang kai".. Mong Kok is pronoun as Mong Kok is the name previously bt present name it pronoun as Wong Kok..
yupyup tst is a better place~ but because i love night market hehe~ so choose to stay at mong kok area~

hmm yup same flight back haha~ 31/3 6.15 flight also~

i also feel so.. msian know too many languages.. but all seems like half pail of water.. so the slang..its like a bit off

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:16 am
QUOTE(nordingh @ Apr 3 2012, 11:36 PM)
I speak malay in few places...  :0
lol yup at night market nearby hotel i speak malay also.. -.- then they ask you from malaysia? hahahaa

This post has been edited by AngelLingLing: Apr 4 2012, 11:16 AM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 4 2012, 11:35 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 4 2012, 11:08 AM)
HK ppl english slang different abit, but for my trip last 2 weeks....

speak to them in either canto, mandarin or english....never experience rude/ unpleasant experience from them....

some they even bring u to the junction of the area u want to go and point to u the proper direction...
yea. some of their eng abit different cz they seldom speak in eng.. those study or bek from abroad, their eng is better.

btw, nt all treat tourist bad.. depends on who u encounter lor.. usually one will get bad or unpleasant experience frm dai pai dong or cha chan deng.. bt it's normal in HK

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:43 am
QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 4 2012, 11:12 AM)

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:15 am
yupyup tst is a better place~ but because i love night market hehe~ so choose to stay at mong kok area~

hmm yup same flight back haha~ 31/3 6.15 flight also~

i also feel so.. msian know too many languages.. but all seems like half pail of water.. so the slang..its like a bit off

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:16 am
lol yup at night market nearby hotel i speak malay also.. -.- then they ask you from malaysia? hahahaa
i like nite market as well bt tis round i wanna focus on other attractions, food around TST n HK island. so i choose hotel near TST for the sake of convenient. biggrin.gif so the 1 i saw probably is u. holding a bouquet of flowers passing thru the custom tongue.gif
if one use to speak without mixing of other languages into their sentences, there won't be any probs.. bt it's nt possible in Msia.. tongue.gif

sellers in nite market street usually kno a few languages cz they attend to various ppl b4.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Apr 4 2012, 11:43 AM
mugenz
post Apr 4 2012, 12:34 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

wah two forumers on the same flight. So coincidence.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 4 2012, 12:34 PM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 4 2012, 01:50 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 4 2012, 12:34 PM)
wah two forumers on the same flight. So coincidence.
go to hk diff flight bt bek on same flight

129 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0336sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:37 PM