Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

totti 10
post Feb 22 2012, 03:27 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Feb 22 2012, 02:06 PM)
$15 per online transfer from Maybank SG -> Maybank MY... good only if you are transferring very large amount.

alternatively, you can use Maybank SG ATM card to withdraw cash (RM) in malaysia maybank ATM machine,
then deposit it into your Maybank MY account via the deposit machine.
owh i didnt know that we can do this. ho much do they charge per withdrawal?
can we withdraw money from Maybank MY using Maybank atm in SG too?
Aloong
post Feb 22 2012, 05:12 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Feb 22 2012, 03:27 PM)
owh i didnt know that we can do this. ho much do they charge per withdrawal?
can we withdraw money from Maybank MY using Maybank atm in SG too?
yes, u can.
u nid to give a call to Maybank Msia first.

Added on February 22, 2012, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 22 2012, 02:01 PM)
wait JB king sees this.....he will sure  vmad.gif
nah...he won't have the time.
Chances are his armies will see it first and kill me, before it goes to the king.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Feb 22 2012, 05:13 PM
ivanswk
post Feb 22 2012, 05:24 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Feb 21 2012, 02:08 PM)
The above is my opinion to ur question.
bro, that day u were asking on investment stuff
something just prompted me yesterday when a fren was asking for some financial advise due to new additional family member , maybe can share what is the protection u guys having in SG
doing my research and surfing insurance co website, saw this in GE website

thinking of bumping up another half a mil coverage combination of term life and PA
the hospital portion is the part i yet to understand, cause we already have medishield
and our co also further cover hospital, just dun see the reason the get anymore hospital cover

quite reluctant to engage a financial adviser, always pushy sweat.gif hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 23 2012, 12:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 21 2012, 11:40 PM)
Yup, that's what non-executive means. Lots of the senior guys in my company's SG office hold directorships in the many subsidiaries registered in SG. Most are permit holders, rather than PR or citizens.
my hr called up mom and they mentioned as long as i dont attend meetings or sign documents... if dont attend meetings or sign bod resolution how to make approve decisions?
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 22 2012, 11:31 AM)
temporary go wipe table first... tongue.gif  = means do other jobs first while looking for a replacement job. Staying jobless for 6 months is no joke man.. hmm.gif
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 22 2012, 01:27 PM)
^ wat impressive is, how can anybody not work in 6 month
so much time doing what  sweat.gif
i was jobless for 24 months rclxms.gif flex.gif notworthy.gif
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 22 2012, 05:24 PM)
bro, that day u were asking on investment stuff 
something just prompted me yesterday when a fren was asking for some financial advise due to new additional family member , maybe can share what is the protection u guys having in SG
doing my research and surfing insurance co website, saw this in GE website

thinking of bumping up another half a mil coverage combination of term life and PA
the hospital portion is the part i yet to understand, cause we already have medishield
and our co also further cover hospital, just dun see the reason the get anymore hospital cover

quite reluctant to engage a financial adviser, always pushy  sweat.gif  hmm.gif
where's the lost of income part and financial obligation?
PepsiCo
post Feb 23 2012, 01:17 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 22 2012, 05:24 PM)

quite reluctant to engage a financial adviser, always pushy  sweat.gif  hmm.gif
the thing about hospitalization plan is, now you don't need it but once you are old and retired, the insurance company will not insure u anymore.
quintessential
post Feb 23 2012, 02:58 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Feb 21 2012, 10:35 AM)
Bugger off lah, you Singapore hating troll.

Not that it's wrong to detest Singapore but to label Malaysians who work in Singapore as a bunch of wankers show you up to be the idiotic troll that you are.
ask raul88, e38.heritage, or umno cybertroopers. with their deep seated hatred toward singapore obsession, they inspired me to troll any singapore related thread.

as a capitalist, i like singapore due to ease in doing business and meritocracy. afterall, i'm just trolling to attract singapore haters. why take it seriously.

This post has been edited by quintessential: Feb 23 2012, 02:59 AM
uberlebender
post Feb 23 2012, 07:12 AM

115 posts

so glad that everybody doing great in Singapore. this thread helped me alot when I wanted to work in SG, worked in SG and I guess read up a bit on info of SG while back in MY now.

Hi to all that knew me while I was there for my short 1 year n a half stint. Didn't manage to meet so many people but did say my hellos to random Malaysians met in taxi from JB to SG, bus KL-SG sometimes.

