180 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

kohtp
post Dec 31 2013, 10:58 AM

20 posts

Happy New Year

Hello. I am a newbie uncle want to learn something new. Can someone care to HELP uncle

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below RM2.8K (If possible)
Preferable brand : No
Type of photography: Traveling/family photos/scenery/night scene
Any specific models in mind? : Fujifilm x or nikon df
Any specific features u want? : i don't know.

I want a compact size DSLR camara. Both fujifilm x & nikon df look comparable small than others.

amin ali
post Dec 31 2013, 03:09 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(kaz14274 @ Dec 30 2013, 09:12 AM)
Basically it is the same as the 650D/T4i. Other then some cosmetic, the only significant upgrade is the STM autofocus motor in the lens. This motor is said to be almost silent, faster and more accurate then the previous motor in the 650D/T4i. It is a plus for videographers. You won't hear the annoying whizzing sound of the focusing motor in your videos. For me, it's worth the extra money. And like me, I think it is better to get the latest tech especially since this is gonna be my first DSLR too..... heheh...... You could get the 650D/T4i with the 18-135mm STM lens but the price would be the same as getting the 700D/T5i. So...... the power is in your hands.... and mine for that matter since I'm buying my first too.......
That's a really good point, but i don't think i am going to use the video so much, and I like the old design better biggrin.gif. but still i have not managed to see them from up close. so i will decide when i actually see them. smile.gif but thanks for the help
Xaxas
post Dec 31 2013, 05:24 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(kaz14274 @ Dec 31 2013, 11:18 AM)
Hell yeah we should wait.... If the rumours are true, then it is worth the wait since difference between 650D and 700D is too minor. Let's hope that the new model bring much more advances in capabilities rather then just cosmetics. Really hope for the rumours to be true.
Yea hopefully, but really in a dilemma cause not sure I should buy it now or wait for a few more months as I am going on a holiday during CNY and wanted to use it rclxub.gif
kaz14274
post Jan 2 2014, 10:58 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Xaxas @ Dec 31 2013, 05:24 PM)
Yea hopefully, but really in a dilemma cause not sure I should buy it now or wait for a few more months as I am going on a holiday during CNY and wanted to use it  rclxub.gif
If you really need the camera soon. Then I'd suggest you get the 650D which is basically the same camera system as the 700D minus the STM lens (unless you plan to do a lot of video) which will be a bit cheaper by maybe 300 to 400 RM. Later if the new 750D is a more improve to warrant an upgrade then maybe you can upgrade without loosing to much money. As for me... I'm in no hurry and it wouldn't hurt if I were to wait for the new camera to come out. Who knows..... maybe if Nikon comes out with a new camera with touch screen and live scene application preview.... I might be tempted to switch allegiance .... hehehe
kaz14274
post Jan 2 2014, 03:12 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(kaz14274 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:58 AM)
If you really need the camera soon. Then I'd suggest you get the 650D which is basically the same camera system as the 700D minus the STM lens (unless you plan to do a lot of video) which will be a bit cheaper by maybe 300 to 400 RM. Later if the new 750D is a more improve to warrant an upgrade then maybe you can upgrade without loosing to much money. As for me... I'm in no hurry and it wouldn't hurt if I were to wait for the new camera to come out. Who knows..... maybe if Nikon comes out with a new camera with touch screen and live scene application preview.... I might be tempted to switch allegiance .... hehehe
Or.... maybe you could get a a cheaper PnS camera for your CNY photos and save a big portion of your money to get a good DSLR later... just my 2 sen punya advice.
darkz88
post Jan 2 2014, 11:19 PM

127 posts

Hi guys, I would like to ask should I get panasonic lx 7 or gf 6? or any other camera to recommend? thx in advance!
zoe33
post Jan 3 2014, 11:07 AM

200 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and shoot
Budget: RM1,500.00 or below
Your Location: PJ
Preferable brand : Nothing in specific
Type of photography u want to do : to capture toddlers pix. Indoor mostly
Any specific models in mind? : canon s120 or sony rx100 (the initial model not mark II)
Any specific features u want? : good low light performance and fast shutter speed to capture moving toddler

zoe33
post Jan 3 2014, 11:13 AM

200 posts

Just to add..

What I do most is upload to Facebook and Instagram. But wifi capability is an option not a must. But having it will be a plus point for at present I am mostly rely on iphone4s for pic and uploads.

