room rent 700
PUB 50
foods and drinks 500
transport 80
HP/broadband 50++
parents- 400
MISC- 100
expenses is around sgd 2k per month

when i work in malaysia my 1st job is rm 1.8 k and i can save 1 k per month....amazing...
while my salary reach 4k++ i only can save max 2k mostly is 1.5-2k

the more you earn...the less you can save....
the less you earn the more you save

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
means ur salry is really high enough for u to spend such an expenses every month brows.gif
satria89
post Mar 28 2012, 11:34 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(02mini @ Mar 28 2012, 11:31 AM)
means ur salry is really high enough for u to spend such an expenses every month  brows.gif
Yea..i thought people went to SG to save money,but you still can have a enjoyable life over there must be earning high enough right? biggrin.gif

Tigerr
post Mar 28 2012, 11:36 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 28 2012, 11:28 AM)
sgd 2k is really not enough...
unless u sahre room with family.
My expenses
room rent 700
PUB 50
foods and drinks 500
transport 80
HP/broadband 50++
parents- 400
MISC- 100

when i work in malaysia my 1st job is rm 1.8 k and i can save 1 k per month....amazing...
why people nowadays dont like to share room in order to save money???

Added on March 28, 2012, 11:39 am
unless u sahre room with others.

My expenses
room rent 700
PUB 50
foods and drinks 500
transport 80
HP/broadband 50++
parents- 400
MISC- 100

when i work in malaysia my 1st job (6 / 7 years ago) is rm 1.8 k and i can save 1 k per month....amazing...

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
hmm.gif then, i suggest you to earn less so that you can save more..... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Mar 28 2012, 11:39 AM
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 11:43 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 11:36 AM)
Its about privacy....
i don't mind share room with the person that i know such as friends...
but share room with others that i don't know is quite risky for me.....

crazy25kid
post Mar 28 2012, 11:43 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

unless u sahre room with others.

My expenses
room rent 700
PUB 50
foods and drinks 500
transport 80
HP/broadband 50++
parents- 400
MISC- 100

when i work in malaysia my 1st job (6 / 7 years ago) is rm 1.8 k and i can save 1 k per month....amazing...

not necessary.
depend on where you work, u can rent somewhere closer which is not that exp
hence saving on room and transport.
700 is quite a lot for room.
common room in woodlands half a year ago was around 500.
if u are into savings...hp can go prepaid.
ivanswk
post Mar 28 2012, 11:48 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(satria89 @ Mar 28 2012, 11:22 AM)
What your advise Ivan ? SGD2000 in SG is that enough for me to save up and spend some over the weekend or RM3000 in KL could do the same thing?
i think cant go wrong with either one, since u jobless now
both choice also u will be able to sustain at the moment

is a matter of opportunity for higher income, i am not in automative
so i can only share my experience which is now 10 year ahead from wheer u now
what i did was i spend 4+ plus year in sg, then 5+ years in kl, almost 2 year now back in SG

every transition is very painful at the beginning, u can share a room with fren, to bring down your cost
i started by sleeping in a living room on floor sweat.gif

GF wise, just say i change a few and happily marry now with kid, dun let them hold u back rolleyes.gif
02mini
post Mar 28 2012, 11:53 AM

79 posts

btw, im juz curious, how much is the average salary for Senior Engineer in semicon industry based in SG?
ivanswk
post Mar 28 2012, 11:56 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(02mini @ Mar 28 2012, 11:53 AM)
btw, im juz curious, how much is the average salary for Senior Engineer in semicon industry based in SG?
http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/

u can benchmark here from their thread,
from what i gather a dying industry in sg sweat.gif
edvin88
post Mar 28 2012, 11:57 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2012, 11:48 AM)

GF wise, just say i change a few and happily marry now with kid, dun let them hold u back  rolleyes.gif
GF wise...i wonder if i can get 1....since i m working in construction field...lolx... unsure.gif

satria89
post Mar 28 2012, 12:00 PM

188 posts

Working in SG really can help us save alot compare to KL? Started working life in SG is not that easy especially room's price are sky high ...
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 12:03 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2012, 11:48 AM)
i think cant go wrong with either one, since u jobless now
both choice also u will be able to sustain at the moment

is a matter of opportunity for higher income, i am not in automative
so i can only share my experience which is now 10 year ahead from wheer u now  
what i did was i spend 4+ plus year in sg, then 5+ years in kl, almost 2 year now back in SG

every transition is very painful at the beginning, u can share a room with fren, to bring down your cost
i started by sleeping in a living room on floor  sweat.gif

GF wise, just say i change a few and happily marry now with kid, dun let them hold u back  rolleyes.gif
why you SG first then gop back malaysia and come back SG again?
Marriage with SG people?

just curious why you every 5 years transition change ?