Before any haters start bashing me for leaving or whatever, it was never about not liking staying there. Love the money and okay with the living, definitely one of the wisest choices I made! Really starting to feel the pinch here in KL!!! But I must persevere because I have career plans and I couldn't achieve it with staying in my previous company in SG. But definitely did help me clinch my current job here in KL. Hope with the bigger company in KL, can one day come back to SG with a bigger company!! But since I left after the election, any news on whether harder to get jobs there? :-(

In fact, anybody wanna help me ease my burden, by buying of my iPad 2? Just got a replacement set brand new in box from apple. Still have 100 plus days of warranty. Full spec wifi+3G, 64gb, white. Last time can afford get SGD!! It was really helpful in my journey KL-SG and also my work travel overseas.
yewkhuay
post Feb 23 2012, 07:49 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

how is pharmaceutical industry in singapore?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 23 2012, 08:07 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 23 2012, 01:17 AM)
the thing about hospitalization plan is, now you don't need it but once you are old and retired, the insurance company will not insure u anymore.
not unless u had took up the plan when you were young...
QUOTE(uberlebender @ Feb 23 2012, 07:12 AM)
Before any haters start bashing me for leaving or whatever, it was never about not liking staying there. Love the money and okay with the living, definitely one of the wisest choices I made! Really starting to feel the pinch here in KL!!! But I must persevere because I have career plans and I couldn't achieve it with staying in my previous company in SG. But definitely did help me clinch my current job here in KL. Hope with the bigger company in KL, can one day come back to SG with a bigger company!! But since I left after the election, any news on whether harder to get jobs there? :-(

In fact, anybody wanna help me ease my burden, by buying of my iPad 2? Just got a replacement set brand new in box from apple. Still have 100 plus days of warranty. Full spec wifi+3G, 64gb, white. Last time can afford get SGD!! It was really helpful in my journey KL-SG and also my work travel overseas.
hope you're able to make it back rclxms.gif faster sell lor.. ipat3 coming out..
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Feb 23 2012, 07:49 AM)
how is pharmaceutical industry in singapore?
doing very well rclxms.gif
deodorant
post Feb 23 2012, 08:32 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Feb 23 2012, 02:58 AM)
i'm just trolling to attract singapore haters. why take it seriously.

because trolling belongs in /k/ and not here? hmm.gif
bellion
post Feb 23 2012, 08:33 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Feb 23 2012, 02:58 AM)
ask raul88, e38.heritage, or umno cybertroopers. with their deep seated hatred toward singapore obsession, they inspired me to troll any singapore related thread.

as a capitalist, i like singapore due to ease in doing business and meritocracy. afterall, i'm just trolling to attract singapore haters. why take it seriously.
Don't bullsh*te with your tales of trying to attract singapore haters - your postings show otherwise. The only singapore hater I see around here is YOU! This thread is regarding working and living in Singapore and those who are here just to troll can boot themselves out.

This post has been edited by bellion: Feb 23 2012, 02:10 PM
megadisc
post Feb 23 2012, 10:16 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Feb 23 2012, 09:33 AM)
Don't bullsh*te with your tales of trying to attract singapore haters - your postings show otherwise.  The only one I see around here is YOU!  This thread is regarding working and living in Singapore and those who are here just to troll can boot themselves out.
agreed bellion to offer advise for those planning to workin in singapore
all of us , are just working for a better life...

cheeers !
Aloong
post Feb 23 2012, 12:06 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 23 2012, 12:40 AM)
my hr called up mom and they mentioned as long as i dont attend meetings or sign documents... if dont attend meetings or sign bod resolution how to make approve decisions?
wow high krass bunny..
hmm.gif if u dun join any meetings, but still become a director (exec or not) its very risky.
company bankrupt oso u duno.
not necessary all directors must sign. sometimes 75% approve is enuf, depend on company Memo & Article of Assoc.
i guess they wan u to fit into the number of directors, but seriously high risk, but if high gain can take the risk lar

Added on February 23, 2012, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 23 2012, 01:17 AM)
ur rite...the older ur are the harder / more expensive to start insuring.
But i think in Singapore medical insurance got no age limit one. gotto check which one, i heard NTUC. but premium of course higher lar. can pay from cpf.

As for Ivanswk's fren, the concern would be diff. The concern would be risk of something happen during the next 20 year before the new member start to earn a living. The question would be what u "need" to get when that "risk" materialises? How much of that "need" can be taken care by existing insurance + company insurance. Look at the difference (called as extra need) and see whether u can scale it down to what u really need. Accordingly scale down the premium obligation in line with the scaled down needs.

Sounds easy theoretically...but insurance is a dam complicated animal..

