A Car for Spirited Driving?, Thinking to switch from a Honda City

stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 10:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Feb 1 2012, 10:01 AM)
Consider to buy Lancer GT 2nd hand or new Inspira.
Mitsubishi Tagline "Fantastic Sports Machine" and Inspira name itself show it is for spirited driving.

2 reasons to buy are:

1. to look good driving it
2. to have a spirited driving (U drive long distances occasionally on highways and U like the feel of enjoying the car and some of its power) or sometimes at night alone.
YUP, spirited driving is wat a lancer or inspira is...get the manual and i guarantee u will know wat spirited means, for a 180cm tall guy like u, it fits u nicely with it's huge cabin, looks well, basically you're spoilt with choices from the after market.

honda to proton as a downgrade ? please humor me in wat sense ? the brand ? or the car ?

city is a B-segment where else the lancer/inspira is a C-segment...i call that upgrading

city is a 1.5 engine and lancer/inspira is a 1.8/2.0 engine ...i CALL THAT UPGRADING

honda - proton...u call that downgrading....well it maybe...but do not for a second forget besides it's badge EVERYTHING else is a MITSUBISHI...

and u ask for spirited driving and looks...with a budget below 100k - i will tell u INSPIRA is wat u looking for

but if u TELL ME U WANT BRAND ...then by all means indulge yourself in a BMW and nothing less...why u ask ?

because you're upgrading from a JAPANESE to a CONTI...what else is there...BEEMER wor...anytime better then peugeot too......

OH yea, japanese pawns CONTI on handling everytime ( take note that HANDLING and COMFORT RIDE is two different things., so conti will pawn japanese in comfort evertime too...)

just my 2cents

This post has been edited by stewPik: Feb 1 2012, 10:42 AM
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 10:49 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kychong @ Feb 1 2012, 10:47 AM)
Buying Proton is a downgrade regardless of what of CC! And dont try to associate lancer with inspira. Just like china iphone with apple iphone. U mean everything else is MITSU? U wan me post campro picture?..There is no spirited driving in this car as vios can oso taopao inspira as claim by an inspira owner.
shocking.gif is it ? campro meh...i tot MIVEC ?? not mivec meh ???

hah ? vios only 1.5 can tapao inspira ???? then mayb really campro, cuz if mivec impossible can loose leh.... doh.gif doh.gif
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 10:58 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 1 2012, 10:56 AM)
vervain, what you say is right and I agree with you (coming from the same thought process as you have right now)

sometimes there's that lingering itch that makes u want to change into something sportier, when you drive, you feel good, you feel great. it doesn't have to be a beemer or a merc (i can afford it) but something value for money, and does not worry the pocket.

i've done so many things to my car to change the feel to embrace the drive. audio stuff, handling stuff via racing bars and planning to change tyre profiles on stock rims.

i have a civic fd2 at home already. my mum drives it. don't want the same car in the garage LOL

i have not joined teamcity but i am in some "limited" contact with soem of the members there. the forum/club is dying with all the oldies leaving the club with new cars. oh well.
so i guess u've made up ur mind...save the money and invest is the BEST

u say brand not a matter ? then why not P1

u say value for money...there is only 2 cars in the market that is value for money now

kia forte and proton inspira....
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 06:00 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 1 2012, 11:34 AM)
seriously forte not for spirited driving but a good commuter..n from honda city to forte is like downgrading..just like if u buy proton..n since u mention fd is already in ur home..the last option for a branded japanese is altis..lancer is like inspira but honestly lancer is much better handling in stock compare to inspira..looks good too but inspira spoilt the party!

308t is just nice..power is good..good tech..sharing the same engine wit mini's..people bad mouth about this car none other than becos of NAZA..period..

Those old impreza n evos are serious car..within ur budget an its practical too..
so wats the different from YOU bad mouth on INSPIRA because it's from PROTON ??? stewpik hypocrites,
with all due respect, i agree PROTON sucks.but not the car..INSPIRA is the best bang for bucks........i DARE u to try the car 1st b4 u make another stupid comment....

QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 1 2012, 02:18 PM)
true.

modern sports cars are more expensive, like the new ft86 that's coming or even the hot hatch subaru impreza or the megane coupe.

drivers will be drivers.
when u have a powerful car
when u are alone at night
when the roads are clear

don't u feel the urge to step and VROOOOOOM all the way? I do.

but i don't want that to happen. i want to enjoy the scenery, enjoy the ride. hahahaha

soo drama right? tongue.gif
then go for PRIUS, sondless when u cruising, spacious, comfart, and good FC, hell it's a TOYOTA, everyone knows toyota is indestructable and good resale value
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 07:30 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 1 2012, 11:34 AM)
seriously forte not for spirited driving but a good commuter..n from honda city to forte is like downgrading..just like if u buy proton..n since u mention fd is already in ur home..the last option for a branded japanese is altis..lancer is like inspira but honestly lancer is much better handling in stock compare to inspira..looks good too but inspira spoilt the party!

308t is just nice..power is good..good tech..sharing the same engine wit mini's..people bad mouth about this car none other than becos of NAZA..period..

Those old impreza n evos are serious car..within ur budget an its practical too..
QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 1 2012, 07:25 PM)
Erk? Since when i bad mouth about inspira n proton? Please support ur comment wit fact please..n tat comment i made is no intention to hurt ur feelings, but if i do..im sorry..
I tested inspira already n side by side comparison wit lancer..if u want..u can come to my place n test the lancer tat parked nicely in my garage..please bring along inspira in stock condition to compare..

I own proton too..

Chill..
please explain, mayb my england no good dun really understand what u mean hmm.gif
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 08:58 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 1 2012, 07:44 PM)
I said buy buying a forte its like downgrading..ts already mention he dun wan buying proton cos downgrading brand..so its the same if he is buying a forte..

U make ur judgement..or my english is hard for u to understand..
so let me back track, u say that ppl bad mouth 308thp bcuz of NAZA..period...
and u agree with OWNER that 'PROTON' inspira is DOWNGRADE = like NAZA

which also means that, u agree WITH owner that INSPIRA is NOT TO BE CONSIDERED bcuz of 'PROTON' lor........

SO, now instead of thinking of which car TO BUY, why dun we reverse engineer and think WHY NOT TO BUY ???

WHY NOT, buy a INSPIRA ? , WHY NOT, buy a VIOS? WHY NOT buy a FORTE?

list them down, the car with the SHORTEST LIST...U HAVE YOU CAR...you'll be surprised !

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 1 2012, 08:04 PM)
I upgraded my Vios suspension and using extreme tires, corners like on rails, but even so, my Benz with original suspension easily handles better and faster in corners.
So even with hot bits, a car has its limits.....unless its race prepared.
errrrr.....u r comparing a B-segment with a D-segment bro .......would u mind comparing APPLE to APPLE please ?

u DARE tell me that a GTR-35 will perform worst then a BENZ ???
stewPik
post Feb 1 2012, 09:32 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Feb 1 2012, 09:28 PM)
Explain why a stock carb blue sedan iswara got 3rd place in the recent CTA time attack sepang in Rx8 / FF Open category then ?
mod....mod-di-fi-ca-ti-on ????

This post has been edited by stewPik: Feb 1 2012, 09:32 PM
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 12:55 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Feb 2 2012, 12:44 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif

A light modded 1.3 old 'Proton Junk' also can tapao Vios / City anytime. Either on straights or corners. Mind you the Vios i mentioned is Ah Beng Vios / City who wants to look fast but in fact it is not

Lancer / Inspira is a good car. Heavy chassis but engine performance not bad. Only downside for me is the CVT tends to overheat once you start modding the engine internally.

TS, since your budget is 100k and i assume you don't mind about maintenance cost just get 308pug. Turbocharged cars are quite fast and fun to drive.

If you concerned about maintenance costs as well, nothing much can recommend to you except for go for Jap / local NA cars. But with 100k, there is NO new car except for Satria Neo. Yes, engine is slightly not so powerful but its fun to drive once the RPM reaches 4k and above. Chassis rigidity is also good so just by changing to stiffer springs, the car can handle very well.

