Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

deodorant
post Feb 28 2012, 10:28 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 28 2012, 08:56 PM)
When I heard the story, the image of china Foxconn appear in my mind.

random: read the other day that foxconn has 1.2million employees @_@

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/01/...E77016B20110801

QUOTE(newaisa @ Feb 28 2012, 10:07 PM)
This might not be the best idea..but I'm thinking to get a room and stay there until I find a job.

Like lester said, you can't legally rent a room in singapore on a tourist visa. furthermore, you're looking at rm1.5k+ minimum a month for a room, and it is easily possible that it will take you several months to get an offer, so it makes a lot more financial sense to stay in JB and only come in when you have interviews (it's not like you're gonna have multiple interviews a day)
deodorant
post Feb 29 2012, 12:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 28 2012, 10:36 PM)
talking about these.. i can say i see KL is more dangerous than JB.

my dad's car just got stolen a few days ago lol. some more not in some secluded car park, was stolen from the condominium carpark biggrin.gif (in KL)
deodorant
post Feb 29 2012, 10:48 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 29 2012, 10:13 AM)
what car is that ?

Old car ha ha.
deodorant
post Mar 1 2012, 09:49 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 29 2012, 07:05 PM)
SG is small, hence very small news also will get published, like the Remy Ong hit-and-run a dog ...

It's also cos Singaporeans very kepoh one lah, you see STOMP, "citizen journalism" my as$, half the posts there are photos of people drinking in MRT doh.gif

[edit] Just did my e-Filing for last year for Malaysia ... hehehe got full refund of all the PCB I paid cos only worked 3 months before coming to SG tongue.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 1 2012, 10:21 AM
deodorant
post Mar 1 2012, 04:10 PM

5,691 posts

eh guys, the medical checkup requirement for EP/SPass/whatever, do you have to (i) do it before starting work, or (ii) can start work but must do medical check before doing formalities with ICA?
deodorant
post Mar 5 2012, 01:16 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 5 2012, 12:45 AM)
today rate. maybank 2.354 , mv forex mid valley 2.39  cool2.gif

MYR strengthening?!? Not good for me cos got a bunch of big upcoming expenses I need to pay in RM ... doh.gif
deodorant
post Mar 5 2012, 10:46 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 5 2012, 10:33 AM)
but still a lot of tax to pay at one go, in kl it was montly deduction so cant feel the pain  cry.gif

Singkapo you can 0% 12-month installment via GIRO so also don't really feel the pain mah icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Mar 5 2012, 11:04 AM

5,691 posts

Speaking of e-Filing, early last week I sent that Master Giro Application Form to IRAS to sign up for the 12-month installment thingy for income tax. Do they normally send back a letter acknowledging that it's set up successfully?
deodorant
post Mar 5 2012, 05:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Mar 5 2012, 04:45 PM)
the incentive shd be to the company. cos if HR does their job slow, the employees would have to complete their filing late, and the employees are the one kena fine. until now my HR still havent complete the tax submission.

Mine the company submit liao. Tax amount so little, just $1,xxx only, proof that I am low paid IT helpdesk personnel.
deodorant
post Mar 6 2012, 08:59 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 6 2012, 12:41 AM)
thank you very2 much for all the advice; pepsico, r1v3r, Lester1987, extremepower and everyone else for the advice.. i'll definitely buy you guys drinks if we ever meet..wink.gif

gathering thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740 ... it's all up to you whether you want to meet them tongue.gif
deodorant
post Mar 6 2012, 11:46 AM

5,691 posts

Wah COE price just hit $57k (<1600cc) and $78k (>1600cc).

@extreme ... best best is to go look for a group on badminton central?
deodorant
post Mar 7 2012, 05:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Mar 7 2012, 01:32 PM)
Most probably I will advise my son to take-up piloting in the future.

Got drawbacks also lor pilot life, particularly for "family man" kind of people.
deodorant
post Mar 8 2012, 08:59 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 7 2012, 09:50 PM)
I am almost a weekly traveller back to KL. I take the Sri Maju executive bus from Golden Mile Complex on Friday after work and take the Nice Executive Coach at midnight on Sun from KL arriving around 5.15am! Jump on a bus back to my apt...sleep a little and then shower and off to work! This works for me.

