QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 26 2012, 03:03 PM)
I am more relieved now since no one mentions any serious issue on my scenario as I was kinda panic just now LOL 
It's serious if company A wanna f*** you and neglect/postpone/draw out the cancelling of EP
Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting
Mar 26 2012, 03:07 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 26 2012, 03:03 PM) I am more relieved now since no one mentions any serious issue on my scenario as I was kinda panic just now LOL It's serious if company A wanna f*** you and neglect/postpone/draw out the cancelling of EP |
Mar 28 2012, 08:22 AM
http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/story...umentid=6036742
QUOTE SINGAPORE: A 32—year—old married man was jailed on Tuesday for five years for having sex with his 12—year—old sister—in—law. He committed the offence while his wife was in hospital after giving birth to their second daughter. wtf |
Mar 28 2012, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 11:36 AM) why people nowadays dont like to share room in order to save money??? Expenditure is relative mah. Earn $2k of course got no choice but to share room, but if you're earning $10k will you still feel like sharing room to save $300? |
Mar 28 2012, 04:28 PM
Eh guys, temasek times legit or not one?
SHOCKING: Woman’s buttocks burnt by concentrated sulfuric acid on SMRT train and requires skin grafting! [edit] I am inclined to think it is fake news. There is no source reporting this other than temasektimes, and even then the photo they use is stolen off this website: http://www.medbc.com/annals/review/vol_14/...vol14n3p115.asp (Fig. 4d - Acid burn over back, buttock, and thighs) This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 28 2012, 04:35 PM |
Mar 29 2012, 09:21 AM
Just chipping in to give some additional info. Moving from KL to SG, you have to give up certain ... comforts. Ringgit-to-Dollar, rm2.5k/mth you can have a nice comfy gated condo with swimming pool, and drive everywhere in a local car. sgd2.5k/mth you can only get a <1000sqft hdb (i.e. public housing) flat with no facilities, and have to take public transport everywhere.
In addition, the first-month relocation & settling-in money you need to cough up can be quite an eye-opener - when moving in to my current place (rented) I had to cough up over $12k for agent fee, first month rental, 2 months security deposit and furnishing. If your company doesn't cover your relocation then you have to further factor in the costs of packing and shipping all the contents of your KL place to SG as well. Other than housing & owning a car though, everything else is less than a sgd1:myr1 ratio. quick & dirty example, marutama ramen in MY is like rm20 a bowl; in SG it's $14. Also, just commenting on river's $5k estimation, that's about the average basic monthly expenses for myself + my fiancee without kids - and not including all those "miscellaneous" stuff that every month also sure got - things like birthdays, needing to fly back to M'sia for whatever purpose, holidays, shopping, savings, etc etc. |
Mar 29 2012, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 29 2012, 09:55 AM) eh where got? $5k is for two ppl leh. take out the housing rental and it's $1.2k/pax/month that's hardly what I would call "luxurious" |
Mar 29 2012, 01:55 PM
^
Well, it's relative lor ... compared to my colleagues here in my department my rank / pay is peanuts only. My boss (young 40's) sends his kids to dunno what private international school at $3k/month for each kid Besides, compared to people in this forum I'm probably in the oldest 10% bracket, so every year makan few %'age increment also would have higher pay than the rest of you young guys |
Mar 30 2012, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 29 2012, 02:37 PM) but I am really impress with your salary. 3k enough for me to survive at least 5 months here. lol tipu lah, your "here" is vietnam of course maybe can lah. 3k to survive in 5 months in SG i. .$600/mth? ![]() |
Mar 31 2012, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(screwmescrewu @ Mar 31 2012, 12:14 PM) No..I'm from west msia. they offered me 3.2k. In the appeal form it's stated that their appeal for S Pass has been rejected so I'm not sure if they first applied for EP, would it make a difference? Supposed to be easier to get S Pass right? 3.2k they should have applied EP leh, EP qualification is 3k. S Pass could also be rejected cos the company's quota for S Pass already exceeded. Not sure why you kena reject, 3.2k + degree + 2year work exp should be able to get. |
