The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3
our_team89
Jun 26 2012, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 26 2012, 02:15 PM) Not sure whether how good it is, but definitely good for macro since it is a macro lens anyway. portrait wise i reckon sigma 30mm 2.8 better since it has a little bigger aperture, and it is cheaper definitely i've seen a review for sigma 30mm..the image is sharp n meet with my expectation. but i've read in user review some of them said that it has a bit slow on focusing and has the rattle noise which i dont know much what is that about..hope that it's not a major problem. btw,which shop selling this lens?i search in garage sales but no one sell it
shockk
Jun 26 2012, 03:23 PM
[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
Hey guys! Just got my NEX F3D and Ultra-Wide Angle Adapter (to convert my 16mm to a 12mm ultra wide lens!) last night as I need something light for photography of my upcoming overseas trip. I have to say, the F3's tilt-able flash is seriously AWESOME! Tested it last night in a dimly-lit cafe bar and it works just like a external bounce flash. The bounce-performance is 'almost' (like my Canon 580EX2 flash on my Canon 60D), which is very shocking. One of my most happiest camera purchases so far, I can say!
mrg220t
Jun 26 2012, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 26 2012, 01:23 AM) Hey guys! Just got my NEX F3D and Ultra-Wide Angle Adapter (to convert my 16mm to a 12mm ultra wide lens!) last night as I need something light for photography of my upcoming overseas trip. I have to say, the F3's tilt-able flash is seriously AWESOME! Tested it last night in a dimly-lit cafe bar and it works just like a external bounce flash. The bounce-performance is 'almost' (like my Canon 580EX2 flash on my Canon 60D), which is very shocking. One of my most happiest camera purchases so far, I can say!  Can take picture of the tilt-able flash ar? Also show some that you taken?
albnok
Jun 26 2012, 04:56 PM
Alpha Male
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 04:20 PM) Can take picture of the tilt-able flash ar? Also show some that you taken? I got a shot of somebody else bouncing the flash (you need to pull it back manually):
kioku
Jun 26 2012, 05:00 PM

How crucial/important is extended warranty for cameras ? Is it worth it to get the 2 years extended warranty from Sony, for 180MYR ?
shockk
Jun 26 2012, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 04:20 PM) Can take picture of the tilt-able flash ar? Also show some that you taken? As albnok has kindly posted a pic of a NEX using tilt-able flash (so far only the NEX 7 and F3 are capable), I'll try to shoot some sample shots tonight and post here.
mrg220t
Jun 26 2012, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 26 2012, 03:00 AM) As albnok has kindly posted a pic of a NEX using tilt-able flash (so far only the NEX 7 and F3 are capable), I'll try to shoot some sample shots tonight and post here.  Post the bounce and direct version can ar? Want to see the difference. TQ TQ
Jun 26 2012, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jun 26 2012, 03:08 PM) i've seen a review for sigma 30mm..the image is sharp n meet with my expectation. but i've read in user review some of them said that it has a bit slow on focusing and has the rattle noise which i dont know much what is that about..hope that it's not a major problem. btw,which shop selling this lens?i search in garage sales but no one sell it I'm using the 19mm version well, generally it starts up or wake up is indeed slower than Sony lens. Focusing is not really fast. Apart from that, all are ok. don't have issue with noises. Sungai Wang tarita and boeing got sell if not wrong. and YL at pudu..many places more
mls_gamer
Jun 26 2012, 07:24 PM
Plan to do installment for 12 month... rm27xx total..... for double lens package ....ok for the price ?
This post has been edited by mls_gamer: Jun 26 2012, 07:31 PM
mrg220t
Jun 26 2012, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 26 2012, 05:24 AM) Plan to do installment for 12 month... rm27xx total..... for double lens package ....ok for the price ? Nex wat? 5N? Ppl say 2499 only wor One more question: I read online that Sony NEX-5N is good to play with old manual focus lens due to the focus peaking thing. Anyone use the NEX-5N with old manual focus lens here? If so, what kind of lens you use? Where do you get the adaptor and lens? Do you have any recommendation for fun and cheap manual focus lens to play with? This post has been edited by mrg220t: Jun 26 2012, 07:51 PM
mls_gamer
Jun 26 2012, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 07:48 PM) Nex wat? 5N? Ppl say 2499 only wor Yup NEX-5ND if installment total will cost rm27XX, i asked lowyat there....all sell single lens package.... only one shop sell double lens package with rm26xx cash... rm2499 i cannot get.... and i don't want get those camera at some ah beng shop..
mrg220t
Jun 26 2012, 07:55 PM

