I'd just wait and see.
[News] Newegg is coming to Malaysia, R U Happy?
Feb 15 2012, 05:06 PM
2,901 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
I'd just wait and see.
Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM
16 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 15 2012, 04:26 PM) The logo is clickable.For e.g. the event logo. Unless they pull a biggest con in malaysia, i doubt they would clone a current Newegg CEO and Mukhriz Mahathir from MITI. Seem got lot of government backing. ![]() ![]() Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , and Mr. Eaman Tang NeweggMalaysia Managing Director at the opening of Newegg Malaysia Office. From wikipedia it seem the same name and current Newegg USA CEO. Google Image show seem the same person. ![]() ![]() From left: Mr. Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDex , Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , Dato’ Mukhriz Mahathir Deputy Minister of Ministry of Trades and Industry Malaysia, DatukIr. (Dr.) Mohamed Al Amin Abdul Majid Chairman of SME Corp, and Mr. Eaman Tang Newegg Malaysia Managing Director. ![]() From left: Mr. EamanTang Managing Director of Newegg Malaysia, Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc, Dato’ HafsahHashim CEO of SME Crop, Ambassador Dato’ Muhamad Noor Yacob APEC Secretariat Executive Director, Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDEX. *** Purely my own speculation, i think they receive quite a lot of benefit from government. I doubt any people would even dream they would land in SEA nor even here. Seem still in their initial stage. Let wait and see, when will they open their online store. |
Feb 15 2012, 10:56 PM
551 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
there is so many reason to buy online. 1 ... no need to drive. 2. no need to find and pay stupid parking rates. 3. most (not all) the sellers at local computer shops either dont know their products they carry or even the technical specifications when i talk to them.
the only thing i will continue to buy from shops are HDDs Added on February 15, 2012, 10:59 pm QUOTE(yeam @ Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM) Unless they pull a biggest con in malaysia, i doubt they would clone a current Newegg CEO and Mukhriz Mahathir from MITI. hire look alikes? lol![]() From left: Mr. EamanTang Managing Director of Newegg Malaysia, Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc, Dato’ HafsahHashim CEO of SME Crop, Ambassador Dato’ Muhamad Noor Yacob APEC Secretariat Executive Director, Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDEX. *** This post has been edited by CocoMonGo: Feb 15 2012, 10:59 PM |
Feb 15 2012, 11:03 PM
2,227 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(yeam @ Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM) The logo is clickable. well said For e.g. the event logo. Unless they pull a biggest con in malaysia, i doubt they would clone a current Newegg CEO and Mukhriz Mahathir from MITI. Seem got lot of government backing. ![]() ![]() Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , and Mr. Eaman Tang NeweggMalaysia Managing Director at the opening of Newegg Malaysia Office. From wikipedia it seem the same name and current Newegg USA CEO. Google Image show seem the same person. ![]() ![]() From left: Mr. Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDex , Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , Dato’ Mukhriz Mahathir Deputy Minister of Ministry of Trades and Industry Malaysia, DatukIr. (Dr.) Mohamed Al Amin Abdul Majid Chairman of SME Corp, and Mr. Eaman Tang Newegg Malaysia Managing Director. ![]() From left: Mr. EamanTang Managing Director of Newegg Malaysia, Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc, Dato’ HafsahHashim CEO of SME Crop, Ambassador Dato’ Muhamad Noor Yacob APEC Secretariat Executive Director, Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDEX. *** Purely my own speculation, i think they receive quite a lot of benefit from government. I doubt any people would even dream they would land in SEA nor even here. Seem still in their initial stage. Let wait and see, when will they open their online store. |
Feb 15 2012, 11:05 PM
Feb 15 2012, 11:13 PM
1,813 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Lower Perak |
another BN coruptted milllion $$ project >??
Feb 16 2012, 12:01 AM
316 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Hmmm.... I smell "Satu NewEgg" soon
Feb 16 2012, 12:03 AM
6,109 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Mike India Romeo India |
He's Ministry of Trades and Industry Malaysia of course he has to be at international events what you expect?