Don't want interchangeable lense cam or dslr to add to my already heavy luggage (baby bag)

My options are open and not biase towards canon or sony
Xaxas
post Jan 4 2014, 05:05 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(kaz14274 @ Jan 2 2014, 11:58 AM)
Yea, after much thinking and consideration, just decided to wait it out. Have to use my phone camera for the time being. At least its something. Btw when does nikon usually release their new camera line?
kaz14274
post Jan 4 2014, 10:05 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Xaxas @ Jan 4 2014, 05:05 AM)
Yea, after much thinking and consideration, just decided to wait it out. Have to use my phone camera for the time being. At least its something. Btw when does nikon usually release their new camera line?
For announcements. Best best bet would be during CES 2014 which is somewhere in mid-Jan if I'm not mistaken. Most brands will normally announce it's latest release during that event. So, hold on to your seats in anticipation of some new babies coming out.... heheheh.... can't wait to see what the top brands gonna come up with to up one another.
kaz14274
post Jan 4 2014, 02:10 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(kaz14274 @ Jan 4 2014, 10:05 AM)
For announcements. Best best bet would be during CES 2014 which is somewhere in mid-Jan if I'm not mistaken. Most brands will normally announce it's latest release during that event. So, hold on to your seats in anticipation of some new babies coming out.... heheheh.... can't wait to see what the top brands gonna come up with to up one another.
Correction, CES 2014 is not in Mid-Jan.... it's next week (starting 7th).... woo hoo..... can't wait for the announcements......
trollzor300
post Jan 5 2014, 03:09 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR or Compact Interchangeable Lens Cameras
Budget: <Rm3500 with lens
Your Location: Shah Alam
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Close ups and Scenery
Any specific models in mind? : D5300 or 700D or NEX-6
Any specific features u want? : User-friendly ? o.O

I have a d3100 but I feel like its time to get something better.

This post has been edited by trollzor300: Jan 5 2014, 03:22 AM
f5calvin
post Jan 5 2014, 06:14 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

i dun think it's a lot of upgrade from d3100 to d5300 or to d7100.. if want, go to d600/d700, full frame..

or else, get urself a good lens. if u like close up, maybe tamron 90mm which can macro.
if scenery get the tokina 11-16 II.. thumbup.gif

if all rounder, the 35mm 1.8G is gooding.. bt then wait till 7th jan, they'll announce a full frame FX 35mm
dlwl
post Jan 6 2014, 12:56 AM

4,789 posts

Saw some promo at midvalley today, some shops selling sony nex3N for RM1199, with kit lens, 8gb sd card and bag. Worth going for it?

Thought it would be convenient for travels, and it seems like a pretty good camera to learn more about photography too?

Appreciate your feedback on this smile.gif
doraemonisking
post Jan 6 2014, 01:37 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless camera
Budget: Rm2400
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur
Preferable brand : Panasonic, Olympus, Nikon, Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, Macro, landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic GF6
Any specific features u want? : good quality image. I've been using Nikon D5100 for 1.5years... currently looking for mirrorless camera which produces dslr quality images to replace my bulky dlsr. smile.gif
paikut
post Jan 8 2014, 01:21 AM

469 posts

Hello all. i had been using digital camera all this time wanna try something new please suggest

Type of camera/lens/accessories : mirrorless camera,interchangeable (not sure what it is called those mini dslr)
Budget: Rm1000++ to Rm2300+-
Your Location: KK
Type of photography u want to do : traveling,self portrait, scenery normal use mostly during traveling/holidays
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic GX7 but way over budget
Any specific features u want? : simple to use capture good quality pictures and videos

any feedback/suggestions are highly appreciated as i dont have much knowledge on cameras. notworthy.gif
munak991
post Jan 9 2014, 04:45 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera/Semi Pro/ Cam Corder
Budget : RM 2000-RM 4000
Your Location : KL
Type of photography u want to do : Recipe Shooting, Potrait,

Hi Guys, Im current doing recipe development and I am eager to start my own blog/website featuring recipes
So mostly im taking stand still Macro food photo, and if things goes well i might shoot cooking video

I might need tripod stand, lighting equipments and etc

Could you guys aid me? My estimated budget is it sufficient?

What kind of software? I got MBP, and Win OS also

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by munak991: Jan 9 2014, 04:49 PM
Ryou
post Jan 10 2014, 11:09 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(doraemonisking @ Jan 6 2014, 01:37 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless camera
Budget: Rm2400
Your Location:  Kuala Lumpur
Preferable brand :  Panasonic, Olympus, Nikon, Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait, Macro, landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic GF6
Any specific features u want? :  good quality image. I've been using Nikon D5100 for 1.5years... currently looking for mirrorless camera which produces dslr quality images to replace my bulky dlsr. smile.gif
Based on your statement, you will have to get a Sony NEX in order to get image quality similar to DSLR's APS-C sensor.

