QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 2 2012, 07:40 PM)
cheh.... got free rim why not... i got extra $ to purchase adjustable suspension to higher my car height & add spacer 99 to fit it like hilux la!This post has been edited by nzh0920: Feb 2 2012, 07:42 PM
A Car for Spirited Driving?, Thinking to switch from a Honda City
Feb 2 2012, 07:41 PM
83 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Feb 2 2012, 09:47 PM
6,639 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: "New Castle" |
After finishing reading all 15 pages I too am interested in what you choose TS.
Could you update the first post or PM me when you finally decide On another note: maybe you should keep the city and invest in a car-simulator at home? -high end pc, racing cockpit, wheels, pedals, buttkicker, LCD rfactor2 and you can have all the spirited driving you want On another note, I think the 1.8M Inspira makes a lot of sense. Get that, buy aftermarket A/C auto climate control, and all other comfort/sport upgrades you want. But then that determines where you stay. If all time traffic jam commuting to work, maybe auto will be less stressing to your leg. This post has been edited by mystvearn: Feb 2 2012, 09:48 PM |
Feb 2 2012, 09:56 PM
2,499 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Tyneside |
Feb 2 2012, 10:02 PM
250 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 2 2012, 09:47 PM) After finishing reading all 15 pages I too am interested in what you choose TS. Could you update the first post or PM me when you finally decide On another note: maybe you should keep the city and invest in a car-simulator at home? -high end pc, racing cockpit, wheels, pedals, buttkicker, LCD rfactor2 and you can have all the spirited driving you want On another note, I think the 1.8M Inspira makes a lot of sense. Get that, buy aftermarket A/C auto climate control, and all other comfort/sport upgrades you want. But then that determines where you stay. If all time traffic jam commuting to work, maybe auto will be less stressing to your leg. Added on February 2, 2012, 10:03 pm QUOTE(Notoriez @ Feb 2 2012, 09:56 PM) you mean have to drive like drunk man?This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 2 2012, 10:03 PM |
Feb 2 2012, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(don^don @ Feb 2 2012, 01:38 PM) spirited driving pedal-to-the-metal at highway choice, and ppl go and compare circuit racing with carb powered cars that have bloody awful NVH and only 2 airbags. quite some morons we have here. Ehem...Another daily driven car, also clocks less than 3 minutes per lap on Sepang...aircond, all seats except for drivers are standard and decent NVH as well. Before saying other people a moron, do you have a good look on own your face in the mirror first? Added on February 2, 2012, 10:45 pm QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 2 2012, 01:55 PM) Ah, i actually remembered but lazy to edit my posts But Swift Sport needs to run on RON97 liao. RON 95, ignition timing will retard hence lack of power But power + handling is really tip top. Not to mention chassis rigidity. Seen a Swift turtled 3 times, but driver still ok and A, B, C pillar still stands strong Added on February 2, 2012, 10:56 pm QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 2 2012, 06:27 PM) u guys are so adamant about your views. 2nd hand cars (not more than 5 years) should be OK as long previous owner took good care of it.relax man. if u all got money good for you. if you all can't afford a better car, don't talk as if other people don't have money okay the ones that suggested TDCI or even 308T 6 SPEED would prolly understand where i am coming from. like i said, i have other better things in life to focus on like property. i have that little spare cash i just want to use it on a car that i would like to enjoy driving. full stop. don't tell me i need to take out money la this la that la. this are all responses of the lazy, and the people that CANNOT solve simple queries. in life, we work on a budget, whether it is on meals or on cars. don't tell me how i should spend my money. my budget is 100k FULL STOP. this is how i live my life, on a budget. some of you splurge on cars, some of you don't even have property. so don't talk as if buying a 200k car is as simple as it is. those who earn money and work for it knows the meaning of spending wisely. you all talk as if money drop from the sky. from the start i already mentioned so many keywords. BE PRACTICAL. if you want to tell me i got no money, or should up my budget, thank you very much but this is not the thread for you. can we get back on topic? Added on February 2, 2012, 6:39 pmactually i did decide between clk bmw ci rx8 silvia s15 celica was sooo tempting. but since i am planning it to be a daily car, it would be not so economical. and my peers are doing very well in life and we drive on-par cars. personally, sometimes we don't want to be a sore thumb. so i want to get a normal , "sportier" looking car. if i don't manage to get a car in the next 2 years, with a bigger paycheck i'll aim for the sportage (new), stream rsx, maybe ft86 if it comes out, type r fd2r? So less than 5 years, sporty, big space, comfortable, decent maintenance costs, decent FC car and most importantly less than RM100k. What can you get? - Swift Sport - PUG 308 - Inspira 1.8 / 2.0 - Lancer 2.0 - Ford Focus - DC5? And no rotary engine please..only good thing i see besides power is lower road tax here in Malaysia.. Added on February 2, 2012, 10:57 pm QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 2 2012, 10:02 PM) Nah, i am refraining myself from replying to childish remarksThis post has been edited by Notoriez: Feb 2 2012, 10:57 PM |
Feb 3 2012, 12:06 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
Entertaining 15 pages of reading.