High revving engine is so orgasmic. Else get DC2 / DC5 smile.gif
that y for new car below 100k, i recommend INSPIRA 1.8 MANUAL , huge enuff to fit his 180cm built comfortably,
SAFE with it's RISE body feature, power is there coupled with a 5 speed manual, WELL spirited drive ma, what better than a manual ? and how much.....less then 80k, or u can wait for it's REAL R3 version with performance mod,( not the current R3 fake crap)
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 12:58 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Feb 2 2012, 12:56 PM)
flex.gif

Stock brakes as well wink.gif

Timing tapaoe'd RX8, Lancer 2.0's and lotsa of so called monster cars biggrin.gif
carb and super lightweight car, with mods....sure tapao those so called monsters car, but go on a highway run and the iswara will smell smoke only.............
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 02:29 PM

28 posts

crap i think 90% of the ppl here is not reading, or plain ignorant and don't care what the TS is asking...........

let me try to summarize again

TS LOOKING FOR

1. spirited drive
2. affordable maintainence
3. looks good
4. <100k budget
5. practical

NOT LOOKING FOR

1.civic FD2 = mum already driving
2. SMALL CARS(i.e fiesta,mx-5,s2k) - he is freaking 180cm TALL
3. cars with a BOMB to maintain(i.e - gtr's, evos, scooby's)

so will appreciate if you guys give him a really useful advice or comments and not give him bogus idea's

no point asking him add budget a little, cuz u add little more to 120 can get polo..add a little more to 160 can get golf, add A LITTLE more to 200k can get passat jor.....NEVER ENDING nonesense....

hope this helps........

stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:01 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Feb 2 2012, 02:53 PM)
thank you so much stewpik,

=.= everyone is going out to prove their points -.-
no prob... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:10 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 2 2012, 03:08 PM)
evo hard to maintain? Is it? Care to share why?
since when u see evo hard to maintain, i say cost a bomb to maintain(2nd hand with issues, new car sure nothing/minimum to maintain la), COMPARED to a NA.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by stewPik: Feb 2 2012, 03:11 PM
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:20 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 2 2012, 03:17 PM)
ok i rephrase my question..

Why evo cost a bomb to maintain? Wat is the maintenance like usually for evo? N please stated clearly wat needed to be change..
others i no need say, 1 turbine leak or rosak also enuff jor....(na no turbine to worry and no intercooler to worry no blow-off to worry)

need i say more ah ? and please dun tell me they won't rosak....OH yea i haven't even started on their FC yet....(and dun tell me about POWER vs FC, he asked for spirited not SUPER POWER FAST high FC car)
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:26 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 2 2012, 03:25 PM)
RM300k car compare to RM100k car... u think which one cheaper to maintain logically?
errr......RM300k car lor, cuz already pay in advance ma( prepaid) korek ma ???
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:33 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mrsafwan @ Feb 2 2012, 03:29 PM)
CR-Z
@#$%^&, wtf i do a summary for...........JUST SAY NO SMALL cars,no over budget come again CRZ ....i think our education system FAIL to the MAX,

ppl dunno read, read already dun understand, understand also do wrong..... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 2 2012, 03:29 PM)
tell vincent a lot ppl here telling no need ron97 one....ron95 also can.
can why kenot, ron92 also can mah, just ur car masuk hospital meet with DR and NURSES more often and sooner

stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 2 2012, 03:33 PM)
Rm300k wat car?
Rm100k wat car?

If i take rm300k is evo x vs rm100k is kia forte maintenance..

Normal service is about the same
But transmission fluid evo expensive..
MEAN MORE EXPENSIVE MAINTAINENCE JOR LA..............1 sen more also still MORE.....

how bout the ADDITIONAL parts that u also need maintain ??? no need calculate ???

This post has been edited by stewPik: Feb 2 2012, 03:40 PM
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Feb 2 2012, 03:37 PM)
lotus exige S used less than your fair lady wo  icon_idea.gif
u sohigh ah.......lotus exige S how much ? neesan putihamoi how much ?
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:41 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Feb 2 2012, 03:40 PM)
for recon exige S around 3xxk to 2xxk ... fair fair lady around 1xxk
useless black oil, but total maintainence bill still more exp then putihahmoi.... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
stewPik
post Feb 2 2012, 03:44 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 2 2012, 03:42 PM)
DUn need run aroudn the bush... just give some clear examples of RM300k car maintenance cheaper then RM100k car mah ok liao lor. We dun know much about cars mah, hope you can educate us..
yalor, sigh i admit la, me stewpik , my nick also stewpik jor ma....pls enlighten us, please teach us, so i can get a RM300k car that maintainence is still cheap cheap like >rm100k car..... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0270sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:09 AM