From this stage i think i will not go back Malaysia while BN still manage Malaysia.....
I am PKR supporter..and always vote PKR...

If 1 day PKR win, i definately go back...wawasan 2020 is achievable....
From what i see now...penang gov is doing a wonderful job and keep going the right track...selangor also the same things

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 28 2012, 12:07 PM
PepsiCo
post Mar 28 2012, 12:13 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(satria89 @ Mar 28 2012, 10:31 AM)
Hi guys,i need so advise on my job matter, i just resigned and currently i got offer for 2 job which is based in KL (rm3000) and SG (sgd2000), Im still in dilemma on which job should i take the offer actually... KL seems good because over here i got my own car,house.. But over there in Singapore have to rent room myself and use public transport .. but earning SGD 2000.

Really tough choice for me.. Any advise ? Thanks alot
I think sgd2k is pretty low. no much left after deducting food and lodging expenses.
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 12:15 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 28 2012, 12:13 PM)
I think sgd2k is pretty low. no much left after deducting food and lodging expenses.
FYI...
my young brother get sgd 1250 and he can survive and save money also...he also manage contribute RM 500 per month for parents....

Its about how you do it....
PepsiCo
post Mar 28 2012, 12:19 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 11:36 AM)
coz there are people like me who like to sleep naked smile.gif
crazy25kid
post Mar 28 2012, 12:23 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 28 2012, 12:15 PM)
FYI...
my young brother get sgd 1250 and he can survive and save money also...he also manage contribute RM 500 per month for parents....

agreed
is more on how u live ur life.
u everyday wan go clubbing and booze, then definitely not enough.
PepsiCo
post Mar 28 2012, 12:23 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 28 2012, 12:15 PM)
FYI...

if you talking about eat-sleep-work kinda rotation, that's not normal for me in the 1st place. for me personally, I can't .
Tigerr
post Mar 28 2012, 12:56 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 28 2012, 12:23 PM)
if you talking about eat-sleep-work kinda rotation, that's not normal for me in the 1st place. for me personally, I can't .
if in KL and you are getting 3k pay, it is also almost eat-sleep-work kinda rotation. What else you want if you cant get a higher paid job? You only can imporve once you progress in life.

If you are getting sgd10k now....do you think a billionaire will want the kind of life with a 10k salary? Different people living in different income brackets see things differently.
PepsiCo
post Mar 28 2012, 01:03 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 12:56 PM)
if in KL and you are getting 3k pay, it is also almost eat-sleep-work kinda rotation. What else you want if you cant get a higher paid job? You only can imporve once you progress in life.

If you are getting sgd10k now....do you think a billionaire will want the kind of life with a 10k salary? Different people living in different income brackets see things differently.
I've already stated, for me personally I'm unable to do that. If you are in the situation, you should ask yourself, why can't you get a better pay? what's lacking for you to get a better pay?
Tigerr
post Mar 28 2012, 01:50 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 28 2012, 01:03 PM)
I've already stated, for me personally I'm unable to do that. If you are in the situation, you should ask yourself, why can't you get a better pay? what's lacking for you to get a better pay?
I am not in that situation, i cant answer it. But for many, if you ask them that question, they may ask you back, Do i have a choice?....especially the banggala labors. There may be someone with a diploma or just a form 6 cert and also want to come here to work but getting less than 2k paid. What choices they have? Work as admin clerk, ask them to improve further? I guess it is easy to say.
ivanswk
post Mar 28 2012, 02:00 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 28 2012, 12:03 PM)
why you SG first then gop back malaysia and come back SG again?
Marriage with SG people?

just curious why you every 5 years transition change ?
move because better $ and hitting the ceiling, not going anywhere
marry kl gal, 5 years transition is co-incidence rolleyes.gif

124 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:31 PM