Feb 3 2012, 12:35 AM
1,361 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Cyberspace |
you want to know what i have on my mind?
1. Upgrade to a Pug 308T 6 speed auto and pray that no problems come in like what everyone has faced in other threads. 2. Switch to an INSPIRA 2.0 and have it modded the way u like it. since it already has the lancer base, everything can be imported and looks just as sporty as the normal. bigger space also. but I QUESTION on whether moving from a "better quality honda city" to a "bigger spaced local made car" 3. PIMP THE CITY in which I've asked for responses before. mod the sound, the tyres and rims, maybe some interior etc. 4. KIA FORTE 2.0 with some light exterior adjustments well, what dya think? |
Feb 3 2012, 12:39 AM
83 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 3 2012, 12:35 AM) you want to know what i have on my mind? i suggest you close the thread and go test drive 1 by 1 that you listed... no point to ask people which one good... its your money your choice....1. Upgrade to a Pug 308T 6 speed auto and pray that no problems come in like what everyone has faced in other threads. 2. Switch to an INSPIRA 2.0 and have it modded the way u like it. since it already has the lancer base, everything can be imported and looks just as sporty as the normal. bigger space also. but I QUESTION on whether moving from a "better quality honda city" to a "bigger spaced local made car" 3. PIMP THE CITY in which I've asked for responses before. mod the sound, the tyres and rims, maybe some interior etc. 4. KIA FORTE 2.0 with some light exterior adjustments well, what dya think? kia owner will tell you forte good inspira owner tell you inspira good 308 owner tell you peugeot good city owner tell you city good how to decide? |
Feb 3 2012, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Feb 3 2012, 12:39 AM) i suggest you close the thread and go test drive 1 by 1 that you listed... no point to ask people which one good... its your money your choice.... +101kia owner will tell you forte good inspira owner tell you inspira good 308 owner tell you peugeot good city owner tell you city good how to decide? |
Feb 3 2012, 12:49 AM
5,464 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
i tell you, you BOT the City, it will be damn good.
Feb 3 2012, 12:51 AM
Feb 3 2012, 12:52 AM
9,338 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 3 2012, 12:35 AM) you want to know what i have on my mind? All above.. whether "spirited drive" or not depends on perception.. i would say no 1. Upgrade to a Pug 308T 6 speed auto and pray that no problems come in like what everyone has faced in other threads. 2. Switch to an INSPIRA 2.0 and have it modded the way u like it. since it already has the lancer base, everything can be imported and looks just as sporty as the normal. bigger space also. but I QUESTION on whether moving from a "better quality honda city" to a "bigger spaced local made car" 3. PIMP THE CITY in which I've asked for responses before. mod the sound, the tyres and rims, maybe some interior etc. 4. KIA FORTE 2.0 with some light exterior adjustments well, what dya think? Added on February 3, 2012, 12:52 am QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 3 2012, 12:51 AM) City dont come with ceramic brakes like Insight?!This post has been edited by MeToo: Feb 3 2012, 12:52 AM |
Feb 3 2012, 12:56 AM
Feb 3 2012, 12:58 AM
10 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: JB |
u want good car for spirited drive right...just get nissan silvia S15 la, best fit you
Feb 3 2012, 01:13 AM
1,361 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Cyberspace |
actually, some of you very pandai.