This post has been edited by Aloong: Feb 23 2012, 12:19 PM
keeganz
post Feb 23 2012, 12:57 PM

52 posts

Hi I am new to this forum and being a stalker reading this forum up to 1 years. Finally I made up my mind to move into Singapore and work there.

I would like to ask, what is the approval rate for the employment pass? Is it still easy to get it approve?

I will joining banking sector. Now i requesting to transfer to current Foreign bank in SG but i would like to try to apply for others bank in SG.

Any sifu here working in banking sector in SG and willing to show me some hints. thanks alot. ( I'm willing to treat them food to those who help me)

Btw: I am applying for Relationship Manager position. Is that a stress working environment if compare to MY?

Mod: You can delete my comment or question if you felt it irrelavent or inconvenience to post in this forum.

ivanswk
post Feb 23 2012, 01:32 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Feb 23 2012, 12:06 PM)
Sounds easy theoretically...but insurance is a dam complicated animal..
yes u have cover most of the concerns. rclxms.gif

Added on February 23, 2012, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(keeganz @ Feb 23 2012, 12:57 PM)
Hi I am new to this forum and being a stalker reading this forum up to 1 years. Finally I made up my mind to move into Singapore and work there.
u stalking the forum or the forum member icon_idea.gif
if bank apply EP, i think 100% approval lah, internal transfer ?
stress i think stress but also depend on bank
went hsbc bank i see the RM always want to cry like that,
went maybank the auntie there shake leg and greet me with open arm rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Feb 23 2012, 01:44 PM
deodorant
post Feb 23 2012, 03:00 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(keeganz @ Feb 23 2012, 12:57 PM)
I will joining banking sector. Now i requesting to transfer to current Foreign bank in SG but i would like to try to apply for others bank in SG.
Btw: I am applying for Relationship Manager position. Is that a stress working environment if compare to MY?

Get the offer before worrying about other things like EP application. Finance line recruitment very soft in recent months cos of all the uncertainty going on.
keeganz
post Feb 23 2012, 03:23 PM

52 posts

Added on February 23, 2012, 1:44 pm

u stalking the forum or the forum member icon_idea.gif
if bank apply EP, i think 100% approval lah, internal transfer ?
stress i think stress but also depend on bank
went hsbc bank i see the RM always want to cry like that,
went maybank the auntie there shake leg and greet me with open arm rclxm9.gif

[/quote]

Thanks for the information. I'm stalking the lifestyle,complaint(if any) of working member in singapore. Is there any member thats worth to stalk? smile.gif
How about working environment in SCB? I'm transferring from Malaysia Branch to Singapore. IF the offer is worth. Or should i explain in this manner, I need to seek clearance from General Manager in Malaysia(which i already did) and interview again in Spore( waiting for it).

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 23 2012, 03:00 PM)
Get the offer before worrying about other things like EP application. Finance line recruitment very soft in recent months cos of all the uncertainty going on.
Thanks for the advice. It seems quite legit because i cant find much of the bank is hiring right now if compare to last quarter.
Any idea about the average salary for a Relationship Manager with experience for 3 years.

This post has been edited by keeganz: Feb 23 2012, 03:24 PM
ivanswk
post Feb 23 2012, 03:30 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^stalk deodorant since u going to work together with him
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/branch-directory/en/
if kena one of those branch in shopping mall is nice, can sweet talk to those sales gal around brows.gif
specially like ION hahah brows.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Feb 23 2012, 03:31 PM
keeganz
post Feb 23 2012, 04:07 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 23 2012, 03:30 PM)
^stalk deodorant since u going to work together with him
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/branch-directory/en/
if kena one of those branch in shopping mall is nice, can sweet talk to those sales gal around  brows.gif
specially like ION hahah  brows.gif
Haha.Deodorant is it? SCB? smile.gif

Sweet Talk to those sales gal there? Not a bad idea thou. Perharps i sweet talk to those rich "aunties" there? icon_idea.gif My chances to hit my target will be higher bit? hmm.gif

I believe i can choose whichever branch i wanted to join, however this is based on vacancy and available seat. Some of my senior did mention before that housing are is more likely a better branch to start off. If compare to those in Marina and business center.
deodorant
post Feb 23 2012, 04:24 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(keeganz @ Feb 23 2012, 04:07 PM)
Haha. Deodorant is it? SCB? smile.gif

Yeh, I work in stanchart, but I'm in technology supporting WB so I know absolutely nuts about retail banking side. so you stalk me also no use lol.

124 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:23 PM