Mar 31 2012, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 31 2012, 04:44 PM) Mybe this is the first time i use web check in in air asia website. I though after i web check in i no need go AA counter check in again can straight to immigration counter for documents check. how ever, when in i my turn, the changi officer told me, altough i had web check in AA website and print the boarding pass.i still need go 2 AA counter to endorse the boarding pass.WTF...long que in AA counter.If like that then i no need perform web check in....is duplicated process... Hehe after you web check in, the boarding pass should have the steps there tell you that you still need to go AA document check mah |
Mar 31 2012, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 31 2012, 05:52 PM) then wat is the point i do web checkin? The difference is that AA charges you money for counter check in now, so if wanna save some money then gotta web check in at home |
Apr 1 2012, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 31 2012, 01:17 PM) mine 1:1... my company HR said that we "only" got 25% foreigners wah ... not sure the 75% is include PR or citizen only *shrug* |
Apr 2 2012, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 2 2012, 04:17 PM) another sad story.... Jurong West murder: Her eyes were gouged out man wtf ... wanna murder ppl at least make it quick and merciful lah |
Apr 4 2012, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(silviayy @ Apr 4 2012, 12:10 PM) Im fresh graduate in finance Two issues. Firstly, you're a fresh grad. Therefore, why should any employer bother to go through the trouble and hassle of employing you i.e. a foreigner over a local citizen/PR fresh grad? Secondly finance line is not exactly hot in recent history, what with HSBC cutting 30k jobs and all. |
Apr 5 2012, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(jack7788 @ Apr 5 2012, 09:34 AM) First time taking a bus back to KL. What are the procedures at immigration? I will be taking First Coach. Thanks! you got to get down once to pass singapore immigration, then board the bus again, then get down again at malaysia immigration, then board the bus again. i forgot which side you gotta drag all your luggage with you also, just follow what all the other passengers are doing, if they take their luggage than you also take yours. |
Apr 6 2012, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 6 2012, 07:30 AM) are you guys interested in bersih 3.0 sg? if you guys going berramai-ramai then i might tag along for sh*ts and giggles but i'm not actually interested in bersih |
Apr 6 2012, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 6 2012, 03:56 PM) What's the plan for singapore? QUOTE(extremepower @ Apr 6 2012, 05:40 PM) in sg, if you try berseh, you will be bersehed...bleached. lol probably given the government's restrictions, it'll just be a gathering at speaker's corner like the last one. |
Apr 7 2012, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(ahchak @ Apr 6 2012, 11:29 PM) I would like to try my luck at sg.. but I'm very scared.. Not sure scared of what.. wtf is there to be scared of? you try, if you get a job then good, if you don't get a job what do you lose? QUOTE(wickedghost @ Apr 7 2012, 07:54 AM) Guys, If I work only for 6 months and I resign... Is there any penalty?I'm a ep holder no penalty. |
Apr 8 2012, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(ahchak @ Apr 8 2012, 01:00 AM) Errr.. Maybe my time? Most of my friends already learn many things during internship except me.. i dont want to waste my time anymore.. Finding a new job in home country vs finding new job in foreign country, obviously it is more likely that it will be more difficult and/or take longer in a foreign country. If you don't want to work in SG bad enough to be willing to take that risk, then just stay in your hometown and don't bother lor. QUOTE(ahchak @ Apr 8 2012, 01:00 AM) And.. i can become easily tearful if anyone were to scold me.. i am way too sensitive.. If you're a guy and you cry just cos someone tells you off, then you gotta get in control of your emotions damn quick, cos all you need is one tearful episode and everyone in the office will know you as the dude who cried (and not for any of your accomplishments). |
Apr 8 2012, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 8 2012, 05:58 PM) coz i have commitments and my fund might only let me survive around a week or so. accommodation will kill me thanks Then there's nothing to decide what. You simply can't afford to come to SG to look for a job, so you have effectively no choice but to stay in KL/JB/wherever you are and apply "offshore" and hope you get calls lor. |
| Change to: | 0.0460sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:32 AM |