talk shit in this thread then ask me close. seriously, if you can't propose a PROPER solution, siam lah. i drive city. i say city is good. but i also say i want an upgrade. you say your inspira good. then good for you lah. u don't want an upgrade, that's your problem la everyone loves what they have but at some point they might want something more. people might have switched from a korean or japanese car to another car and they can relate a new experience which is why this thread is opened. people like u can't relate to shit because u can't afford a better car or don't have a better car to try, then that's too bad. but do me a favour and save the page count. i got money, i want to spend, PRACTICALLY and REASONABLY. Added on February 3, 2012, 1:14 amisn't S15 a drift car? looks kinda sweet right? hhahhahaa but for daily maitenance? it's kinda low also and the place where i travel is like to shah alam and my office car park will cause alot of under carriage bumps This post has been edited by Salience: Feb 3 2012, 01:14 AM |
Feb 3 2012, 01:21 AM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 3 2012, 01:13 AM) actually, some of you very pandai. still i think to be fair most of us has already given u what we think personally, whats left is for you to test drive all the cars you've listed compare and well buy the one u love the most, just a quick note thought, inspira is CKD, more like assembled by proton (all major parts are from mitsubishi) so i wouldn't categories it as 'local made' , and of course you are free to think otherwisetalk shit in this thread then ask me close. seriously, if you can't propose a PROPER solution, siam lah. i drive city. i say city is good. but i also say i want an upgrade. you say your inspira good. then good for you lah. u don't want an upgrade, that's your problem la everyone loves what they have but at some point they might want something more. people might have switched from a korean or japanese car to another car and they can relate a new experience which is why this thread is opened. people like u can't relate to shit because u can't afford a better car or don't have a better car to try, then that's too bad. but do me a favour and save the page count. i got money, i want to spend, PRACTICALLY and REASONABLY. Added on February 3, 2012, 1:14 amisn't S15 a drift car? looks kinda sweet right? hhahhahaa but for daily maitenance? it's kinda low also and the place where i travel is like to shah alam and my office car park will cause alot of under carriage bumps yeah, i too agree that s15 is a sweet sweet car, it's not too harsh for daily drive, but maintainence and the cost is well lets just say not so practical for wat your budget is looking at, if all else fails and you still can't find the car you want, i say just be patients there is bound to be more models coming out thru out the year, and by that time you may have a little more budget to play with, still the wisest advice i can give you is, maintain ur city for another year or so, and used ur extra cash for more investment, after that you will be more free and have more choices to choose from. p/s: i think all the cars that has beed mention here is a good car, just i don't feel that they are what you are looking for exactly... |
Feb 3 2012, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 3 2012, 12:35 AM) you want to know what i have on my mind? To have better and good power response from stock engine, some mods is a MUST.1. Upgrade to a Pug 308T 6 speed auto and pray that no problems come in like what everyone has faced in other threads. 2. Switch to an INSPIRA 2.0 and have it modded the way u like it. since it already has the lancer base, everything can be imported and looks just as sporty as the normal. bigger space also. but I QUESTION on whether moving from a "better quality honda city" to a "bigger spaced local made car" 3. PIMP THE CITY in which I've asked for responses before. mod the sound, the tyres and rims, maybe some interior etc. 4. KIA FORTE 2.0 with some light exterior adjustments well, what dya think? So in terms of aftermarket parts availability, manufacturer / seller will choose the hot models in M'sian market. So Inspira + KIA Koup should be OK For Inspira, since it have 5 years warranty and you can use parts from Mitsubishi why not consider it? KIA Koup is damn sexy as well, should be able to attract the ladies |
Feb 3 2012, 01:35 AM
178 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
BMW with 1jz. Good for business, good for power. I think i better run. LOL
Feb 3 2012, 01:44 AM
329 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Navarro |
Just to correct a misconception on the Inspira.
Its not a wholly "locally made car". Chassis, Engine and CVT gearbox are sourced from Mitsubishi. Only doors, rims, glass and wipers are made here. Suspension tuned by Lotus/Proton This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Feb 3 2012, 01:46 AM |
Feb 3 2012, 01:48 AM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Notoriez @ Feb 3 2012, 01:26 AM) To have better and good power response from stock engine, some mods is a MUST. korek korek , only problem is koup is rm115k So in terms of aftermarket parts availability, manufacturer / seller will choose the hot models in M'sian market. So Inspira + KIA Koup should be OK For Inspira, since it have 5 years warranty and you can use parts from Mitsubishi why not consider it? KIA Koup is damn sexy as well, should be able to attract the ladies QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Feb 3 2012, 01:35 AM) wei wei...dun run so fast la.......QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Feb 3 2012, 01:44 AM) Just to correct a misconception on the Inspira. correct but suspension IS NOT tuned by lotus........and only the glass,rims and some internal trims is locally made, wipers no idea....(not surprised if they actually supply local made trims to lancer now too...) oh yea, we got this info from inside source too Its not a wholly "locally made car". Chassis, Engine and CVT gearbox are sourced from Mitsubishi. Only doors, rims, glass and wipers are made here. Suspension tuned by Lotus |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:16 PM |