Why does everything have to be linked to politics in the end..... |
Feb 16 2012, 02:07 AM
4,057 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(yeam @ Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM) The logo is clickable. Hopefully PRO-PR malaysian will not anti tis online website. For e.g. the event logo. Unless they pull a biggest con in malaysia, i doubt they would clone a current Newegg CEO and Mukhriz Mahathir from MITI. Seem got lot of government backing. ![]() ![]() Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , and Mr. Eaman Tang NeweggMalaysia Managing Director at the opening of Newegg Malaysia Office. From wikipedia it seem the same name and current Newegg USA CEO. Google Image show seem the same person. ![]() ![]() From left: Mr. Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDex , Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc , Dato’ Mukhriz Mahathir Deputy Minister of Ministry of Trades and Industry Malaysia, DatukIr. (Dr.) Mohamed Al Amin Abdul Majid Chairman of SME Corp, and Mr. Eaman Tang Newegg Malaysia Managing Director. ![]() From left: Mr. EamanTang Managing Director of Newegg Malaysia, Dr. S. C. Lee President & CEO of Newegg Inc, Dato’ HafsahHashim CEO of SME Crop, Ambassador Dato’ Muhamad Noor Yacob APEC Secretariat Executive Director, Chew CheeSeng CEO of MPSB and MDEX. *** Purely my own speculation, i think they receive quite a lot of benefit from government. I doubt any people would even dream they would land in SEA nor even here. Seem still in their initial stage. Let wait and see, when will they open their online store. btw, smell like another projects can corrupt money |
Feb 16 2012, 02:14 AM
789 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 16 2012, 02:07 AM) Hopefully PRO-PR malaysian will not anti tis online website. implying that all non govt project are clean and without isuues...btw, smell like another projects can corrupt money Anyways that pics are from a trade fair which means that the trade Minister (Mukhriz) would be there. |
Feb 16 2012, 05:20 AM
316 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Feb 16 2012, 07:54 AM
361 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Someone form VR-Zone got e-mail reply from Newegg staff:
QUOTE Thank you for your inquiry, glad to know that we have supporters in Singapore and to respond to your question, we officially arrive in Malaysia on the September 2011 and our team are working round the clock to develop a robust platform in Malaysia being a Newegg Asia hub. It has always been Newegg's core value to provide quality service to our customers and to achieve that we are at a crucial stage of laying down the ground work. Part of our plan is to serve customers in Singapore, at this point of time our priority is on Malaysia market, but eventually Singapore will soon be next in line not only because it's a neighboring country but we believe the buying culture is similar to the Malaysian market. We highly appreciate your inquiry and has been noted down for discussion with our implementation team. If you have any more suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can also join our Newegg Malaysia Facebook page to get updates. Thank You Regards Glenson Source: HERE |
Feb 16 2012, 08:02 AM
5,291 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: I Luv Msia |
QUOTE(Efalex @ Feb 16 2012, 07:54 AM) 1.00 SGD = 2.40840 MYRno wonder they are so happy |
Feb 16 2012, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 16 2012, 02:07 AM) Hopefully PRO-PR malaysian will not anti tis online website. lol why need to politicize this topic?btw, smell like another projects can corrupt money This is just a normal foreign investment here. Whoever the government, this is their job to get them here. In order to attract them, sure nice deal are given, be it a tax break, loan, or even land (Newegg do need a big warehouse right?). Most MNC company here do enjoy some kind of benefit even the Intel else i doubt they would come in early 70's. haha not like if PR government then they will chase all out or get back all those given benefit, or become stingy, they might even given more deal. Who would ever think Newegg would come here? Logically they see some benefit here, maybe there is an attractive government offer there for them, who knows. Malaysia or even this SEA region, this kind of market still young, maybe they also see a way to conquer them. |
Feb 16 2012, 09:32 AM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
received email from newegg:
Response Via Email (Linda)02/15/2012 03:34 PM Dear [deleted], Thank you for writing back to us. We apologize for any confusion. This is our website, but it has not been launched. If you have any further questions or concerns, please visit our FAQs page. If you still require any assistance, please feel free to reply directly to this email. Thank you, Linda Newegg Customer Service Well, hope their selling strategy do like US one. |
Feb 16 2012, 09:35 AM
14,673 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Got an email from Newegg to me today... Here's the contents:
QUOTE Hello <removed>, We are indeed excited to be in Malaysia as well, we officially arrive in Malaysia on the September 2011 and our team are working round the clock to develop a robust platform in Malaysia being a Newegg Asia hub. It has always been Newegg's core value to provide quality service to our customers and to achieve that we are at a crucial stage of laying down the ground work. We hope you are able to bear with us as while we strive to bring quality service as soon as we are ready. While the platform is being develop we are trying to communicate with our fans in Malaysia via social media and contests on our website. Furthermore we are in the midst of discussion with our marketing team to create opportunities to communicate and hopefully to personally meet our loyal fans to get feedback on services that you would like to see in Newegg.com.my. Do let us know your thoughts on this, as your feedback is very significant for us at this stage of development, please do not hesitate to contact me. Also, please participate our Newegg Malaysia Facebook page for upcoming events. Thank You Regards Glenson Hopefully it's legit. Fingers crossed. This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Feb 16 2012, 09:46 AM |
Feb 16 2012, 11:43 AM
763 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: AmPunk |
Finally. My prayers have been answered.
Feb 16 2012, 11:50 AM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
Feb 16 2012, 11:53 AM
763 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: AmPunk |
Hopefully Newegg Malaysia can deliver the kind of services and deals that made Newegg US so popular.
Feb 16 2012, 11:59 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ok. at least we have some official correspondence and contents already.
QUOTE(yeam @ Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM) The logo is clickable. For e.g. the event logo. yeah i clicked before. What I didn't realize was it's scrollable! Thanks! QUOTE(yeam @ Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM) Purely my own speculation, i think they receive quite a lot of benefit from government. yes. Let's wait and see. I won't be jumping for joy until I see their catalog, shipping charges and warranty policies.I doubt any people would even dream they would land in SEA nor even here. Seem still in their initial stage. Let wait and see, when will they open their online store. |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:04 PM |