Any particular reason why you want/need to go back every weekend? Wife and kids? hmm.gif

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Mar 8 2012, 12:26 AM)
is it safe for girls to travel alone?  sad.gif  unsure.gif

Why, are you asking on behalf of any particular girl friend? biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Mar 8 2012, 08:32 PM

5,691 posts

Eh guys ... PC Show 2012 coming this weekend. Is it worth it to go and buy things there? Or is it like KL where no point going cos it's not any cheaper than directly buying from LowYat?
deodorant
post Mar 9 2012, 08:56 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 9 2012, 12:22 AM)
what is the best way to secure a job in singapore?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
quit current job and go there to look for a job?..or just send resume with Malaysian mobile no?... Because i read from some sources saying tat some company if provided with overseas number, they won;t even bother to call for interview.
Or is there other solution? hmm.gif
what is the best way?..pls help to advise me Sifus and Gurus. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Background: Finance auditor with 3 and half yrs experience in big 4.

Best way? Connections. When I was in KL I worked on a couple projects with my current boss. He had a vacancy open up and asked me to join him.

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Mar 9 2012, 08:49 AM)
sorry, i dropped out of 2ndary school so i couldnt pursue further in the english language  rclxms.gif

what happened to your "partner" account? kena vacation ah? hmm.gif
deodorant
post Mar 9 2012, 10:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 9 2012, 10:03 AM)
No body following all england ka?

I read that matches were played well into the night and some of them even started past midnight? wtf organizer fail, lol.
deodorant
post Mar 10 2012, 11:07 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 10 2012, 10:22 AM)
it was too high risk for me to take to 24 month plan....

High risk? You're here on EP means you've got a fairly stable job with at least $3000/mth pay, why are you fretting over a $60/mth plan?

Added on March 10, 2012, 11:08 am
QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 10 2012, 09:09 AM)
oic... laugh.gif how come tat when they pay performance bonus got hiring chance?.. hmm.gif sorry for the noob question..dun really understand the economics of hiring.. notworthy.gif

You already work few years still dunno this? hmm.gif People who are unhappy with a company will tend to "stick it out" until get bonus then only leave ... therefore there will/may be additional vacancies opening.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 10 2012, 11:08 AM
deodorant
post Mar 10 2012, 11:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 10 2012, 04:49 PM)
makes no different if you are in a big corporation. you will still get prorated bonus of you leave early. Just ask the King, he leave Apple in style with prorated bonus smile.gif

Depends on company I guess. I know that in finance line more or less no such thing, you only may get pro-rated if it is contractual. If target/performance bonus, leave early sorry come again smile.gif
deodorant
post Mar 11 2012, 09:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 11 2012, 12:34 PM)
Saturday just went to IT show, very disappointed....Compare to Malaysia....the SG IT show girls quality...is like    cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I went today, wahlau, first and last year I go on Sunday ... SO many people.
deodorant
post Mar 12 2012, 10:45 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 11 2012, 09:42 PM)
How the raba2? brows.gif

other ppl raba me then got lah lulz

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 11 2012, 09:48 PM)
I went to Funan to get iPhone accessories with the IT show pamphlets in hand. The shops in Funan were quite willing to give me whatever IT show deal their booth in Suntec had. That's been my experience every year... the "low performing staff" who are left to man the shop in Funan or Sim Lim (when their "high performing colleagues" go to the IT show) - are always ever willing to do a deal.

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 11 2012, 09:50 PM)
Which really defeat the purpose of going to the fair. Deals are thr same hahahaha. Even pc fair back home is same

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 11 2012, 11:59 PM)
the same as msia.. actually those at the shop should give even cheaper, considering they dont have to shift it around..

Well I wasn't really shopping anyway. Just wanted to go take a look at SG's IT Fairs. Some of the PC parts I surveyed seemed cheaper by a couple of percentage points I guess.

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 11 2012, 10:08 PM)
I went on Friday noon. still got plenty of room to move around, dragging my new printer along  rclxms.gif

Sunday is madness day, never again will I go lol.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:24 PM