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 26 2012, 05:53 AM) Yup NEX-5ND if installment total will cost rm27XX, i asked lowyat there....all sell single lens package.... only one shop sell double lens package with rm26xx cash... rm2499 i cannot get.... and i don't want get those camera at some ah beng shop..  I bought mine at Boeing camera shop in Paradigm mall. RM 2699 2 lens kit + 8GB Mem card + Bag + Cleaning Kit. But not installment lor, installment add 5% I think. Other ppl report that you can get the 2 lens kit at Digital Mall Seksyen 14 for RM 2499. Maybe you can try there lor. BTW, FYI, RM2699 I pay Credit Card, not Cash. Just not installment. This post has been edited by mrg220t: Jun 26 2012, 07:56 PM
mls_gamer
Jun 26 2012, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 07:55 PM) I bought mine at Boeing camera shop in Paradigm mall. RM 2699 2 lens kit + 8GB Mem card + Bag + Cleaning Kit. But not installment lor, installment add 5% I think. Other ppl report that you can get the 2 lens kit at Digital Mall Seksyen 14 for RM 2499. Maybe you can try there lor. BTW, FYI, RM2699 I pay Credit Card, not Cash. Just not installment. oh.. thanks for the info...
Jun 26 2012, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 07:48 PM) Nex wat? 5N? Ppl say 2499 only wor One more question: I read online that Sony NEX-5N is good to play with old manual focus lens due to the focus peaking thing. Anyone use the NEX-5N with old manual focus lens here? If so, what kind of lens you use? Where do you get the adaptor and lens? Do you have any recommendation for fun and cheap manual focus lens to play with? Nex3 and 5 also can but need to update firmware to 1.04 first Last time I use it with nikon 35mm f/2D, a lovely lens with relatively short mfd which suits me. fun and cheap mf lens would be those cctv lens.. pretty cheap at garage sales
mrg220t
Jun 26 2012, 08:06 PM

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 26 2012, 06:00 AM) Nex3 and 5 also can but need to update firmware to 1.04 first Last time I use it with nikon 35mm f/2D, a lovely lens with relatively short mfd which suits me. fun and cheap mf lens would be those cctv lens.. pretty cheap at garage sales  Sorry ar, I noob. What does cctv lens means?
Jun 26 2012, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 08:06 PM) Sorry ar, I noob. What does cctv lens means? https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...72&hl=CCTV+35mmsomething like this
homonculus
Jun 27 2012, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 07:55 PM) I bought mine at Boeing camera shop in Paradigm mall. RM 2699 2 lens kit + 8GB Mem card + Bag + Cleaning Kit. But not installment lor, installment add 5% I think. Other ppl report that you can get the 2 lens kit at Digital Mall Seksyen 14 for RM 2499. Maybe you can try there lor. BTW, FYI, RM2699 I pay Credit Card, not Cash. Just not installment. mine also bought at same shop in PM..nex 3k only..just enter the world of photog
mls_gamer
Jun 27 2012, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(homonculus @ Jun 27 2012, 02:48 PM) mine also bought at same shop in PM..nex 3k only..just enter the world of photog  rm3k ???? what goodies you got ??
shockk
Jun 27 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jun 26 2012, 06:50 PM) Post the bounce and direct version can ar? Want to see the difference. TQ TQ No worries bro. I'll post it up soon once I'm free. However, the NEX F3 and NEX 7 aren't the first cameras to come out with built-in tilt-able flash for such a compact size. The Panasonic GX1 already has a tilt-able flash and it came out about last year or so. However, the small sensor of the GX1 would render the flash not practical to be used as a bounce-flash. However, when it comes to the large APS-C sensors on the NEX, it's a whole different story altogether.  The best part I love is that the TTL (for burst power, automatic shutter, and ISO control, etc.) for the flash works really well when the flash is bouncing.
homonculus
Jun 27 2012, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 27 2012, 02:52 PM) rm3k ???? what goodies you got ?? no lah..sony nex3k..not 3000