The GF6's image quality is comparable to DSLR but it is still not as good as APS-C sized DSLR sensor. For your information, D5100's sensor is also manufactured by Sony, and can be found in their NEX.

Again, based on your budget you can go for a Sony NEX-6 or NEX-5T with better lens. You can also wait for the newly announced a5000 which replaces NEX-5T. The image quality from these tiny little beasts are outstanding.
Ryou
post Jan 10 2014, 11:24 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jan 9 2014, 04:45 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera/Semi Pro/ Cam Corder
Budget :                                    RM 2000-RM 4000
Your Location : KL
Type of photography u want to do : Recipe Shooting, Potrait,

Hi Guys, Im current doing recipe development and I am eager to start my own blog/website featuring recipes
So mostly im taking stand still Macro food photo, and if things goes well i might shoot cooking video

I might need tripod stand, lighting equipments and etc

Could you guys aid me? My estimated budget is it sufficient?

What kind of software? I got MBP, and Win OS also

Thanks  notworthy.gif
Although you state only Canon and Nikon, I will try to introduce you with various brands for more possibilities.

For Canon, you can go for 700D kit lens, and add a nice 50mm f1.8 to do all the food photography. If you have enough budget, get a Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 which is an excellent macro lens. I believe this will fall into your budget. Besides camera and lens, flash is EXTREMELY important in food photography. Get a cheap RM140~160 Yongnuo 460 flash or save for Canon flash later. With flash, you will add magic into your photography.

For Nikon, Get the D3200 or D5200 (depending on your budget) and get a 50mm f1.8G or 35mm f1.8G. Nikon lenses are much pricier so you might or might not afford additional lenses. But, get a flash. Again, Yongnuo or Nikon SB600 depending on your budget.

I also strongly recommend Sony DSLT (I personally use Sony a77 to do some food photography, check my flickr). A Sony a58 kit or a65 kit will cover your basics. Get a Sony DT 50mm f1.8 and get a flash. You will be left with some budget, consider some prime lenses like Sony 35mm f1.8, 85mm f2.8 or Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 which are all very affordable. With Sony, you will also get a very decent MOVIE mode with excellent Video AF and in-body stabilisation. Sony lenses are considerably cheaper too, so it will ease you in future's investment. Strongly recommended.

If you doesn't mind mirrorless, I believe you deserve more choices. Sony NEX-3N with a kit is only RM1300~1500, spent the rest of your budget on some nice prime lenses and flash, you will be fine in most situation.

Try to take a look at Olympus E-PL 5 or a better E-P5. They are better than Lumix's counterparts due to the external controls and a flash hotshoes (Most entry-level lumix doesn't come with hotshoe). Olympus 75mm f1.8 and some of the prime lenses are significantly sharp and sometimes better than DSLR lenses.

Hope my 2 cents help. Feel free to ask or even PM me should you need any helps. smile.gif
Ryou
post Jan 10 2014, 11:28 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(paikut @ Jan 8 2014, 01:21 AM)
Hello all. i had been using digital camera all this time wanna try something new please suggest

Type of camera/lens/accessories : mirrorless camera,interchangeable (not sure what it is called those mini dslr)
Budget: Rm1000++ to Rm2300+-
Your Location: KK
Type of photography u want to do : traveling,self portrait, scenery normal use mostly during traveling/holidays
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic GX7 but way over budget
Any specific features u want? : simple to use capture good quality pictures and videos

any feedback/suggestions are highly appreciated as i dont have much knowledge on cameras.  notworthy.gif
In mirrorless, forget bout Canon and Nikon. You are left with Sony NEX, Olympus E-Pen (OM-D should be out of budget) and Lumix GF (GX also out of budget). NEXs come with APS-C sensor which is larger than E-Pen & GF's MFT sensor. I believe you understand that APS-C sensors perform as good as modern DSLR and are better than MFT.

With your budget, get NEX-5R which is a bit outdated but perform as good as the current NEX 5T (which only adds some WiFi gimmicks). The image quality is outstanding.

If you insist in getting Lumix and Olympus, consider the Olympus if you prefer more user controls, and go for Lumix if you prefer more AI.

180 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:32 AM